DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities.
For Claim 6 the occurrence of “an deactivation” in line 4, seems a typo error, if this is true, it is suggested to applicant to change “an deactivation” “to “a deactivation”.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11-14, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al(US 2024/0267984 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon ‘984 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)([0052]-[0053] and Fig. 3, UE 102), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to([0052]-[0053], [0056] and Fig. 3, UE 102 comprising processor 340 and memory 360): receive an indication of multiple discontinuous transmission (DTX) configurations for a cell([0105], [0108], [0129] and Figs. 10, 15, a serving gNB provides a UE with one or multiple sets of cell DTX/DRX configuration parameters per serving cell via higher layer signaling);
receive an activation indication for a first DTX configuration from the multiple DTX configurations for the cell([0105], [0114], [0138] Figs. 10, 15, 16, the UE receives an indication containing one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX configurations via L1 MAC CE or RRC signaling to activate a specific cell DTX configuration); and skip monitoring for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a non-active period of the first DTX configuration([0094], [0133] and Fig. 9, Jeon ‘984 defined cell DTX as a state where UEs assume all transmission form serving gNB are suspended during the off-duration. Furthermore Jeon ‘984 teaches providing indication regarding whether a PDCCH is present only in the DTX on-duration, directing the UE not to monitor for it during the non-active period).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the indication of the multiple DTX configurations is in one or more of: a broadcast message, at least one UE specific message, or group common signaling that is common to multiple UEs([0092], [0105], [0108], [0129] and Figs. 10, providing multiple cell DTX configurations to the UE via higher signaling, SIB(broadcast message) or UE specific RRC signaling, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternate claim limitations).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon ‘984 teaches all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the indication indicates the multiple DTX configurations from a set of defined DTX configurations ([0105], [0107], [0108] and Fig. 10, the gNB provides one or more indexed sets of DTX configurations, from which a particular can be selected).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the activation indication is in at least one of a broadcast message, a UE specific message, or group common signaling that is common to multiple UEs(([0105], [0138], [0151] and Fig. 12, the signaling used for activating the cell DTX configuration includes DCI or MAC CE which can be UE-specific, cell-specific or UE-group specific).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the activation indication also indicates a deactivation of a currently activated DTX configuration for the cell([0148], [0149], [0150] and Fig. 17, using specific codepoint (e.g. 0) within the field of MAC-CE to indicate the deactivation of the currently activated DTX configuration).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon ‘984 teaches all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein an application time for the first DTX configuration is based on a defined time gap relative to the indication or an indicated time gap([0153] and Fig. 13, a DCI or MSC CE activating a cell DTX configuration can dynamically indicate a start timing. The start timing relies on a timer that begins running from the exact time the UE receives the PDCCH to PDSCH providing the activation indication).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches,, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: skip reception of configured reference signals in the non-active period of the first DTX configuration for the cell([0133], [0157] and Fig. 9, the UE can be configured to assume that downlink reference signals (DRS) are only present in the DTX on-duration . the UE Skipps measuring these reference signals if they fall in a cell DTX off duration (non-active period).
Regarding claim 12, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the configured reference signals includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) in the non-active period([0133], [0157] and Fig. 9, the CSI-RS being identified as a configured reference signal that the UE instructed to skip receiving or measuring if its scheduled occasion falls during cell DTX off-duration).
Regarding claim 13, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: monitor for at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a tracking reference signal (TRS) during the non-active period ([0094], [0133] and Fig. 9, the UEs assume that certain signals essential to maintain synchronization are still preset during the cell DTX off-duration. The SSB is one of the signals that remains present during the non-active period).
Regarding claim 14, Jeon ‘984 teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node([0043], [0044], [0048] and Fig. 2, base station (gNB) 102) , comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to([0043], [0044], [0048] and Fig. 2, base station (gNB) 102 comprising memory 230 and processor 225): provide an indication of multiple discontinuous transmission (DTX) configurations for a cell( [0105], [0108], [0129], Figs. 10, 15, a serving gNB provides a UE with one or multiple sets of cell DTX/DRX configurations per serving cell or cell group via higher layer signaling);
provide an activation indication for a first DTX configuration from the multiple DTX configurations for the cell([0105],[0114], [0138] and Figs. 10, 15, 16, the serving gNB transmits an indication containing one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX configurations via L1 MAC CE or RRC signaling); and skip transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to a group of all user equipment (UEs) during a non-active period of the first DTX configuration([0094], [0096], [0133] and Fig. 9, during a cell DTX period, the gNB pauses transmission by turning off all or part of its transmission chain, meaning UEs assume all transmissions from the serving gNB are suspended during the off-duration, Jeon ‘984 states that the network configurate whether channels like the PDCCH are present only in the DTX on-duration, inherently teaching that the eNB skips transmitting the PDCCH during the non-active period).
Regarding claim 16, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein an application time for the first DTX configuration is based on a defined time gap relative to the indication or an indicated time gap([0153] and Fig. 13, an activation indication for a cell DTX configuration can dynamically specify a start timing. The start timing uses a timer that acts as an indicated time gap, beginning from the exact moment the UE receives the PDCCH or PDSCH providing the activation signal).
Regarding claim 17, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein to skip the PDCCH, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to skip one or more of: transmission of the PDCCH in each search space during the non-active period of the first DTX configuration, or transmission of configured reference signals in the cell during the non-active period of the first DTX configuration for the cell([0044], [0094], [0133] and Figs. 2, 9, a gNB with multiple antennas that pauses transmissions during cell DTX by turning off all or part of its transmission chain. Further specifies that the network can configure whether the PDCCH or downlink reference signal(DL RS) are present only in the DTX on duration ) .
Regarding claim 20, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the activation indication of the first DTX configuration is a first activation indication, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: provide a deactivation indication for the first DTX configuration and a second activation indication of a second DTX configuration from the multiple DTX configurations; and skip transmission of the PDCCH in one or more non-active periods of the second DTX configuration([0114], [0148], [0152] and Fig. 17, the network can dynamically signal a UE to switch among a series of cell DTX configurations by indicating different indexes. The signaling can allocate specific code points to deactivate the currently active configuration and simultaneously activate a second different DTX configuration from the configured set).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon ‘984 in view of Samsung: "Enhancements on cell DTX/DRX Mechanism, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #113, R1-2305527, 3rd Generation Partnership Project, Mobile Competence Centre, 650, Route Des Lucioles, F-06921 Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France, 2 Vol. RAN WG1, No. Incheon, Korean, 20230522 - 20230526 15 May 2023, 15 pages, XP052310960, page 3, paragraph 2 - page 13, paragraph 7, hereinafter referred as Samsung (submitted by applicant via IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein the activation indication of the first DTX configuration is a first activation indication, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to([0105], [0114], [0138] Figs. 10, 15, 16, the UE receives an indication containing one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX configurations via L1 MAC CE or RRC signaling to activate a specific cell DTX configuration).
Jeon ‘984 does not explicitly teach, receive an deactivation indication for the first DTX configuration and a second activation indication of a second DTX configuration, and skip monitoring for the PDCCH in one or more non-active periods of the second DTX configuration.
Samsung teaches, receive an deactivation indication for the first DTX configuration and a second activation indication of a second DTX configuration (page 5 section 3, proposal 6, page 5 section 3 proposal 7, using a DCI format a MAC CE command to dynamically indicate activation, deactivation or modification of a cell DTX configuration when multiple configurations are provided. This mechanism enables eh UE to receive dynamic indication that deactivates a currently active configuration and selects a second cell DTX configuration from the available multiple configurations); and
skip monitoring for the PDCCH in one or more non-active periods of the second DTX configuration (page 2 section 1, page 3 section 2, the UE does not monitor the PDCCH for dynamic grants or assignments during any cell DTX non-active period. Skipping the reception of the PDCCH scrambled with a UE-specific RNTI which inherently applies to non-active periods of whichever DTX configuration is currently activated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jeon ‘984, by incorporating the teaching of Samsung, since such modification would enable to enhance on cell DTX/DRX mechanism including the alignment of cell DTX.DRX and UE DRX in RRC connected mode, as suggested by Samsung(introduction section).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations except, one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors, wherein to skip monitoring the PDCCH, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to skip monitoring the PDCCH in all search spaces in the non-active period of the first DTX configuration.
Samsung teaches, one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors, wherein to skip monitoring the PDCCH, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to skip monitoring the PDCCH in all search spaces in the non-active period of the first DTX configuration(page 1 section 1, page 3 section 2, a UE does not receive the PDCCH scrambled with UE specific RNTI(corresponding to UE specific search space) and the type3 PDCCH I CSS( common search space) during the non-active periods of cell DTX. By directing the UE to skip monitoring across both the USS and the CSS, it teaches skipping PDCCH monitoring in all search spaces during the non-active period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jeon ‘984, by incorporating the teaching of Samsung, since such modification would enable to enhance on cell DTX/DRX mechanism including the alignment of cell DTX.DRX and UE DRX in RRC connected mode, as suggested by Samsung(introduction section).
Claims 7, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon ‘984 in view of Takahashi et al (WO 2024/181543 A1, see attached translation).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations, Jeon ‘984 further teaches, wherein at least one DTX configuration in the multiple DTX configurations includes: a first configuration for non-active periods([0105], [0114], [0138] Figs. 10, 15, 16, the UE receives an indication containing one or more indexes from the set of configured cell DTX configurations via L1 MAC CE or RRC signaling to activate a specific cell DTX configuration).
Jeon ‘984 does not explicitly teach, a first active period associated with a first power spectral density level, and a second active period associated with a second power spectral density level, or a second configuration for non-active periods and active periods associated with a power spectral density level.
Takahashi ‘543 teaches, a first active period associated with a first power spectral density level, and a second active period associated with a second power spectral density level, or a second configuration for non-active periods and active periods associated with a power spectral density level(pages 48, 49, an energy saving(ES) state that includes power information related to the transmit power and power spectral density and PSD offset. Notification regarding cell DTX states (intermittent transmission) and power domain adaptations can be executed and signaled in a combined manner, which inherently associates the active/non-active periods of a cell DTX configuration with a spectral density level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jeon ‘984, by incorporating the teaching of Takahashi ‘543, since such modification would enable to achieve a reduction in power consumption of a base station from the viewpoint of the time domain, as suggested by Takahashi ‘543(page 8).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations except, wherein the application time is a function of a subcarrier spacing (SCS.)
Takahashi ‘543 teaches, wherein the application time is a function of a subcarrier spacing (SCS)(page 54, 55, a terminal assumes activation time m is set according to factors including numerology/subcarrier spacing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jeon ‘984, by incorporating the teaching of Takahashi ‘543, since such modification would enable to achieve a reduction in power consumption of a base station from the viewpoint of the time domain, as suggested by Takahashi ‘543(page 8).
Regarding claim 15, Jeon ‘984 teaches, all of the claim limitations except, wherein a DTX configuration in the multiple DTX configurations includes: a first configuration for non-active periods, a first active period associated with a first power spectral density level, and a second active period associated with a second power spectral density level, or a second configuration for non-active periods and active periods associated with a power spectral density level.
Takahashi ‘543 teaches, wherein a DTX configuration in the multiple DTX configurations includes: a first configuration for non-active periods, a first active period associated with a first power spectral density level, and a second active period associated with a second power spectral density level, or a second configuration for non-active periods and active periods associated with a power spectral density level(pages 48, 49, an energy saving(ES) state that includes power information related to the transmit power and power spectral density and PSD offset. Notification regarding cell DTX states (intermittent transmission) and power domain adaptations can be executed and signaled in a combined manner, which inherently associates the active/non-active periods of a cell DTX configuration with a spectral density level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jeon ‘984, by incorporating the teaching of Takahashi ‘543, since such modification would enable to achieve a reduction in power consumption of a base station from the viewpoint of the time domain, as suggested by Takahashi ‘543(page 8).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon ‘984 in view of Zhou (WO 2025/166803 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon ‘984 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the cell is a first cell associated with a first beam, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit communication on a second beam associated with a second cell using power sharing based the non-active period of the DTX configuration for the first cell.
Zhou ‘803 teaches, wherein the cell is a first cell associated with a first beam([0060], [0073] and Fig. 6, managing downlink transmissions using a beam/cell granularity distinct configurations for a beam/cell 1 and beam/cell 2 which suggests that a specific cell is directly associated with a corresponding beam in the network), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit communication on a second beam associated with a second cell using power sharing based the non-active period of the DTX configuration for the first cell([0052], [0054], [0074] and Fig. 6, coordinating DTX active and non-active periods across different beams so they do not fully overlap, allowing dynamic and flexible power sharing between satellite beams, thus utilizing non-active periods of one beam (e.g. the firs cell) to allocate shared power for transmission on another simultaneously active beam (e.g. the second cell)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jeon ‘984, by incorporating the teaching of Zhou ‘803, since such modification would enable to efficiently coordinate UEs (including legacy UEs and new UEs) with the network on the configurations due to limited feeder link bandwidth (for transparent NTN), as suggested by Zhou ‘803([0058]).
Regarding claim 19, Jeon ‘984 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the network node is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) node.
Jeon ‘984 teaches, wherein the network node is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) node([0038], [0041], [0074] Figs. 2, teaches that the DQTX methods can be implemented within a NTN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Jeon ‘984, by incorporating the teaching of Zhou ‘803, since such modification would enable to efficiently coordinate UEs (including legacy UEs and new UEs) with the network on the configurations due to limited feeder link bandwidth (for transparent NTN), as suggested by Zhou ‘803([0058]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474