DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Thomas Guzik [US 20110018998 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Thomas teaches:
1. An event surveillance system for surveillance of an event venue (i.e. This subject matter of the present application relates to aggregating and correlating distributed media- ¶0002), comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (i.e. An application host 630- fig. 6… PC 1370- fig. 13… Host 1420- fig. 14… PC 1514- fig. 15…FIGS. 12A and 12B show a non-client based commercial application of the present platform, a network operations center ("NOC") of a law enforcement agency- ¶0237… A system, comprising: a processor; and memory storing components executable by the processor- claim 8) and configured to execute the instructions to:
determine a surveillance-desired area where surveillance should be enhanced based on collected information regarding a predetermined area (i.e. the client device may be the mobile client 500 worn by a police officer, and the recipient web service may be a server that is located the NOC- ¶0163… The analysis module 1603 may analyze each of data assets 1602 for relevant information that assists in the determination that one or more responders are to be dispatched to an event shown- ¶0318… the dispatch module 1604 may automatically dispatch one or more responders (e.g., police officers) to the location of the event when the captured event occurred within a predetermined time period (e.g., 15 minutes) of the current time- ¶0322);
receive, from an operator, input specifying a number of candidate terminals (i.e. mobile clients 500- figs. 5 and 8… Consider the case where the recipient device 802 is a repeater device in a police car and a police officer 803 is wearing the mobile client 500 configured with the platform 700 as disclosed- ¶0171) to be moved to the surveillance-desired area (i.e. The dispatch module 1604 may also provide the user 1607 with the ability to alter or override any automatic dispatch decisions made by the dispatch module 1604, such as canceling the automatic dispatch or altering the number of responders to dispatch- ¶0334);
determine the candidate terminals from among a plurality of portable imaging terminals based on a position (i.e. within a predetermined range of the location of the event- ¶0331) of the surveillance-desired area and the specified number of candidate terminals (i.e. a predetermined number of responders are responding to the location- ¶0331); and output a notification to the candidate terminals (i.e. wherein the dispatching includes dispatching the at least one responder via a live dispatcher or dispatching the at least one responder via an application that automatically alerts at least one responder within a predetermined range of the event- claim 6) prompting to move to the surveillance-desired area (i.e. During automatic dispatch, the dispatch module 1604 may dispatch one or more responders (e.g., police officers) within a predetermined range of the location of the event. However, if there are no responders available or an insufficient number of responders available within the predetermine range, the dispatch module 1604 may progressively increase the range until a predetermined number of responders are responding to the location. For example, the dispatch module 1604 may be preconfigured to send three responders to an event that involves gunfire noise, two responders to an event that involves an alarm, and one responder to an event that involves a scream. Moreover, the predetermined range to the location of the event may also vary according to the type of event. For example, the dispatch module 1604 may attempt to dispatch available responders within a 10-block radius of an event that involves a scream, dispatch available responders within a 20-block radius of an event that involves an alarm, and dispatch available responders within a 30-block radius of an even that involves gunfire noise- ¶0331).
Regarding claim 2, Thomas teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Thomas further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire position information of a portable imaging terminal on which predetermined application software (i.e. Client 500 may utilize a software application by which the user enters metadata values via the 10 key pads or via a touch screen 570. Such traditional button entry would be handled via button entry function 552- ¶0112, fig. 5) has been installed (i.e. In additional to capturing media and triggering events, client 500 includes metadata collection functions 550. For example, samples of location metadata may be collected by location service receiver 551. Geolocation metadata may include Global Positioning System ("GPS") metadata. However, because GPS is prone to error from GPS signals bouncing off of buildings in urban settings, geolocation metadata may alternatively be determined by triangulating signal strength or weakness from different cell towers with known locations. For relatively immobile clients, receiver 551 may collect geolocation metadata via internet protocol ("IP") address- ¶0110).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Thomas further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire position information of a portable imaging terminal that has transmitted an expression of participation in the surveillance (i.e. In additional to capturing media and triggering events, client 500 includes metadata collection functions 550. For example, samples of location metadata may be collected by location service receiver 551. Geolocation metadata may include Global Positioning System ("GPS") metadata. However, because GPS is prone to error from GPS signals bouncing off of buildings in urban settings, geolocation metadata may alternatively be determined by triangulating signal strength or weakness from different cell towers with known locations. For relatively immobile clients, receiver 551 may collect geolocation metadata via internet protocol ("IP") address- 0110).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Thomas further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
identify a dense area in which a number of portable imaging terminal (i.e. 20-block radius of an event that involves an alarm, and dispatch available responders within a 30-block radius of an even that involves gunfire noise- ¶0331) or a density of portable terminals is equal to or greater than a threshold (i.e. However, if there are no responders available or an insufficient number of responders available within the predetermine range, the dispatch module 1604 may progressively increase the range until a predetermined number of responders are responding to the location- ¶0331), based on the position information of the plurality of portable imaging terminals; and determine at least one candidate terminal to be moved to the surveillance-desired area from among the portable imaging terminals present in the identified dense area (i.e. During automatic dispatch, the dispatch module 1604 may dispatch one or more responders (e.g., police officers) within a predetermined range of the location of the event. However, if there are no responders available or an insufficient number of responders available within the predetermine range, the dispatch module 1604 may progressively increase the range until a predetermined number of responders are responding to the location. For example, the dispatch module 1604 may be preconfigured to send three responders to an event that involves gunfire noise, two responders to an event that involves an alarm, and one responder to an event that involves a scream. Moreover, the predetermined range to the location of the event may also vary according to the type of event. For example, the dispatch module 1604 may attempt to dispatch available responders within a 10-block radius of an event that involves a scream, dispatch available responders within a 20-block radius of an event that involves an alarm, and dispatch available responders within a 30-block radius of an even that involves gunfire noise. - ¶0331).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Thomas further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: acquire index information serving as an indicator of degree of necessity for surveillance; and change the threshold based on the acquired index information (i.e. in other scenarios, the capture of a certain event (e.g., gunfire noise) at a location or the indication of a wanted suspect is at the location may be sufficient to trigger an automatic dispatch of one or more responders, assuming the event or wanted suspect is captured within the predetermined time period of the current time. In still other scenarios, the dispatch module 1604 may automatically dispatch one or more responders when the number of data assets 1602 depicting an event that is occurring at a particular time within the predetermined time period reaches a predetermined threshold (e.g., 10 data assets), regardless of the exact nature of event. In such a scenario, the assumption may be that the event has gained sufficient notoriety as an event 1501 that an official response is warranted- ¶0330… the dispatch module 1604 may dispatch responders such that the number of responders is proportional to the number of data assets received that capture the event. In other words, the more numerous the data assets that capture the event, the greater the number of responders dispatched to the location of the event- ¶0332).
Regarding claims 6-10, method claims 6-10 corresponds to apparatus claims 1-5, and therefore is also rejected for the same rationale as listed above.
Regarding claims 11-15, computer-readable medium storing instructions claims 11-15 corresponds to apparatus claims 1-5, and therefore is also rejected for the same rationale as listed above.
Conclusion
CLIFFORD HILAIRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/CLIFFORD HILAIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488