DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker (3,800,795).
With respect to claim 1, Walker discloses a urinary bag comprising a urinary bag body 11, as shown in figure 1, having a through bore on an upper side in communication with an interior of the bag, as shown in figure 2. A catheter 15 is connected and in communication with the bag 11, as shown in figure 1, having a first connection part 36 to be connected with a urethra of a user, and a second connection part 24, as shown in figure 2, passing through the through bore into the inside of the bag. A bend preventing tube 20 is connected and in communication between the bag 11 and the catheter 15, as shown in figure 1, having an insertion part 23 and a supporting part 21,22, as shown in figure 2, with a flow bore passing through and in communication with the catheter. The supporting part 21,22 is located inside the bag 11 and an outer diameter is larger than the outer diameter of the insertion part 23, as shown in figure 2. The supporting part 21,22 supports the interior of the bag, as shown in figures 2 and 3 (the bag is held open wider by the supporting part 21,22 than in an area without the supporting part).
With respect to claim 3, the through bore of the bag body 11 is sealed to fix the catheter 15 to the bag body 11, as disclosed in column 2, lines 28-39.
With respect to claim 7, a plastic sheet 25 is disposed between the second connection part 24 of the catheter 15 and the bag body 11, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 8, the bed preventing tube 20 is formed of a rigid plastic, as disclosed in column 3, lines 17-21.
With respect to claim 9, the insertion part has a first portion formed in a cone shape and a second portion formed in a column shape wherein the largest outer diameter of the first portion is larger than the outer diameter of the second portion, as shown in the annotated figure 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (3,800,795) in view of Lowthian (4,634,437).
With respect to claim 4, Walker discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the processing method being high-frequency or ultrasonic welding. Lowthian discloses a catheter connected to a urine bag, as shown in figure 1, and teaches sealing the catheter to the urine bag by welding, as disclosed in column 3, lines 49-52. Ultrasonic welding and high-frequency welding are well-known in the art at processing methods for sealing urine bags. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to seal the catheter and urine bag of Walker by the processing method of high-frequency or ultrasonic welding, as taught by Lowthian, to use known methods on known devices to achieve the predictable result of a secure, water-tight seal between the catheter and the urine bag.
With respect to claim 5, Walker discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of two fixing bores and two positioning bands. Lowthian discloses a urine bag, as shown in figure 1, comprising two fixing bored 4 passing through the upper side of the bag wherein the through bore 7 is arranged between the two fixing bores 4. Two positioning bands (straps; not shown) are disposed in the two fixing bores 4, as disclosed in column 2, lines 41-44, to allow the bag to be held in place around the leg of a user. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the urine bag of Walker with two fixing bores and two positioning bands, as taught by Lowthian, to allow the bag to be held in place against a user.
With respect to claim 6, Walker discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a urine discharge tube connected to a lower middle side of the urine bag and a valve disposed on the discharge tube. Lowthian discloses a urine bag, as shown in figure 1, comprising a urine discharge tube 8 connected to a lower middle side of the urine bag, and a valve 9 disposed on the discharge tube. Lowthian teaches providing the discharge tube and valve to allow for urine to easily be drained from the bag, as disclosed in column 2, lines 49-51. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the urine bag of Walker with a discharge tube and valve, as taught by Lowthian, to allow a user to easily drain the urine bag.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/402,089 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims disclose all limitations of the present claims and therefore anticipate the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Present Claims
Copending Claims
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
1
10
10
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patents and Publications 4,029,099; 6,129,714; 12,458,525; and 2012/0184944 disclose urine bags.
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781