DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species VI, Figs. 22A and 22B in the reply filed on 08/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “hose connection port” and “holding means” must be shown for the elected species VI, Figs. 23A and 23B or the feature(s) canceled from the claims 5 and 6. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “holding means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevens (D330,261).
Regarding claim 1, Stevens teaches a soaking chair comprising: a riser (a foot attached to a leg of the chair) including a receptacle and a floor-contacting surface, wherein the riser is designed for use in a shower, and wherein the riser increases the height of the soaking chair.
Regarding claim 2, the soaking chair comprises one or more legs, wherein each leg has an end that rests on the ground, and wherein the riser receptacle accommodates the end of a leg.
Regarding claim 3, the riser receptacle is capable of accommodating the end of another riser.
Regarding claim 4, soaking apparatus comprising: a soaking surface and a support structure; wherein the apparatus is designed for use in a shower; and wherein the soaking surface is double-walled (the front lip or flange and an inner surface) and comprises a soaking reservoir.
Regarding claim 7, the soaking apparatus comprises a pluggable drain.
Regarding claim 8, the soaking reservoir allows soaking of at least a portion of a user's knee, ankle, foot, shoulder, elbow, wrist, hand, or combinations thereof.
Claims 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gesse (5,996,139)
Regarding claim 4, Gesse teaches a soaking apparatus 17 comprising: a soaking surface 1 and a support structure 11; wherein the apparatus is designed for use in a shower; and wherein the soaking surface is double-walled (the ridge and an inner surface) and comprises a soaking reservoir 3.
Regarding claim 7, the soaking apparatus comprises a pluggable drain 5.
Regarding claim 8, the soaking reservoir 3 allows soaking of at least a portion of a user's knee, ankle, foot, shoulder, elbow, wrist, hand, or combinations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens (D330,261) in view of Williams (2022/0378253).
Regarding claims 5-6, Steven does not teach a hose connection port and a holding means for securing a water supply to the chair. Attention is directed to Williams which teaches a shower chair comprising a hose connection port 124 and a holding means (threading on the port 124) for securing a water supply 128 to the chair. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Steven soaking apparatus to include a hose connection port and a holding means for securing a water supply to the chair view of the teaching of Williams for conveniently providing water to a user.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens (D330,261) in view of Libit (2013/0219609).
Stevens does not specifically disclose the soaking surface being rotomolded. Attention is directed to Libit which teaches a soaking device 1210 being fabricated from a plastic material using a roto-molding process (paragraph [0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ a roto-molding process with Stevens soaking apparatus in view of the teaching of Libit to fabricate the soaking device.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gesse (5,996,139) in view of Stevens (D330,261).
Regarding claims 1-2Gesse discloses a soaking chair 17 having a plurality of legs but does not specifically disclose a riser mounted on the end of each of the legs. Attention is directed to Stevens which teaches a soaking chair comprising legs and a riser mounted on each of the legs for increasing the height of the soaking chair. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Gesse soaking chair to include a rise for each of the leg in view of teaching of Stevens for increasing the height of the soaking chair.
Regarding claim 3, the riser of Stevens includes a receptacle capable of accommodating the end of another riser.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gesse (5,996,139) in view of Williams (2022/0378253).
Regarding claims 5-6, Gesse does not teach a hose connection port and a holding means for securing a water supply to the chair. Attention is directed to Williams which teaches a shower chair comprising a hose connection port 124 and a holding means (threading on the port 124) for securing a water supply 128 to the chair. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Gesse soaking apparatus to include a hose connection port and a holding means for securing a water supply to the chair view of the teaching of Williams for conveniently providing water to a user.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gesse (5,996,139) in view of Libit (2013/0219609).
Gesse does not specifically disclose the soaking surface being rotomolded. Attention is directed to Libit which teaches a soaking device 1210 being fabricated from a plastic material using a roto-molding process (paragraph [0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ a roto-molding process with Gesse soaking apparatus in view of the teaching of Libit to fabricate the soaking device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kuether teaches a soaking chair having a soaking reservoir.
HUYEN D. LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754