Double Patenting
Claim 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of cop ending Application No. 18/917935 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because subject matter of claims 1-9 of current application are in the application no 18/917935.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-20 of copending Application No. 18917935 in view of 2021/0389377. Claims 10-20 disclose subject matter of claims 10-20 of 18917935 but lack third motor phase current based on first and second motor phase current. 2021/0389377 disclose third motor phase current based on first and second motor phase , see claim 3 . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the power tool of 18917935 with third motor phase current of 2021/0389377 for improved control .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakahara et al (WO2021100843) .
Claim 1 Nakahara et al discloses a power tool / method ( fig1 and 2 ) comprising a housing ( tool housing ), brushless motor (15) disposed in housing , brushless motor including a rotor (13) and stator (14) , the rotor is coupled to motor shaft arranged to rotate about a longitudinal axis ( output shaft 16) , the longitudinal axis extending though the motor shaft, the motor shaft arranged to produce a rotational output to drive mechanism (23), one or more position sensors ( motor rotation measuring unit 27) disposed adjacent to brushless motor (15), the one or more position sensors configured to generate out signals corresponding to rotational position of brushless motor , power switching circuit ( inverter 51) configure to provide a supply of power form battery pack (320) to brushless motor (15) and electronic controller ( 4) connected to one or more position sensors (27) and power switching circuit (51) , the electronic controller configured to implement field oriented control (FOC) of brushless motor ( magnetic field components d-axis and q-axis ), the electronic controller configured to receive output signals from one or more position sensors , determine parameter of brushless motor based on output signals form one or more position sensors, determine drive parameters ( duty cycle CVu1, CVv1 and Cvw1 control signal of control unit 4 to inverter circuit 51) for the brushless motor (15) based on parameter of brushless motor using FOC (vector control paragraph 13), generate drive commands (cid1 and ciq1) based on drive parameters and drive brushless motor (15) based on drive commands (cid1 and ciq1). First (61) and second (62) stator current sensor .
Claim 2 Nakahara discloses parameter of brushless motor includes at least one of rotational position , speed or acceleration of brushless motor , Claim 3 Nakahara disclose wherein drive parameter of brushless motor is plurality of duty cycles for each phase of motor ( duty cycle CVu1,CVv1, Cvw1 control signal of control unit 4 to inverter 51), Claims 4 Nakahara discloses whin controller (4) is further configured to generate with a speed regulator ( 42) and output signals form one or more position sensors a current command (cid1 and ciq1). Claim 5 Nakahara discloses whin control er is configured to determine rotor speed based on out signal form one or more position signals and generate current command using speed regulator ( 42) current command (cid1 and ciq1) based on rotor speed and target speed . Claim 6 Nakahara discloses paragraphs 49-62 and fig 3 describe operating modes and switching conditions . Claim 9 Nakahara is shown fig 1 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakahara et al in view of Bolotin et al (2021/0389377) .
Nakahara et al as disclosed above lacks disclosing third motor phase current based on firs and second motor phase current . Bolotin et al discloses in claim 3 third motor phase current . It would have been bovo to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine power tool of Nakahara et al with third motor phase current of Bolotin et al for improved control . Dependent claims 11-14,18-20 are similar to dependent claims 2-6, 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,8 and 16,17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art does not disclose fault as disclosed in claims .
KAREN . MASIH
Examiner
Art Unit 2837
/KAREN MASIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837