Detailed Action
Claim(s) 2-21 has/have been examined.Claim(s) 16-19 and 21 is/are allowable.
Claim(s) 2-15 and 20 have been rejected.
Novel Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 and 21 are allowable.
Claims 8, 15 and 20 recite novel subject matter while being rejected as indefinite.
Within claims 8 and 15, within each claim as a whole the examiner deems the novel limitation to be comparing first data to second data and determining whether an error correction capability of the system is functioning based at least in part on the comparison.
Within claim 16, within the claim as a whole the examiner deems the novel limitation to be sending a fifth command to the memory device to read the first data from the first logical address, wherein, in response to the fifth command, the memory device is configured to (i) output the first data from the first physical address and (ii) attempt, using the ECC engine, to correct the intentionally injected error in the first data.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 5-7, 9 and 12-14 are rejected are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent 12,197,766. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as described below.
Regarding claim 2, this claim recites limitations found in claims 1, 5 and 6 of Patent 12,197,766.
Regarding claims 5-7, these claims each recite limitations found in claims 1, 5 and 6 of Patent 12,197,766. The claims additionally recite calculating and writing ECC data. Claim 8 of Patent 12,197,766 describes outputting ECC data. Additionally, reference Lam (US Patent 10,528,423) teaches a memory system in which ECC information is generated and stored in a second memory address that is internally established to be an offset from the data address (column 2 lines 15-29). The ECC data is generated by and retrieved by a system processor (Figure 2 and column 5 lines 31-44). Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the memory testing claimed by Patent 12,197,766 such that memory writes are accompanied by ECC written to a second memory address and later read, as taught by Lam. This modification would have been obvious because storage of ECC in a second memory address allows for ECC’s greater data accuracy (Lam column 1 lines 47-48) and protection of information in DRAM and memory controller interface (Lam column 5 lines 58-63).
Regarding claim 9 this claim recites limitations found in claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding claims 12-14, these claims recite limitations found in claims 5-7, respectively, and are respectively rejected on the same grounds as claims 5-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 6-8, 13-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Note that dependent claims not specifically addressed below inherit the deficiency of the parent claim and do not remedy the issue.
Claim 6 line 3 recites the limitation “the second logical address”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis. The limitation is recited in claim 5, but that is not a parent claim.
Claim 12 line 3 recites the limitation “the first ECC data”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13 line 3 recites the limitation “the second logical address”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 14 line 4 recites the limitation “the second ECC data”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 19 line 3 recites the limitation “the second logical address”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 20 line 4 recites the limitation “the second ECC data”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraipak (PG-PUB 2018/0174665) in view of MacGarry (PG-PUB 2017/0371560) and Lee (PG-PUB 2020/0151070).
Regarding claim 2, Kraipak discloses a memory device comprising a memory array (Figure 1); and a host device coupled to the memory device (paragraph 19, a test access port controller allows a user to interface with a BIST controller to perform test sequence) and configured to:
send a second command to the memory device to perform a first operation to remap the first logical address from a first physical address to a second physical address (paragraph 20, a repair instruction maps a defective memory location to a spare column);
send a third command to the memory device to write second data to the first logical address, wherein the second data is different from the first data (paragraph 22, after a simulated fault has caused allocation of spare columns, test read and write operations are performed on the spare columns to ensure they are free of faults; the test read and write data written to the spare column is presumably different from normal usage values written to primary memory column).
Kraipak does not expressly disclose the device wherein the host is configured to:
send a first command to the memory device to write first data to a first logical address of the memory array;
send a fourth command to the memory device to perform a second operation to remap the first logical address from the second physical address to the first physical address; and
send a fifth command to the memory device to read the first data from the first logical address.
Kraipak teaches performing testing at selected time periods when regular requests use is stopped (paragraphs 32 and 33).
MacGarry ('560) teaches a testing system in which a BIST controller performs periodic checks on SRAM to determine any hard errors indicating faults in the operation of a SRAM cell (paragraph 53). During testing data values may be temporarily buffered elsewhere, then write and read accesses test the memory for a hard fault (paragraph 33).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the BISRM testing disclosed by Kraipak such that the testing is performed periodically during other use, as taught by MacGarry. This modification would have been obvious because some emerging applications are highly sensitive to errors, and in such applications, it is advantageous to be able to perform such BIST testing periodically whilst the memory controller is being used, so that any faulty cells can be bypassed and no longer used (MacGarry paragraph 53).
Since the testing is performed periodically, it is both preceded by normal operation and followed by normal operation. The resulting system would therefore perform normal usage (reading and writing first data to an address, as by the claimed first command), followed by a test mode (when a remap operation is performed and a second physical address is written and read, as by the claimed second and third commands, and as taught by Kraipak as testing of the spare memory columns), followed by a return to normal mode (when a reverse remap operation is performed and the first data may be read again, as by the claimed fourth and fifth commands).
Kraipak does not expressly disclose the device wherein the operations to remap a logical address are soft post-package repair (sPPR) operations.
Lee teaches a memory device in which logical addresses of memory are mapped to physical addresses (claim 1 of the reference) and a post package repair mode is executed whereby a controller can map a logical address from a physical address of a failed row a physical address of a spare row of memory (see abstract).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the BISRM testing disclosed by Kraipak such that logical addresses are utilized and a remapping is done for a logical address using post package repair, as taught by Lee. This modification would have been obvious because a logical address is the address recognized and used by the host to perform memory access operations and an internal mapping of a logical address to a different physical resource does not affect how the host interfaces with the memory device (Lee paragraph 18) while use of a sPPR procedure to perform the mapping allows for a quick but temporary remapping of a memory address (Lee paragraph 27).
Regarding claims 3-4, Kraipak in view of MacGarry and Lee discloses:
3. (New) The system of claim 2, wherein the first data comprises one or more intentionally injected errors relative to the second data (Kraipak paragraph 50, the written data is a data value that has injected error and is subsequently determined to indicate a faulty memory).
4. (New) The system of claim 3, wherein the one or more intentionally injected errors include a bit insertion, a bit deletion, or a bit inversion (Kraipak paragraphs 40-44, specific bit locations are set for faults; a bit fault is an inversion).
Regarding claims 9-11, these claims recite limitations found in claims 2-4, respectively, and are respectively rejected on the same grounds as claims 2-4.
Claims 5-7, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraipak in view of MacGarry, Lee and Lam (US Patent 10,528,423).
Regarding claim 5, Kraipak in view of MacGarry and Lee discloses the system of claim 2. Kraipak in view of MacGarry and Lee does not expressly disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the host device is further configured to:
calculate error correction code (ECC) data corresponding to the first data; and
send a sixth command to the memory device to write the ECC data to a second logical address of the memory array.
Lam teaches a memory system in which ECC information is generated and stored in a second memory address that is internally established to be an offset from the data address (column 2 lines 15-29). The ECC data is generated by and retrieved by a system processor (Figure 2 and column 5 lines 31-44).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the memory testing disclosed by Kraipak in view of MacGarry and Lee such that memory writes are accompanied by ECC written to a second memory address, as taught by Lam. This modification would have been obvious because storage of ECC in a second memory address allows for ECC’s greater data accuracy (Lam column 1 lines 47-48) and protection of information in DRAM and memory controller interface (Lam column 5 lines 58-63).
Regarding claim 6, Kraipak in view of MacGarry and Lee discloses the system of claim 2. Kraipak in view of MacGarry and Lee does not expressly disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the host device is further configured to:
calculate error correction code (ECC) data corresponding to the second data; and
send a sixth command to the memory device to write the ECC data to the second logical address.
Lam teaches a memory system in which ECC information is generated and stored in a second memory address that is internally established to be an offset from the data address (column 2 lines 15-29). The ECC data is generated by and retrieved by a system processor (Figure 2 and column 5 lines 31-44).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the memory testing disclosed by Kraipak in view of MacGarry and Lee such that memory writes are accompanied by ECC written to a second memory address, as taught by Lam. This modification would have been obvious because storage of ECC in a second memory address allows for ECC’s greater data accuracy (Lam column 1 lines 47-48) and protection of information in DRAM and memory controller interface (Lam column 5 lines 58-63).
Regarding claim 7, Kraipak in view of MacGarry, Lee and Lam discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the host device is further configured to:
send a seventh command to the memory device to read the ECC data from the second logical address; and
receive the ECC data from the memory device in response to the seventh command (Lam column 5 lines 34-59, ECC scrubbing and ECC bit correction are performed; these require reading the ECC data).
Claims 12-14 recite limitations found in claims 5-7, respectively, and are respectively rejected on the same grounds as claims 5-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Haertel teaches a storage system in which logical addresses are translated into first and second physical addresses; ECC values are stored to secondary physical addresses. Kawai teaches a system in which ECC data is written to a corresponding address in a second flash memory that corresponds to the write address in a first flash memory.
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Please note that all agendas or related documents that Applicant would like reviewed should be sent at least one full business day (i.e. 24 hours not including weekends or holidays) before the interview.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ashish Thomas can be reached at (571) 272-0631. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The fax phone number for the examiner is 571-273-8186. The examiner may be e-mailed at joseph.schell@uspto.gov though communications via e-mail are not permitted without a written authorization form (see MPEP 502.03).
JS/JOSEPH O SCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114