DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5-6, 8-10, 11, 14-15, 17-18 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurokawa (US 9,377,621 B2).
As to claim 1, Kurokawa discloses an optical scanning device (see figures 1-2, and see col. 5, lines 4-5) comprising: a deflector (5, see figure 1 and see col. 5, lines 43-44, i.e., polygon mirror 5 servers as deflection element (deflection unit)) including a first deflection surface configured to deflect first and second light beams to scan first and second scanned surfaces in a main scanning direction, respectively (see figures 1-2, see col. 2, lines 35-51 and see col. 5, line 41 to col. 6, line 64, i.e., light beams see col. 5, lines 47 and 59, light beams RA, RB, RC and RD, and scanned surfaces are 8A, 8B, 8C and 8D, and see col. 5, lines 45-46, i.e., main scanning direction, and see col. 6, lines 26-29, i.e., a light beam RA reflected and deflected by the first reflection surface 51 is guided to and formed as a spot of light on a photosensitive drum 8A acting as a scanned surface by a first imaging lens 61); and first and second optical systems (see col. 2, lines 35-51, i.e., a first imaging optical system, i.e., col. 2, line 40-41 and a second imaging optical system, see col. 2, line 44) configured to guide the first and second light beams deflected by the first deflection surface to the first and second scanned surfaces (see figures 1-2, see col. 2, lines 35-51 and see col. 5, line 41 to col. 6, line 64, i.e., light beams see col. 5, lines 47 and 59, light beams RA, RB, RC and RD, and scanned surfaces are 8A, 8B, 8C and 8D, and see col. 5, lines 45-46, i.e., main scanning direction, and see col. 6, lines 26-29, i.e., a light beam RA reflected and deflected by the first reflection surface 51 is guided to and formed as a spot of light on a photosensitive drum 8A acting as a scanned surface by a first imaging lens 61, i.e., first and second light beams RA and RB deflected by the first deflection surface, i.e., 51, to the first and second scanned surfaces (8A, 8B), wherein the first and second optical systems include a common first optical element (61) disposed on first and second optical paths (see col. 2, lines 49-50, an optical path of the first imaging optical system and see col. 2, lines 51-52, an optical path of the second imaging optical system) extending from the first deflection surface (51) to the first and second scanned surfaces (8A, 8B), respectively, wherein the first optical system includes a second optical element (7A) located on the first optical path (see col. 2, lines 49-50, an optical path of the first imaging optical system), between the first optical element (61) and the first scanned surface (8A), wherein the second optical system includes a third optical element (7B) located on the second optical path, between the first optical element (61) and the second scanned surface (8B), and wherein the first optical element (61) includes first and second optical portions on which the first and second light beams are incident (see figures 1-2).
As to claim 4, Kurokawa discloses wherein the incident surfaces of the respective first and second optical portions (see optical element 61, see figures 1-2) have a same shape.
As to claim 5, Kurokawa discloses wherein optical path lengths from the first deflection surface (51) to the second (7A) and third optical elements (7B) are different.
As to claim 6, Kurokawa discloses wherein optical path lengths from the first deflection surface (51) to the first and second scanned surfaces (8A, 8B) are different.
As to claim 8, Kurokawa discloses wherein the at least either a pair of incident surfaces or a pair of exit surfaces of the first and second optical portions has different curvatures on an optical axis in a sub scanning section (see figure 2, i.e., lens 61 has different curvatures and see col. 8, lines 43-44 and col. 11 lines 13-15).
As to claim 9, Kurokawa discloses wherein a curvature of the at least either a pair of incident surfaces or a pair of exit surfaces of the first and second optical portions in a sub scanning section changes in the main scanning direction (see figure 2, i.e., lens 61 has different curvatures and see col. 8, lines 43-44 and col. 11 lines 13-15, and see col. 5 lines 44-46, i.e., sub-scanning and main scanning direction).
As to claim 10, Kurokawa discloses wherein the curvature of the pair of exit surfaces of the first and second optical portions in the sub scanning section changes in the main scanning direction (see figure 2, i.e., lens 61 has different curvatures and see col. 8, lines 43-44 and col. 11 lines 13-15, and see col. 5 lines 44-46, i.e., sub-scanning and main scanning direction).
As to claim 11, Kurokawa discloses wherein a distance from the second optical element (7A) to the first scanned surface (8A) and a distance from the third optical element (7B) to the second scanned surface (8B) are different (see figure 1).
As to claim 14, Kurokawa discloses wherein the at least either a pair of incident surfaces or a pair of exit surfaces of the first and second optical portions (see figures 1-2, element 61) has mutually asymmetric shapes (the lens 61 is mutually asymmetric, in a sub scanning section).
As to claim 15, Kurokawa discloses wherein the pair having the mutually asymmetric shapes in the sub scanning section has shapes symmetrical about an optical axis in a main scanning section (see figures 1-2 and see col. 5, lines 45-46).
As to claim 17, Kurokawa discloses wherein the first optical element includes an optical surface of which a normal to a generatrix is nonparallel to an optical axis in a sub scanning section including the optical axis (see figures 1-2, i.e., the lens has a generatrix shape refers to the lens surface shape within the main scanning section including the optical axis).
As to claim 18, Kurokawa discloses wherein the at least either a pair of incident surfaces or a pair of exit surfaces of the first and second optical portions (see figures 1-2, element 61) has different shapes in a main scanning section (see figs 1-2 and see col. 5, lines 44-46, i.e., the main scanning direction).
As to claim 22, Kurokawa discloses an image forming apparatus (see figure 9, and col. 4, lines 40-42, and col. 16, lines 50-53 and 60-63) comprising: the optical scanning device according to claim 1; and a developing device (see col. 16, lines 50-53) configured to develop an electrostatic latent image formed by the optical scanning device into a toner image.
As to claim 23, Kurokawa discloses an image forming apparatus comprising: the optical scanning device according to claim 1; and a printer controller (see figure 9, printer controller 1053) configured to convert code data output from an external apparatus into an image signal and input the image signal to the optical scanning device (see figure 9, and col. 4, lines 40-42, and col. 16, lines 50-53 and 60-63).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7, 12, 13, 16 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kurokawa (US 9,377,621 B2), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein at least either a pair of incident surfaces or a pair of exit surfaces of the first and second optical portions is offset in an optical axis direction at their interface, as recited in claim 2.
Claim 3 is objected to as containing allowable subject matter because it is dependent on objected to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kurokawa (US 9,377,621 B2), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: |θ2| ≥ |θ1|, and -2.5 < θ2/θ1 < 2.5, where θ1 is an incident angle of a principal ray of the first light beam on the first deflection surface and θ2 is an incident angle of a principal ray of the second light beam on the first deflection surface in a sub scanning section, as recited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 12, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kurokawa (US 9,377,621 B2), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: θ2/θ1 < 0, and wherein a difference between a number of reflective elements disposed between the first deflection surface and the first scanned surface and a number of reflective elements disposed between the first deflection surface and the second scanned surface is an odd number, as claimed in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kurokawa (US 9,377,621 B2), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: θ2/θ1 > 0, and wherein a difference between a number of reflective elements disposed between the first deflection surface and the first scanned surface and a number of reflective elements disposed between the first deflection surface and the second scanned surface is an even number, as recited in claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kurokawa (US 9,377,621 B2), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.8 < β1/β2 < 1.2, where β1 and β2 are imaging magnifications of the first and second optical systems in a sub scanning section, respectively, as claimed in claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kurokawa (US 9,377,621 B2), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the deflector includes a second deflection surface configured to deflect third and fourth light beams to scan third and fourth scanned surfaces in the main scanning direction, respectively, wherein the optical scanning device further comprises third and fourth optical systems configured to guide the third and fourth light beams deflected by the second deflection surface to the third and fourth scanned surfaces, wherein the third and fourth optical systems include a common fourth optical element disposed on third and fourth optical paths extending from the second deflection surface to the third and fourth scanned surfaces, respectively, wherein the third optical system includes a fifth optical element located on the third optical path, between the fourth optical element and the third scanned surface, wherein the fourth optical system includes a sixth optical element located on the fourth optical path, between the fourth optical element and the fourth scanned surface, and wherein the fourth optical element includes third and fourth optical portions on which the third and fourth light beams are incident, as recited in claim 19.
Claims 20-21 are objected to as containing allowable subject matter because claims 20-21 are dependent on objected to claim 19 discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takayama (US 7,031,039 B2) teaches an optical scanning apparatus for repeatedly optically scanning a plurality of surfaces to be scanned, including: a plurality of light sources; an optical deflector for deflecting and reflecting a plurality of light beams emitted from the plurality of light sources; and at least one scanning optical system for guiding the plurality of light beams which are deflected and reflected by the optical deflector to the different surfaces to be scanned. In the optical scanning apparatus, the plurality of light beams incident on the optical deflector are incident on a deflection surface of the optical deflector at different angles to a normal of the deflection surface, the scanning optical system is commonly used for the plurality of light beams, and the scanning optical system includes a first optical element that satisfies 0 ≤ |φ1s| < 0.001 where φls represents optical power of the scanning optical system within a sub scanning section (see the abstract).
/DOV POPOVICI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681