DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0325812 to Arminjon
In Reference to Claim 1
Arminjon discloses:
[AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: textbox (D)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (A)]
An exhaust manifold, comprising:
an exhaust manifold flange 40;
a first exhaust passage A extending from the exhaust manifold flange and having a first exhaust passage first end and a first exhaust passage second end, the first exhaust passage first end in fluid communication with the exhaust manifold flange via a first opening 42 defined in the exhaust manifold flange;
and a second exhaust passage B extending from the exhaust manifold flange and having a second exhaust passage first end and a second exhaust passage second end, the second exhaust passage first end in fluid communication with the exhaust manifold flange via a second opening 44 defined in the exhaust manifold flange, wherein the second opening is substantially the same shape as the first opening.
wherein the first opening and the second opening are substantially circular, see paragraph [0038] “opening are rectangular shape, however, any other shape is possible... maybe be of circular shape”.
In Reference to Claim 2
Arminjon discloses:
wherein the first opening 42 and the second opening 44 have substantially the same diameter.
In Reference to Claim 3
Arminjon discloses:
wherein a cross section of the first exhaust passage at a location distal from the first exhaust passage first end is non-circular, see fig.2.
In Reference to Claim 4
Arminjon discloses:
wherein a cross section 8of the second exhaust passage at a location distal from the second exhaust passage first end is non-circular, (the cross section are shown as non circular) see Fig.5.
In Reference to Claim 5
Arminjon discloses:
a dividing wall 45 positioned between the first exhaust passage and the second exhaust passage.
In Reference to Claim 6
Arminjon discloses:
wherein the dividing wall 45 at least in part defines the first opening 42.
In Reference to Claim 7
Arminjon discloses:
wherein the dividing wall 45 at least in part defines the second opening 44.
In Reference to Claim 8
Arminjon discloses:
wherein a cross-section of the first exhaust passage is non-uniform along a length of the first exhaust passage, see fig.3.
In Reference to Claim 9
Arminjon discloses:
Wherein a cross-section of the second exhaust passage is non-uniform along a length of the second exhaust passage, see fig.3.
In Reference to Claim 11
Arminjon discloses:
wherein a cross-section of the first opening remains substantially constant within the exhaust manifold flange, see Fig.3.
In Reference to Claim 12
Arminjon discloses:
wherein a cross-section of the second opening remains substantially constant within the exhaust manifold flange, see Fig.1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0325812 to Arminjon.
In Reference to Claim 16-17
Arminjon does not disclose: wherein a cross-section of the first exhaust passage is shaped differently from a cross-section of the first opening, wherein a cross-section of the second exhaust passage is shaped differently from a cross-section of the second opening.
The claimed dimensions/shapes are provided as preferred configurations of the invention and provide no inherent advantage. Limitations drawn to the specific/different shapes of the opening would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, absent criticality or unexpected results, as the skilled artisan would have chosen from various dimensions/shapes based on suitability for the intended results. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues:
“Arminjon does not teach an exhaust manifold with first and second exhaust passages, where the first end of each exhaust passage is in fluid communication with an exhaust manifold flange via substantially circular openings defined in the exhaust manifold flange”
Examiner Response:
Applicant argument are fully acknowledged however they are not persuasive Arminjon does disclose the “substantially circular opening” paragraph [0038]. Thus the claim rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY AYALA DELGADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746