DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 12/12/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024, 08/22/2025 and 04/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14 and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al (US 12520249 B2) (hereinafter “Shim”) in view of Karjalainen et al ( US 20170163403 A1) (hereinafter “Karjalainen”) (IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Shim discloses a scheduling entity in a wireless communication network (see (column 9, lines 35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling requests and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 19 (104-Memory), (column21, lines 58-67 and column 22 lines 1-5) discloses one or more memories coupled to one or more processors); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 19 (102-Processor), (column21, lines 58-67 and column 22 lines 1-5) discloses one or more memories coupled to one or more processors), wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) slot interpretation from the scheduling entity to a scheduled entity (see Fig. 12-13 (time-domain resource having SBFD resource configuration), (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses slot or symbol in which SBFD transmission and reception can be performed), the SBFD slot interpretation based on a duplex mode of the scheduled entity (see (column 18, lines 1-22) discloses UE which performs full-duplex based transmission and reception), and
transmit a full-duplex slot including one or more SBFD symbols according to the SBFD slot interpretation (see Fig. 12-13 (time-domain resource having SBFD resource configuration), (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses slot or symbol in which SBFD transmission and reception can be performed).
Karjalainen is added here to clarify slot interpretation based on a duplex mode (see para. [0025] discloses wireless communication system, determine to send a message indicating that a user equipment is to operate in a half-duplex mode, in which one or more periods are reserved to transmit without receiving in the frequency band and other periods to receive without transmitting in the frequency band. A message to another device indicating to operate in full duplex mode in which the device can transmit and receive simultaneously).
Shim and Karjalainen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the selection of the slot interpretation as described by Karjalainen.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving selectively use of full duplex and half duplex to improve throughput and use of resources .
Regarding claim 2, Shim discloses a scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines 35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission) , and the one or more processors are further configured to:
select the SBFD slot interpretation that treats each of the one or more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot as a downlink (DL) symbol (see Fig. 13, Fig. 15 (SBFD, DL), (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses SBFD downlink operation can perform on slot or symbol denoted DL).
Regarding claim 3, Shim discloses a scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission), and the one or more processors are further configured to: select the SBFD slot interpretation that at least one of:
treats each of the one or more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more downlink (DL) symbols as DL symbols (see Fig. 12 (1210, DL), Fig. 13 (SBFD, DL), see (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses SBFD downlink operation can perform on slot or symbols denoted DL), or
treats all flexible (F) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more DL symbols as DL symbols (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 4, Shim discloses scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission), and the one or more processors are further configured to:
select the SBFD slot interpretation that at least one of: treats all uplink (UL) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by the one or more SBFD symbols as UL symbols (see Fig. 12 (1210, DL), Fig. 13 (SBFD, DL), see (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses SBFD uplink operation can perform on slot or symbols denoted UL), or
treats all flexible (F) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by the one or more SBFD symbols as UL symbols (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 11, Shim discloses a method of wireless communication (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration), at a scheduling entity in a wireless communication network (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration) , comprising:
transmitting a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) slot interpretation from the scheduling entity to a scheduled entity, the SBFD slot interpretation based on a duplex mode of the scheduled entity (see Fig. 12-13 (time-domain resource having SBFD resource configuration), (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses slot or symbol in which SBFD transmission and reception can be performed); and
transmitting a full-duplex slot including one or more SBFD symbols according to the SBFD slot interpretation (see Fig. 12-13 (time-domain resource having SBFD resource configuration), (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses slot or symbol in which SBFD transmission and reception can be performed).
Karjalainen is added here to clarify slot interpretation based on a duplex mode (see para. [0025] discloses wireless communication system, determine to send a message indicating that a user equipment is to operate in a half-duplex mode, in which one or more periods are reserved to transmit without receiving in the frequency band and other periods to receive without transmitting in the frequency band. A message to another device indicating to operate in full duplex mode in which the device can transmit and receive simultaneously).
Shim and Karjalainen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the selection of the slot interpretation as described by Karjalainen.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving selectively use of full duplex and half duplex to improve throughput and use of resources.
Regarding claim 12, Shim discloses a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission), and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that treats each of the one more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot as a downlink (DL) symbol (see Fig. 13, Fig. 15 (SBFD, DL), (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses SBFD downlink operation can perform on slot or symbol denoted DL).
Regarding claim 13, Shim disclose a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) ) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission), and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that at least one of: treats each of the one or more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more downlink (DL) symbols as DL symbols (see Fig. 12 (1210, DL), Fig. 13 (SBFD, DL), see (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses SBFD downlink operation can perform on slot or symbols denoted DL), or
treats all flexible (F) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more DL symbols as DL symbols (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 14, Shim discloses a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission), and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that at least one of: treats all uplink (UL) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by the one or more SBFD symbols as UL symbols (see Fig. 12 (1210, DL), Fig. 13 (SBFD, DL), see (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses SBFD uplink operation can perform on slot or symbols denoted UL), or
treats all flexible (F) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by the one or more SBFD symbols as UL symbols (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 20,Shim discloses an apparatus configured as a scheduling entity in a wireless communication network (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability), comprising:
means for transmitting a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) slot interpretation from the scheduling entity to a scheduled entity, the SBFD slot interpretation based on a duplex mode of the scheduled entity (see (column 18, lines 1-22) discloses UE which performs full-duplex based transmission and reception), and means for transmitting a full-duplex slot including one or more SBFD symbols according to the SBFD slot interpretation (see Fig. 12-13 (time-domain resource having SBFD resource configuration), (column 18, lines 59-67) discloses slot or symbol in which SBFD transmission and reception can be performed).
Karjalainen is added here to clarify slot interpretation based on a duplex mode (see para. [0025] discloses wireless communication system, determine to send a message indicating that a user equipment is to operate in a half-duplex mode, in which one or more periods are reserved to transmit without receiving in the frequency band and other periods to receive without transmitting in the frequency band. A message to another device indicating to operate in full duplex mode in which the device can transmit and receive simultaneously).
Shim and Karjalainen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the selection of the slot interpretation as described by Karjalainen.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving selectively use of full duplex and half duplex to improve throughput and use of resources.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al (US 12520249 B2) (hereinafter “Shim”) in view of Karjalainen et al ( US 20170163403 A1) (hereinafter “Karjalainen”) (IDS) as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of Bae et al (US-12267815-B2).
Regarding claim 5, Shim discloses a scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission).
Shim fails to disclose but Bae teaches one or more processors (see Fig. 3 (120-Processor) column 13 ( lines47-67) discloses processor) are further configured to:
select the SBFD slot interpretation that applies a slot format indicator (SFI) to the full-duplex slot (see column 22, lines(10-14) discloses TDD with SFI (slot format indicator) indicating DL, UL or Flexible symbols), wherein the SFI is indicative of the full-duplex slot formatted with either all downlink (DL) symbols or all uplink (UL) symbols (see column 22, lines(10-14) discloses TDD with SFI indicating DL, UL or Flexible symbols).
Shim and Bae are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the SFI as described by Bae.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving flexibility on the assignment of resources.
Regarding claim 15, Shim discloses a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration), wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is half-duplex (HD) (see Fig. 13 (HD), Fig. 15 (HD), column19 (lines 37-67) discloses half duplex transmission).
Shim fails to disclose but Bae teaches, and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that applies a slot format indicator (SFI) to the full-duplex slot (see column 22, lines(10-14) discloses TDD with SFI (slot format indicator) indicating DL, UL or Flexible symbols), wherein the SFI is indicative of the full-duplex slot formatted with either all downlink (DL) symbols or all uplink (UL) symbols (see column 22, lines(10-14) discloses TDD with SFI indicating DL, UL or Flexible symbols).
Shim and Bae are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the SFI as described by Bae.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving flexibility on the assignment of resources.
Claims 6-10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al (US 12520249 B2) (hereinafter “Shim”) in view of Karjalainen et al ( US 20170163403 A1) (hereinafter “Karjalainen”) (IDS) as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of Wu et al (US-20160233904-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shim discloses a scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability).
Shim fails to disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the one or more processors (see Fig. 10 (1015), para. [0055] discloses processor 1015) are further configured to:
select the SBFD slot interpretation that treats all symbols of the full-duplex slot as either downlink (DL) symbols or uplink (UL) symbols according to a parameter preconfigured in the scheduled entity (see para.[0046] discloses the portion of the special subframe dedicated for downlink transmission may be used for downlink transmissions when the special subframe is being used for legacy UE communications, while when full-duplex UE and/or full-duplex aware UE is available and requests for communications, the portion of the special subframe may be configured for flexible (F) communications).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 7, Shim discloses a scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability).
Shim does not clearly disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the one or more processors (see Fig. 10 (1015), para. [0055] discloses processor 1015) are further configured to:
select the SBFD slot interpretation that treats all symbols of the full-duplex slot according to a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see para [0040] discloses UE may need to be able to prepare an uplink transmission or a downlink reception based on scheduling assignments received on RRC signaling).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware and RRC as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 8, Shim discloses a scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability).
Shim does not clearly disclose but Wu teaches , wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the one or more processors (see Fig. 10 (1015), para. [0055] discloses processor 1015) are further configured to:
select the SBFD slot interpretation that treats all symbols of the full-duplex slot as flexible (F) symbols, wherein a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) determines whether a given F symbol is treated as an uplink (UL) symbol or a downlink (DL) symbol (see para. [0040];[0046] discloses see para [0040] discloses UE may need to be able to prepare an uplink transmission or a downlink reception based on scheduling assignments received on a control channel; when full-duplex UE and/or full-duplex aware UE is available and requests for communications, the portion of the special subframe may be configured for flexible (F) communications).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 9, Shim discloses a scheduling entity (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability).
Shim does not clearly disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the one or more processors (see Fig. 10 (1015), para. [0055] discloses processor 1015) are further configured to:
select the SBFD slot interpretation that at least one of: treats each of the one or more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more downlink (DL) symbols as DL symbols (see Fig. 4a (405, 415), para. [0037];[0044] discloses other subframe structures are possible, subframe structure for full-duplex aware operation; full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), or
treats all flexible (F) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more DL symbols, and each of the one more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot, as DL symbols (see para.[0046] disclose full-duplex aware UE is available and requests for communications, the portion of the special subframe may be configured for flexible (F) communications).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 10, scheduling entity of (see (column 9, lines35-42);(column 10, lines 65-67) discloses DgNB should make scheduling decision and inform scheduling information; receives scheduling request and makes decision; distributed scheduling can be performed if each relay node has scheduling capability).
Shim does not clearly disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs, and the one or more processors (see Fig. 10 (1015), para. [0055] discloses processor 1015) are further configured to: select the SBFD slot interpretation that at least one of:
treats all uplink (UL) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by the one or more SBFD symbols as UL symbols (see Fig. 4a (405, 415), para. [0037];[0044] discloses other subframe structures are possible, subframe structure for full-duplex aware operation; full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), or
treats all flexible (F) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by the one or more SBFD symbols as UL symbols (see para.[0046] disclose full-duplex aware UE is available and requests for communications, the portion of the special subframe may be configured for flexible (F) communications).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 16, Shim discloses a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration).
Shim fails to disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that treats all symbols of the full-duplex slot as either downlink (DL) symbols or uplink (UL) symbols according to a parameter preconfigured in the scheduled entity (see para.[0046] discloses the portion of the special subframe dedicated for downlink transmission may be used for downlink transmissions when the special subframe is being used for legacy UE communications, while when full-duplex UE and/or full-duplex aware UE is available and requests for communications, the portion of the special subframe may be configured for flexible (F) communications).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 17, Shim discloses a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration).
Shim does not clearly disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that treats all symbols of the full-duplex slot according to a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see para [0040] discloses UE may need to be able to prepare an uplink transmission or a downlink reception based on scheduling assignments received on RRC signaling).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware and RRC as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 18, Shim discloses a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration).
Shim does not clearly disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that treats all symbols of the full-duplex slot as flexible (F) symbols, wherein a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) determines whether a given F symbol is treated as an uplink (UL) symbol or a downlink (DL) symbol (see para. [0040];[0046] discloses see para [0040] discloses UE may need to be able to prepare an uplink transmission or a downlink reception based on scheduling assignments received on a control channel; when full-duplex UE and/or full-duplex aware UE is available and requests for communications, the portion of the special subframe may be configured for flexible (F) communications).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware and control channel as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Regarding claim 19, Shim discloses a method (see (column 21, lines 22-31) discloses method operating on resource region on full-duplex transmission, and resource region with half-duplex configuration).
Shim fails to disclose but Wu teaches, wherein the duplex mode of the scheduled entity is full-duplex-aware (FD-aware) (see para. [0044] discloses if the full-duplex device is scheduling transmissions for full-duplex UEs and/or full-duplex aware UEs, the full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), and the method further comprises:
selecting the SBFD slot interpretation that at least one of:
treats each of the one or more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more downlink (DL) symbols as DL symbols (see Fig. 4a (405, 415), para. [0037];[0044] discloses other subframe structures are possible, subframe structure for full-duplex aware operation; full-duplex device may follow the flexible subframe configurations compatible with the full-duplex UEs and/or the full-duplex aware UEs), or
treats all flexible (F) symbols of the full-duplex slot that are followed by one or more DL symbols, and each of the one or more SBFD symbols of the full-duplex slot, as DL symbols (see para.[0046] disclose full-duplex aware UE is available and requests for communications, the portion of the special subframe may be configured for flexible (F) communications).
Shim and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and operation modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shim to include the full-duplex-aware and control channel as described by Wu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving coexistence of full duplex devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Montojo et al (US 9014110 B2, published 2015/04/21) discloses techniques for enabling coexistence of Half Duplex and Full Duplex terminals.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419