DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, Figs. 7A, 7B and 7C in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1-15 and 21-24 are generic to both Species A and B. This is not found persuasive because the non-elected Species B, (Figs. 8A and 8B) is drawn to a training electrode that is patentably distinct from the electrode of the elected Species A. The applicant has canceled claims 16-20, at least claim 20 being specific to the non-elected training electrode of Species B. The applicant is reminded that upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12, 16, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SALISBURY et al. (WO 2018/094701 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Salisbury et al. disclose an electrode (Fig. 3) for a conducted electrical weapon comprising: an electrode body 230 having a first body end opposite a second body end; an electrode head 220 coupled to the first body end (Fig. 4), wherein the electrode head 220 comprises a first head end opposite a second head end (Figs. 3, 6), and wherein the electrode head defines a middle portion between the first head end and the second head end; and an attachment 210 coupled to a radially outer surface of the electrode head 230 between the first head end and the second head end.
Regarding claim 11, Salisbury et al. disclose wherein the attachment 210 is further coupled to the first head end (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Salisbury et al. disclose wherein the electrode head 220 comprises varying diameters across the radially outer surface (see the reduced diameter portion at the shown at 640 in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Salisbury et al. disclose wherein the electrode head 220 comprises a channel defined at the first head end, and wherein the attachment 210 covers the channel (Figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 23, Salisbury et al. disclose wherein the middle portion of the electrode head 220 is forward the first body end of the electrode body 230.
Regarding claim 24, Salisbury et al. disclose wherein the second head end is rearward the attachment 210 (Fig. 4).
Claims 10-15, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BLANC (US 3,626,626 A).
Regarding claim 10, Blanc discloses an electrode 10 (Fig. 1) comprising electrode body (the casing – unnumbered in Fig. 1) having a first body end opposite a second body end; an electrode head (the plug at the forward end of the electrode 10 – unnumbered in Fig. 1) coupled to the first body end, wherein the electrode head (the plug) comprises a first head end opposite a second head end, and wherein the electrode head defines a middle portion (see the recessed portion occupied by the screws) – unnumbered in Fig. 1) between the first head end and the second head end; and an attachment (the screws in in the middle portion of the plug – unnumbered in Fig. 1) coupled to a radially outer surface of the electrode head (the plug) between the first head end and the second head end.
Regarding claim 11, Blanc discloses that the retaining screws (the attachment) are coupled to the first head end of the electrode head (the plug) by the terminal portion of the casing (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Blanc discloses that the electrode head (the plug) comprises varying diameters across the radially outer surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Blanc discloses that the first head end (of the plug) comprises a first diameter, the second head end (of the plug) comprises a second diameter, and the middle portion (the recessed portion occupied by the screws) between the first head end and the second head end comprises a middle diameter, and wherein the middle diameter is smaller than each of the first diameter and the second diameter.
Regarding claim 14, Blanc discloses that the attachment (the screws) comprise an aft inner surface that is radially inward from the first head end (of the plug – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Blanc discloses that the aft inner surface of the attachment (the screws) is radially outward from the middle portion (the recessed portion occupied by the screws) and axially forward the second head end (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Blanc discloses that the second head end of the electrode head (the plug) is disposed within the first body end (of the casing – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Blanc discloses that the second head end (of the plug) is rearward the attachment (the screws – Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Claim 21, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in claim 1, most notably the feature of, “…the electrode head defines a middle portion between the first head end and the second head end, wherein the second head end is coupled to and disposed within the first body end, wherein the middle portion is forward the first body end, and wherein the middle portion comprises a middle portion diameter less than a first diameter of the first head end and a second diameter of the second head end”, in combination with the other features recited in independent claim 1. Claim 21 is objected to, and recites that the electrode head comprises an hourglass shape.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-FORM 892.
/JAMES S BERGIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641