DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lamontagne et al. (US 20160025950, hereinafter “Lamontagne `950”).
Regarding claim 1, Lamontagne `950 discloses a lens unit (Fig. 6; Paras. [0021], [0062]) comprising:
a lens (22; Para. [0062]) having an optical axis (B), a lens surface (S1), and an outer circumferential surface (42b; Para. [0062] “22 has a perimeter wall 23 directly provided with the external threads 42 b, the latter engaging the internal threads 42 a”); and
a lens barrel having an inner circumferential surface and a seating face abutting a periphery of the lens surface (24 including an inner wall 34 and a seat 28; Paras. [0024]-[0025], [0062]), the lens barrel including a plurality of protrusions (42a) on the inner circumferential surface, the plurality of protrusions being separated from each other in an optical axis direction (see 34 in Fig. 2C illustrating 42a separated from each other) and from the seating face in the optical axis direction (Fig. 6) and abutting the outer circumferential surface (Para. [0062] teaching 42b engaged with 42a).
Regarding claim 2, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses each protrusion in the plurality of protrusions is provided along an entire circumference of the lens barrel in a circumferential direction of the lens barrel (Para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of protrusions comprise a protrusion facing the seating face via a gap intervening between the outer circumferential surface and the inner circumferential surface (see 34 in Fig. 2C illustrating 42a separated from each other with a gap and see Fig. 6; Para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of protrusions comprise two protrusions (choose two 42a) facing each other via a gap intervening between the outer circumferential surface and the inner circumferential surface (Figs. 2C and 6; Para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of protrusions comprise:
a first protrusion (choose an upper 42a in Fig. 6) provided at a first circumferential direction position in a circumferential direction of the lens barrel and at a first optical axis direction position in the optical axis direction;
a second protrusion (choose a lower 42a) provided at the first circumferential direction position in the circumferential direction and at a second optical axis direction position in the optical axis direction, the second optical axis direction position differing from the first optical axis direction position; and
a third protrusion (choose 42a between the upper and lower protrusions) provided at a second circumferential direction position in the circumferential direction and at a third optical axis direction position in the optical axis direction, the second circumferential direction position differing from the first circumferential direction position, the third optical axis direction position being located between the first optical axis direction position and the second optical axis direction position.
Regarding claim 10, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein
the inner circumferential surface delineates an empty space (32) containing the lens,
the empty space has an insertion opening opposite the seating face (Fig. 6), and
the plurality of protrusions comprise a protrusion having a first face (the upper surface on 42a, for example see Fig. 2C) facing the insertion opening, a second face (the upper surface on 42a; the examiner considers the engagement between the barrel and the lens has to be the same as the engagement between the barrel and a ring 26, because both the lens and the ring are inserted into the barrel via the treads) abutting the lens, and a C face (the surface between the upper surface on 42a and the lower surface on 42a) (regarding “a C face”, the examiner considers Paragraph [0060] of the specification) between the first face and the second face.
Regarding claim 11, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further comprising three or more protrusion groups provided respectively at three or more circumferential direction positions on the inner circumferential surface, the three or more circumferential direction positions differing from each other in a circumferential direction of the lens barrel, wherein each of the three or more protrusion groups includes the plurality of protrusions (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamontagne `950 .
Regarding claim 5, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lamontagne `950 does not explicitly disclose the plurality of protrusions comprise two protrusions provided respectively at two optical axis direction positions by which the outer circumferential surface is divided equally into three segments in the optical axis direction.
However, Lamontagne `950 teaches the plurality of protrusions comprise four protrusions provided respectively at two optical axis direction positions (Fig. 6), and further teaches the plurality of protrusions may include missing segments or other discontinuities as long as sufficient contact points are provided (Para. [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plurality of protrusions as disclosed by Lamontagne `950, wherein the plurality of protrusions comprise two protrusions provided respectively at two optical axis direction positions by which the outer circumferential surface is divided equally into three segments in the optical axis direction, for the purpose of providing desired sufficient contact points (Lamontagne `950: Para. [0049]).
Claim 3 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamontagne `950 in view of Lee et al. (US 20210026104, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 3, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lamontagne `950 does not explicitly disclose the lens has a diameter D and an outer circumference thickness h such that 0.15≤h/D.
However, Lee teaches disclose a lens has a diameter D and an outer circumference thickness h such that h/D = 0.869/2.47 = 0.35 (Para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lens as disclosed by Lamontagne `950 with the teachings of Lee, wherein the lens has a diameter D and an outer circumference thickness h such that 0.15≤h/D, for the purpose of using a known lens to focal imaging (Lee: Para. [0025]).
Claim 8 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamontagne `950 in view of Lamontagne et al. (US 20150131175, hereinafter “Lamontagne `175”)
Regarding claim 8, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lamontagne `950 does not explicitly disclose each protrusion in the plurality of protrusions has an opposing surface facing the outer circumferential surface and convexly curved in the optical axis direction.
However, Lamontagne `175 teaches each protrusion in a plurality of protrusions has an opposing surface facing an outer circumferential surface and convexly curved in the optical axis direction (Fig. 6B; Para. [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protrusions as disclosed by Lamontagne `950 with the teachings of Lamontagne `175, wherein each protrusion in the plurality of protrusions has an opposing surface facing the outer circumferential surface and convexly curved in the optical axis direction, for the purpose of using thread profiles known in the art to mount an optical component (Lamontagne `175: Para. [0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Lamontagne `950 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of protrusions respectively have a plurality of abutting faces abutting the outer circumferential surface (Para. [0026]).
However, Lamontagne `950 fails to explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, “the plurality of abutting faces have a total length x in the optical axis direction and the lens has an outer circumference thickness h such that 0.05≤x/h≤0.5”. The examiner further considered Liu et al. (US 20240126048, hereinafter “Liu”), Kwon (US 20240103246), Tsai et al. (US 20180129011, hereinafter “Tsai”). However, Lamontagne `950, Lee, Lamontagne `175, Liu, Kwon and Tsai, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 4.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871