DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 26, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,081. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it recites almost same and equivalent features. Since U.S. Patent No. 12,217,081 and the claims at issue of the present application perform similar functions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,081 by omitting or rearranging of certain features. It is well settled that omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karison, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963) Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under the Step 1 of the Section 101 analysis, Claims 1-20 are drawn to a method which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., a process).
Since the claims are directed toward statutory categories, it must be determined if the claims are directed towards a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). Based on consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, claims 1-20 are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Regarding Claim 1:
Claim 1 is drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “depositing, by a first entity's process engine, an instruction onto a distributed ledger; processing, by a second entity's process engine, first data based on the instruction on the distributed ledger; depositing, by the second entity's process engine, the processed first data onto the distributed ledger; writing, by the second entity's process engine, after the second entity's process engine deposits the processed first data, to one or more data blocks on the distributed ledger associated with the first entity notify the first entity's process engine that the second entity's process engine has completed the processing; and verifying, by the first entity's process engine, the processed first data has been processed according to the instruction, wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the verifying.”
Under the Step 2A Prong One, the limitations, as underlined above, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity such as commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). For example, but for the “process engine”, “distributed ledger”, “blocks”, and “automatically” language, the underlined limitations in the context of this claim encompass the human activity. The series of steps belong to a typical sales activities or behaviors, because the entities including first and second entities interact and process data or information for transaction including payment.
Under the Step 2A Prong Two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – “A computer-implemented method comprising:”, “process engine”, “distributed ledger”, “blocks”, and “automatically”. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., performing generic functions of an interaction) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, merely implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Additionally, regarding the specification and claims, there is no improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field present, there is no applying or using the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition present, there is no implementing the judicial exception with or using the judicial exception in conjunction with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim present, there is no effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing present, and there is no applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment present such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Under the Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements in the process amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 7:
Claim 7 is drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “depositing, by a first entity's process engine, a first data, a first instruction, and a second instruction onto a distributed ledger; processing, by a second entity's process engine, first data based on the first instruction stored on the distributed ledger; depositing, by the second entity's process engine, processed first data onto the distributed ledger; processing second data based on the second instruction stored on the distributed ledger by a third entity's process engine; depositing, by the third entity's process engine, processed second data onto the distributed ledger; writing, after the third entity's process engine deposits the processed second data, to one or more data blocks on the distributed ledger associated with the first entity to notify the first entity's process engine that the second entity's process engine and the third entity's process engine have completed the processing; and verifying, by the first entity's process engine, the processed first data and the processed second data have been processed according to the first instruction and the second instruction, respectively, wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity or the third entity is automatically processed after the verifying.”
Under the Step 2A Prong One, the limitations, as underlined above, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity such as commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). For example, but for the “process engine”, “distributed ledger”, “blocks”, and “automatically” language, the underlined limitations in the context of this claim encompass the human activity. The series of steps belong to a typical sales activities or behaviors, because the entities including first and second entities interact and process data or information for transaction including payment.
Under the Step 2A Prong Two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – “A computer-implemented method comprising:”, “process engine”, “distributed ledger”, “blocks”, and “automatically”. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., performing generic functions of an interaction) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, merely implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Additionally, regarding the specification and claims, there is no improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field present, there is no applying or using the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition present, there is no implementing the judicial exception with or using the judicial exception in conjunction with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim present, there is no effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing present, and there is no applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment present such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Under the Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements in the process amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 15:
Claim 15 is drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “depositing, by a first entity’s process engine, at least one instruction onto one or more data blocks of a distributed ledger implemented to have a plurality of data blocks connected by way of logical links in a sequential chain, the at least one instruction being associated with information deposited onto the one or more data blocks, the deposited information comprising at least one of data or metadata utilizable by a second entity's process engine, using a computing application, to perform one or more operations according to the at least one instructions as related to a first step in a process being managed by the first entity's process engine; reading, by the first entity's process engine, one or more results deposited onto the one or more blocks of the distributed ledger, the one or more results having been generated by the second entity's process engine according to the at least one instruction deposited by the first entity's process engine; and utilizing, by the first entity's process engine, at least a portion of the one or more results deposited by the second entity's process engine to confirm that one or more processes associated with the deposited information are performed by the second entity's process engine according to the at least one instruction, wherein rules and conditions associated with managing the one or more processes are stored on at least one block of the distributed ledger, and wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the confirming.”
Under the Step 2A Prong One, the limitations, as underlined above, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity such as commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). For example, but for the “process engine”, “blocks”, “distributed ledger”, “logical links”, “computing application”, and “automatically” language, the underlined limitations in the context of this claim encompass the human activity. The series of steps belong to a typical sales activities or behaviors, because the entities including first and second entities interact and process data or information for transaction including payment.
Under the Step 2A Prong Two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – “A computer-implemented method comprising:”, “process engine”, “blocks”, “distributed ledger”, “logical links”, “computing application”, and “automatically”. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., performing generic functions of an interaction) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, merely implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Additionally, regarding the specification and claims, there is no improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field present, there is no applying or using the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition present, there is no implementing the judicial exception with or using the judicial exception in conjunction with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim present, there is no effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing present, and there is no applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment present such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Under the Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements in the process amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims 2-6, 8-14, and 16-20:
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-14, and 16-20 include additional limitations, for example, “block”, “distributed ledger”, and “process engine” (Claims 2 and 8); “distributed ledger” and “process engine” (Claims 3 and 9); “distributed ledger” (Claims 4 and 10); “blocks” and “distributed ledger” (Claims 5 and 11); “process engine”, “blocks”, and “distributed ledger” (Claims 6 and 12); “distributed ledger” and “process engine” (Claim 13); “process engine” and “distributed ledger” (Claim 14); “process engine”, “block”, and “distributed ledger” (Claim 16); “process engine”, “smart contract”, and “distributed ledger” (Claim 17); “distributed ledger” and “process engine” (Claim 18); “process engine”, “block”, and “distributed ledger” (Claim 19); and “process engine”, “block”, and “distributed ledger” (Claim 20), but none of these limitations are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because, as stated above, they require no more than generic computer structures or signals to be executed, and do not recite any Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or Improvements to any other technology or technical field.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation or implementing the judicial exception on a generic computer.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 2-6, 8-14, and 16-20 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asthana (US 20190268277 A1; already of record in IDS) in view of Arrasjid (US 20200241929 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Asthana teaches A computer-implemented method comprising (Asthana: Abstract):
depositing, by a first entity's process engine, an instruction onto a distributed ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0004-0006, 0100 teach(es) the computer-implemented method can also comprise adding, by the system, first event data indicative of a first event associated with the one or more computing resources into a first data block of a blockchain dataset for the cloud-based computing platform; the terms “component,” “system,” “platform,” “interface,” and the like, can refer to and/or can include a computer-related entity or an entity related to an operational machine with one or more specific functionalities); processing, by a second entity's process engine, first data based on the instruction on the distributed ledger; depositing, by the second entity's process engine, the processed first data onto the distributed ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0041-0042, 0048-0049, 0062, 0096, 0004-0006, 0058, 0100 teach(es) the blockchain can be a sequence of data blocks that corresponds to a sequence of the one or more events for the cloud-based computing platform. In addition, an orchestration (synchronization) engine can manage computing resources and/or workflows in a cloud computing environment (communications network). Also, the blockchain component (first party) can add event data (metadata or instruction deposited by the first party) indicative of an event associated with a contract transaction (e.g., a smart contract transaction) between the one or more computing resources into a blockchain dataset (data block) for the cloud-based computing platform, and one or more events associated with the multiple parties (the second party or second process engine) and/or the multiple resources can be managed through one or more contract transactions (e.g., one or more smart contract transactions) (performing the instruction by the second party) that are persisted in a blockchain ledger. Therefore, the multiple parties can obtain a consistent view (confirming that the processes are performed) of a cloud-based computing platform. Furthermore, a rate (progress state of processes) of addition of one or more events into the blockchain dataset may vary according to risk level data indicative of a risk level associated with the cloud-based computing platform during a defined period of time, and a first risk level can be associated with a transaction that is performed infrequently by a virtual machine of the cloud-based computing platform during normal usage (e.g., a transaction is performed every minute that includes information regarding a running state of a central processing unit and/or memory). Still furthermore, with the cloud resource digital ledger component, all parties can be in sync about information associated with the cloud-based computing platform such as, for example, which patches are installed on the cloud-based computing platform, if patches need to be removed from the cloud-based computing platform because of one or more problems with the patches, etc.); writing, by the second entity's process engine, after the second entity's process engine deposits the processed first data, to one or more data blocks on the distributed ledger associated with the first entity notify the first entity's process engine that the second entity's process engine has completed the processing (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0049, 0060, 0063, 0100 teach(es) the cloud resource digital ledger component (first party) can store a global state and/or one or more event transactions (instruction) for one or more cloud resources. In addition, the orchestration engine, the support provider device, the application provider device, the service provider device, the cloud provider device and/or the customer device (second party) can employ a blockchain dataset for reflection of a global state and/or one or more event transactions (results) associated with the cloud-based computing platform. In addition, event data or event data (instruction) is added to a blockchain, and the events may include requests associated with the cloud-based computing platform. A “request” must include one party to request the event and another party(s) to perform the request. And results should be generated by performing the “request” through contract transaction (smart contract)); and verifying, by the first entity's process engine, the processed first data has been processed according to the instruction, … (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0049, 0063, 0100 teach(es) content stored in the blockchain dataset and/or a rate of addition to the blockchain dataset can be controlled by the blockchain component. Furthermore, a rate of addition of one or more events into the blockchain dataset may vary according to risk level data indicative of a risk level (results) associated with the cloud-based computing platform during a defined period of time. In addition, the system can employ one or more contracts to securely add one or more event transactions to a blockchain data set.. a chain code to verify that one or more events (e.g., one or more transactions) are valid (utilizing the results to confirm that the process are performed)).
However, Asthana does not explicitly teach wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the verifying.
Arrasjid from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the verifying (Arrasjid: Paragraph(s) 0026, 0045, 0077 teach(es) The escrow system implements an escrow module, which is configured to implement a smart contract for triggering release of such resources to the cloud service provider responsive to verification that the requested cloud services provided by the cloud service provider meet the quality of service metrics agreed upon between the client device and the cloud service provider; in some embodiments the escrow system may be implemented at least partially internal to the cloud service provider, the distributed ledger monitoring system, etc.; The escrow contract provides an escrow service responsible for releasing funds or payment to the SP system responsive to validation by the SLA contract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Asthana to incorporate the teachings of Arrasjid for wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the verifying.
There is motivation to combine Arrasjid into Asthana because Arrasjid’s teachings of escrow smart contract would facilitate releasing funds or payment (Arrasjid: Paragraph(s) 0026, 0045, 0077).
Regarding Claim 7, Asthana teaches A computer-implemented method comprising (Asthana: Abstract):
depositing, by a first entity's process engine, a first data, a first instruction, and a second instruction onto a distributed ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0004-0006, 0100 teach(es) the computer-implemented method can also comprise adding, by the system, first event data indicative of a first event associated with the one or more computing resources into a first data block of a blockchain dataset for the cloud-based computing platform; the terms “component,” “system,” “platform,” “interface,” and the like, can refer to and/or can include a computer-related entity or an entity related to an operational machine with one or more specific functionalities); processing, by a second entity's process engine, first data based on the first instruction stored on the distributed ledger; depositing, by the second entity's process engine, processed first data onto the distributed ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0041-0042, 0048-0049, 0062, 0096, 0004-0006, 0058, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 1); processing second data based on the second instruction stored on the distributed ledger by a third entity's process engine; depositing, by the third entity's process engine, processed second data onto the distributed ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0041-0042, 0048-0049, 0062, 0096, 0004-0006, 0058, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 1); writing, after the third entity's process engine deposits the processed second data, to one or more data blocks on the distributed ledger associated with the first entity to notify the first entity's process engine that the second entity's process engine and the third entity's process engine have completed the processing (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0049, 0060, 0063, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 1); and verifying, by the first entity's process engine, the processed first data and the processed second data have been processed according to the first instruction and the second instruction, respectively, … (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0049, 0063, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 1).
However, Asthana does not explicitly teach wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity or the third entity is automatically processed after the verifying.
Arrasjid from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity or the third entity is automatically processed after the verifying (Arrasjid: Paragraph(s) 0026, 0045, 0077 teach(es) The escrow system implements an escrow module, which is configured to implement a smart contract for triggering release of such resources to the cloud service provider responsive to verification that the requested cloud services provided by the cloud service provider meet the quality of service metrics agreed upon between the client device and the cloud service provider; in some embodiments the escrow system may be implemented at least partially internal to the cloud service provider, the distributed ledger monitoring system, etc.; The escrow contract provides an escrow service responsible for releasing funds or payment to the SP system responsive to validation by the SLA contract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Asthana to incorporate the teachings of Arrasjid for wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity or the third entity is automatically processed after the verifying.
There is motivation to combine Arrasjid into Asthana because Arrasjid’s teachings of escrow smart contract would facilitate releasing funds or payment (Arrasjid: Paragraph(s) 0026, 0045, 0077).
Regarding Claim 15, Asthana teaches A computer-implemented method comprising (Asthana: Abstract):
depositing, by a first entity’s process engine, at least one instruction onto one or more data blocks of a distributed ledger implemented to have a plurality of data blocks connected by way of logical links in a sequential chain, the at least one instruction being associated with information deposited onto the one or more data blocks, the deposited information comprising at least one of data or metadata utilizable by a second entity's process engine, using a computing application, to perform one or more operations according to the at least one instructions as related to a first step in a process being managed by the first entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0041-0042, 0048-0049, 0062, 0096, 0004-0006, 0058, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 1); reading, by the first entity's process engine, one or more results deposited onto the one or more blocks of the distributed ledger, the one or more results having been generated by the second entity's process engine according to the at least one instruction deposited by the first entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0049, 0060, 0063, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 1); and utilizing, by the first entity's process engine, at least a portion of the one or more results deposited by the second entity's process engine to confirm that one or more processes associated with the deposited information are performed by the second entity's process engine according to the at least one instruction (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0049, 0063, 0100, as stated above with respect to claim 1).
However, Asthana does not explicitly teach wherein rules and conditions associated with managing the one or more processes are stored on at least one block of the distributed ledger, and wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the confirming.
Arrasjid from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein rules and conditions associated with managing the one or more processes are stored on at least one block of the distributed ledger, and wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the confirming (Arrasjid: Paragraph(s) 0026, 0045, 0077 teach(es) The escrow system implements an escrow module, which is configured to implement a smart contract for triggering release of such resources to the cloud service provider responsive to verification that the requested cloud services provided by the cloud service provider meet the quality of service metrics agreed upon between the client device and the cloud service provider; in some embodiments the escrow system may be implemented at least partially internal to the cloud service provider, the distributed ledger monitoring system, etc.; The escrow contract provides an escrow service responsible for releasing funds or payment to the SP system responsive to validation by the SLA contract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Asthana to incorporate the teachings of Arrasjid for wherein rules and conditions associated with managing the one or more processes are stored on at least one block of the distributed ledger, and wherein the distributed ledger is configured to act as an escrow such that a payment to the second entity is automatically processed after the confirming.
There is motivation to combine Arrasjid into Asthana because Arrasjid’s teachings of escrow smart contract would facilitate releasing funds or payment (Arrasjid: Paragraph(s) 0026, 0045, 0077).
Regarding Claims 2 and 8, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 7 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the instruction is deposited onto a data block of the distributed ledger, and wherein the second entity's process engine monitors the data block (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0006, 0054, 0100 teach(es) the learning component can monitor the cloud-based computing platform to facilitate learning of one or more features and/or information related to one or more resources associated with the cloud-based computing platform).
Regarding Claims 3 and 9, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 7 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the instruction deposited onto the distributed ledger is addressed to the second entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0100 teach(es) The one or more computing resources can be computing resources for a virtual machine, storage, middleware, other hardware and/or other software. One or more events associated with the management of the one or more computing resources can be added into a blockchain. For instance, event data indicative of an event associated with a contract transaction (e.g., a smart contract transaction) between the one or more computing resources can be added into the blockchain).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein one or more records are maintained on the distributed ledger, the one or more records comprising: the instruction and the processed first data (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042 teach(es) The blockchain can be a sequence of data blocks that corresponds to a sequence of the one or more events for the cloud-based computing platform. In an aspect, the one or more events can be added to the blockchain based on risk management associated with the cloud-based computing platform and/or one or more other factors associated with the cloud-based computing platform).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the instruction and the processed first data are stored in separate data blocks on the distributed ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0076 teach(es) second event data indicative of a second event associated with the one or more computing resources is added, by the system (e.g., by blockchain component), into a second data block of the blockchain dataset for the cloud-based computing platform).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the first entity's process engine monitors the one or more data blocks on the distributed ledger for the notifying by the second entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0030, 0100 teach(es) Resource usage can be monitored, controlled, and reported, providing transparency for both the provider and consumer of the utilized service).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein one or more records are maintained on the distributed ledger, the one or more records comprising: the first instruction, the second instruction, the processed first data, and the processed second data (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042 teach(es) The blockchain can be a sequence of data blocks that corresponds to a sequence of the one or more events for the cloud-based computing platform. In an aspect, the one or more events can be added to the blockchain based on risk management associated with the cloud-based computing platform and/or one or more other factors associated with the cloud-based computing platform).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the first instruction, the processed first data, the second instruction, and the processed second data are stored in separate data blocks on the distributed ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0076 teach(es) second event data indicative of a second event associated with the one or more computing resources is added, by the system (e.g., by blockchain component), into a second data block of the blockchain dataset for the cloud-based computing platform).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the first entity's process engine monitors the distributed ledger for the one or more data blocks of the notifying by the second entity or the third entity (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0030, 0100 teach(es) Resource usage can be monitored, controlled, and reported, providing transparency for both the provider and consumer of the utilized service).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the distributed ledger is used to synchronize processing between the first entity's process engine, the second entity's process engine, and the third entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0030, 0048, 0100, 0042 teach(es) Resource usage can be monitored, controlled, and reported, providing transparency for both the provider and consumer of the utilized service; the blockchain component can add event data indicative of an event associated with a contract transaction (e.g., a smart contract transaction) between the one or more computing resources into a blockchain dataset for the cloud-based computing platform; the terms “component,” “system,” “platform,” “interface,” and the like, can refer to and/or can include a computer-related entity or an entity related to an operational machine with one or more specific functionalities; One or more events associated with the multiple parties and/or the multiple resources can be managed through one or more contract transactions (e.g., one or more smart contract transactions) that are persisted in a blockchain ledger).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the second entity’s process engine is stored on the distributed ledger to perform the first instruction (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0048-0049, 0100 teach(es) One or more events associated with the multiple parties and/or the multiple resources can be managed through one or more contract transactions (e.g., one or more smart contract transactions) that are persisted in a blockchain ledger).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the second entity’s process engine is compatible with the first entity’s process engine to (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0061-0062, 0100 teach(es) one or more events associated with the multiple parties and/or the multiple resources can be managed through one or more contract transactions (e.g., one or more smart contract transactions) that are persisted in a blockchain ledger): monitor a first data block of the distributed ledger for the at least one instruction (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042 teach(es) an event can include... monitoring a computing resource associated with the cloud-based computing platform); perform the one or more operations according to the at least one instruction in order to advance the process being managed by the first entity’s process engine to a second step in the process (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0100 teach(es) an event can include... performing a security process associated with the cloud-based computing platform); and deposit the one or more results on a second data block monitored by the first entity’s process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0100 teach(es) updating a computing resource associated with the cloud-based computing platform, an event can include... invoking an application programming interface associated with the cloud-based computing platform, etc.).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above; and Asthana further teaches further comprising deploying one or more of the first entity’s process engine and the second entity’s process engine as a smart contract on the distributed ledger to orchestrate execution of process flow and data exchanges between the first entity's process engine and the second entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0048-0049, 0100 teach(es) One or more events associated with the multiple parties and/or the multiple resources can be managed through one or more contract transactions (e.g., one or more smart contract transactions) that are persisted in a blockchain ledger).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein one or more records are maintained on the distributed ledger, the one or more records comprising: the at least one instruction, the information deposited by the first entity's process engine, and the results deposited by the second entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0042, 0100 teach(es) one or more events associated with the management of the one or more computing resources can be added into a blockchain. For instance, event data indicative of an event associated with a contract transaction (e.g., a smart contract transaction) between the one or more computing resources can be added into the blockchain. The one or more events can include, for example, one or more requests associated with the cloud-based computing platform, one or more changes associated with the cloud-based computing platform, one or more controls associated with the cloud-based computing platform, one or more updates associated with the cloud-based computing platform, and/or one or more other events associated with the cloud-based computing platform).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the information deposited by the first entity's process engine is stored on a first block on the distributed ledger such that the first block is monitored by the second entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0006, 0054, 0100 teach(es) the learning component can monitor the cloud-based computing platform to facilitate learning of one or more features and/or information related to one or more resources associated with the cloud-based computing platform).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Asthana and Arrasjid teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above; and Asthana further teaches wherein the one or more results deposited by the second entity's process engine are stored on a second block on the distributed ledger such that the second block is monitored by the first entity's process engine (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0006, 0054, 0100 teach(es) the learning component can monitor the cloud-based computing platform to facilitate learning of one or more features and/or information related to one or more resources associated with the cloud-based computing platform).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Double Patenting that “the claims of the reference patent nowhere even mention "escrow" or "payment," let alone disclose the feature of the distributed ledger configured to act as an escrow to automatically process payment to the second entity after the verifying,” examiner respectfully argues that the claims recite “escrow” or “payment” without any technical details or contexts, and thus such recitation may be interpreted as intended use. It is recommended for the applicant to amend the claims further with more technical details and contexts of “escrow” and “payment”.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 that “The claimed methods support interactions of multiple entities using a blockchain platform, via their respective process engines, to provide an instruction, track performance of the instruction, and automatically process payment for performance of the instruction upon verification of performance. In other words, the claimed methods provide enhancements to the functionalities that a distributed ledger platform may provide to its users,” examiner respectfully argues that the blockchain or distributed ledger is recited to be used as a shared storage, and thus the claims do not recite the blockchain or distributed ledger with any technical details and contexts of the blockchain platform. Therefore, the additional elements do not provide any technical improvements, thus not integrating the abstract idea into a practical application. It is recommended for the applicant to amend the claims further with more technical details and contexts of the blockchain platform as well as “escrow” and “payment”.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 that “none of the listed event examples corresponds to an instruction, let alone an instruction for data processing by a second device,” examiner respectfully argues that Asthana teaches that one or more events associated with the multiple parties (the second party or second process engine) and/or the multiple resources can be managed through one or more contract transactions (e.g., one or more smart contract transactions) (performing the instruction by the second party) that are persisted in a blockchain ledger (Asthana: Paragraph(s) 0041-0042, 0048-0049, 0062, 0096, 0004-0006, 0058, 0100). It is recommended for the applicant to amend the claims with more technical details and contexts of instruction, first/second entities, their process engine or device, escrow, payment, etc.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “the Applicant submits that Asthana nowhere even mentions the terms escrow or payment and, therefore, cannot be said to explicitly teach this feature,” examiner respectfully argues that Arrasjid teaches the features (Arrasjid: Paragraph(s) 0026, 0045, 0077). It is recommended for the applicant to amend the claims with more technical details and contexts of relations among first/second entities/devices and escrow/payment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cook (US 20200042960 A1) teaches procurement system using blockchain, including that the blockchain may implement smart contracts that enforce data workflows in a decentralized manner, metadata, synchronization, syncing data, request, and consensus.
Webster (US 20200127843 A1) teaches process for managing escrow payments between multiple parties, including shared workflow for completing the blockchain smart contract and SaaS at least in [0033] & [0054]-[0055].
Elden (US 20190392392 A1) teaches blockchain-based workflow system, including smart contract, and that determining a role for the employee is authorized to perform the transaction.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAY C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699