DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Taneyhill reference (US Patent No. 9,434,366).
6. Regarding claim 1, the Taneyhill reference discloses:
a system (FIG. 1) for controlling a parking brake in a vehicle (Title), comprising:
a first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) disposed between a fluid source (34) and a wheel brake on the vehicle (50), the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) including a first solenoid (60) movable between a first solenoid delivery state (60—closed) allowing fluid flow from a supply port (FIG. 1—where (32) connects to (20)) on the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) to a delivery port (FIG. 1—where (52) connects to (20)) on the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) and a first solenoid exhaust state (60—open) allowing fluid flow from the delivery port on the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) to an exhaust port on the first electropneumatic valve module (65);
a second electropneumatic valve module (Column 3, lines 17-19) disposed between the fluid source (34) and the wheel brake (50), the second electropneumatic valve module including a second solenoid movable between a second solenoid delivery state allowing fluid flow from a supply port on the second electropneumatic valve module to a delivery port on the second electropneumatic valve module and a second solenoid exhaust state allowing fluid flow from the delivery port on the second electropneumatic valve module to an exhaust port on the second electropneumatic valve module (implicit in explicit disclosure of “known” electropneumatic valves since this is just a repeat of the first valve which as shown above is known);
a brake controller (40) configured to transmit a first control signal to the first solenoid (Column 5, lines 43-49), the first control signal configured to position the first solenoid in one of the first solenoid delivery state and the first solenoid exhaust state (Column 5, lines 43-49—exhaust air pressure); and,
a secondary control circuit (40—controller implicitly has circuitry to operate solenoid and valve and therefore can be considered secondary) configured to generate, responsive to a first feedback signal from the first electropneumatic valve module indicative of whether the first solenoid is in the first solenoid delivery state or the first solenoid exhaust state, a second control signal, the second control signal configured to position the second solenoid in one of the second solenoid delivery state and the second solenoid exhaust state (Column 3, lines 11-24—feedback signal is the trip pressure which indicates exhaust and since a second valve is known a second control signal would be necessary to allow further venting an application of brakes).
7. Regarding claim 10, the Taneyhill reference further discloses:
whether the first solenoid (60) is in the first solenoid delivery state or the first solenoid exhaust state responsive to the first feedback signal (Column 3, lines 11-24—feedback signal is the trip pressure which indicates exhaust) and to determine whether the second solenoid is in the second solenoid delivery state or the second solenoid exhaust state responsive to a second feedback signal from the second electropneumatic valve module (Column 3, lines 11-24—second feedback signal is the pressure which indicates full exhaust and since a second valve is known a second control signal would be necessary to allow full venting an application of brakes) indicative of whether the second solenoid is in the second solenoid delivery state or the second solenoid exhaust state.
8. Regarding claim 11, the Taneyhill reference discloses:
a system (FIG. 1) for controlling a parking brake in a vehicle (Title), comprising:
a first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) disposed between a fluid source (34) and a wheel brake on the vehicle (50), the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) including a first solenoid (60) movable between a first solenoid delivery state (60-closed) allowing fluid flow from a supply port (FIG. 1—where (32) connects to (20)) on the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) to a delivery port (FIG. 1—where (52) connects to (20)) on the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60) and a first solenoid exhaust state (60—open) allowing fluid flow from the delivery port on the first electropneumatic valve module to an exhaust port (65) on the first electropneumatic valve module (20, 60);
a second electropneumatic valve module (Column 3, lines 17-19) disposed between the fluid source (34) and the wheel brake (50), the second electropneumatic valve module including a second solenoid movable between a second solenoid delivery state allowing fluid flow from a supply port on the second electropneumatic valve module to a delivery port on the second electropneumatic valve module and a second solenoid exhaust state allowing fluid flow from the delivery port on the second electropneumatic valve module to an exhaust port on the second electropneumatic valve module (implicit in explicit disclosure of “known” electropneumatic valves since this is just a repeat of the first valve which as shown above is known);
a brake controller (40) configured to transmit a first control signal to the first solenoid (Column 5, lines 43-49), the first control signal configured to position the first solenoid in one of the first solenoid delivery state and the first solenoid exhaust state (Column 5, lines 43-49—exhaust air pressure); and,
means for generating (40—controller implicitly has circuitry to operate solenoid and valve), responsive to a first feedback signal from the first electropneumatic valve module indicative of whether the first solenoid is in the first solenoid delivery state or the first solenoid exhaust state, a second control signal, the second control signal configured to position the second solenoid in one of the second solenoid delivery state and the second solenoid exhaust state (Column 3, lines 11-24—feedback signal is the trip pressure which indicates exhaust and
since a second valve is known a second control signal would be necessary to allow further venting an application of brakes).
9. Regarding claim 20, the Taneyhill reference further discloses:
wherein the brake controller (40) is configured to determine whether the first solenoid (60) is in the first solenoid delivery state or the first solenoid exhaust state
responsive to the first feedback signal (Column 3, lines 11-24—feedback signal is the trip pressure which indicates exhaust) and to determine whether the second solenoid is in the
second solenoid delivery state or the second solenoid exhaust state responsive to a second
feedback signal from the second electropneumatic valve module (Column 3, lines 11-24—second feedback signal is the pressure which indicates full exhaust and since a second valve is known a second control signal would be necessary to allow full venting an application of brakes) indicative of whether the second solenoid is in the second solenoid delivery state or the second solenoid exhaust state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Taneyhill reference..
12. Regarding claim 2, the Taneyhill reference fails to disclose:
wherein the supply port of the second electropneumatic valve module is in fluid communication with the fluid source, the delivery port of the second electropneumatic valve module is in fluid communication with the supply port of the first electropneumatic valve module and the delivery port of the first electropneumatic valve module is in fluid communication with the wheel brake.
This would be obvious to try. There are a finite number of connections between the two valves, the fluid source and the wheel brake therefore the combinations are finite. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a variety of connections could be made but such variety would be finite and it would be obvious to try the various connections to develop an optimal configuration.
13. Regarding claim 3, the Taneyhill reference fails to disclose:
wherein the supply port of the first electropneumatic valve module and the supply port of the second electropneumatic valve module are both in fluid communication with the fluid source and the delivery port of the first electropneumatic valve module and the delivery port of the second electropneumatic valve module are both in fluid communication with the wheel brake.
This would be obvious to try. There are a finite number of connections between the two valves, the fluid source and the wheel brake therefore the combinations are finite. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a variety of connections could be made but such variety would be finite and it would be obvious to try the various connections to develop an optimal configuration.
14. Regarding claim 12, the Taneyhill reference fails to disclose:
wherein the supply port of the second electropneumatic valve module is in fluid communication with the fluid source, the delivery port of the second electropneumatic valve module is in fluid communication with the supply port of the first electropneumatic valve module and the delivery port of the first electropneumatic valve module is in fluid communication with the wheel brake.
This would be obvious to try. There are a finite number of connections between the two valves, the fluid source and the wheel brake therefore the combinations are finite. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a variety of connections could be made but such variety would be finite and it would be obvious to try the various connections to develop an optimal configuration.
15. Regarding claim 13, the Taneyhill reference fails to disclose:
wherein the supply port of the first electropneumatic valve module and the supply port of the second electropneumatic valve module are both in fluid communication with the fluid source and the delivery port of the first electropneumatic valve module and the delivery port of the second electropneumatic valve module are both in fluid communication with the wheel brake.
This would be obvious to try. There are a finite number of connections between the two valves, the fluid source and the wheel brake therefore the combinations are finite. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a variety of connections could be made but such variety would be finite and it would be obvious to try the various connections to develop an optimal configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 14-19, and 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues (1) that the claim language “first solenoid delivery state allowing fluid flow from a supply port on the first electropneumatic valve module to a delivery port on the first electropneumatic valve module” is not disclosed (2) second electropneumatic module is not disclosed and (3) a secondary control circuit configured to generate. The Office traverses and will discuss each in turn.
Concerning number (1), (FIG. 1) shows that fluid flows from 32 and 36 into the valve 20 and when the valve 20 opens there would be at least some air left in the lines 32 and 36 and whether 60 was open would affect that flow. Accordingly, this argument fails. Concerning number (2) Applicant itself cite that the prior art discloses “Additional . . . and electropneumatic valves,” which is a “second electropneumatic valve module.” And finally, for (3) the Applicant admits this interpretation and application is appropriate as shown by its need to add claim 21 to the claimset. Accordingly, all pending claims are finally rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747