Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, It is unclear whether the applicant is claiming a door latch or a door latch in combination with a pair of side-by-side sliding doors. If the applicant intends to claim only the door latch, all recitation of the doors should be referred to with language such as "configured to". For example from line 5, “secure the door latch assembly to a first door” should be changed to “configured to secure”. If the applicant intends to clam the combination, the preamble should be amended to the reflect that the combination is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,601,413 to Vito in view of US Patent US Patent 4,408,789 to Miller.
Vito teaches
17. A door latch assembly configured to provide a locked condition and an unlocked condition for a pair of side-by- side sliding doors, the door latching assembly comprising: a hinge plate (22), a back plate (50) and a pivot latch (20); wherein the hinge plate, back plate, and the pivot latch secure the door latch assembly to a first door of the pair of side-by-side sliding doors (as best seen in figure 1 and 6); wherein the pivot latch is pivotably attached to the hinge plate and is operable to both rotate about a pivot axis (16) between the locked condition and the unlocked condition; wherein, in the locked condition, the pivot latch is pivoted to be co-operable with a wire loop (12) fixedly attached to a second door of the pair of side-by-side sliding doors (as best seen in figure 1); and wherein, in the unlocked condition, the pivot latch is pivotable to a position generally parallel to the hinge plate to enable the side-by-side sliding doors to bypass one another (not shown, but as seen in figure 3, there is no structure that would prevent the pivot latch from rotating 180 degrees to be parallel in both configurations).
Vito does not expressly disclose the pivot latch slides along the pivot axis.
Miller teaches a door latch assembly with a hinge plate (13) and a pivot latch (19) connected via a pivot axis (23) to pivot and slide. The spring (29) allows for sliding along the pivot axis. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify door latch assembly of Vito by adding space and a spring between the hinge knuckles as taught by Miller to bias the pivot latch onto the wire loop and have adjustment.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,601,413 to Vito in view of US Patent US Patent 4,408,789 to Miller as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US Patent 2023/0212895 to Hodge.
Vito in view of Miller discloses every element as claimed and discussed above including a single yoke on the hinge with a double pivot bar and does not expressly disclose the hinge plate having a double yoke. A lower flange (116) has a corner notch as best seen in figure 2A. Hodge teaches a hinge plate (110) with a yoke bracket. The yoke has upper and lower flanges that surround a pivot bar (120). The upper and lower flanges have an aperture to receive the hinge pin (230). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the yoke of Vito in view of Miller by swapping to a double yoke with a single pivot bar as taught by Hodge as a functional equivalent hinge setup.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,462,320 to Davis in view of US Patent US Patent 4,408,789 to Miller.
Davis teaches
17. A door latch assembly configured to provide a locked condition and an unlocked condition for a pair of side-by- side sliding doors, the door latching assembly comprising: a hinge plate (25), a back plate (33, 42) and a pivot latch (17); wherein the hinge plate, back plate, and the pivot latch secure the door latch assembly to a first door of the pair of side-by-side sliding doors (as best seen in figure 1); wherein the pivot latch is pivotably attached to the hinge plate and is operable to both rotate about a pivot axis (21) between the locked condition and the unlocked condition; wherein, in the locked condition, the pivot latch is pivoted to be co-operable with a wire loop (28) fixedly attached to a second door of the pair of side-by-side sliding doors (as best seen in figure 1); and wherein, in the unlocked condition, the pivot latch is pivotable to a position generally parallel to the hinge plate to enable the side-by-side sliding doors to bypass one another (not shown, but as seen in figure 1, there is no structure that would prevent the pivot latch from rotating 180 degrees to be parallel in both configurations).
Davis does not expressly disclose the pivot latch slides along the pivot axis.
Miller teaches a door latch assembly with a hinge plate (13) and a pivot latch (19) connected via a pivot axis (23) to pivot and slide. The spring (29) allows for sliding along the pivot axis. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify door latch assembly of Davis by adding space and a spring between the hinge knuckles as taught by Miller to bias the pivot latch onto the wire loop and have adjustment.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,462,320 to Davis in view of US Patent US Patent 4,408,789 to Miller as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US Patent 2023/0212895 to Hodge.
Davis in view of Miller discloses every element as claimed and discussed above including a single yoke on the hinge with a double pivot bar and does not expressly disclose the hinge plate having a double yoke. A lower flange (116) has a corner notch as best seen in figure 2A. Hodge teaches a hinge plate (110) with a yoke bracket. The yoke has upper and lower flanges that surround a pivot bar (120). The upper and lower flanges have an aperture to receive the hinge pin (230). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the yoke of Davis in view of Miller by swapping to a double yoke with a single pivot bar as taught by Hodge as a functional equivalent hinge setup.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 and 20 allowed.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/07/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.A/Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637