DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He (US 2021/0360731 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 15
He discloses a method (See [Abstract]; method for selecting the best DRX cycle for a UE) by a terminal (Fig.5(500)), the method comprising:
receiving from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) (Fig.6(600)) a first message (See Fig.7(712); [0074]; registration process 708 can involve CN 702 transmitting, at 712, a Registration Accept message to scheduled entity 706),
wherein the first message comprises a parameter for a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (See Fig.7(712); [0051]; [0074]; the Registration Accept message can include an accepted DRX cycle that has been assigned to scheduled entity 706);
receiving from a base station (Fig.7(704)) a second message (See [0074]; scheduling entity 704 can broadcast the maximum DRX cycle) comprising a parameter for a third DRX cycle (See [0078]; Maximum DRX cycle);
receiving a system information comprising a parameter for a default paging cycle (See [Abstract]; [0004]; [0070-0071]; received SIB 1 with default paging cycle);
determining a DRX cycle (See [0079]; [0084]; UE determine and use accepted DRX cycle);
determining a paging frame based on the DRX cycle (See [0081]; [0086]; UE determined paging frame transmitted by base station depending on DRX selected);
and
monitoring at least one paging occasion associated with the paging frame (See [0081]; [0086]; UE monitor paging at occasion configured in the DRX determined by UE),
wherein the DRX cycle is determined based on the first DRX cycle (See [0074]; DRX from Core network), a fourth DRX cycle (See [0080]; CN 702 can include information related to the DRX cycle assigned to scheduled entity 706 with new data 720 received by the base station) and the default paging cycle (See [Abstract]; [0004]; [0070-0071]; received SIB 1 with default paging cycle) in case that:
a specific indication is comprised in the system information (See [0074]; the
Registration Accept message can include an indication of whether a Default DRX Override request was accepted); and
a second DRX cycle is configured (See [0073]; [0080-0081]; CN 702 can include information related to the DRX cycle assigned to scheduled entity 706 with new data 720. CN 702 can include an indication that default DRX override is approved for the scheduled entity associated with new data 720), and
wherein the DRX cycle is determined based on the first DRX cycle (See [0074]; DRX from Core network), the third DRX cycle (See [0078]; Maximum DRX cycle) and the default paging cycle (See [Abstract]; [0004]; [0070-0071]; received SIB 1 with default paging cycle) in case that:
the specific indication is comprised in the system information (See [0074]; the
Registration Accept message can include an indication of whether a Default DRX Override request was not accepted); and
the second DRX cycle is not configured (See [0073]; [0083-0084]; scheduled entity 706 can use the shorter of the accepted DRX cycle that was received in the Registration Accept from CN 702 and the default paging cycle based on the SIB received from scheduling entity 704-2 indicating that default DRX override is not supported).
Note:
Regarding Claim 15,
He discloses a terminal (Fig.5(500)) in a wireless communication system (Fig.1(100)), the terminal (Fig.5(500)) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig.5(510)) configured to transmit and receive a signal (See [0058]; [0065]; Transceiver can provide a wireless communication interface or means for communicating with various other apparatus over a transmission medium); and a controller (Fig.5(504)) configured to control the transceiver to (See [0065-0066]; generate communication with another wireless device in the network):
Regarding Claim 2,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and He further teaches
wherein the second DRX cycle (See [0073]; requested DRX cycle during registration process) is configured
in case that the first message comprises a parameter (See [0074]; the Default DRX Override acceptance can be formatted as a binary flag (e.g., a 0 indicating the request for Default DRX Override was not accepted, and a 1 indicating that the Default DRX Override request was accepted)) for the second DRX cycle (See [0074]; the Registration Accept message can include an indication of whether a Default DRX Override request was accepted);
Regarding Claim 3,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and He further teaches
wherein:
the first DRX cycle is determined based on the parameter for the first DRX cycle (See [0051]; the RAN paging cycle, which can be cell specific, and a DRX cycle that has been negotiated between the UE and the core network);
the second DRX cycle is determined based on a parameter for the second DRX cycle (See [0051]; the RAN paging cycle, which can be cell specific, and a DRX cycle that has been negotiated between the UE and the core network);
the third DRX cycle is determined based on the parameter for the third DRX cycle (See [0051]; the RAN paging cycle, which can be cell specific, and a DRX cycle that has been negotiated between the UE and the core network);
and
the fourth DRX cycle is determined based on a parameter for the fourth DRX cycle (See [0051]; the RAN paging cycle, which can be cell specific, and a DRX cycle that has been negotiated between the UE and the core network).
Regarding Claim 4,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and He further teaches
wherein the parameter for the fourth DRX cycle is comprised in the second message (See [0080]; CN 702 can include information related to the DRX cycle assigned to scheduled entity 706 with new data 720 received by the base station).
Regarding Claim 5,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 and He further teaches
wherein:
the second DRX cycle is used for determining time location of a paging transmission window (See [0073]; UE need DRX cycle configuration to monitor upcoming paging) to ;
and
the first DRX cycle is used for determining time location of one or more paging frames during the paging transmission window (See [0074]; UE need DRX cycle configuration to monitor upcoming paging during paging windows).
Regarding Claim 6,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and He further teaches
wherein the specific indication indicates that extended DRX is allowed (See [0074]; the Registration Accept message can include an indication of whether a Default DRX Override request was accepted. The accepted DRX cycle can be can be different than the requested DRX cycle ( e.g., either longer or shorter)).
Regarding Claim 7,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 5 and He further teaches
wherein: wherein, during the paging transmission window (See [0085]; when new data arrive, UE awake and BS generate paging to notify UE),
the DRX cycle is determined (See [0079]; [0084]; UE determine and use accepted DRX cycle received from gNB);
based on:
the first DRX cycle (See [0074]; DRX from Core network), a fourth DRX cycle (See [0080]; CN 702 can include information related to the DRX cycle assigned to scheduled entity 706 with new data 720 received by the base station) and the default paging cycle (See [Abstract]; [0004]; [0070-0071]; received SIB 1 with default paging cycle).
Regarding Claim 8,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 7 and He further teaches
wherein, outside the paging transmission window (See [0085]; when new data arrive, UE is in sleep mode and BS generate paging to notify UE), the DRX cycle is determined based on the fourth DRX cycle (See [0080]; CN 702 can include information related to the DRX cycle assigned to scheduled entity 706 with new data 720 received by the base station).
Regarding Claim 9,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and He further teaches
receiving a paging message based on monitoring of the paging occasion (See [0081]; [0086]; UE monitor paging at occasion configured in the DRX determined by UE); and discarding the parameter for the third DRX cycle (See [0073]; [0083-0084]; scheduled entity 706 can use the shorter of the accepted DRX cycle that was received in the Registration Accept from CN 702 and the default paging cycle based on the SIB received from scheduling entity 704-2 indicating that default DRX override is not supported).
Regarding Claim 10,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 and He further teaches
wherein, in response to reception of the paging message (See [0081]; [0086]; UE monitor paging at occasion configured in the DRX determined by UE), the parameter for the default paging cycle is discarded (See [0083-0084]; default paging cycle is discarded) and the parameter for the first DRX cycle is not discarded (See [0084]; scheduled entity 706 can use the shorter of the accepted DRX cycle that was received in the Registration Accept from CN 702).
Regarding Claim 11,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and He further teaches
wherein: the at least one paging occasion associated with the paging frame starts in the paging frame (See [0051]; [0081]; a UE can use its UE identifying information (UE ID) to determine the paging frame and paging occasion (PF/PO) at which it can expect to receive a paging message).
Regarding Claim 12,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and He further teaches
receiving a third message (See [0077]; scheduling entity 704 can use a system information modification period to inform scheduled entities that at least a portion of the system information is being modified);
acquiring the system information again (See [0077]; UEs served by scheduling entity 704 wake at least once during each system information modification period. Scheduling entity 704 can provide information indicative of the boundaries of the system information modification period in the system information); and
requesting a second system information (See [0078]; [0098]; scheduling entity 704 and/or UEs served by scheduling entity 704 can infer a maximum DRX cycle supported by the scheduling entity 704 based on other system information broadcast by scheduling entity 704)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by He (US 2021/0360731 A1) in view of Argiwal (US 2021/0314914 A1).
Regarding Claim 13,
He teaches all the features with respect to claim 12 and He further teaches
wherein the system information further comprises:
a parameter for a modification period (See [0078]; [0098]; a SIB received from the base station can include an indication of a length of the system information modification period associated with the base station);
He fails to explicitly recite that
the system information comprises a parameter for a hyper frame number.
However in analogous art,
Agiwal further teaches about a system information comprising a parameter for a hyper frame number (See [0077]; A hyper frame consists of 1024 radio frames. The hyper frames are sequentially numbered (i.e., assigned hyper system frame number or H-SFN) from 0) .
He and Agiwal are analogous art because they all pertain to wireless communication with DRx generation from system information. He teaches about a terminal determining DRx cycle for different conditions at the system level. Agiwal further teaches about a system information comprising a parameter for a hyper frame number. He could Agiwal features to determine a more practical count number for total radio frames in an extended DRx cycle. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the writing of the claim to combine He and Agiwal as to obtain an efficient wireless system.
Regarding Claim 14,
He and Agiwal teach all the features with respect to claim 13 and further teach
wherein: the parameter for the modification period is used for determining time point to start acquiring the system information again (See He [0077]; When the system information modification period during which the notification was transmitted has elapsed, scheduling entity 704 can begin including the modified system information in one or more system information blocks); and the parameter for the hyper frame number is used for determining time point to start a paging transmission window (See Agiwal [0077]; Hyper frame number is used to count radio frame number wherein paging should start at the end of a radio frame transmitted) .
Note : Tabet (US 2016/0014716 A1) is a reference that could have been considered as prior art but does not teach about overriding DRXcycle.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646