DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
“the winding” of claims 1 and 9
the “stator,” “rotor,” and “at least one electrical winding” of claim 7
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shano (US 3,305,740).
Regarding claim 1, Shano discloses a power transmission device for energizing an electrical winding (35 of Figure 1) carried by a rotor of an electric machine (see Figure 1; Col. 1:8-10), comprising:
a slip ring unit (see Figure 1);
at least one slip ring (37, 38 of Figure 1) non-rotatably fastened to the slip ring unit, the at least one slip ring configured to be electrically connected (via 47, 48 of Figure 1) to the winding (35 of Figure 1; Col. 2:71-Col. 3:2);
a brush unit (42 of Figure 1; Col. 2:48-49); and
at least two brushes (39, 40 of Figure 1) held on the brush unit for parallel energization of the slip ring,
wherein the slip ring unit is mounted on the brush unit such that the slip ring unit is rotatable about an axis of rotation (see Figure 1),
wherein the brushes are held on the brush unit such that the brushes touch the slip ring and establish an electrical contact via a contact surface (Col. 2:45-47),
wherein when the slip ring unit rotates (via 26 of Figure 1), the brushes sweep over a running surface on the slip ring (Col. 2:45-47), and
wherein the brushes are configured such that the respective running surfaces on the slip ring do not overlap (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Shano discloses wherein more than two brushes (39, 40 of Figure 1) are held on the brush unit (42 of Figure 1; Col. 2:48-49), all of which sweep over non-overlapping running surfaces on the slip ring (37, 38 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Shano discloses wherein at least one of the running surfaces of the brushes is located on a radial outer peripheral surface of the slip ring (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Shano discloses wherein at least two slip rings (37, 38 of Figure 1) are fastened non-rotatably to the slip ring unit (see Figure 1), a first slip ring (37 of Figure 1) of the at least two slip rings electrically connectable (via 47 of Figure 1) to a first pole of the winding (see Figure 1) and a second slip ring (38 of Figure 1) of the at least two slip rings configured to be electrically connected (via 48 of Figure 1) to a second pole of the winding (see Figure 1), and
wherein at least two brushes (39, 40 of Figure 1) associated with the first slip ring and at least two brushes associated with the second slip ring are held on the brush unit (42 of Figure 1; Col. 2:48-49) such that the brushes associated with the respective slip rings each touch the respective slip ring and establish an electrical contact via a corresponding contact surface (Col. 2:71-Col. 3:2)
wherein when the slip ring unit rotates (via 26 of Figure 1), the brushes sweep over a running surface on the respective slip ring (Col. 2:45-47),
wherein the brushes associated with the respective slip rings are configure such that the running surfaces on the respective slip ring do not overlap (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shano (US 3,305,740), in view of Holzapfel (US 2017/0214202).
Regarding claim 7, Shano discloses an electric machine (see Figure 1; Col. 1:8-10) comprising:
a stator (Col. 2:30-32),
a rotor rotatably mounted in the stator and configured to carry at least one electrical winding (35 of Figure 1), and
a power transmission device for energizing the winding, the power transmission device comprising:
a slip ring unit (see Figure 1);
at least one slip ring (37, 38 of Figure 1) non-rotatably fastened to the slip ring unit, the at least one slip ring configured to be electrically connected (via 47, 48 of Figure 1) to the winding (Col. 2:71-Col. 3:2);
a brush unit (42 of Figure 1; Col. 2:48-49); and
at least brushes (39, 40 of Figure 1) held on the brush unit for parallel energization of the slip ring,
wherein the slip ring unit is mounted on the brush unit such that the slip ring unit is rotatable about an axis of rotation (see Figure 1),
wherein the brushes are held on the brush unit such that the brushes touch the slip ring and establish an electrical contact via a contact surface (Col. 2:45-47),
wherein when the slip ring unit rotates (via 26 of Figure 1), the brushes sweep over a running surface on the slip ring (Col. 2:45-47),
wherein the brushes are configured such that the respective running surfaces on the slip ring do not overlap (see Figure 1), and
wherein the slip ring unit is connected non-rotatably to the rotor and the winding is electrically connected to the at least one slip ring (Col. 2:71-Col. 3:2).
Shano does not explicitly disclose at least three brushes.
Holzapfel discloses at least three brushes (21-24 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have at least three brushes in the electric machine of Shano, as taught by Holzapfel, in order to use brushes for wear indication and normal signal and/or power transmission over the slipring assembly [Holzapfel: Para. 0033, 0035].
Regarding claim 8, Shano discloses wherein the electric machine is configured as a separately excited synchronous machine (see Figure 1; Col. 1:8-10).
Claims 4, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shano (US 3,305,740), in view of Mueller (US 2024/0358344).
Regarding claim 4, Shano discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the running surfaces of the brushes (39, 40 of Figure 1) is located on an axial end face of the slip ring (37, 38 of Figure 1).
Mueller discloses wherein at least one of the running surfaces of the brushes (17 of Figure 5) is located on an axial end face of the slip ring (13 of Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the running surfaces of the brushes of Shano located on an axial end face of the slip ring, as taught by Mueller, as a design choice to provide a slip ring system for transferring energy into a rotating installation by locating the brushes to make electrical contact with the slip ring. Applicant has not disclosed that at least one of the running surfaces of the brushes being located on an axial end face of the slip ring provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the running surfaces on the brushes being located on a radial surface of the slip ring because as long as the running surfaces make electrical contact with the slip ring the transfer of energy is accomplished.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shano to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Shano discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein at least two of the running surfaces of the brushes (39, 40 of Figure 1) are located on two opposite axial end faces of the slip ring (37, 38 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the running surfaces of the brushes of Shano located on two opposite axial end face of the slip ring as a design choice to provide a slip ring system for transferring energy into a rotating installation by locating the brushes to make electrical contact with the slip ring. Applicant has not disclosed that at least one of the running surfaces of the brushes being located on two opposite axial end faces of the slip ring provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the running surfaces on the brushes being located on a radial surface of the slip ring because as long as the running surfaces make electrical contact with the slip ring the transfer of energy is accomplished.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shano to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Shano discloses a power transmission device for energizing an electrical winding (35 of Figure 1) carried by a rotor of an electric machine (see Figure 1; Col. 1:8-10), comprising:
a slip ring unit (see Figure 1);
at least one slip ring (37, 38 of Figure 1) non-rotatably fastened to the slip ring unit, the at least one slip ring configured to be electrically connected (via 47, 48 of Figure 1) to the winding (35 of Figure 1; Col. 2:71-Col. 3:2);
a brush unit (42 of Figure 1; Col. 2:48-49); and
at least two brushes (39, 40 of Figure 1) held on the brush unit for parallel energization of the slip ring,
wherein the slip ring unit is mounted on the brush unit such that the slip ring unit is rotatable about an axis of rotation (see Figure 1),
wherein the brushes are held on the brush unit such that the brushes touch the slip ring and establish an electrical contact via a contact surface (Col. 2:45-47),
wherein when the slip ring unit rotates (via 26 of Figure 1), the brushes sweep over a running surface on the slip ring (Col. 2:45-47).
Shano does not explicitly disclose wherein the brushes are configured such that the running surfaces of two of the three brushes on the slip ring at least partially overlap.
Mueller discloses wherein the brushes (17 of Figure 5) are configured such that the running surfaces of two of the three brushes on the slip ring (13 of Figure 2) at least partially overlap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have at least two brushes of Shano partially overlap, as taught by Mueller, to ensure transmission reliability [Mueller: Para. 0075].
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jensen (US 3,998,511), Binder (US 12,244,189) disclose a power transmission device for energizing an electrical winding of a rotor comprising a slip ring and brushes that establish an electrical contact via a contact surface.
Nugent (US 2,854,647) disclose a power transmission device for energizing an electrical winding of a rotor comprising a slip ring and at least three brushes that establish an electrical contact via a contact surface.
Frister (US 4,346,321) disclose at least two running surfaces of the brushes are located on two opposite axial end faces of the slip ring.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834