DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Axelrod reference does not teach of radial imaging device because the multimodal endoscopic system only captures images in the axial direction (Remarks). The disclosure in paragraphs [0071 and 0072] of Axelrod et al. mention that the endoscope can combine multiple imaging modes…referring to Fig. 1 of Axelrod et al., the multiple imaging modes possessed by the endoscope in Axelrod et al. are all for capturing images in the axial direction…(Remarks, page 4).
Looking at figure 1 of Axelrod et al., (as set forth by the Applicant Remarks), it is not clear where it is indicated that the image capture is only in the axial direction. Claim 1 recites the composite endoscope device to include a radial imaging device such as (OCT, ultrasound, or NBI from claim 2). The portion of the claim reciting “for capturing an image in a first radial direction” is functional language and does not add any further structure to the device claim. It is well known that MOEMS (Micro-Opto-Electro-Mechanical Systems , [0052, Axelrod]) integrated with endoscopic OCT can result in radial imaging and scanning. Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the Axelrod reference teaches of a MOEMS scanner head unit with endoscopic OCT that is capable of capturing an image in a radial direction. Therefore, this meets the claim requirement for an imaging device such as OCT as part of a multi-modal or composite endoscopic imaging device with MOEMS scanning head that is capable of radial imaging. The claim does not require for any further specifical structural requirement for the radial imaging device or the combined functioning of the axial/radial imaging devices to obtain a desired image.
“In summary, Axelrod et al. does not disclose or teach the technical features of "a first radial imaging device" recited in claim 1 of the present application. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the present invention pertains would not be motivated to arrive at the claimed composite endoscopic imaging device based on the disclosure of Axelrod et al., nor achieve the effect of enabling operators to simultaneously obtain different types and/or direction of images, thereby improving the efficiency of examination, diagnosis, or sampling of internal organs and tissues of the human body” (Page 5 Remarks). It is not clear where the claim language or the specification recite or provide support for “simultaneously obtaining different types and/or directions of images…”
“During use, an endoscope system may be guided to a lesion site by using the axial imaging device 11. Then, the composite endoscopic imaging device 10 is rotated along a direction as indicated by the arrow on the right of FIG. 1 to allow the first radial imaging device 13 to obtain a full-range image” [0036].
The above disclosure from the specification provide further explanation on the combined
scanning mechanism with respect to the axial imaging providing the initial guidance to the lesion and then rotation along a direction allowing the radial imaging device to obtain full-range image.
It is suggested that the claim language recite further structure with respect to exact positioning of the radial imaging device relative to the axial imaging device and the combined functioning of the two imaging devices to obtain a full-range image (as presented above from the application specification).
In view of the broad nature of the claims with respect to structure/positioning/combined functioning of the two imaging devices within the composite endoscopic imaging device, the 103 Rejection is maintained and repeated below.
In view of lack of additional Remarks with respect to claims 2-10, the rejection is maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelrod et al. (2011/0282192).
With respect to claim 1, Axelrod et al. teach of a composite endoscopic imaging device or a fiber-optic multimodal OCT/photoacoustic endoscope with beam scanning by a 2D MEMS scanner present in the endoscopic head where the photoacoustic, OCT, and multi-spectral light sources are coupled to the endoscopic head (fig. 1, [0071]). Axelrod et al. teach of an axial imaging device for capturing an image in an axial direction of the composite endoscopic imaging device [0102, 0104]. Axelrod et al. teach of the composite endoscopic imaging device to include lenses (fig. 2, 3), a photosensitive element or photodetector disposed on an imaging path of the lens [0088, 0090] or CCD/CMOS [0051]. Axelrod et al. teach of the endoscope head module (MOEMS) to be equipped with a MEMS scanner and control electronics which are aligned by location in tight tolerance polyimide tubing (fig. 3, 4, 0066, 0075, 0082, 0084) and therefore under broadest reasonable interpretation, the composite endoscopic imaging device obviously includes a flexible printed circuit board as a MEMS scanner unit in an endoscope is very commonly integrated onto a flexible printed circuit board without requiring bulky space required for conventional wires. Axelrod et al. teach of a first radial imaging device or OCT device disposed behind the photoacoustic imaging device for capturing an image in a first radial direction of the composite endoscopic imaging device [0071, 0072, fig. 1].
With respect to claim 2, Axelrod et al. teach of the use of the first radial imaging device being an OCT device and the second radial imaging device to be photoacoustic imaging device or a combination of the photoacoustic, OCT, and multi-spectral imaging modalities [0064, 0081] with combination of OCT/PA imaging and switching between the different modalities [0081, 0083, claim 1].
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Axelrod et al. teach of the axial imaging device to comprise a reflection device disposed on the imaging path of the lens where the reflection device is a mirror [0075, 0077, 0080, fig. 2]. Axelrod et al. further teach of the upper surface of the photosensitive element or photodetector to be parallel to the axial direction and the lens forms an image on the photodetector via the mirror [0077, 0088].
With respect to claim 5, Axelrod et al. teach of the reflection device to be a double-sided reflection device or a beam-splitter [0090] and the first radial imaging device is an OCT device acquiring tomography image via the beam-splitter [0101].
With respect to claim 6, Axelrod et al. teach of the upper surface of the photodetector is perpendicular to the axial direction (fig. 2, 4) with the lens directly forming an image on the photodetector [0088] or the CCD/CMOS camera [0051] with the flexible printed circuit board or the MEMS scanner which are aligned by location in tight tolerance polyimide tubing allowing bending near the photodetector element (fig. 3, 0066, 0075).
With respect to claim 7, Axelrod et al. teach of a second radial imaging device such as the photoacoustic imaging device disposed below the flexible printed circuit or the polyimide tubing as part of the endoscopic head for capturing an image in a second radial direction of the composite endoscopic imaging device [fig. 4, 0089, 0105].
With respect to claims 8-10, Axelrod et al. teach of the use of the first radial imaging device being an OCT device and the second radial imaging device to be photoacoustic imaging device or a combination of the photoacoustic, OCT, and multi-spectral imaging modalities [0064, 0081] with combination of OCT/PA imaging and switching between the different modalities [0081, 0083, claim 1]. Axelrod et al. teach of using the optical switch to switch from one imaging modality to another without removing the endoscope inserted into the body [0061] and incorporated in the single endoscopic head (fig. 1, 0072, 0081) and therefore it would be obvious that the first/second radial imaging device modalities are located in opposite directions to ensure switching between the modalities without removing the endoscope from the body.
Axelrod et al. do not teach of all the claimed elements in a single embodiment. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine elements from the different embodiments to integrate simultaneous use of multiple imaging modalities and switch between the modalities without removing the inserted endoscope from the body [0030].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BR
/BAISAKHI ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797