DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-2 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 12/13/2024 has/have been taken into account.
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 03/31/2026, the following has occurred: Claim 1 has been amended; No claims have been canceled; No claims have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any citation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See following section for further explanation.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that: “Kobylinski describes a first hanger member 22 and a second hanger member 24 are that directly connected to the vehicle 23 and the exhaust pipe 26, respectively, and that the first hanger member 22 and the second hanger member 24 are connected to the coupling member 30 via fasteners, such as bolts 36 and nuts 38. Kobylinski fails to disclose "the supporting member comprises a first through-hole in which the first suspension member is inserted so as to connect the supporting member to the first suspension member, and the supporting member comprises a second through-hole in which the second suspension member is inserted so as to connect the second suspension member to the supporting member". Therefore, claim 1 is patentable over the cited art. Dependent claim 2 is patentable over the cited art for at least the same reasons as claim 1 by virtue of its dependency therefrom.” – Elements 36 of Kobylinski read on the cited suspension members and therefore as a result of the amendment, this new interpretation has been made and applicants arguments no longer apply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobylinski et al. (US 5,507,463).
In regards to Claim 1, Kobylinski discloses a supporting device for an engine peripheral structure, the supporting device comprising: a first suspension member (Kobylinski: Fig. 2; 36 - lower) that is attached to the engine peripheral structure; a supporting member (Kobylinski: Fig. 2, 6; 60) that is connected to the first suspension member, the supporting member being an elastic body and being an electric conductor (Kobylinski: Col. 3, Ln. 51-65); and a second suspension member (Kobylinski: Fig. 2; 36 - upper) that is connected to the supporting member and a vehicle body, the second suspension member being grounded to the vehicle body, wherein the engine peripheral structure is supported by the vehicle body, through the first suspension member, the supporting member, and the second suspension member; the supporting member comprises a first through-hole in which the first suspension member is inserted so as to connect the supporting member to the first suspension member, and the supporting member comprises a second through-hole in which the second suspension member is inserted so as to connect the second suspension member to the supporting member (Kobylinski: Fig. 3; shows through holes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobylinski et al. (US 5,507,463) in view of Signorino (US 2003/0161087).
In regards to Claim 2, Kobylinski discloses the supporting device for the engine peripheral structure according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the second suspension member is grounded with a battery that is provided in a vehicle.
However, Signorino teaches a member that is grounded with a battery (Signorino: Fig. 4; 7 or [0018]; main battery) that is provided in a vehicle.
Kobylinski and Signorino are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. grounding vehicle components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second suspension member of Kobylinski with the battery from Signorino, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means for routing unwanted charge on a vehicle frame to a main or additional battery of a vehicle, thereby helping prevent issues caused by charged components in a vehicle (Signorino: [0017]-[0018], [0020]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631