DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is in response to the claims filed on August 25, 2026.
Status of claims: claims 16-20 are cancelled; claims 1-15 are hereby examined below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11286702 to Krushel et al. (hereinafter “Krushel”).
Krushel discloses a drive device, comprising:
an articulated structure comprising a fixed end 36 and a movable end 12,24 articulately connected to the fixed end; (see FIG. 2B)
a transmission structure provided at the movable end and comprising a connecting rod 38 and a rocker arm 40, wherein one end of the connecting rod is rotatably connected to the rocker arm, and the other end of the connecting rod passes through the movable end to be rotatably connected to the fixed end; (see FIGS. 2B and 5) and
a drive structure provided at the movable end and comprising an actuator 14 and a drive shaft 72, (see FIG. 3A) wherein the drive shaft is fixedly connected to an end of the rocker arm away from the connecting rod,
wherein the movable end is positioned between the rocker arm and the fixed end, and
wherein the actuator, arranged at the movable end, (see FIG. 2B) generates rotational motion to drive the drive shaft to rotate the rocker arm about an axis of the drive shaft, and rotation of the rocker arm causes the connecting rod having a fixed length to exert a force on the fixed end, and due to the fixed end being fixed to a vehicle body, a reaction force back on the movable end causes the movable end to pivot away from the fixed end. (see FIG. 2B; note the arrows in FIG. 2B, especially the arrow next to the connecting rod 38 and the reverse force arrow for moving the door assembly 24 illustrated at the top of FIG. 2B) (claim 1)
Krushel further discloses wherein the drive structure comprises: a driving gear 56 connected to the actuator; and a driven gear 58 meshing with the driving gear and fixedly connected to the drive shaft, the driving gear having a diameter smaller than that of the driven gear. (see FIG. 3A) (claim 2)
Krushel further discloses wherein an end of the connecting rod close to the rocker arm comprises a first socket, an end of the rocker arm close to the connecting rod comprises a first ball, and the first ball is rotatably disposed in the first socket; and an end of the connecting rod close to the fixed end comprises a second socket, the fixed end comprises a second ball, and the second ball is rotatably disposed in the second socket. (see FIG. 5) (claim 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krushel, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of US 20110314739 to Kaburaki.
Krushel fails to disclose the driven gear comprises a first driven gear and a second driven gear.
Kaburaki teaches of a driven gear comprises a first driven gear 11,12 and a second driven gear 13, the first driven gear meshes with the driving gear 10 and the second driven gear, respectively, and the second driven gear is fixedly connected to the drive shaft; and the first driven gear has a diameter larger than that of the driving gear and smaller than that of the second driven gear. (see FIG. 6)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Krushel driven gear with a first driven gear and second driven gear, as taught by Kaburaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to minimize the width of the drive device housed in the door. Put another way, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Krushel driven gear with a first driven gear and second driven gear, as taught by Kaburaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate accommodation of the drive device within a thin door. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Krushel driven gear with a first driven gear and second driven gear, as taught by Kaburaki with a reasonable expectation of success to strengthen the ability of the door to be “held at any open angle” (see abstract of Kaburaski) as well as to provide the drive structure with the benefits of improved reduction gearing, such as increased torque, improved speed control and energy efficiency. (claim 3)
Krushel, as applied above, further discloses wherein the first driven gear comprises a first sub-gear 11 and a second sub-gear 12, the first sub-gear is fixedly connected to the second sub-gear, and the first sub-gear has a diameter larger than that of the second sub-gear; and the first sub-gear meshes with the driving gear, and the second sub-gear meshes with the second driven gear. (see FIG. 6) (claim 4)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krushel, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of DE 202008004384U1.
Krushel fails to disclose a sealing sleeve disposed around a portion of the connecting rod.
DE 202008004384U1 teaches of a sealing sleeve 20 disposed around a portion of a connecting rod 4 (see FIGS. 1 and 2), one end of the sealing sleeve being fixedly connected to the connecting rod, and the other end of the sealing sleeve extending to a movable end 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting rod disclosed in Krushel with the sealing sleeve taught in DE 202008004384U1 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to protect at least a portion of the connecting rod from dirt, debris and water; thus extending the life of the drive device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krushel, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20180319342 to Worthen et al. (hereinafter “Worthen”).
Krushel, as applied above, fails to disclose a torque sensor.
Worthen teaches of a torque sensor 94 configured to detect a torque of the actuator 26. (see [0053])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Krushel drive device with a torque sensor as taught in Worthen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to detect, among other things, an obstruction when moving the door assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 are not persuasive since the examiner has interpreted element 24 to be part of the movable end and therefore Krushel continues to read on at least claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634