DETAILED ACTION
1. The office acknowledges the receipt of the following and placed of record in the file: Application dated 12/13/2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (“Smith”), U.S. Patent Pub No. 2023/0261494.
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Smith teaches a control device [Fig-1(100)], comprising:
a signal receiving pin (pin receiving communication at USB-PD IC controller logic 126 in controller 106 or the “second port … coupling the USB-PD IC controller to a wireless charging station” see 0059 ), suitable to couple to a signal transmission pin (pin at 20CSA) of a charging module, and configured to receive an instruction signal generated by the signal transmission pin in response to the charging module detecting whether a system current reaches an over current protection value or a system voltage reaches an under voltage protection value [Para: 0046(after sensing voltage across current sensor resistor 20CSA transmitted to controller logic 126 determining whether over-current occurs, see para 0048); Fig-1 and 7]; and
at least one processing module, coupled to the signal receiving pin, and configured to throttle a frequency of the at least one processing module according to the instruction signal received by the signal receiving pin [Para: 0048(USB-PD IC controller logic 126 generating PWM control signals for controlling “switching state”, (see para 0047) from observing current across sense resistor (see para 0046) so that “controlling the switching state of the power switches … of the wireless charging station 104, to implement the operating frequency (or duty cycle) adjustment techniques and over-current/over-voltage”)].
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Smith teaches wherein in response to the charging module detecting that the system current reaches the over current protection value or the system voltage reaches the under voltage protection value, the instruction signal generated by the signal transmission pin is a first voltage level [Para: 0046(signal transmission from 20CSA sensed at over current or a first voltage level), and
in response to the charging module detecting that the system current does not reach the over current protection value or the system voltage does not reach the under voltage protection value, the instruction signal generated by the signal transmission pin is a second voltage level, wherein the first voltage level is different from the second voltage level [Para: 0047(as voltage regulator “implement the voltage adjustment” or a second voltage due to over current over current sensing at 20CSA)].
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Smith teaches wherein when the instruction signal generated by the signal transmission pin is the first voltage level, the at least one processing module throttles the frequency of the at least one processing module to a predetermined frequency [Para: 0028(“USB-PD IC controller 106 may control the output power level of the wireless charging station 104 by changing the level of VIN and/or the operating frequency or duty cycle of the wireless charging station 104”)], and when the instruction signal generated by the signal transmission pin is the second voltage level, the at least one processing module does not throttle the frequency of the at least one processing module [Para: 0030(“Regarding input voltage control, the wireless charging station 104 may have a fixed operating frequency”)].
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Smith teaches wherein after the at least one processing module throttles the frequency of the at least one processing module to the predetermined frequency, in response to the charging module detecting that the system current does not reach the over current protection value or the system voltage reaches an under voltage protection releasing value [Fig-4(see 20V-5V power curve)], the instruction signal generated by the signal transmission pin changes to the second voltage level from the first voltage level, so that the at least one processing module stops throttling the frequency of the at least one processing module and releases a limit of the frequency of the at least one processing module level [Para: 0047(as voltage regulator “implement the voltage adjustment” or a second voltage due to over current over current sensing at 20CSA where further frequency throttle is not required)].
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Smith teaches wherein the under-voltage protection releasing value is higher than the under-voltage protection value [Fig-4(20V-5Vcurve > 4V)].
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Smith teaches wherein the predetermined frequency is a minimum operation frequency of the at least one processing module [Para: 0029(“wireless charging station 104 and/or decrease the operating frequency or duty cycle of the wireless charging station 104”)].
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Smith teaches at least one sensing module, coupled to the at least one processing module, and configured to sense a current of the at least one processing module to generate a sensing signal [Para: 0046(after sensing voltage across current sensor resistor 20CSA transmitted to controller logic 126 determining whether over-current occurs, see para 0048); Fig-1 and 7];
a control module, coupled to the at least one processing module and the at least one sensing module, and configured to receive the sensing signal, and generate a control signal to the at least one processing module according to the sensing signal, so that the at least one processing module throttles the frequency of the at least one processing module according to the control signal and the instruction signal [Para: 0048(USB-PD IC controller logic 126 generating PWM control signals for controlling “switching state”, (see para 0047) from observing current across sense resistor (see para 0046) so that “controlling the switching state of the power switches … of the wireless charging station 104, to implement the operating frequency (or duty cycle) adjustment techniques and over-current/over-voltage”)].
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Smith teaches wherein the at least one processing module gradually decreases the frequency of the at least one processing module according to the control signal and the instruction signal until the frequency of the at least one processing module reaches a predetermined frequency [Para: 0029(“wireless charging station 104 and/or decrease the operating frequency or duty cycle of the wireless charging station 104”)].
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Smith teaches wherein the predetermined frequency is a minimum operation frequency of the at least one processing module [Para: 0029(“wireless charging station 104 and/or decrease the operating frequency or duty cycle of the wireless charging station 104”)].
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Smith teaches wherein the at least one processing module is a central processing unit [Para: 0051(processor)] or a graphics processing unit.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED H REHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176