DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 11; “once” should be replaced with –one--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Note: Claims 2-4 without a 102 rejection below does not mean they are allowable subject matter but that they are unclear and can’t be rejected currently with a reference.
The claims (claims 1-9) are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. For example, using terms “its”, “itself”, “this” and “so-called”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the envelope" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distal end" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the boss" in Line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the end" in Line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the at least one radial conduit" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the at least one radial conduit is the same as the radial duct, radial fluid outlet duct, radial internal part or a new element.
Regarding Claim 3, line 6; it is unclear what is meant by “between the channel and the channel”.
Regarding Claim 4, line 3; it is unclear what is meant by “between the channel and the channel”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the internal part of the boss" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
****Due to the unclear nature of claims 2-4, a rejection with references has not been applied to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naulin (WO2020225262).
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood by Examiner, Naulin discloses an outlet boss 4 (Figure 2) for a pressurized-fluid storage tank comprising: an axial central part along an axis XX' A (Figure 2) passing through the envelope 2 (Figure 2) of said tank and itself having passing through it at least one channel (figure 2) communicating by its proximal end with the inner chamber of the fluid storage tank and the distal end of which is closed along its axis of the same direction XX' as the boss (Figure 2), a radial internal part (Figure 2) securing said boss to the envelope of the tank and able to withstand the pressure forces of the fluid on this boss (Figure 2), and an axial external part (figure 2) comprising at least one radial fluid outlet duct 8 (Figure 2) for the fluid that communicates with the channel towards its distal end, wherein: said boss forms in once piece an integrated dispensing head (figure 2), the end of the at least one radial duct opens, with one of its ends, on the outside of the boss (Figure 2) which at least one radial duct communicating, by its opposite end, with channel, is able to receive, at its end, any fluid outlet connector element 19 (Figure 2) and the channel of said boss constitutes a simple communication duct 8 (figure 2).
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood by Examiner, Naulin discloses its axial central part A (Figure 2), passing through the envelope 2 (Figure 2) of said tank and itself having passing through it at least one channel (Figure 2), comprises a cylindrical part forming a protrusion beyond the radial part referred to as the internal part of the boss (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood by Examiner, Naulin discloses the axial central part comprises at least one second channel 7b (figure 5) which passes axially through this central part and which is suitable for receiving any measurement sensor (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood by Examiner, Naulin discloses the so-called axial external part (figure 2) thereof comprises at least two ducts 8 (Figure 2) arranged radially with respect to the axis XX' and distributed over the periphery of this axial external part (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood by Examiner, Naulin discloses a storage tank 1 (Figure 2) for pressurized fluid comprising at least one outlet boss 4 (figure 2) for this fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naulin (WO2020225262) in view of Murray (U.S. Patent No. 5287988).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood by Examiner, Naulin discloses inner lining 23 (Figure 2) covering the whole of the inner part of the envelope of the tank 2 (Figure 2), wherein the radial internal part of the boss is part of this inner lining (Figure 2), the boss being an integral part of this lining (Figure 2). Naulin does not teach the inner lining is metallic. However, Murray teaches a metal liner (Column 3, lines 27-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naulin to include the above, as taught by Murray, in order to strengthen and protect the tank.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J VOLZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3733