DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-11 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being described by Thompson et al (US 2012/0027379).
For claim 1, Thompson et al teach A method for creating a video file including verified time information using appended video metadata (e.g. paragraph 8: The processor may tag the at least one video stream with a plurality of time stamps such that a particular video frame is associated with a time stamp representing when a play associated with the video frame occurred), the method comprising:
at a video source or a device associated with the video source (e.g. paragraph 17, figure 1, camera 26):
recording or streaming a raw video file, the raw video file comprising unmodified video information and omitting a displayed timestamp determined locally to the video source or the device (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 24: Manager server 30 in system 10 may receive…one or more video streams 12 from cameras 26. Paragraph 17:camera 26 records video stream 12 or transmits video stream 12 to manager server 30. The Examiner takes position that camera 26 does not append time stamp on the raw video since figure 1 shows time stamp is appended to the video by server 30);
communicating with a remote time source to determine time information for a plurality of portions of the raw video file (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 25: Tagging video stream 12 with time stamps 46 may refer to appending, embedding, attaching, marking, and/or coding time stamps 46 in video stream 12. In embodiments where video stream 12 comprises digital video, manager server 30 may include time stamps 46 as meta-data in a digital video file…manager server 30 may tag a subset of the frames in video stream 12 (e.g., every fifth frame, tenth frame, and/or other suitable interval) with a respective time stamp 46.); and
generating a time-stamped video file by appending metadata associated with the raw video file with the time information file (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 25: manager server 30 may include time stamps 46 as meta-data in a digital video file…manager server 30 may tag a subset of the frames in video stream 12 (e.g., every fifth frame, tenth frame, and/or other suitable interval) with a respective time stamp 46.).
For claim 16, Thompson et al teach a method for creating a video file, the method comprising:
receiving, from a video source, a raw video file comprising original video information and omitting a displayed timestamp determined locally to the video source (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 24: Manager server 30 in system 10 may receive…one or more video streams 12 from cameras 26. Paragraph 17:camera 26 records video stream 12 or transmits video stream 12 to manager server 30. The Examiner takes position that camera 26 does not append time stamp on the raw video since figure 1 shows time stamp is appended to the video by server 30);
determining, based at least on a remote time source, time information associated with the raw video file (e.g. paragraph 25: manager server 30 may tag a subset of the frames in video stream 12 (e.g., every fifth frame, tenth frame, and/or other suitable interval) with a respective time stamp 46.);
determining, based at least on the time information, a plurality of timestamps associated with a plurality of frames that comprise the raw video file (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 25: Tagging video stream 12 with time stamps 46 may refer to appending, embedding, attaching, marking, and/or coding time stamps 46 in video stream 12. In embodiments where video stream 12 comprises digital video, manager server 30 may include time stamps 46 as meta-data in a digital video file…manager server 30 may tag a subset of the frames in video stream 12 (e.g., every fifth frame, tenth frame, and/or other suitable interval) with a respective time stamp 46.); and
generating a time-stamped video file by appending metadata associated with the raw video file with the plurality of timestamps (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 25: manager server 30 may include time stamps 46 as meta-data in a digital video file…manager server 30 may tag a subset of the frames in video stream 12 (e.g., every fifth frame, tenth frame, and/or other suitable interval) with a respective time stamp 46.).
For claim 4, Thompson et al teach the remote time source is a public network time protocol (NTP) server (e.g. paragraph 24: “Network Time Protocol(NTP)”).
For claim 19, Thompson et al teach the time-stamped video file comprises at least the raw video file and the metadata (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 24: Manager server 30 in system 10 may receive one or more data streams 44 from data consoles 28 and one or more video streams 12 from cameras 26).
For claim 5, Thompson et al teach the time information includes a timestamp associated with each frame of the raw video file (e.g. paragraph 25: Manager server 30 may tag each frame in video stream 12 with a respective time stamp 46. Alternatively, manager server 30 may tag a subset of the frames in video stream 12 (e.g., every fifth frame, tenth frame, and/or other suitable interval) with a respective time stamp 46.).
For claim 7, Thompson et al teach the time information includes an estimate of a local time associated with the video file being recorded or streamed, the estimate being associated with Coordinated Universal Time (e.g. paragraph 24: “Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)”) and verified by the remote time source to within a predetermined interval (e.g. paragraph 25: Manager server 30 may tag each frame in video stream 12 with a respective time stamp 46. Alternatively, manager server 30 may tag a subset of the frames in video stream 12 (e.g., every fifth frame, tenth frame, and/or other suitable interval) with a respective time stamp 46.).
For claim 8, Thompson et al teach at least one of: saving the time-stamped video file locally, uploading the time-stamped video file to a cloud platform, or streaming the time-stamped video file to a remote device (e.g. figure 1 shows time stamped video streams are transmitted to database 56).
For claim 17, Thompson et al teach the remote time source provides the time information, the time information provided by the remote time source being verified time information (e.g. paragraph 24: Time stamps 46 may be based on a universal time scale such as, for example, Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), International Atomic Time (TAI), UNIX time, Network Time Protocol (NTP), Global Positioning System (GPS) signals, global synchronization, and/or any suitable time scale).
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al, as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 16-17 and 19 above, and further in view of Deshpande (US 2020/0162767).
For claim 3, Thompson et al do not further disclose appending the metadata includes adding one or more fields. Deshpande teaches appending the metadata includes adding one or more fields (e.g. Figure 1, paragraph 201: MMTP packet may include timestamp field that represents the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time). It would have been obvious to one ordinary kill in the prior arts to incorporate the teaching of Deshpande into the teaching of Thompson et al have utilize the MPEG protocol to include timestamps to improve convenience for the designer of the system.
For claim 20, Thompson et al do not further disclose appending the metadata with the plurality of timestamps comprises adding one or more fields to the metadata that associated individual timestamps of the plurality of timestamps with individual frames of the plurality of frames. Deshpande teaches appending the metadata with the plurality of timestamps comprises adding one or more fields to the metadata that associated individual timestamps of the plurality of timestamps with individual frames of the plurality of frames. (e.g. Figure 1, paragraph 201: MMTP packet may include timestamp field that represents the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time). It would have been obvious to one ordinary kill in the prior arts to incorporate the teaching of Deshpande into the teaching of Thompson et al have utilize the MPEG protocol to include timestamps to improve convenience for the designer of the system.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al, as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 16-17 and 19 above, and further in view of O’Toole, Jr. et al (US 7508941).
For claim 9,Thompson et al do not further disclose encrypting the time-stamped video file and the metadata immediately upon recording or creation, the metadata including the time information. O’Toole, Jr. et al teach encrypting the time-stamped video file and the metadata immediately upon recording or creation, the metadata including the time information (e.g. column 9, lines 10-20: raw video is compressed using MPEG compressor, then encrypted by encryption processor 537. column 11, lines 28-35: encryption processor 537 encrypts video stream 573). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of O’Toole, Jr. et al into the teaching of Thompson et al to encrypt the video to improve security to prevent the video from illegal copying.
For claim 10, Thompson et al do not further disclose the time-stamped video file is encrypted when transmitted from the video source to a cloud platform. O’Toole, Jr. et al teach the time-stamped video file is encrypted when transmitted from the video source to a cloud platform (e.g. column 9, lines 10-20: raw video is compressed using MPEG compressor, then encrypted by encryption processor 537. column 11, lines 28-35: encryption processor 537 encrypts video stream 573). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of O’Toole, Jr. et al into the teaching of Thompson et al to encrypt the video to improve security to prevent the video from illegal copying.
For claim 11, Thompson et al do not further disclose the video file is encrypted when stored by a cloud platform. O’Toole, Jr. et al teach the video file is encrypted when stored by a cloud platform (e.g. column 9, lines 10-20: raw video is compressed using MPEG compressor, then encrypted by encryption processor 537. column 11, lines 28-35: encryption processor 537 encrypts video stream 573). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of O’Toole, Jr. et al into the teaching of Thompson et al to encrypt the video to improve security to prevent the video from illegal copying.
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al, as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 16-17 and 19 above, and further in view of Hassbring et al (US 2025/0184500).
For claim 21, Thompson et al do not further disclose the time-stamped video file is configured to provide the raw video file as a first presentation layer and the time information as a second presentation layer. Hassbring et al teach the time-stamped video file is configured to provide the raw video file as a first presentation layer and the time information as a second presentation layer (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 3: For example, an overlay can display information such as time stamps and camera locations directly on the footage). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hassbring et al into the teaching of Thompson et al enhance effectiveness of key feature by overlaying (e.g. paragraph 3, Hassbring et al).
For claim 22, Thompson et al do not further disclose the second presentation layer is independent from the first presentation layer. Hassbring et al teach the second presentation layer is independent from the first presentation layer. (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 3: For example, an overlay can display information such as time stamps and camera locations directly on the footage). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hassbring et al into the teaching of Thompson et al to enhance effectiveness of key feature by overlaying (e.g. paragraph 3, Hassbring et al).
For claim 23, Thompson et al do not further disclose the second presentation layer is overlaid onto the first presentation layer such that at least a first portion of the first presentation layer is obscured by at least a second portion of the second presentation layer. Hassbring et al teach the second presentation layer is overlaid onto the first presentation layer such that at least a first portion of the first presentation layer is obscured by at least a second portion of the second presentation layer. (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 3: For example, an overlay can display information such as time stamps and camera locations directly on the footage). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hassbring et al into the teaching of Thompson et al to enhance effectiveness of key feature by overlaying (e.g. paragraph 3, Hassbring et al).
For claim 24, Thompson et al do not further disclose the second presentation layer mobile relative to the first presentation layer such that the first portion of the first presentation layer is revealed by moving the second portion of the second presentation layer. Hassbring et al teach the second presentation layer mobile relative to the first presentation layer such that the first portion of the first presentation layer is revealed by moving the second portion of the second presentation layer. (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 3: For example, an overlay can display information such as time stamps and camera locations directly on the footage). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hassbring et al into the teaching of Thompson et al to enhance effectiveness of key feature by overlaying (e.g. paragraph 3, Hassbring et al).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al, as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 16-17 and 19 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2007/0269183).
For claim 6, Thompson et al do not further disclose the time information includes a timestamp calculated by interpolating between one or more reference frames. Choi teaches the time information includes a timestamp calculated by interpolating between one or more reference frames (e.g. paragraph 54: “in order to facilitate interpolation of the samples.” and figure 1). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Choi into the teaching of Thompson et al to have utilized a reference time from server to improve the accuracy of the recording.
For claim 18, Thompson et al do not further disclose the time information is verified time information associated with an error interval less than a predetermined interval. Choi teaches the time information is verified time information associated with an error interval less than a predetermined interval (e.g. paragraphs 5, 27: the recording device accesses the reference time to reset to match the reference time, such as by accessing the NTP server. Figures 1- 2 and paragraph 30 teach recording device is connected to reference time server 206 via a network 207. Paragraph 28 teach time stamp is reset to match reference time). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Choi into the teaching of Thompson et al to have utilized a reference time from server to improve the accuracy of the recording.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484