DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “3222a” has been used to designate “first coupling protrusion”, “first through portion” and “first communication pipe”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “formed, around” appears to be in error for “formed around”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “structure” appears to be in error for “structures”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “sensor, above” appears to be in error for “sensor above”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator” appears to be in error for “without a seam between the water tank cover insulator and the water tank case insulator” (see claim 1 and paragraph [81]). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: sealing member (i.e. member [generic placeholder] for sealing [functional language] in claims 1-15; and screw fastening structure (i.e. structure [generic placeholder] for screw fastening [functional language] in claims 7 and 13).
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In the case of sealing member, gasket or flange is found to be the corresponding structure(s). In the case of screw fastening structure, please see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a gap”. It is unclear if this is the same or different from the gap of claim 1. It is believed to be the same. Claim 5 is rejected insofar as it is dependent on claim 4 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “screw fastening structure” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is directed to a method, yet it appears that it does not set forth any steps. Examiner notes that “disposing” an object is no different than claiming the object. At best, the claim sets forth one or more steps of “foaming”, but it appears that this may also be merely a synonym for “disposing” of “providing”. Additionally, claim 8 recites the limitation “disposing one or more structure”. This limitation is unclear since it is unclear where the one or more structures are intended to be “disposed”. Additionally, claim 8 recites the limitation “disposing a component”. This is unclear since, based on the disclosure and other claims, “a component” would appear to include at least one of the one or more structures earlier in the claim. Additionally, claim 8 recites the limitation “integrally foaming an insulator […]”. This is unclear since the claim begins with foaming a water tank case insulator. Is this the same or a different insulator? To expedite prosecution, prior art was applied to the claim(s) as best they could be understood as presented. Claims 9-14 are rejected insofar as they are dependent on claim 8 and therefore include the same error(s).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “and a cold water pipe passing through a cooling device communication pipe”. It is unclear if these are the same or different from the earlier recited cold water pipe and cooling device communication pipe(s). It is believed they are the same.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “screw fastening structure” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0131724) in view of Goto et al. (JP 2019190667: cited by Applicant: English Translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding 1, Lee et al. discloses a cooling device for a water purifier, comprising:
a water tank case to accommodate cooling water therein (see at least cooling water tank #33);
an evaporator at least partially accommodated in the water tank case to exchange heat with the cooling water accommodated in the water tank case (see at least evaporator #35; paragraph [0058]);
a water tank cover having at least one component disposed thereon and disposed above the water tank case (see at least tank cover #37 having motor #38, water port #371, inlet/outlet ends #341/#342 of pipe #34, and temperature sensor #41 thereon);
a water tank cover insulator (see at least case cover #40) and a water tank case insulator (see at least insulation case #31), wherein the water tank case insulator surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the water tank case, and the water tank cover insulator surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the water tank cover (see at least paragraphs [0053]; [0055]); and
a sealing member disposed to prevent a gap leading to the water tank case from being formed, around the at least one component disposed on the water tank cover (see at least Figure 4, flange around water port #371).
Lee et al. does not disclose that are both made of a foamed material and together form an integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover insulator and the water tank case insulator.
Goto et al. teaches another water tank having a cover insulator and a case insulator that are both made of a foamed material and together form an integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator (see at least “The heat insulating part 2 is formed as a single unit. That is, the heat insulation part 2 is not what the some heat insulation member joined. The material which comprises the heat insulation part 2 contains a foam heat insulating material. Although a foaming heat insulating material is not specifically limited, For example, it is a rigid polyurethane foam. In this case, the heat insulating part 2 is formed by collision reaction of two solvents of a polyol component including a foaming agent, a catalyst, and a foam stabilizer and an isocyanate component including a curing agent. The blowing agent is at least one selected from the group consisting of, for example, hydrofluoroolefin, hydrochlorofluoroolefin, cyclopentane, water, and carbon dioxide. The foam heat insulating material may be, for example, polyurea foam or polystyrene foam.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the insulators of Lee et al. with that are both made of a foamed material and together form an integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator, as taught by Goto et al., to improve the insulators of Lee et al. by providing for continuous insulation of the water tank (see at least “Moreover, in order to improve heat insulation with respect to such a hot water storage tank unit, the hot water storage tank unit provided with the heat insulation member shape | molded integrally around the hot water storage tank is known.”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. further discloses further comprising:
a cold water pipe at least partially accommodated in the water tank case, and having an inside where water for heat exchange with the cooling water accommodated in the water tank case flows (see at least cold water pipe #34; paragraph [0058]),
wherein the at least one component disposed on the water tank cover includes a portion of the cold water pipe passing through the water tank cover and communicating with an outside of the cooling device (see at least inlet/outlet #341/#342 which pass through cover #37 and to the outside through #40 at groove #402).
Lee et al. is silent regarding wherein the sealing member includes a cold water pipe sealing member disposed not to form the gap leading to the water tank case around the portion of the cold water pipe.
However, providing a sealing member around a pipe is old and well-known in the art, as evidenced by Lee et al., which discloses a flange around water port #371.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. with wherein the sealing member includes a cold water pipe sealing member disposed not to form the gap leading to the water tank case around the portion of the cold water pipe, since, as evidenced by Lee et al., such provision is old and well-known in the art and would provide the predictable benefit of further protecting the motor from water ingress.
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. further discloses further comprising:
a heater disposed on a surface of the water tank cover insulator or the water tank case insulator to prevent dew formation on a surface of the cooling device (see at least heater #22 on the outside surface #30 of insulation case #31),
wherein the water tank cover insulator or the water tank case insulator includes a heater guide in which at least a portion of a surface thereof is recessed to allow the heat to be seated therein (see at least flattened surface of #30/#31).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. further discloses wherein the at least one component disposed on the water tank cover includes a temperature sensor for measuring a temperature inside the water tank case (see at least temperature sensor #41).
Lee et al. is silent regarding and the cooling device further comprises a fastening plate and a screw fastening structure for sealing the temperature sensor and which are disposed above the temperature sensor.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that the cooling device further comprises a fastening plate and a screw fastening structure for sealing the temperature sensor and which are disposed above the temperature sensor would result in a difference in function of the Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the device of Lee et al. in view of Goto et al., would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed attachment. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed attachment solves any stated problem, indicating that the fastening plate and screw may be provided and providing alternatives, i.e. fastening member alone (see paragraphs [94], [102]), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the attachment as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. device with and the cooling device further comprises a fastening plate and a screw fastening structure for sealing the temperature sensor and which are disposed above the temperature sensor as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0131724) in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Madden (US 2020/0290862).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. does not disclose wherein:
the water tank cover includes a pair of communication pipes having a hollow shape extending upward from an upper surface of the water tank cover, the cold water pipe passes through each of the pair of communication pipes,
However, as evidenced by Madden, it was old and well-known in the art to provide a water tank cover with the water tank cover includes a pair of communication pipes having a hollow shape extending upward from an upper surface of the water tank cover, and the cold water pipe passes through each of the pair of communication pipes (see at least Figures 3, 4, and 5, where pipes #40/#42 of coil #38, pass through threaded hollow communication pipes provided on the tank lid).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. with wherein: the water tank cover includes a pair of communication pipes having a hollow shape extending upward from an upper surface of the water tank cover, the cold water pipe passes through each of the pair of communication pipes, since such provision was old and well-known in the art and would provide the predictable benefit of adding rigidity to the portions of the cold water pipe protruding from the tank, thus preventing damage to the pipe.
Lee et al. as modified to include the sealing member and communication pipes further discloses and the cold water pipe sealing member seals a space between each communication pipe and a cold water pipe passing through a corresponding communication pipe, since the flange will close any gap/space.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0131724) in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon (US 9,856,126: cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. further discloses wherein the at least one component disposed on the water tank cover includes a stirring motor to stir the cooling water accommodated in the water tank case (see at least agitator motor #38).
Lee et al. does not disclose and the sealing member includes a motor sealing member disposed not to form a gap leading to the water tank case around the stirring motor.
Jeon teaches another water purifier having a sealing member and the sealing member includes a motor sealing member disposed not to form a gap leading to the water tank case around the stirring motor (see at least Figure 4 motor protecting unit #1250; see also at least column 12, lines 16-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the water purifier of Lee et al. with and the sealing member includes a motor sealing member disposed not to form a gap leading to the water tank case around the stirring motor, as taught by Jeon, to improve the water purifier of Lee et al. by covering the circumference of the motor and preventing unwanted water ingress.
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. as modified further discloses wherein
the water tank cover includes a motor recess recessed downward from an upper surface of the water tank cover (see at least Lee et al. Figure 6, recess in #37 to accommodate motor #38), and
the motor sealing member is disposed in the motor recess (see at least Lee et al. Figure 6 and Jeon Figure 4, the motor protecting unit #1250 will surround the motor and fit within the recess).
Claim(s) 8-9, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0131724) in view of Goto et al. (JP 2019190667: cited by Applicant: English Translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. discloses a method comprising:
foaming a water tank case insulator surrounding an outer circumferential surface of a water tank case configured to accommodate cooling water (see at least insulation case #31; cooling water tank #33; paragraphs [0053]; [0055]);
disposing one or more structure for supplying cold water into the water tank case (see at least #371; #341/#342; #35);
disposing a sealing member at at least one position on a water tank cover configured to cover an upper portion of the water tank case (see at least flange around #371 on cover #37, best seen in Figure 5);
disposing a component corresponding to the at least one position of the water tank cover (see at least motor #38 and/or #371);
disposing the water tank cover to cover an upper side of the water tank case (see at least cover #37).
Lee et al. does not disclose and integrally foaming an insulator to surround the water tank case and the water tank cover disposed on the upper side of the water tank case.
Goto et al. teaches another water tank having a cover insulator and a case insulator that are both made of a foamed material and together form an integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator (see at least “The heat insulating part 2 is formed as a single unit. That is, the heat insulation part 2 is not what the some heat insulation member joined. The material which comprises the heat insulation part 2 contains a foam heat insulating material. Although a foaming heat insulating material is not specifically limited, For example, it is a rigid polyurethane foam. In this case, the heat insulating part 2 is formed by collision reaction of two solvents of a polyol component including a foaming agent, a catalyst, and a foam stabilizer and an isocyanate component including a curing agent. The blowing agent is at least one selected from the group consisting of, for example, hydrofluoroolefin, hydrochlorofluoroolefin, cyclopentane, water, and carbon dioxide. The foam heat insulating material may be, for example, polyurea foam or polystyrene foam.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the method of Lee et al. with and integrally foaming an insulator to surround the water tank case and the water tank cover disposed on the upper side of the water tank case, as taught by Goto et al., to improve the insulator(s) of Lee et al. by providing for continuous insulation of the water tank (see at least “Moreover, in order to improve heat insulation with respect to such a hot water storage tank unit, the hot water storage tank unit provided with the heat insulation member shape | molded integrally around the hot water storage tank is known.”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. further discloses wherein the one or more structures for supplying the cold water, disposed in the water tank case includes an evaporator (see at least evaporator #35) and a cold water pipe (see at least cold water pipe #34) where water cooled by heat exchange with the evaporator flows (see at least paragraph [0058]),
wherein disposing the component corresponding to the at least one position of the water tank cover includes disposing to allow a portion of the cold water pipe to pass through the water tank cover and communicate with an outside of the water tank case (see at least inlets/outlets #341/#342), and
Lee et al. is silent regarding wherein disposing the sealing member includes disposing a cold water pipe sealing member around the portion of the cold water pipe.
However, providing a sealing member around a pipe is old and well-known in the art, as evidenced by Lee et al., which discloses a flange around water port #371.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device/method of Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. with wherein the sealing member includes a cold water pipe sealing member disposed not to form the gap leading to the water tank case around the portion of the cold water pipe, since, as evidenced by Lee et al., such provision is old and well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. further discloses wherein disposing the component corresponding to the at least one position of the water tank cover includes disposing a temperature sensor (see at least temperature sensor #41).
Lee et al. is silent regarding wherein disposing the sealing member includes disposing a fastening plate and a screw fastening structure for sealing the temperature sensor, above the temperature sensor.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that disposing the sealing member includes disposing a fastening plate and a screw fastening structure for sealing the temperature sensor, above the temperature sensor would result in a difference in function of the Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. device/method. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the device/method of Lee et al. in view of Goto et al., would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed attachment. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed attachment solves any stated problem, indicating that the fastening plate and screw may be provided and providing alternatives, i.e. fastening member alone (see paragraphs [94], [102]), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the attachment as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. device/method with disposing the sealing member includes disposing a fastening plate and a screw fastening structure for sealing the temperature sensor, above the temperature sensor as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. further discloses wherein integrally foaming the insulator to surround the water tank case and the water tank cover includes foaming the insulator to form a recess for disposing a heating cable in an outer circumferential surface of the insulator (see at least grooves #401/#402/#403: which are capable of intended use “for disposing a heating cable”).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0131724) in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Madden (US 2020/0290862).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. does not disclose wherein:
the water tank cover includes a pair of communication pipes having a hollow shape extending upward from an upper surface of the water tank cover, and wherein disposing to allow the portion of the cold water pipe to pass through the water tank cover and communicate with the outside of the water tank case includes disposing the cold water pipe to pass through each of the pair of communication pipes.
However, as evidenced by Madden, it was old and well-known in the art to provide a water tank cover with the water tank cover includes a pair of communication pipes having a hollow shape extending upward from an upper surface of the water tank cover, and wherein disposing to allow the portion of the cold water pipe to pass through the water tank cover and communicate with the outside of the water tank case includes disposing the cold water pipe to pass through each of the pair of communication pipes (see at least Figures 3, 4, and 5, where pipes #40/#42 of coil #38, pass through threaded hollow communication pipes provided on the tank lid).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device/method of Lee et al. in view of Goto et al. with wherein: the water tank cover includes a pair of communication pipes having a hollow shape extending upward from an upper surface of the water tank cover, and wherein disposing to allow the portion of the cold water pipe to pass through the water tank cover and communicate with the outside of the water tank case includes disposing the cold water pipe to pass through each of the pair of communication pipes, since such provision was old and well-known in the art and would provide the predictable benefit of adding rigidity to the portions of the cold water pipe protruding from the tank, thus preventing damage to the pipe.
Lee et al. as modified to include the sealing member and communication pipes further discloses herein disposing the cold water pipe sealing member includes disposing the cold water pipe sealing member to seal a space between each communication pipe and a cold water pipe passing through a cooling device communication pipe., since the flange will close any gap/space.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0131724) in view of Goto et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Jeon (US 9,856,126: cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. further discloses wherein disposing the component corresponding to the at least one position of the water tank cover includes disposing a stirring motor stirring the cooling water accommodated in the water tank case (see at least agitator motor #38).
Lee et al. does not disclose and wherein disposing the sealing member includes disposing a motor sealing member around the stirring motor.
Jeon teaches another water purifier having a sealing member and the sealing member includes a motor sealing member disposed not to form a gap leading to the water tank case around the stirring motor (see at least Figure 4 motor protecting unit #1250; see also at least column 12, lines 16-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the water purifier of Lee et al. with and wherein disposing the sealing member includes disposing a motor sealing member around the stirring motor, as taught by Jeon, to improve the water purifier of Lee et al. by covering the circumference of the motor and preventing unwanted water ingress.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. as modified further discloses wherein
the water tank cover includes a motor recess recessed downward from an upper surface of the water tank cover (see at least Lee et al. Figure 6, recess in #37 to accommodate motor #38), and
the motor sealing member is disposed in the motor recess (see at least Lee et al. Figure 6 and Jeon Figure 4, the motor protecting unit #1250 will surround the motor and fit within the recess).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 9,856,126: cited by Applicant) in view of Goto et al. (JP 2019190667: cited by Applicant: English Translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 15, Jeon discloses a water purifier, comprising:
a filter unit to generate purified water by filtering raw water (see at least filter unit #1060); and
a cooling device to generate cold water by cooling the purified water generated by the filter unit (see at least Figure 3), wherein the cooling device includes:
a water tank case to accommodate cooling water therein (see at least water accommodation unit #1220),
an evaporator at least partially accommodated in the water tank case to exchange heat with the cooling water accommodated in the water tank case (see at least evaporator #1054),
a water tank cover having at least one component disposed thereon and disposed above the water tank case (see at least motor protecting unit #1250 with motor #1271 thereon),
a water tank cover insulator (see at least #1201) and a water tank case insulator (see at least #1210), wherein the water tank case insulator surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the water tank case (see at least #1210 surrounding #1220), and the water tank cover insulator surrounds an outer circumferential surface of the water tank cover (see at least #1201 surrounds #1250), and
a sealing member disposed to prevent a gap leading to the water tank case from being formed (see at least barrier #1221), around the at least one component disposed on the water tank cover (see at least barrier #1221 forming a ring around the motor #1271).
Jeon does not disclose that are both made of a foamed material and together form an integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator.
Goto et al. teaches another water tank having a cover insulator and a case insulator that are both made of a foamed material and together form an integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator (see at least “The heat insulating part 2 is formed as a single unit. That is, the heat insulation part 2 is not what the some heat insulation member joined. The material which comprises the heat insulation part 2 contains a foam heat insulating material. Although a foaming heat insulating material is not specifically limited, For example, it is a rigid polyurethane foam. In this case, the heat insulating part 2 is formed by collision reaction of two solvents of a polyol component including a foaming agent, a catalyst, and a foam stabilizer and an isocyanate component including a curing agent. The blowing agent is at least one selected from the group consisting of, for example, hydrofluoroolefin, hydrochlorofluoroolefin, cyclopentane, water, and carbon dioxide. The foam heat insulating material may be, for example, polyurea foam or polystyrene foam.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the insulators of Jeon with that are both made of a foamed material and together form an integral insulator without a seam between the water tank cover and the water tank case insulator, as taught by Goto et al., to improve the insulators of Jeon by providing for continuous insulation of the water tank (see at least “Moreover, in order to improve heat insulation with respect to such a hot water storage tank unit, the hot water storage tank unit provided with the heat insulation member shape | molded integrally around the hot water storage tank is known.”).
Conclusion
/TAVIA SULLENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763