Detailed Action
Claims 1-8 are pending and are now evaluated on its merits.
Priority
This application claims foreign benefit to application CN202210659911.X, dated 06/13/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "the spray or mouthwash reaches a peak of the bitterness masking effect within 5-10 seconds" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the peak of bitterness masking effect is ascertained. The claim nor applicants’ specification specifies how one of ordinary skill in the art would measure a peak of bitterness masking effect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 113069550 A), published 07/06/2021, with a foreign priority date of 04/13/2021.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8, Zhang teaches a method for masking the taste of a bitter oral drug substance comprising a masking anesthetic solution of menthol, tannin, asarum, atelocaine, clove oil, pepper essential oil (relevant to claims 1 and 5). The administration of the taste masking solution is first taken before the medicine or drug (relevant to claim 8) as an advanced mouthwash (relevant to claims 2 and 6) (abstract). Of the taste masking solution Zhang teaches the bitter masking lasting 30-120 seconds and wherein the solution comprises .0001-0.01% of menthol (relevant to claim 3) (embodiment III).
In terms of claim 7, the limitation of the types of tablets merely further limits the limitation of a tablet however does not claim the oral spray or taste masking agent is used in tablet form. Additionally, the claim is dependent on claim 6 which recites “the oral spray or taste masking agent is used”, which is of intended use therefore is anticipated by the teachings of Zhang as per MPEP 211.02 (III): If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020).
Claims 1 and 5-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nehleber et al. (US 20140275170 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, Nehleber teaches a method for improving the bad/bitter taste of injected anesthetics and analgesics by the use of a flavor agent or cooling agent (abstract). Of the flavor agent Nehleber teaches an agent selected from a list which consist of methanol and cooling agent as an isomer or derivative of methanol; of monomenthyl esters of di- and polycarboxylic acids (relevant to claims 1 and 5) (para. 0008,0010). Nehleber additionally teaches in clinical testing four subjects were administered 20 IUs of a commercially available 2% lidocaine with 1:100000 epinephrine analgesic on their tongue then a taste test was evaluated, after which the same four subjects were administered 20 Ius of a composition of 1.8% lidocaine with 1:100000 epinephrine and 0.4% menthol on their tongue in which another a taste test was evaluated (relevant to claim 6). After the taste test was performed, anesthesia was administered using a split mouth design of one side of the mouth with the control and the other side with the menthol composition.
In terms of claim 7, the limitation of the types of tablets merely further limits the limitation of a tablet however does not claim the oral spray or taste masking agent is used in tablet form. Additionally, the claim is dependent on claim 6 which recites “the oral spray or taste masking agent is used”, which is of intended use therefore is anticipated by the teachings of Nehleber as per MPEP 211.02 (III): If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020).
Conclusion
MIKHAIL O'DONNEL. ROBINSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/MIKHAIL O'DONNEL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627