DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 23, 2026 has been entered and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b),
in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and
was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Flament et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0188442 A1 (hereinafter Flament).
Regarding claim 1, Flament teaches a method for optimizing a base image library, (1300 FIGS. 7A-7B, 13-15, 21, and 23-25, paragraphs[0127]-[0128] of Flament teaches if it is not determined that a darkfield candidate image should be captured, flow diagram 1300 returns to procedure 1310; in one embodiment, flow diagram 1300 delays the performance of procedure 1310 a predetermined time period, e.g., to ensure that enough time has passed that a darkfield candidate image could be captured, given satisfaction of other conditions; if it is determined that a darkfield candidate image should be captured, flow diagram 1300 proceeds to procedure 1340; at procedure 1340, a darkfield image is captured as a darkfield candidate image, where a darkfield image is an image absent an object interacting with the sensor; at procedure 1350, the darkfield estimate is updated with the darkfield candidate image; in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1355, the darkfield candidate image is merged with the darkfield estimate; and in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1360, provided the darkfield estimate is not stored, the darkfield candidate image is stored as the darkfield estimate, and See also at least paragraphs[0072]-[0088], [0120]-[0126], [0129]-[0132], [0139], [0149], [0163], and [0172]-[0179] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches a method for darkfield tracking and updating of a stored darkfield estimate)) comprising: determining a first base image and a plurality of second base images stored in the base image library, wherein the base image library comprises a plurality of base images, including the first base image and the plurality of second based images, collected by a fingerprint sensor from a detection region without a detection object; calculating a difference between the first base image and each of the plurality of second base images respectively (715 FIGS. 7A-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0117] of Flament teaches in one embodiment, as soon as the darkfield candidate image is captured, a test that the darkfield candidate image is indeed a darkfield image can be performed; this test can look for structures in the image to distinguish an actual darkfield image from a fingerprint image or an object Image; an additional darkfield quality verification step may be applied before merging the recently acquired darkfield candidate image; for example, an image analysis may be applied to scan for any image contribution that are not likely to constitute a darkfield; the image analysis may comprise looking for features resembling a fingerprint, or spatial frequencies related to a fingerprint; if such features are present, the darkfield candidate image may not be used, or used with a lesser weight; a darkfield quality factor may be determined, and the weight of the candidate darkfield in the merger may depend on the quality factor; the quality factor may also express a confidence in the fact that no object was detected; it may also be determined if the quality of the darkfield estimate will be negatively affected by the merger of the darkfield candidate image, and based on this determination, the weight of the darkfield candidate image may be adapted; the stored darkfield estimate may be subtracted from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, since this represent the latest acquired image of the sensor; if the darkfield procedure is working properly, the so obtained corrected image should be nearly uniform but for a small contribution; the uniformity of quality of the image may be determined to analysis the quality of the darkfield correction, and any issue or errors may be used as feedback to automatically adapt the darkfield correction process, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0072]-[0091], [0119]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting a stored darkfield estimate from a recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by a fingerprint sensor when an object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to a reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images (i.e., merging with a darkfield estimate))), and obtaining a plurality of residual images based on the calculated difference (FIGS. 8-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0128] of Flament teaches at procedure 1340, a darkfield image is captured as a darkfield candidate image, where a darkfield image is an image absent an object interacting with the sensor; at procedure 1350, the darkfield estimate is updated with the darkfield candidate image; in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1355, the darkfield candidate image is merged with the darkfield estimate; and in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1360, provided the darkfield estimate is not stored, the darkfield candidate image is stored as the darkfield estimate, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0127], [0129]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))); and
deleting, in response to determining based on the plurality of residual images that shading interference is present in the first base image, the first base image from the base image library (FIGS. 8-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0171] of Flament teaches in some embodiments, if the darkfield contamination verification of procedure 2320 reveals a contaminated darkfield, a decision whether or not to allow authentication may be based on the level of contamination e.g., at procedure 2340); for example, for minor contamination, the authentication may be allowed, but the dynamic update may not be allowed; when a serious contamination is detected, other measures may be taken; for example, it may be decided not to do any darkfield correction, because no correction may yield better results than a correction with an incorrect darkfield; alternatively, a different darkfield may be selected, e.g., an older darkfield; this different darkfield may be selected from a database of darkfield images acquired under similar conditions as the current operating conditions; in some embodiments, a new darkfield may be determined, through measurement or simulation/modelling; and when a new measurement is required, the system may ask the user the remove his or her finger in order to acquire a correct darkfield, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0170], [0172]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))).
Regarding claim 3, Flament teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the calculating the difference between the first base image and each of the plurality of second base images respectively, and obtaining the plurality of residual images based on the calculation result comprises: calculating the difference between the first base image and each of the plurality of second base images respectively to obtain a plurality of first images, and determining the plurality of first images as the residual images respectively; or selecting a plurality of second images from the plurality of first images, wherein an intensity or number of stripe noise signals in a pattern of row-wise or column-wise stripes included in the second images is smaller than a preset noise threshold, and determining the plurality of second images as the residual images respectively; or obtaining the plurality of residual images based on the plurality of second images (FIGS. 8-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0128] of Flament teaches at procedure 1340, a darkfield image is captured as a darkfield candidate image, where a darkfield image is an image absent an object interacting with the sensor; at procedure 1350, the darkfield estimate is updated with the darkfield candidate image; in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1355, the darkfield candidate image is merged with the darkfield estimate; and in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1360, provided the darkfield estimate is not stored, the darkfield candidate image is stored as the darkfield estimate, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0127], [0129]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))).
Regarding claim 12, Flament teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor, a memory, a communication interface, and (710, 760, 740 FIGS. 7A-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0078] of Flament teaches while the embodiment of FIG. 7B includes processor 760 and memory 770, as described above, it should be appreciated that various functions of processor 760 and memory 770 may reside in other components of device 710 (e.g., within always-on circuitry 730 or system circuitry 740); moreover, it should be appreciated that processor 760 may be any type of processor for performing any portion of the described functionality (e.g., custom digital logic), and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0037]-[0045], [0071]-[0077], [0079]-[0091], [0117]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0170], [0171]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches an electronic device having memory and the processor at least within system circuity wherein the system circuitry is an interface that exchanges signals with always-on circuitry via a bus, and wherein the processor executes instructions, which are included in a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium (e.g., memory), for subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image (i.e., for darkfield image correction) that is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))) a communication bus, wherein the processor, the memory, and the communication interface implement communication with each other through the communication bus; and the memory is configured to store at least one executable instruction, and the executable instruction causes the processor to execute (735 FIGS. 7A-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0073] of Flament teaches while the embodiment of FIG. 7B includes processor 760 and memory 770, as described above, it should be appreciated that various functions of processor 760 and memory 770 may reside in other components of device 710 (e.g., within always-on circuitry 730 or system circuitry 740); moreover, it should be appreciated that processor 760 may be any type of processor for performing any portion of the described functionality (e.g., custom digital logic), and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0037]-[0045], [0071]-[0091], [0117]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0170], [0171]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches an electronic device having memory and the processor at least within system circuity wherein the system circuitry is an interface that exchanges signals with always-on circuitry via a bus, wherein the always-on circuitry includes the fingerprint sensor, and wherein the processor executes instructions, which are included in a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium (e.g., memory), for subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image (i.e., for darkfield image correction) that is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))) a method for optimizing a base image library (1300 FIGS. 7A-7B, 13-15, 21, and 23-25, paragraphs[0127]-[0128] of Flament teaches if it is not determined that a darkfield candidate image should be captured, flow diagram 1300 returns to procedure 1310; in one embodiment, flow diagram 1300 delays the performance of procedure 1310 a predetermined time period, e.g., to ensure that enough time has passed that a darkfield candidate image could be captured, given satisfaction of other conditions; if it is determined that a darkfield candidate image should be captured, flow diagram 1300 proceeds to procedure 1340; at procedure 1340, a darkfield image is captured as a darkfield candidate image, where a darkfield image is an image absent an object interacting with the sensor; at procedure 1350, the darkfield estimate is updated with the darkfield candidate image; in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1355, the darkfield candidate image is merged with the darkfield estimate; and in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1360, provided the darkfield estimate is not stored, the darkfield candidate image is stored as the darkfield estimate, and See also at least paragraphs[0072]-[0088], [0120]-[0126], [0129]-[0132], [0139], [0149], [0163], and [0172]-[0179] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches a method for darkfield tracking and updating of a stored darkfield estimate)), the method comprising: determining a first base image and a plurality of second base images stored in the base image library, wherein the base image library comprises a plurality of base images, including the first base image and the plurality of second based images, collected by a fingerprint sensor from a detection region without a detection object; calculating a difference between the first base image and each of the plurality of second base images respectively (715 FIGS. 7A-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0117] of Flament teaches in one embodiment, as soon as the darkfield candidate image is captured, a test that the darkfield candidate image is indeed a darkfield image can be performed; this test can look for structures in the image to distinguish an actual darkfield image from a fingerprint image or an object Image; an additional darkfield quality verification step may be applied before merging the recently acquired darkfield candidate image; for example, an image analysis may be applied to scan for any image contribution that are not likely to constitute a darkfield; the image analysis may comprise looking for features resembling a fingerprint, or spatial frequencies related to a fingerprint; if such features are present, the darkfield candidate image may not be used, or used with a lesser weight; a darkfield quality factor may be determined, and the weight of the candidate darkfield in the merger may depend on the quality factor; the quality factor may also express a confidence in the fact that no object was detected; it may also be determined if the quality of the darkfield estimate will be negatively affected by the merger of the darkfield candidate image, and based on this determination, the weight of the darkfield candidate image may be adapted; the stored darkfield estimate may be subtracted from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, since this represent the latest acquired image of the sensor; if the darkfield procedure is working properly, the so obtained corrected image should be nearly uniform but for a small contribution; the uniformity of quality of the image may be determined to analysis the quality of the darkfield correction, and any issue or errors may be used as feedback to automatically adapt the darkfield correction process, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0072]-[0091], [0119]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting a stored darkfield estimate from a recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by a fingerprint sensor when an object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to a reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images (i.e., merging with a darkfield estimate))), and obtaining a plurality of residual images based on the calculated difference (FIGS. 8-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0128] of Flament teaches at procedure 1340, a darkfield image is captured as a darkfield candidate image, where a darkfield image is an image absent an object interacting with the sensor; at procedure 1350, the darkfield estimate is updated with the darkfield candidate image; in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1355, the darkfield candidate image is merged with the darkfield estimate; and in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1360, provided the darkfield estimate is not stored, the darkfield candidate image is stored as the darkfield estimate, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0127], [0129]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))); and
deleting, in response to determining based on the plurality of residual images that shading interference is present in the first base image, the first base image from the base image library (FIGS. 8-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0171] of Flament teaches in some embodiments, if the darkfield contamination verification of procedure 2320 reveals a contaminated darkfield, a decision whether or not to allow authentication may be based on the level of contamination e.g., at procedure 2340); for example, for minor contamination, the authentication may be allowed, but the dynamic update may not be allowed; when a serious contamination is detected, other measures may be taken; for example, it may be decided not to do any darkfield correction, because no correction may yield better results than a correction with an incorrect darkfield; alternatively, a different darkfield may be selected, e.g., an older darkfield; this different darkfield may be selected from a database of darkfield images acquired under similar conditions as the current operating conditions; in some embodiments, a new darkfield may be determined, through measurement or simulation/modelling; and when a new measurement is required, the system may ask the user the remove his or her finger in order to acquire a correct darkfield, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0170], [0172]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))).
Regarding claim 14, Flament teaches the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the calculating the difference between the first base image and each of the plurality of second base images respectively, and obtaining the plurality of residual images based on the calculation result comprises: calculating the difference between the first base image and each of the plurality of second base images respectively to obtain a plurality of first images, and determining the plurality of first images as the residual images respectively; or selecting a plurality of second images from the plurality of first images, wherein an intensity or number of stripe noise signals in a pattern of row-wise or column-wise stripes included in the second images is smaller than a preset noise threshold, and determining the plurality of second images as the residual images respectively; or obtaining the plurality of residual images based on the plurality of second images (FIGS. 8-9, 12-17, 21, and 23-25, paragraph[0128] of Flament teaches at procedure 1340, a darkfield image is captured as a darkfield candidate image, where a darkfield image is an image absent an object interacting with the sensor; at procedure 1350, the darkfield estimate is updated with the darkfield candidate image; in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1355, the darkfield candidate image is merged with the darkfield estimate; and in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1360, provided the darkfield estimate is not stored, the darkfield candidate image is stored as the darkfield estimate, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0127], [0129]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament (i.e., Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis))).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-10, 13, and 15-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because for each of claims 2, 4-10, 13, and 15-21 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The following is a brief summary of Applicant’s arguments:
In regard to currently amended claim 1, Applicants submitted that the combination of prior art of record does not disclose the following limitations: “determining a first base image and a plurality of second base images stored in the base image library, wherein the base image library comprises a plurality of base images, including the first base image and the plurality of second based images, collected by a fingerprint sensor from a detection region without a detection object; calculating a difference between the first base image and each of the plurality of second base images respectively, and obtaining a plurality of residual images based on the calculated difference; and deleting, in response to determining based on the plurality of residual images that shading interference is present in the first base image, the first base image from the base image library”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In regard to the argument ‘A’ summarized above paragraph[0117] of Flament teaches in one embodiment, as soon as the darkfield candidate image is captured, a test that the darkfield candidate image is indeed a darkfield image can be performed; this test can look for structures in the image to distinguish an actual darkfield image from a fingerprint image or an object Image; an additional darkfield quality verification step may be applied before merging the recently acquired darkfield candidate image; for example, an image analysis may be applied to scan for any image contribution that are not likely to constitute a darkfield; the image analysis may comprise looking for features resembling a fingerprint, or spatial frequencies related to a fingerprint; if such features are present, the darkfield candidate image may not be used, or used with a lesser weight; a darkfield quality factor may be determined, and the weight of the candidate darkfield in the merger may depend on the quality factor; the quality factor may also express a confidence in the fact that no object was detected; it may also be determined if the quality of the darkfield estimate will be negatively affected by the merger of the darkfield candidate image, and based on this determination, the weight of the darkfield candidate image may be adapted; the stored darkfield estimate may be subtracted from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, since this represent the latest acquired image of the sensor; if the darkfield procedure is working properly, the so obtained corrected image should be nearly uniform but for a small contribution; the uniformity of quality of the image may be determined to analysis the quality of the darkfield correction, and any issue or errors may be used as feedback to automatically adapt the darkfield correction process, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0072]-[0091], [0119]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament.
Thus, to further clarify, Flament teaches subtracting a stored darkfield estimate from a recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by a fingerprint sensor when an object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to a reference database that is shared and includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images (i.e., merging with a darkfield estimate.
In addition, paragraph[0128] of Flament teaches at procedure 1340, a darkfield image is captured as a darkfield candidate image, where a darkfield image is an image absent an object interacting with the sensor; at procedure 1350, the darkfield estimate is updated with the darkfield candidate image; in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1355, the darkfield candidate image is merged with the darkfield estimate; and in one embodiment, as shown at procedure 1360, provided the darkfield estimate is not stored, the darkfield candidate image is stored as the darkfield estimate, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0127], [0129]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament.
Thus, Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis.
Still in addition, paragraph[0171] of Flament teaches in some embodiments, if the darkfield contamination verification of procedure 2320 reveals a contaminated darkfield, a decision whether or not to allow authentication may be based on the level of contamination e.g., at procedure 2340); for example, for minor contamination, the authentication may be allowed, but the dynamic update may not be allowed; when a serious contamination is detected, other measures may be taken; for example, it may be decided not to do any darkfield correction, because no correction may yield better results than a correction with an incorrect darkfield; alternatively, a different darkfield may be selected, e.g., an older darkfield; this different darkfield may be selected from a database of darkfield images acquired under similar conditions as the current operating conditions; in some embodiments, a new darkfield may be determined, through measurement or simulation/modelling; and when a new measurement is required, the system may ask the user the remove his or her finger in order to acquire a correct darkfield, and See also at least ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0083]-[0091], [0117]-[0140], [0149], [0155], [0158], [0161]-[0170], [0172]-[0179], and [0185]-[0191] of Flament.
Thus, Flament teaches subtracting the stored darkfield estimate from the recently acquired darkfield candidate image, which is capable of being captured by the fingerprint sensor when the object is not interacting with the fingerprint sensor, evaluating the darkfield candidate image for contamination that includes comparing the darkfield candidate image to the reference database that includes images captured by the sensor when no finger is touching the sensor, and even monitoring, replacing and merging the darkfield candidate image with previously recorded darkfield images on a continuous basis in order to improve performance of fingerprint matching (i.e., merging with the darkfield estimate on a continuous basis.
Also, in regard to independent claim 1 Applicant submitted that similar arguments apply to independent claim 12 and respective dependent claims. Therefore, the Examiner’s response in regard to arguments ‘A’, summarized above, also applies to the independent claim 12 and respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621