DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 and 04/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/12/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Filin et al., (hereinafter Filin), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0397102.
As per claim 1, Filin discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node [fig. 18, 19, 31A, paragraphs 0050-0054, 0368, an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node (energy saving in a wireless communication network; base station)], comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the first network node [fig. 15A, paragraphs 0202, 0205, 0368, one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the first network node (the processing system may be associated with a memory; base station may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to perform)] to:
provide a request for an energy cost associated with one or more attributes of a second network node, wherein the request indicates the one or more attributes, and wherein the one or more attributes include one or more of a beam, a group of beams, a coverage state for one or more beams or cells, a cell activation, a cell deactivation, a beam activation, a beam deactivation, a beam reconfiguration, a cell reconfiguration, a power reconfiguration, a periodicity, a system information activation, a system information deactivation, a synchronization signal block (SSB) activation, an SSB deactivation, discontinuous transmission (DTX), discontinuous reception (DRX), a random access configuration, a paging configuration, or a group handover of multiple user equipment (UEs) [fig. 24, 26, 31A, paragraphs 0165, 0215, 0250-0252, 0273, 0367-0370, provide a request for an energy cost associated with one or more attributes of a second network node, wherein the request indicates the one or more attributes, and wherein the one or more attributes include a cell deactivation (first base station may send, to a second base station, a request for an energy cost information associated with deactivation of a cell of the first base station; energy saving plan may comprise, for example, activation/deactivation of a cell of the first base station, activation/deactivation of a cell of the second base station, onload/offload of one or more wireless devices, etc)]; and
receive a response that indicates energy cost information of the second network node associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request [fig. 24, 26, 31A, paragraphs 0274, 0275, 0297, 0298, 0310, 0367-0370, receive a response that indicates energy cost information of the second network node associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request (the base station 2504 may send to the base station 2501 the energy cost determination responses 2519; the second base station may send to the first base station a response comprising the energy cost determination of the second base station; second response may comprise the second energy cost information associated with deactivation of the cell of the first base station)].
As per claim 2, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request further include a cell level, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information per cell of the second network node, or wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request further include a group of cells, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information for the group of cells of the second network node [paragraphs 0215, 0259, 0260, 0309, 0368-0370, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request further include a cell level, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information per cell of the second network node (base station may determine to deactivate the cell, for example, if an energy usage associated with the cell remaining activated exceeds the energy consumption (e.g., energy cost) of the other base station(s) associated with deactivation of the cell; an energy cost value associated with service of an additional load comprises an increase of the energy cost value)].
As per claim 3, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the beam, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the beam of the second network node, or wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the group of beams, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information for the group of beams of the second network node [paragraphs 0215, 0251, 0269, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the beam, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the beam of the second network node (an energy saving plan may comprise changing a coverage area of a beam of a candidate energy saving cell)].
As per claim 4, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the coverage state for the one or more beams, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the coverage state for the one or more beams of the second network node, or wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the coverage state for one or more cells, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the coverage state for the one or more cells of the second network node [paragraphs 0215, 0251, 0269, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the coverage state for the one or more beams, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the coverage state for the one or more beams of the second network node (an energy saving plan may comprise changing a coverage area of a beam of a candidate energy saving cell)].
As per claim 5, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the cell activation, the cell deactivation, or the cell reconfiguration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information for the cell activation, the cell deactivation, or the cell reconfiguration for the second network node [paragraphs 0215, 0245, 0246, 0308, 0309, 0368, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the cell activation, the cell deactivation, or the cell reconfiguration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information for the cell activation, the cell deactivation, or the cell reconfiguration for the second network node (base station may also request the other base station(s) to determine and provide energy consumption (e.g., energy cost) associated with the deactivation of the cell; first base station may send, to a second base station, a request for an energy cost information associated with deactivation of a cell of the first base station)].
As per claim 6, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the power reconfiguration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the power reconfiguration for the second network node [paragraphs 0251, 0265, 0268, 0274, 0276, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the power reconfiguration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the power reconfiguration for the second network node (energy saving plan may refer, for example, to one or more energy, resource, and/or power saving actions; energy saving plan may comprise a parameter indicating that a cell of the base station is deactivated or reduce a coverage area and/or reduce transmission power)].
As per claim 7, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the periodicity of one or more signals of the second network node, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the periodicity indicated in the request [paragraphs 0265, 0292, 0308, 0323, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the periodicity of one or more signals of the second network node, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the periodicity indicated in the request (the energy cost determination request may include a time schedule of the energy saving plan execution (e.g., time interval, time duration, time period, time window, for which the energy saving plan (or one or more actions associated therewith) are to be executed)].
As per claim 9, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the DTX configuration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the DTX configuration for the second network node, or wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the DRX configuration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the DRX configuration for the second network node [paragraphs 0084, 0097, 0252, 0273, 0301, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the DRX configuration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the DRX configuration for the second network node (request 2410 may include an energy saving plan of the base station 2401 and/or information about an energy saving plan of the base station 2401; an energy saving plan may comprise changing discontinuous transmission schedule in a candidate energy saving cell)].
As per claim 11, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the group handover of the multiple UEs, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the group handover of the multiple UEs for the second network node [fig. 23, 30, paragraphs 0095, 0112, 0124, 0243, 0312, 0362, 0363, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the group handover of the multiple UEs, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the group handover of the multiple UEs for the second network node (serving base station of the wireless device may request a handover to a cell of one of the neighboring base stations; group of wireless devices 3012 may be wireless device(s) that can receive reference signal of the cell)].
As per claim 12, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the energy cost information includes a predicted energy cost for an action of the second network node associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request [paragraphs 0275-0277, 0282, 0299, wherein the energy cost information includes a predicted energy cost for an action of the second network node associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request (the base station 2401 may use its own prediction of energy saving from executing the energy saving plan)].
As per claim 13, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 12,
wherein the predicted energy cost is based on an artificial intelligence or machine learning model [paragraphs 0216, 0228, 0276, 0299, 0332, 0347, wherein the predicted energy cost is based on an artificial intelligence or machine learning model (base station 2501 may determine whether to execute the energy saving plan, for example, using AI/ML capabilities; the base station may perform its own prediction of energy saving)].
As per claim 14, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the energy cost information indicates a relative cost in comparison to a current energy cost and associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request [paragraphs 0253, wherein the energy cost information indicates a relative cost in comparison to a current energy cost and associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request (energy consumption (e.g., energy cost) determination (or information) may refer, for example, to a total amount of energy consumed, a relative amount of energy consumed)].
As per claim 15, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 14,
wherein the relative cost comprises a negative value that indicates an energy saving associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request [paragraphs 0277, 0278, 0280, 0282, wherein the relative cost comprises a negative value that indicates an energy saving associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request (the neighbor base station may accept/reject the received energy saving/handover strategies to avoid large negative impact on the candidate compensating cell)].
As per claim 16, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the request includes a data collection request, and wherein the response includes a data collection response [fig. 17, paragraphs 0220, 0231, 0237, 0295, wherein the request includes a data collection request, and wherein the response includes a data collection response (output of the Model inference 2517 may comprise one or more requests for an energy cost determination; model training may include measurements performed by the base station 1 and/or other data collected by the base station 1)].
As per claim 17, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the request further requests the second network node to perform an action associated with the one or more attributes, and wherein the response includes an acceptance or a rejection for the action [paragraphs 0280-0282, wherein the request further requests the second network node to perform an action associated with the one or more attributes, and wherein the response includes an acceptance or a rejection for the action (base station may accept/reject the received energy saving/handover strategies)].
As per claim 18, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the energy cost information includes one or more parameters of an energy cost function for the second network node [fig. 17, 18, paragraphs 0228, 0233-0235, 0285, 0318, wherein the energy cost information includes one or more parameters of an energy cost function for the second network node (information exchange between several base stations to perform energy saving using Model Training function)].
As per claim 19, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network node to:
change a configuration at the first network node or request a configuration change for the second network node based on the energy cost information received from the second network node [paragraphs 0215, 0252, 0357, change a configuration at the first network node or request a configuration change for the second network node based on the energy cost information received from the second network node (base station informs its neighbor base station(s) about it configuration update; base station may provide information related to the cell to assist the determination of energy consumption; information may comprise coverage area configuration of the cell)].
As per claim 20, Filin discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network node [fig. 18, 19, 31A, paragraphs 0050-0054, 0368, an apparatus for wireless communication at a second network node (energy saving in a wireless communication network; base station)], comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the second network node [fig. 15A, paragraphs 0202, 0205, 0368, one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the second network node (the processing system may be associated with a memory; base station may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to perform)] to:
receive a request for an energy cost associated with one or more attributes for the second network node, wherein the request indicates the one or more attributes, and wherein the one or more attributes include one or more of a beam, a group of beams, a coverage state for one or more beams or cells, a cell activation, a cell deactivation, a beam activation, a beam deactivation, a beam reconfiguration, a cell reconfiguration, a power reconfiguration, a periodicity, a system information activation, a system information deactivation, a synchronization signal block (SSB) activation, an SSB deactivation, discontinuous transmission (DTX), discontinuous reception (DRX), a random access configuration, a paging configuration, or a group handover of multiple user equipment (UEs) [fig. 24, 26, 31A, paragraphs 0165, 0215, 0250-0252, 0273, 0367-0370, receive a request for an energy cost associated with one or more attributes for the second network node, wherein the request indicates the one or more attributes, and wherein the one or more attributes include a cell deactivation (first base station may send, to a second base station, a request for an energy cost information associated with deactivation of a cell of the first base station; energy saving plan may comprise, for example, activation/deactivation of a cell of the first base station, activation/deactivation of a cell of the second base station, onload/offload of one or more wireless devices, etc)]; and
provide a response that indicates energy cost information of the second network node associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request [fig. 24, 26, 31A, paragraphs 0274, 0275, 0297, 0298, 0310, 0367-0370, provide a response that indicates energy cost information of the second network node associated with the one or more attributes indicated in the request (the base station 2504 may send to the base station 2501 the energy cost determination responses 2519; the second base station may send to the first base station a response comprising the energy cost determination of the second base station; second response may comprise the second energy cost information associated with deactivation of the cell of the first base station)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filin, in view of Harris, (hereinafter Harris), International Publication No. WO2024/232912.
As per claim 8, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Filin does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the SSB activation or the SSB deactivation, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the SSB activation or the SSB deactivation for the second network node.
However, Harris teaches wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the SSB activation or the SSB deactivation, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the SSB activation or the SSB deactivation for the second network node [paragraphs 0032, 0042, 0047, 0065, 0092, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the SSB activation or the SSB deactivation, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the SSB activation or the SSB deactivation for the second network node (request to switch on SSB beams which have been deactivated, request the reactivation of SSB beams that were previously deactivated; the energy cost of paging is indicated per beam)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Filin by indicating a SSB activation or the SSB deactivation as taught by Harris because it would provide the Filin's apparatus with the enhanced capability of achieving energy saving [Harris, paragraphs 0053, 0069].
As per claim 10, Filin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Filin does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the paging configuration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the paging configuration for the second network node.
However, Harris teaches wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the paging configuration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the paging configuration for the second network node [paragraphs 0042, 0046, 0047, 0061, wherein the one or more attributes indicated in the request include the paging configuration, and wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the paging configuration for the second network node (the energy cost of paging is indicated)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Filin by including wherein the response indicates the energy cost information associated with the paging configuration for the second network node as taught by Harris because it would provide the Filin's apparatus with the enhanced capability of achieving energy saving [Harris, paragraphs 0053, 0069].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Esswie, U.S. Publication No. 2024/0267847 discloses facilitate cost efficiency or power efficiency at the RAN node.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469