DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0352310 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Pyo U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0085452 (hereinafter Pyo).
Consider claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising (Figure 2, 100): a processor configured to provide input image data (Figure 2 and [0053], 160); and a display device configured to receive the input image data from the processor (Figure 2, 120), and to display an image based on the input image data [0053], the display device comprising: a display panel including a plurality of pixels (Figure 1 and [0042]); and a panel driver coupled to the display panel (Figure 2, 130, 160 and 140), wherein the panel driver is configured to store color coordinate compensation data which represents a color coordinate compensation value according to a temperature value and a light emitting element efficiency ([0057], the storage 140 may store a correction coefficient per pixel to compensate (or adjust) at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the light emitting diode according to at least one of a temperature characteristic and a service life characteristic of the light emitting diode included in the display panel 120), determine temperature values of the plurality of pixels ([0057], temperature; [0064], temperature sensor), determine color coordinate compensation values for the plurality of pixels based on the color coordinate compensation data, the efficiency data and the temperature values of the plurality of pixels ([0071], the processor 160 may acquire, from the storage 140, a color coordinate value of the corresponding pixel area according to at least one of the temperature characteristic and the service life characteristic sensed by the at least one sensor 150. [0072], compensate at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of a pixel area to have a target value may be outputted to the panel driver. [0078], When a target value is set, the processor 160 may acquire a correction coefficient per pixel to compensate at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the pixel area in the display panel 120 to have a target value from the storage 140, and compensate at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the pixel area based on the acquired correction coefficient), generate corrected image data by correcting input image data based on the color coordinate compensation values, and drive the display panel based on the corrected image data ([0078], compensate at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the pixel area based on the acquired correction coefficient. [0080], panel driver 130 may provide driving currents to the display panel 120 corresponding to each driving signal (or control signal) outputted from the processor 160, to drive the display panel 120. Thus, the display panel 120 may adjust time or intensity of the driving currents provided to each LED device corresponding to each inputted driving signal and output a result).
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose store efficiency data which represents the light emitting element efficiency according to a plurality of reference gray levels indicated by input image data for each pixel, the efficiency data stored in an efficiency lookup table configured to store light emitting element efficiencies for a plurality of reference gray levels.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Pyo teaches a display comprising temperature sensors TMP1-4 in figure 5 and further teaches store efficiency data (Figures 7a-c, LUT. [0093], luminance) which represents the light emitting element efficiency according to a plurality of reference gray levels indicated by input image data for each pixel ([0093], the luminance and color coordinates of the image IM displayed on the display panel DP are affected by not only a voltage level of the data signal DS but also the temperature of the display panel DP. [0093], the quality reliability of the image IM displayed by the display panel DP may be maintained. Figure 7C and [0093-0094], RG1-RGn and GCV), the efficiency data stored in an efficiency lookup table configured to store light emitting element efficiencies for a plurality of reference gray levels ([0094] and figure 7c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store and represents the light emitting element efficiency or luminance efficiency according to a gray level as taught by Pyo with the benefit that when there are temperature differences DT1 to DTm between the reference temperature RT at a point in time when the reference gamma voltage RGV is determined and the measurement temperature MST of the display panel DP measured through the temperature measuring part TMP, the display panel DP may have a gamma curve different from a gamma curve at a point in time when the reference gamma voltage RGV is determined as suggested in [0093].In addition, the quality reliability of the image IM displayed by the display panel DP may be maintained as suggested in [0093].
Consider claim 2, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the panel driver includes: a color coordinate compensation lookup table configured to store the color coordinate compensation data [0061]; and an efficiency lookup table configured to store the efficiency data [0061], a brightness value and a color coordinate value corresponding to temperature A and service life B may be stored), and determines the color coordinate compensation value which corresponds to the temperature value and the light emitting element efficiency for each of the plurality of pixels using the color coordinate compensation lookup table [0061]. In addition, Pyo teaches wherein the panel driver determines the light emitting element efficiency which corresponds to a gray level indicated by the input image data for each of the plurality of pixels using the efficiency lookup table ([0092] and figures 7a-b, the first memory MM1 stores the reference gamma voltage RGV corresponding to the reference temperature RT. In an embodiment, the reference temperature RT includes the plurality of sub-reference temperatures SRT1 to SRTn corresponding to the plurality of reference grayscales RG1 to RGn. [0093], the display panel DP has a same gamma curve as the gamma curve at a point in time when the reference gamma voltage RGV is determined, by providing the correction gamma voltage CGV to the display panel DP, see motivation to combine in claim 1).
Consider claim 3, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein, with respect to each of the plurality of pixels, the panel driver generates the corrected image data by adding the color coordinate compensation value to a color coordinate which corresponds to the input image data ([0078], compensate (and thus adding) at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the pixel area based on the acquired correction coefficient. [0080], panel driver 130 may provide driving currents to the display panel 120 corresponding to each driving signal (or control signal) outputted from the processor 160, to drive the display panel 120. Thus, the display panel 120 may adjust time or intensity of the driving currents provided to each LED device corresponding to each inputted driving signal and output a result).
Consider claim 4, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the panel driver includes: a data driver configured to provide data signals to the plurality of pixels based on the corrected image data (Figure 2 and [0063], 130); a sensing circuit configured to generate sensing values by performing a sensing operation on the plurality of pixels (Figure 2, 150); a memory configured to store the color coordinate compensation data and the efficiency data (Figure 2, storage 140; [0057], the storage 140 may store a correction coefficient per pixel to compensate (or adjust) at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the light emitting diode according to at least one of a temperature characteristic and a service life characteristic of the light emitting diode included in the display panel 120); and a controller (Figure 2, 160) configured to determine the color coordinate compensation values for the plurality of pixels based on the color coordinate compensation data, the efficiency data and the temperature values of the plurality of pixels ([0071], the processor 160 may acquire, from the storage 140, a color coordinate value of the corresponding pixel area according to at least one of the temperature characteristic and the service life characteristic sensed by the at least one sensor 150), and to generate the corrected image data by correcting the input image data based on the color coordinate compensation values [0063].
Kim’s figure 2 does not show non-volatile memory.
However, Kim teaches non-volatile memory (permanent storage unit, disk) in [0130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide non-volatile memory as taught by Kim’s [0130] for permanent storage benefits.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose a scan driver configured to provide scan signals to the plurality of pixels.
However, Pyo teaches a scan driver configured to provide scan signals to the plurality of pixels [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scan/gate driver as taught by Pyo with the benefit that the gate driver may apply the data signal DS to a plurality of pixels included in the display panel DP based on the gate control signal, may generate a scan signal for adjusting the timing at which pixels display the image IM, and may provide the scan signal to the display panel DP as suggested in [0080].
Consider claim 5, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 4. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the sensing circuit generates the sensing values for pixels in at least one row among the plurality of pixels by performing the sensing operation on the pixels in the at least one row during a blank period of a frame period ([0067], the at least one sensor 150 may sense the temperature and the service life corresponding to a pixel area (and thus corresponding row area) at a preset time interval or may sense the temperature and the service life when a preset event such as, for example, electrical power on/off occurs), and provides the sensing values for the pixels in the at least one row to the controller (Figure 2, 150-160), wherein the controller determines the temperature values of the pixels in the at least one row based on the sensing values for the pixels in the at least one row [0067].
Consider claim 12, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches a plurality of temperature sensors arranged at a plurality of reference positions of the display panel ([0064], The at least one sensor 150 may be provided per LED pixel, or per pixel area (and thus reference positions) including one or a plurality of LED pixels, or the at least one sensor 150 may be provided per the entire display panel 120).
Consider claim 18, it includes the limitations of claim 1 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 19, it includes the limitations of claim 5 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 20, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein determining the color coordinate compensation values for the plurality of pixels includes: determining light emitting element efficiencies of the plurality of pixels based on the efficiency data and the input image data ([0065], [0057], a service life characteristic of the light emitting diode included in the pixel area) and determining the color coordinate compensation values for the plurality of pixels based on the color coordinate compensation data, the light emitting element efficiencies of the plurality of pixels and the temperature values of the plurality of pixels ([0071], the processor 160 may acquire, from the storage 140, a color coordinate value of the corresponding pixel area according to at least one of the temperature characteristic and the service life characteristic sensed by the at least one sensor 150. [0072], compensate at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of a pixel area to have a target value may be outputted to the panel driver. [0078], When a target value is set, the processor 160 may acquire a correction coefficient per pixel to compensate at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the pixel area in the display panel 120 to have a target value from the storage 140, and compensate at least one of the brightness and color coordinates of the pixel area based on the acquired correction coefficient).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Pyo as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Tani et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0351095 (hereinafter Tani).
Consider claim 6, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 5.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the at least one row on which the sensing operation is performed is randomly selected from a plurality of rows of the display panel during the blank period of each frame period.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Tani teaches a display panel 100 in figures 1-2 and further teaches wherein the at least one row on which the sensing operation is performed is randomly selected from a plurality of rows of the display panel [0161] during the blank period of each frame period [0159].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to sense randomly as taught by Tani in order to reduce sensing subpixel line viewing phenomenon as suggested in [0159] and [0161].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Pyo as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Jin U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0378454 (hereinafter Jin).
Consider claim 13, Kim and Pyo teach all the limitations of claim 12. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the panel driver receives reference temperature values at the plurality of reference positions from the plurality of temperature sensors, and wherein, with respect to each of the plurality of pixels [0064].
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose the panel driver determines the temperature value of each of the plurality of pixels by interpolating the reference temperature values at four reference positions disposed adjacent to each of the plurality of pixels among the plurality of reference positions.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Jin teaches an OLED panel temperature compensation system (abstract) and further teaches the panel driver determines the temperature value of each of the plurality of pixels by interpolating the reference temperature values at four reference positions disposed adjacent to each of the plurality of pixels among the plurality of reference positions (Figure 2 and [0044], the processing module 2 obtains the temperatures of the first temperature sensor A, the second temperature sensor B, the third temperature sensor C, and the fourth temperature sensor D, and calculates the temperature of the to-be-tested sub-pixel a according to a bilinear interpolation calculation formula).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide temperature sensors as shown in Jin’s figure 2 with the benefit that the number of the temperature sensors 111 in the temperature sensor layer 11 can be specifically designed according to the size of the OLED panel 1 as suggested in [0047].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior arts do not appear to disclose the look-up tables mentioned in claim 7 in combination to other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 16-17, Applicant argues that “Pyo stores gamma-related data and temperature references, not "efficiency data." Pyo makes no reference to "efficiency" in the entire publication. Pyo's first memory MM1 stores "reference gamma voltage RGV" corresponding to a predetermined reference temperature RT (see Pyo, FIG. 7A; paragraphs [0090]-[0092]). The RGV includes sub-gamma voltages SGV1-SGVn mapped to reference grayscales RG1-RGn (see paragraphs [0090], [0092]). Pyo's lookup table LUT stores "gamma correction values GCV" mapped to temperature differences DT1-DTm and reference grayscales RG1-RGn (See Pyo, FIG. 7C; paragraph [0094). None of these values are "light emitting element efficiency" data as recited in claim 1. The values in Pyo are voltages and correction values used to maintain the gamma curve under temperature variation. See Pyo, paragraphs [0092] - [0094], (FIGS. 7A-7C).” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Pyo teaches in [0093], the luminance of the image IM display on the display panel are affected, CGV may be generated and thus the quality may be maintained. Thus, the table shown 7C is related to light emitting element efficiency or luminance efficiency. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
In view of Applicant’s amendment, 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621