DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites, “43” in line 12 which appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 includes only clauses a. and d., and it appears to be intended to include a. and b. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites, “the elongated supporting structural member” on page 2, line 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It appears this language is intended to refer to “the supporting structural member” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 5, claim 5 recites, “the elongated supporting structural member” on page 5, line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It appears this language is intended to refer to “the supporting structural member” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 8, claim 8 recites, “these openings” in line 7, line 11 and line 15. Numerous elements are previously introduced and thus it is unclear as to which this language refers. It appears this language is intended to refer to “the plurality of fastener openings” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 17, claim 17 recites, “the interface” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It appears this language is intended to refer to “an interface” and will be interpreted as such.
In addition, claim 17 recite, “preferably” in line 2. This language renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purposes of this examination, this word will be interpreted as outside of the scope of the claim.
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9-16, 18-20 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banta (US 2005/0155314) in view of Keys et al (“Keys”) (US 2011/0099939) and Horton (US 5,488,810).
Re claim 1, Banta discloses a connection (Fig. 1) between a supporting structural member (SM-2) and a supported structural member (SM-1), the connection (Fig. 1) comprising:
a. the supporting structural member (SM-2) having a first attachment face (see examiner comments), the first attachment face (see examiner comments) having first and second side edges (see examiner comments) that are substantially parallel (Fig. 1) with lateral side faces (see examiner comments) connected to the first attachment face (see examiner comments) at the first and second side edges (see examiner comments), the supporting structural member (SM-2) having a second attachment face (see examiner comments) disposed opposite from (Fig. 1) the first attachment face (see examiner comments), the second attachment face (see examiner comments) having first and second side edges (edges thereof, mirroring those on the first attachment face shown in the examiner comments) where the second attachment face (see examiner comments) connects to (Fig. 1) the lateral side faces 43 (see examiner comments), the supporting structural member (SM-2) also having a top face (upper face of SM-2) upon which the supported structural member (SM-1) rests (Fig .1);
b. the supported structural member (SM-1) having first and second attachment faces (see examiner comments), a bottom face (see examiner comments; bottom of SM-1) that interfaces with (Fig. 1) the top face (top face of SM-2) of the supporting structural member (SM-2), and an end face (any end of SM-1);
c. a connector (22) having a web (26a/b) with a first lateral side plate (see examiner comments) extending from (Fig. 2) an upper portion (upper portion of 26a) of the web (26a/b) to one side (to the left) of the web (26a/b) and a second lateral side plate (see examiner comments) extending from (Fig. 2) an opposite side (right side of 26a/b) of the upper portion (upper portion of 26a) of the web (26a/b), the connector (22) interfacing with (Fig. 1) the first attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2), the connector (22) also having a longitudinal axis (vertically) and the web (26a/b) has an upper end (upper end of 26a) and a lower end (lower end of 26b), and the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (22) is disposed substantially aligned with (Fig. 1) an elongated axis (vertically) of the supporting structural member (SM-2) along which the elongated supporting structural member (SM-2) extends (Fig. 1) when the connection (Fig. 1) is made (Fig. 1), the web (26a/b) having an exterior surface (exposed surface of 26a/b) on one side (exterior side of 26a/b) of the web (26a/b) and an interior surface (surface facing SM-2) on the opposite side (Fig. 1) of the web (26a/b) with the interior surface (interior surface of 26b) of the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b) being in substantial alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing with (Fig. 1) the first attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2) and the interior surface (interior surface of 26a) of the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) being in substantial alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing with (Fig. 1) the first attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1), the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) have exterior surfaces (exposed surface thereof) that face outwardly from (Fig. 1) the supported (SM-1) and supporting structural members (SM-2) and interior surfaces (interior surfaces thereof) that face (Fig. 1) the supported (SM-1) and supporting structural members (SM-2), the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) has first and second lateral side edges (see examiner comments; notably, being integral with 8 in Applicant’s Fig. 1 at 11/12) where the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) connect to the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) and the first and second lateral sides edges (see examiner comments) of the upper portion (26a) of the web (26b) are aligned with (Fig. 2) opposed first and second connection edges (see examiner comments) of the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b), and the first and second connection edges (see examiner comments) align with (Fig. 1) the first and second side edges (see examiner comments) of the attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2), the lower end (26b) of the web (26a/b) is provided with first and second side members (30/36) that extend away from (Fig. 1) the web (26a/b) with the first and second side members (30/36) connecting to the first and second connection edges (see examiner comments) respectively with the first and second side members (30/36) interfacing with (Fig. 1) the lateral side faces (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2);
d. a fastener (39) connects the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b) to the supporting structural member (SM-2), and separate fasteners (40/42; 40/42 being separate from each other and thus, being separate fasteners) connect the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) and the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) to the supported structural member (SM-1),
but fails to disclose separate fasteners connect the first and second side members (30/36) to the supporting structural member, separate fasteners (in other words, plural instead of one) connect the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b) to the supporting structural member (SM-2).
However, Keys discloses separate fasteners (124) connect the first and second side members (120/130) to the supporting structural member (250).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with separate fasteners connect the first and second side members to the supporting structural member as disclosed by Keys in order to more rigidly secure, and better secure, the connector to the supporting structural member.
In addition, Horton discloses separate fasteners (at 22) connect the lower portion (27) of the web (26/27) to the supporting structural member (34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with separate fasteners connect the first and second side members to the supporting structural member as disclosed by Keys in order to provide a stronger, more secure connection between the connector and the supporting structural member.
Re claim 3, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, wherein: the interior surfaces (interior surfaces of that shown in the examiner comments) of the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) are substantially in alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing (Fig. 1) with the first attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1).
Re claim 5, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 5, wherein:
a. a second connector (24) having a web (26a/b) with a first lateral side plate (see examiner comments) extending from (Fig. 2) an upper portion (upper portion of 26a) of the web (26a/b) to one side (to the left) of the web (26a/b) and a second lateral side plate (see examiner comments) extending from (Fig. 2) an opposite side (right side of 26a/b) of the upper portion (upper portion of 26a) of the web (26a/b), the second connector (24) interfacing with (Fig. 1) the second attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2), the second connector (24) also having a longitudinal axis (vertically) and the web (26a/b) has an upper end (upper end of 26a) and a lower end (lower end of 26b), and the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the second connector (24) is disposed substantially aligned with (Fig. 1) an elongated axis (vertically) of the supporting structural member (SM-2) along which the elongated supporting structural member (SM-2) extends (Fig. 1) when the connection (Fig. 1) is made (Fig. 1), the web (26a/b) having an exterior surface (exposed surface of 26a/b) on one side (exterior side of 26a/b) of the web (26a/b) and an interior surface (surface facing SM-2) on the opposite side (Fig. 1) of the web (26a/b) with the interior surface (interior surface of 26b) of the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b) being in substantial alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing with (Fig. 1) the second attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2) and the interior surface (interior surface of 26a) of the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) being in substantial alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing with (Fig. 1) the second attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1), the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) have exterior surfaces (exposed surface thereof) that face outwardly from (Fig. 1) the supported (SM-1) and supporting structural members (SM-2) and interior surfaces (interior surfaces thereof) that face (Fig. 1) the supported (SM-1) and supporting structural members (SM-2), the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) has first and second lateral side edges (see examiner comments; notably, being integral with 8 in Applicant’s Fig. 1 at 11/12) where the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) connect to the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) and the first and second lateral sides edges (see examiner comments) of the upper portion (26a) of the web (26b) are aligned with (Fig. 2) opposed first and second connection edges (see examiner comments) of the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b), and the first and second connection edges (see examiner comments) align with (Fig. 1) the first and second side edges (see examiner comments) of the attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2), the lower end (26b) of the web (26a/b) is provided with first and second side members (30/36) that extend away from (Fig. 1) the web (26a/b) with the first and second side members (30/36) connecting to the first and second connection edges (see examiner comments) respectively with the first and second side members (30/36) interfacing with (Fig. 1) the lateral side faces (see examiner comments) of the supporting structural member (SM-2);
d. a fastener (39) connects the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b) of the second connector (24) to the supporting structural member (SM-2), and separate fasteners (40/42; 40/42 being separate from each other and thus, being separate fasteners) connect the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) and the upper portion (26a) of the web (26a/b) of the second connector (24) to the supported structural member (SM-1),
but fails to disclose separate fasteners connect the first and second side members (30/36) of the second connector (24) to the supporting structural member, separate fasteners (in other words, plural instead of one) connect the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b) of the second connector (24) to the supporting structural member (SM-2).
However, Keys discloses separate fasteners (124) connect the first and second side members (120/130) of the second connector (Banta: 24) to the supporting structural member (250).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with separate fasteners connect the first and second side members of the second connector to the supporting structural member as disclosed by Keys in order to more rigidly secure, and better secure, the connector to the supporting structural member.
In addition, Horton discloses separate fasteners (at 22) connect the lower portion (27) of the web (26/27) of the second connector (Banta: 24) to the supporting structural member (34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with separate fasteners connect the first and second side members of the second connector to the supporting structural member as disclosed by Horton in order to provide a stronger, more secure connection between the connector and the supporting structural member.
Re claim 6, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 5, wherein: a. the interior surfaces (interior surfaces of that shown in the examiner comments) of the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) of the connector (22) are substantially in alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing (Fig. 1) with the first attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1); and b. the interior surfaces (interior surfaces of that shown in the examiner comments; as applied to 24) of the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments; as applied to 24) of the second connector (24) are substantially in alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing (Fig. 1) with the second attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1)
Re claim 8, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, wherein: b. a plurality of fastener openings (40) are provided in the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) to indicate the placement of the fasteners (40 is capable of indicating placement of fasteners, as this is a statement of intended use), and d. a plurality of fastener openings (40; 39a) are provided in the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b) to indicate the preferred placement of the fasteners (40 is capable of indicating placement of fasteners, as this is a statement of intended use),
but fails to disclose a. each side member (30/36) is formed with side member fastener openings, when the connection is made the fasteners are driven through these openings (referring to the openings in the first and second lateral side plates), c. a plurality of fastener openings are provided in the upper portion of the web to indicate the placement of the fasteners and when the connection is made the fasteners are driven through these openings, and when the connection is made the fasteners are driven through these openings (referring to the openings in the lower portion of the web).
However, Keys discloses each side member (120) is formed with side member fastener openings (122), when the connection is made (Fig. 3) the fasteners (124) are driven through (Fig. 3) these openings (122).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with each side member is formed with side member fastener openings, when the connection is made the fasteners are driven through these openings as disclosed by Keys in order to more rigidly secure, and better secure, the connector to the supporting structural member.
In addition, Horton discloses c. a plurality of fastener openings (middle elements 22 on 26) are provided in the upper portion (26) of the web (26/27) to indicate the placement of the fasteners (Col 2 lines 29-31) and when the connection is made (Fig. 8) the fasteners (Col 2 lines 29-31) are driven through these openings (middle elements 22 on 26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with c. a plurality of fastener openings are provided in the upper portion of the web to indicate the placement of the fasteners and when the connection is made the fasteners are driven through these openings as disclosed by Horton in order to provide a stronger, more secure connection between the connector and the supporting structural member.
In addition, Horton discloses when the connection is made (Fig. 8) the fasteners (Col 2 lines 29-31) are driven through (Col 2 lines 29-31) these openings (22 on 27) (referring to the openings in the lower portion of the web).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with when the connection is made the fasteners are driven through these openings (referring to the openings in the lower portion of the web) as disclosed by Horton in order to provide a stronger, more secure connection between the connector and the supporting structural member.
Re claim 9, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (leftmost and rightmost 22 on 26) in the first and second lateral side plates (side portions of 26) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (leftmost and rightmost 22 on 26) is in alignment with any (Fig. 3-4; 122 being offset in each direction) of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (leftmost and rightmost 22 on 26) on a line disposed orthogonally to (Fig. 3) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with wherein: the plurality of fastener openings in the first and second lateral side plates are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings is in alignment with any of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings on a line disposed orthogonally to the longitudinal axis of the connector as disclosed by Horton in order to resist twisting of the connector.
Re claim 10, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (middle 22 on 26) in the upper portion (26) of the web (26/27) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (middle 22 on 26) is in alignment with (Fig. 3) any of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (middle 22 on 26) on a line disposed orthogonally to (Fig. 3, as none are aligned in any direction) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (Fig. 2).
Re claim 11, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (22 on 27) in the lower portion (27) of the web (26/27) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (22 on 27) is in alignment with (Fig. 3) any of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (22 on 27) on a line disposed orthogonally to (Fig. 3, as none are aligned in any direction) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (Fig. 2).
Re claim 12, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (122) in the first and second side members (120/130) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (122) is in alignment with any (Fig. 3-4; 122 being offset in each direction) of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (122) on a line disposed orthogonally to (Fig. 3) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (100).
Re claim 13, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (22 on 27) in the lower portion (27) of the web (26/27) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (22 on 27) is in alignment with (Fig. 3) any of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (22 on 27) on a line disposed parallel to or aligned with (Fig. 3, as none are aligned in any direction) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (Fig. 2).
Re claim 14, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (122) in the first and second side members (120/130) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (122) is in alignment with any (Fig. 3-4; 122 being offset in each direction) of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (122) on a line disposed parallel to or aligned with (Fig. 3) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (100).
Re claim 15, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (leftmost and rightmost 22 on 26) in the first and second lateral side plates (side portions of 26) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (leftmost and rightmost 22 on 26) is in alignment with any (Fig. 3-4; 122 being offset in each direction) of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (leftmost and rightmost 22 on 26) on a line disposed parallel to or aligned with (Fig. 3) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with wherein: the plurality of fastener openings in the first and second lateral side plates are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings is in alignment with any of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings on a line disposed parallel to or aligned with the longitudinal axis of the connector as disclosed by Horton in order to resist twisting of the connector.
Re claim 16, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 8, Horton discloses wherein: the plurality of fastener openings (22 on 27) in the lower portion (27) of the web (26/27) and the fastener openings (Keys: 122) in the first and second side members (Keys: 120/130) are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings (22 on 27) or the fastener openings (Keys: 122) is in alignment with (Fig. 3) any of the other of the plurality of fasteners openings (22 on 27) on a line disposed orthogonally to (Fig. 3, as none are aligned in any direction) the longitudinal axis (vertically) of the connector (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with the fastener openings in the first and second lateral side plates are arranged such that none of the plurality of fastener openings is in alignment with any of the other of the fasteners openings on a line disposed orthogonally to the longitudinal axis of the connector as disclosed by Horton in order to resist twisting of the connector.
Re claim 18, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, wherein: the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) have bottom edges (see examiner comments) that are substantially straight (Fig. 2) and extend outwardly from (Fig. 2) the first and second connection edges (see examiner comments) of the lower portion (26b) of the web (26a/b), but fails to disclose the bottom edge of the first lateral side plate forming an obtuse angle with the first connection edge of the lower portion of the web, and the bottom edge of the second lateral side plate forming an obtuse angle with the second connection edge of the lower portion of the web.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with the bottom edge of the first lateral side plate forming an obtuse angle with the first connection edge of the lower portion of the web, and the bottom edge of the second lateral side plate forming an obtuse angle with the second connection edge of the lower portion of the web in order to reduce material used, thus reducing costs. Forming the obtuse angle as claimed would require “cutting the corner” of the cited bottom edges of the lateral side plates, which would necessarily require removal of the corner material. In addition, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
Re claim 20, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, wherein: the supported structural members (SM-1) is a beam (Fig. 1) and the supporting structural member (SM-2) is a post (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banta (US 2005/0155314) in view of Keys et al (“Keys”) (US 2011/0099939) and Horton (US 5,488,810) and Wesney et al (“Wesney”) (US 2017/0175381).
Re claim 2, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein: a series of aligned bend openings are provided along the first and second lateral side edges of the upper portion of the web.
However, Wesney discloses wherein: a series of aligned bend openings (51) are provided along the first and second lateral side edges (of 47/48) of the upper portion (upper portion of 47/48) of the web (47/48).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta wherein: a series of aligned bend openings are provided along the first and second lateral side edges of the upper portion of the web as disclosed by Wesney in order to provide a line of weakness to make bending easier ([0035]).
Claim(s) 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banta (US 2005/0155314) in view of Keys et al (“Keys”) (US 2011/0099939) and Horton (US 5,488,810) and Muhn et al (“Muhn”) (US 2017/0130755).
Re claim 4, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, wherein: the interior surface (interior surfaces of that shown in the examiner comments) of one of the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) is substantially in alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing (Fig. 1) with the first attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1), but fails to disclose the interior surface of the other of the first and second lateral side plates is substantially in alignment and interfacing with the end face of the supported structural member.
However, Muhn discloses the interior surface (of 6) of the other of the first and second lateral side plates (6) is substantially in alignment and interfacing with (Fig. 3) the end face (9) of the supported structural member (2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with the interior surface of the other of the first and second lateral side plates is substantially in alignment and interfacing with the end face of the supported structural member as disclosed by Muhn in order to stiffen the connection at an end face thereof.
Re claim 7, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, wherein: the interior surface (interior surfaces of that shown in the examiner comments) of one of the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments) of the connector (22) is substantially in alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing (Fig. 1) with the first attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1), wherein: the interior surface (interior surfaces of that shown in the examiner comments; as applied to 24) of one of the first and second lateral side plates (see examiner comments; as applied to 24) of the second connector (24) is substantially in alignment (Fig. 1) and interfacing (Fig. 1) with the second attachment face (see examiner comments) of the supported structural member (SM-1), but fails to disclose the interior surface of the other of the first and second lateral side plates of the connector is substantially in alignment and interfacing with the end face of the supported structural member, and the interior surface of the other of the first and second lateral side plates of the second connector is substantially in alignment and interfacing with the end face of the supported structural member.
However, Muhn discloses the interior surface (of 6) of the other of the first and second lateral side plates (6) of the connector (one element 1) is substantially in alignment and interfacing with (Fig. 3) the end face (9) of the supported structural member (2), and the interior surface (of 6) of the other of the first and second lateral side plates (6) of the second connector (the other element 1) is substantially in alignment and interfacing with (Fig. 3) the end face (9) of the supported structural member (2)..
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta with the interior surface of the other of the first and second lateral side plates of the connector is substantially in alignment and interfacing with the end face of the supported structural member, and the interior surface of the other of the first and second lateral side plates of the second connector is substantially in alignment and interfacing with the end face of the supported structural member as disclosed by Muhn in order to stiffen the connection at an end face thereof.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banta (US 2005/0155314) in view of Keys et al (“Keys”) (US 2011/0099939) and Horton (US 5,488,810) and Ballash et al (“Ballash”) (US 5,697,725).
Re claim 17, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein: the web of the connector is preferably formed with a plurality of elongated embossments that extend from the lower portion of the web to the upper portion of the web across the interface between the supported structural member and the supporting structural member.
However, Ballash discloses wherein: the web(16/17) of the connector (15) is preferably formed with a plurality of elongated embossments (38) that extend from the lower portion (17) of the web (16/17) to the upper portion (16) of the web (16/17) across the interface between (Fig. 2) the supported structural member (4) and the supporting structural member (11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta wherein: the web of the connector is preferably formed with a plurality of elongated embossments that extend from the lower portion of the web to the upper portion of the web across the interface between the supported structural member and the supporting structural member as disclosed by Ballash in order to increase structural rigidity and improve wear resistance without requiring thicker materials, as is the normal and logical purposes of embossments, and as embossments are very well-known and common in the art.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banta (US 2005/0155314) in view of Keys et al (“Keys”) (US 2011/0099939) and Horton (US 5,488,810) and Hensen et al (“Hensen”) (US 2016/0177560).
Re claim 2, Banta as modified discloses the connection of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein: the fasteners are self-drilling and self-tapping screws.
However, Hensen discloses wherein: the fasteners (37) are self-drilling and self-tapping screws ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Banta wherein: the fasteners are self-drilling and self-tapping screws.as disclosed by Hensen in order to simplify assembly by eliminating the need for pre-drilling.
Examiner Comments
Features Pertaining to the Supporting Structural Member
Features Pertaining to the Supported Structural Member
Features Pertaining to the Connector
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635