DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiao et al (US 6,318,863; hereinafter referred to as Tiao) in view of Nakamura (US 2010/0259726).
Regarding Claim 1, Tiao discloses a projector (Figure 2A) comprising:
a first light source (Figure 2A; Light Emitting Modules 202) configured to output linearly polarized first light (see Figure 2A);
a first light collector (Figure 2A; Light Pipes 210) configured to collect the first light output from the first light source (see Figure 2A);
a first light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220) configured to guide the first light output from the first light collector (see Column 3; Lines 18-24); and
a first liquid crystal panel (Figure 2A; Light Valve 230) configured to modulate the first light output from the first light guiding member (see Column 3; Lines 18-24),
wherein the first light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220) has
a first light incident surface (Figure 2A; First End 212a) on which the first light output from the first light collector (Figure 2A; Light Pipes 210) is incident (see Figure 2A),
a first light exiting surface (Figure 2A; Second End 212b) via which the first light exits toward the first liquid crystal panel (see Figure 2A), and
a first inclining section inclining with respect to a first optical axis of the first light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220), a cross-sectional area of the first inclining section increasing as the first light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220) extending in a direction in which the first light is guided (see Figure 2A; Column 3; Lines 32-40; wherein it is disclosed that the taper light pipe 212 can also be in a cone shape, that is, with a smaller aperture of the first end 212a and a larger aperture of the second end 212b).
Tiao does not expressly disclose that the first light exiting surface of the first light guiding member and a light-incident-side portion of the first liquid crystal panel are in contact with each other, or an air layer having a dimension of 3 μm or smaller is provided between the first light exiting surface and the light-incident-side portion.
Nakamura discloses a projector (Figure 2) comprising:
a first light source (Figure 2; Light Source 31);
a first light guiding member (Figure 2; Light Guide Section 4) and
a first liquid crystal panel (Figure 2; Light Modulation Device 2); wherein
the first light exiting surface (Figure 2; the surface of the light guide section 4 closest to light modulation device 2) of the first light guiding member (Figure 2; Light Guide Section 4) and a light-incident-side portion of the first liquid crystal panel are in contact with each other (see Figure 2; wherein the surface of the light guide section 4 closest to light modulation device 2 is in contact therewith), or
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Tiao such that the first light exiting surface of the first light guiding member and a light-incident-side portion of the first liquid crystal panel are in contact with each other, or an air layer having a dimension of 3 μm or smaller is provided between the first light exiting surface and the light-incident-side portion, as taught by Nakamura, because doing so would make it possible to display high-intensity and high-quality images while achieving reduction of the power consumption and improved light use efficiency (see Nakamura Paragraph [0128]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tiao as modified by Nakamura discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tiao further discloses the linearly polarized first light output from the first light source (Figure 2A; Light Emitting Modules 202) enters the first liquid crystal panel (Figure 2A; Light Valve 230) with no change in a polarization direction of the first light between the first light source (Figure 2A; Light Emitting Modules 202) and the first liquid crystal panel (see Figure 2A; wherein no components affecting polarization are located between the light emitting modules 202 and the light valve 230).
Regarding Claim 3, Tiao as modified by Nakamura discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tiao further discloses a cross section of the first light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220) that is perpendicular to the first optical axis thereof has a quadrangular shape see Figure 2A; Column 3, Lines 18-24 and Lines 38-40), the first light exiting surface (Figure 2A; Second End 212b) has a rectangular shape (see Figure 2A), and a polarization direction of the linearly polarized first light is a direction along one of a direction of long sides of the rectangular shape and a direction of short sides of the rectangular shape (see Figure 2A and Column 3, Lines 18-24 and Lines 38-40).
Regarding Claim 11, Tiao as modified by Nakamura discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tiao further discloses a second light source (Figure 2A; Light Emitting Modules 202) configured to output linearly polarized second light that belongs to a second wavelength band different from a first wavelength band to which the first light belongs (see Figures 2A and 10; Column 11, Lines 17-26; wherein a separate illumination device as depicted in Figure 2A is attributed to each of a red, green and blue wavelength);
a second light collector (Figure 2A; Light Pipes 210) configured to collect the second light output from the second light source (see Figure 2A);
a second light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220) configured to guide the second light output from the second light collector (see Column 3; Lines 18-24); and
a second liquid crystal panel (Figure 2A; Light Valve 230) configured to modulate the second light output from the second light guiding member (see Column 3; Lines 18-24),
a light combining member (Figure 10; Color Synthesizing Means 1020) configured to combine the first light and the second light with each other and output combined light (see Figure 10),
wherein the second light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220) has
a second light incident surface (Figure 2A; First End 212a) on which the second light output from the second light collector (Figure 2A; Light Pipes 210) is incident (see Figure 2A),
a second light exiting surface (Figure 2A; Second End 212b) via which the second light exits toward the second liquid crystal panel (see Figure 2A), and
a second inclining section inclining with respect to a second optical axis of the second light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220), a cross-sectional area of the second inclining section increasing as the second light guiding member (Figure 2A; Taper Light Pipe 220) extending in a direction in which the second light is guided (see Figure 2A; Column 3; Lines 32-40; wherein it is disclosed that the taper light pipe 212 can also be in a cone shape, that is, with a smaller aperture of the first end 212a and a larger aperture of the second end 212b).
Tiao does not expressly disclose that the second light exiting surface of the second light guiding member and a light-incident-side portion of the second liquid crystal panel are in contact with each other, or an air layer having a dimension of 3 μm or smaller is provided between the second light exiting surface and the light-incident-side portion.
Nakamura discloses a projector (Figure 2) comprising:
a second light source (Figure 2; Light Source 31);
a second light guiding member (Figure 2; Light Guide Section 4) and
a second liquid crystal panel (Figure 2; Light Modulation Device 2); wherein
the second light exiting surface (Figure 2; the surface of the light guide section 4 closest to light modulation device 2) of the second light guiding member (Figure 2; Light Guide Section 4) and a light-incident-side portion of the second liquid crystal panel are in contact with each other (see Figure 2; wherein the surface of the light guide section 4 closest to light modulation device 2 is in contact therewith), or
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Tiao such that the second light exiting surface of the second light guiding member and a light-incident-side portion of the second liquid crystal panel are in contact with each other, or an air layer having a dimension of 3 μm or smaller is provided between the second light exiting surface and the light-incident-side portion, as taught by Nakamura, because doing so would make it possible to display high-intensity and high-quality images while achieving reduction of the power consumption and improved light use efficiency (see Nakamura Paragraph [0128]).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiao et al (US 6,318,863; hereinafter referred to as Tiao) as modified by Nakamura (US 2010/0259726) as applied to claim 1, in view of Fujihara (US 2019/0196265).
Regarding Claim 4, Tiao as modified by Nakamura discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tiao as modified by Nakamura does not expressly disclose that the first liquid crystal panel has an image formation region where multiple pixels are arranged, the first liquid crystal panel includes a first substrate, a second substrate facing the first substrate with a liquid crystal layer interposed therebetween, a light-incident-side dustproof member disposed at a light incident side of the first substrate, and a light-exiting-side dustproof member disposed at a light exiting side of the second substrate, and the first light exiting surface is in contact with the light-incident-side dustproof member, or the air layer is provided between the first light exiting surface and the light-incident-side dustproof member.
Fujihara discloses a first liquid crystal panel (Figure 3) which has an image formation region where multiple pixels are arranged (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the array substrate 11B includes source lines, gate lines, switching components (e.g., TFTs), pixel electrodes, and an alignment film), the first liquid crystal panel (Figure 3) includes a first substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11A), a second substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11B) facing the first substrate (see Figure 3) with a liquid crystal layer (Figure 3; Liquid Crystal Layer 11C) interposed therebetween (see Figure 3), a light-incident-side dustproof member disposed at a light incident side of the first substrate (see Paragraph [0020]; wherein it is disclosed that the front and the back polarizing plates 12 have such retardation functions. The front and the back polarizing plates 12 include laminator layers (protective layers) for protecting the polarizing layers and fixing layers fixed to the plate surfaces of the CF substrate 11A and the array substrate 11B), and a light-exiting-side dustproof member disposed at a light exiting side of the second substrate (see Paragraph [0020]; wherein it is disclosed that the front and the back polarizing plates 12 have such retardation functions. The front and the back polarizing plates 12 include laminator layers (protective layers) for protecting the polarizing layers and fixing layers fixed to the plate surfaces of the CF substrate 11A and the array substrate 11B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the liquid crystal panel of Tiao as modified by Nakamura such that the first liquid crystal panel has an image formation region where multiple pixels are arranged, the first liquid crystal panel includes a first substrate, a second substrate facing the first substrate with a liquid crystal layer interposed therebetween, a light-incident-side dustproof member disposed at a light incident side of the first substrate, and a light-exiting-side dustproof member disposed at a light exiting side of the second substrate, wherein upon combination the first light exiting surface would be in contact with the light-incident-side dustproof member, based upon the teachings of Fujihara, because doing so would provide a higher quality of appearance while reducing display defects (see Fujihara Paragraphs [0005] and [0007]).
Regarding Claim 7, Tiao as modified by Nakamura discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tiao as modified by Nakamura does not expressly disclose that the first liquid crystal panel has an image formation region where multiple pixels are arranged, the first liquid crystal panel includes a first substrate, a second substrate facing the first substrate with a liquid crystal layer interposed therebetween, a light-exiting-side dustproof member disposed at a light exiting side of the second substrate, and the first light exiting surface is in contact with the first substrate, or the air layer is provided between the first light exiting surface and the first substrate.
Fujihara discloses a first liquid crystal panel (Figure 3) which has an image formation region where multiple pixels are arranged (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that the array substrate 11B includes source lines, gate lines, switching components (e.g., TFTs), pixel electrodes, and an alignment film), the first liquid crystal panel (Figure 3) includes a first substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11A), a second substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11B) facing the first substrate (see Figure 3) with a liquid crystal layer (Figure 3; Liquid Crystal Layer 11C) interposed therebetween (see Figure 3), and a light-exiting-side dustproof member disposed at a light exiting side of the second substrate (see Paragraph [0020]; wherein it is disclosed that the front and the back polarizing plates 12 have such retardation functions. The front and the back polarizing plates 12 include laminator layers (protective layers) for protecting the polarizing layers and fixing layers fixed to the plate surfaces of the CF substrate 11A and the array substrate 11B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the liquid crystal panel of Tiao as modified by Nakamura such that the first liquid crystal panel has an image formation region where multiple pixels are arranged, the first liquid crystal panel includes a first substrate, a second substrate facing the first substrate with a liquid crystal layer interposed therebetween, and a light-exiting-side dustproof member disposed at a light exiting side of the second substrate, wherein upon combination the first light exiting surface would be in contact with the first substrate, based upon the teachings of Fujihara, because doing so would provide a higher quality of appearance while reducing display defects (see Fujihara Paragraphs [0005] and [0007]).
Claims 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiao et al (US 6,318,863; hereinafter referred to as Tiao) as modified by Nakamura (US 2010/0259726) and Fujihara (US 2019/0196265) as applied to claims 4 and 7, in view of Jikuya et al (US 2012/0092567; hereinafter referred to as Jikuya).
Regarding Claim 5, Tiao as modified by Nakamura and Fujihara discloses the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Fujihara further discloses a planar size of the light-incident-side dustproof member viewed along the first optical axis is greater than a planar size of each of the first substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11A), the second substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11B), and the light-exiting-side dustproof member (see Paragraph [0020]; wherein it is disclosed that the front and the back polarizing plates 12 have such retardation functions. The front and the back polarizing plates 12 include laminator layers (protective layers) for protecting the polarizing layers and fixing layers fixed to the plate surfaces of the CF substrate 11A and the array substrate 11B).
Tiao as modified by Nakamura and Fujihara does not expressly disclose a cooling fan configured to deliver air to the first liquid crystal panel, and the cooling fan delivers the air to the light-incident-side dustproof member.
Jikuya discloses a cooling fan (Figure 5; Cooling Fan 88) configured to deliver air to a first liquid crystal panel (see Figure 5 and Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the cooling fan 88 cools the optical engine portion 15 which includes light modulation element 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Tiao as modified by Nakamura and Fujihara to incorporate a cooling fan configured to deliver air to a first liquid crystal panel, as taught by Jikuya, wherein upon combination the cooling fan would deliver the air to the light-incident-side dustproof member, because doing so would allow for the projector to be kept cool while in operation thereby protecting the components of the projector and increasing the longevity of the device.
Regarding Claim 6, Tiao as modified by Nakamura, Fujihara and Jikuya discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above. Jikuya further discloses the cooling fan (Figure 5; Cooling Fan 88) delivers the air also to the first light guiding member (see Figures 2 and 5 and Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the cooling fan 88 cools the optical engine portion 15 which includes diffusion plate 36).
Regarding Claim 8, Tiao as modified by Nakamura and Fujihara discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Fujihara further discloses a planar size of the first substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11A) viewed along the first optical axis is greater than a planar size of each of the second substrate (Figure 3; Substrate 11B), and the light-exiting-side dustproof member (see Paragraph [0020]; wherein it is disclosed that the front and the back polarizing plates 12 have such retardation functions. The front and the back polarizing plates 12 include laminator layers (protective layers) for protecting the polarizing layers and fixing layers fixed to the plate surfaces of the CF substrate 11A and the array substrate 11B).
Tiao as modified by Nakamura and Fujihara does not expressly disclose a cooling fan configured to deliver air to the first liquid crystal panel, and the cooling fan delivers the air to the first substrate.
Jikuya discloses a cooling fan (Figure 5; Cooling Fan 88) configured to deliver air to a first liquid crystal panel (see Figure 5 and Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the cooling fan 88 cools the optical engine portion 15 which includes light modulation element 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Tiao as modified by Nakamura and Fujihara to incorporate a cooling fan configured to deliver air to a first liquid crystal panel, as taught by Jikuya, wherein upon combination the cooling fan would deliver the air to the first substrate, because doing so would allow for the projector to be kept cool while in operation thereby protecting the components of the projector and increasing the longevity of the device.
Regarding Claim 9, Tiao as modified by Nakamura, Fujihara and Jikuya discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above. Jikuya further discloses the cooling fan (Figure 5; Cooling Fan 88) delivers the air also to the first light guiding member (see Figures 2 and 5 and Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the cooling fan 88 cools the optical engine portion 15 which includes diffusion plate 36).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiao et al (US 6,318,863; hereinafter referred to as Tiao) as modified by Nakamura (US 2010/0259726) as applied to claim 1, in view of Yamamoto (US 2019/0235372).
Regarding Claim 10, Tiao as modified by Nakamura discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tiao as modified by Nakamura does not expressly disclose a first diffuser including a first diffuser substrate configured to diffusively output the first light incident thereon and a first driver configured to rotate the first diffuser substrate, wherein the first diffuser is disposed between the first light collector and the first light guiding member.
Yamamoto discloses a first diffuser (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate Wheel 103) including a first diffuser substrate (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0066]; wherein the diffuser substrate is referred to as the disk shaped rotating body) configured to diffusively output first light incident thereon (see Paragraph [0066]) and a first driver (Paragraph [0066]; wherein the driver is referred to as the driving motor) configured to rotate the first diffuser substrate (see Paragraph [0066]), wherein the first diffuser (Figure 1; Diffusion Plate Wheel 103) is disposed between a first light collector (Figure 1; Optical System 110) and a first light guiding member (Figure 1; Integrator 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Tiao as modified by Nakamura to incorporate a first diffuser including a first diffuser substrate configured to diffusively output the first light incident thereon and a first driver configured to rotate the first diffuser substrate, wherein the first diffuser is disposed between the first light collector and the first light guiding member, as taught by Yamamoto, because doing so would allow for the light which passes therethrough to be reduced in its coherence (see Yamamoto Paragraph [0048]).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882