DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 12-15 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oechslen et al (US 20230387753 A1).
Oechslen et al disclose an expansion tank (e.g. 60, 62) for a cooling system (e.g. 50) capable of use with a battery, comprising: a tank housing (e.g. 62), an exchangeable dryer insert (e.g. 644, Para. [0058]) with a housing and a drying agent arranged therein, a lid (e.g. Fig. 4, represented by the dashed box labeled 64) that is connectable to the tank housing and in which the dryer insert is at least partially accommodated, a valve device (e.g. 642, 652) and/or a diaphragm, via which air passes from the expansion tank into an environment (e.g. 61) when there is an overpressure in the expansion tank and fresh air passes from the environment into the expansion tank when there is a vacuum in the expansion tank. Wherein the dryer insert has an activated carbon section (e.g. 654); the valve device and/or the diaphragm is structured and arranged such that, in the event of excess pressure prevailing in the expansion tank, air passes via the activated carbon section into the environment and, in the event of negative pressure prevailing in the expansion tank, fresh air passes from the environment through the drying agent into the expansion tank (e.g. Fig. 4, Paras. [0060] & [0062]), or the valve device and/or the diaphragm is structured and arranged such that, when there is excess pressure in the expansion tank, air passes via the activated carbon section and the drying agent into the environment and, when there is negative pressure in the expansion tank, fresh air passes from the environment through the drying agent and the activated carbon section into the expansion tank (e.g. Para. [0068]); the valve device and/or the diaphragm is arranged on the dryer insert or on the tank housing (e.g. on the dryer insert as indicated by Fig. 4, Para. [0068]); and the valve device has a double valve that is permeable in both directions or a pressure relief valve and a vacuum valve (e.g. Para. [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 9-11, 16 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oechslen et al (US 20230387753 A1).
Oechslen et al disclose an expansion tank for a cooling system capable of use with a battery, as described above, but do not explicitly teach that the drying agent and/or the activated carbon section are bounded by a fleece layer and/or the housing has a fleece layer; the lid is screwed to the tank housing; a spring that pretensions the dryer insert against the tank housing; the tank housing and the lid are composed of plastic; or the housing is structured as a plastic housing, a fleece housing, or a natural fiber housing.
It is common practice in the art of air drying cartridges, for example, demonstrated by Paling et al (EP 1839728 A1), to have each of the drying agent and/or the activated carbon section are bounded by a fleece layer and/or the housing has a fleece layer (see Figs. 2-3, 80, 82); the lid is screwed to the tank housing (see Para. [0015]); a spring (see Fig. 2, 72) that pretensions the dryer insert against the tank housing; the tank housing and the lid are composed of plastic (see Fig. 4, 94); and the housing is structured as a plastic housing (see Fig. 4, 94), a fleece housing, or a natural fiber housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Oechslen et al to have the drying agent and/or the activated carbon section are bounded by a fleece layer and/or the housing has a fleece layer; the lid is screwed to the tank housing; a spring that pretensions the dryer insert against the tank housing; the tank housing and the lid are composed of plastic; and the housing is structured as a plastic housing, a fleece housing, or a natural fiber housing, as an engineering expedient for the purposes of separating the filter material from the dryer material, attaching the lid to the tank housing; holding the components in place, and provide a metal alternative.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oechslen et al (US 20230387753 A1) in view of Yang (WO 2019240339 A1).
Oechslen et al disclose an expansion tank for a cooling system capable of use with a battery, as described above, but do not explicitly teach the dryer insert is cylindrical in shape and has the activated carbon section which is cylindrical in shape and adjoins the dryer insert in the axial direction, or the dryer insert is structured in the shape of a ring cylinder with the activated carbon section located on the inside and structured in the shape of a cylinder.
Yang teaches a dryer insert (e.g. Figs. 3-6) with a drying agent (e.g. 400) and an activated carbon section (e.g. 500) wherein the dryer insert is structured in the shape of a ring cylinder with the activated carbon section located on the inside and structured in the shape of a cylinder.
Oechslen et al and Yang all seek to condition air passing in to or out of an expansion tank, thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the dryer insert such that it is formed such that the dryer insert is structured in the shape of a ring cylinder with the activated carbon section located on the inside and structured in the shape of a cylinder, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of conditioning air flow to and from an expansion tank.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/MICHAEL LESLIE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745
August 22, 2026