Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 63/617899, filed on January 5, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swanson et al (US 5947132 A) herein after Swanson.
Regarding claim 1, Swanson discloses a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth comprising: a dental floss device (22); a plurality of looped dental flosses (Figure 2A); and a dispenser (Figure 3, 22a); wherein each of said plurality of looped dental flosses having a closed loop shape (Figure 1A, 12); wherein said closed loop shape comprising a circular band (Figure 1A, 12);
and further wherein each of said plurality of looped dental flosses dispensable individually from said dispenser (page 2, lines 47,48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson in view of Donovan et al (US4523600A) herein after Donovan.
Regarding claim 17, Regarding claim 1, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth comprising: a dental floss device (22); a plurality of looped dental flosses (Figure 2A); and a dispenser (Figure 3, 22a); wherein each of said plurality of looped dental flosses having a closed loop shape (Figure 1A, 12); wherein said closed loop shape comprising a circular band (Figure 1A, 12); and further wherein each of said plurality of looped dental flosses dispensable individually from said dispenser (page 2, lines 47,48).
Swanson does not explicitly teach inserting at least one finger from each hand into said closed loop of one of said plurality of looped dental flosses; pulling said one of said plurality of looped dental flosses taught with said at least one finger from each hand; and inserting a portion of said one of said plurality of looped flosses in between teeth for removing plaque and debris.
Donovan teaches a method of using a circular closed looped flosser, inserting at least one finger from each hand into said closed loop of one of said plurality of looped dental flosses; pulling said one of said plurality of looped dental flosses taught with said at least one finger from each hand; and inserting a portion of said one of said plurality of looped flosses in between teeth for removing plaque and debris (Abstract lines 3-5, Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to use the looped dental floss of Swanson according to the known method taught by Donovan, as this represents the predictable manner of using looped dental floss for its intended purpose.
Claim(s) 2-4, 10-12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson in view of Blass et al (WO 9210978 A1) herein after Blass.
Regarding claim 2, Swanson teaches a dental floss device, containing a circular band (12) as in claim 1, however does not teach the band having a width from 1 mm to 4 mm.
Blass teaches a floss band having a width from 1 mm to 4 mm (Page 2, lines 4-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a width around 1-4mm taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, in order to accommodate between teeth gaps and provide increased contact surface for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 3, Swanson teaches a dental floss device containing a circular band (12) as in claim 1, however does not teach the band having a width from 2 mm to 3 mm.
Blass teaches a floss band having a width from 2 mm to 3 mm (Page 2, lines 4-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a width around 2-3mm taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, in order to accommodate between teeth gaps and provide increased contact surface for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 4, Swanson teaches a dental floss device as in claim 2 containing a circular band (12), however does not teach the band having a wax coating.
Blass teaches a floss band having a wax coating (Page 2, lines 17-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a wax coating taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, as wax coatings are conventionally applied to dental floss as a surface treatment to reduce friction during insertion between teeth and facilitate smoother sliding during cleaning.
Regarding claim 10, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth comprising: a dental floss device (22); a plurality of looped dental flosses (Figure 2A); and a dispenser (Figure 3, 22a); wherein each of said plurality of looped dental flosses having a closed loop shape (Figure 1A, 12); wherein said closed loop shape comprising a circular band (Figure 1A, 12); and further wherein each of said plurality of looped dental flosses dispensable individually from said dispenser (page 2, lines 47,48).;
Swanson further teaches a dental floss device, wherein said dispenser having a top end opening (Figure 3, 26) for accessing an individual one of said plurality of looped dental flosses.
Swanson further teaches a dental floss device containing a circular band (12), however does not teach the band having a width from 1 mm to 4 mm.
Blass teaches a floss band having a width from 1 mm to 4 mm (Page 2, lines 4-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a width around 1-4mm taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, as this in order to accommodate between teeth gaps and provide increased contact surface for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 11, Swanson teaches a dental floss device containing a circular band (12) as in claim 10, however does not teach the band having a width from 2 mm to 3 mm.
Blass teaches a floss band having a width from 2 mm to 3 mm (Page 2, lines 4-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a width around 2-3mm taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, in order to accommodate between teeth gaps and provide increased contact surface for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 12, Swanson teaches a dental floss device as in claim 11 containing a circular band (12), however does not teach the band having a wax coating.
Blass teaches a floss band having a wax coating (Page 2, lines 17-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a wax coating taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, as wax coatings are conventionally applied to dental floss as a surface treatment to reduce friction during insertion between teeth and facilitate smoother sliding during cleaning.
Regarding claim 18, Swanson teaches a dental floss device containing a circular band (12) wherein said dispenser having a top end opening (Figure 3, 26) for accessing an individual one of said plurality of looped dental flosses as in claim 17, however does not teach the band having a width from 1 mm to 4 mm.
Blass teaches a floss band having a width from 1 mm to 4 mm (Page 2, lines 4-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a width around 1-4mm taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, in order to accommodate between teeth gaps and provide increased contact surface for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 19, Swanson teaches a dental floss device as in claim 18 containing a circular band (12), however does not teach the band having a wax coating.
Blass teaches a floss band having a wax coating (Page 2, lines 17-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a band having a wax coating taught by Blass into the dental floss of Swanson, as wax coatings are conventionally applied to dental floss as a surface treatment to reduce friction during insertion between teeth and facilitate smoother sliding during cleaning.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson in view of Paulson et al (US4796783A) herein after Paulson.
Regarding claim 5, Swanson teaches a dental floss device as in claim 4, however does not teach a cylindrical floss holder. Paulson teaches a cylindrical floss holder (Figure 1, 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a cylindrical floss holder taught by Paulson into the dental floss of Swanson, as cylindrical and non-cylindrical dispenser housing represent known alternative geometries for floss dispensers and does not alter the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Swanson teaches a dental floss device as in claim 12, however does not teach a cylindrical floss holder. Paulson teaches a cylindrical floss holder (Figure 1, 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a cylindrical floss holder taught by Paulson into the dental floss of Swanson, as cylindrical and non-cylindrical dispenser housing represent known alternative geometries for floss dispensers and does not alter the operation of the device.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson.
Regarding claim 6, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 5, wherein said dispenser having a top end opening (Figure 3, 26) for accessing an individual one of said plurality of looped dental flosses.
Claims 7, 9, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson in view of Marwah et al (US20020078973A1) herein after Marwah.
Regarding claim 7, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 6, however does not teach flosses having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE).
Marwah teaches a dental floss having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) (Page 1, Paragraph 5, line 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a material of a high-density polyethylene taught by Marwah into the dental floss of Swanson, as such materials represent known substitutions commonly used in the dental floss devices and their selection does not alter the structure or use of the device.
Regarding claim 9, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 6, however does not teach flosses having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) such as a material selected from the group consisting of an acrylic, a polycarbonate, a polyethylene, a polyethylene terephthalate, a polyvinyl chloride, and a polystyrene.
Marwah teaches a dental floss having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) such as polyethylene (Page 1, Paragraph 5, Line5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a material of a high-density polyethylene such as polyethylene taught by Marwah into the dental floss of Swanson, as such materials represent known substitutions commonly used in the dental floss devices and their selection does not alter the structure or use of the device.
Regarding claim 14, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 13, however does not teach flosses having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE).
Marwah teaches a dental floss having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) (Page 1, Paragraph 5, line 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a material of a high-density polyethylene taught by Marwah into the dental floss of Swanson, as such materials represent known substitutions commonly used in the dental floss devices and their selection does not alter the structure or use of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 13, however does not teach flosses having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) such as a material selected from the group consisting of an acrylic, a polycarbonate, a polyethylene, a polyethylene terephthalate, a polyvinyl chloride, and a polystyrene.
Marwah teaches a dental floss having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) such as polyethylene (Page 1, Paragraph 5, Line5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a material of a high-density polyethylene such as polyethylene taught by Marwah into the dental floss of Swanson, as such materials represent known substitutions commonly used in the dental floss devices and their selection does not alter the structure or use of the device.
Regarding claim 20, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 19, however does not teach flosses having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) such as a material selected from the group consisting of an acrylic, a polycarbonate, a polyethylene, a polyethylene terephthalate, a polyvinyl chloride, and a polystyrene.
Marwah teaches a dental floss having a material of a high-density polyethylene (HDPE) such as polyethylene (Page 1, Paragraph 5, Line5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a material of a high-density polyethylene such as polyethylene taught by Marwah into the dental floss of Swanson, as such materials represent known substitutions commonly used in the dental floss devices and their selection does not alter the structure or use of the device.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson in view of Finkelstein et al (US4583564A) herein after Finkelstein.
Regarding claim 8, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 6, however does not teach a dental floss having a material selected from the group consisting of a nylon, a heat-sealable polymer, a polypropylene, and an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS).
Finkelstein teaches a floss device having a material selected from the group consisting of a nylon, a heat-sealable polymer, a polypropylene, and an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) (Page 1, Lines 39-41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a material such as nylon and polypropylene taught by Finkelstein into the dental floss of Swanson, as such materials represent known substitutions commonly used in the dental floss devices and their selection does not alter the structure or use of the device.
Regarding claim 15, Swanson teaches a dental floss device for removing plaque and debris from in between teeth of claim 13, however does not teach a dental floss having a material selected from the group consisting of a nylon, a heat-sealable polymer, a polypropylene, and an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS).
Finkelstein teaches a floss device having a material selected from the group consisting of a nylon, a heat-sealable polymer, a polypropylene, and an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) (Page 1, Lines 39-41). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the application to incorporate a material such as nylon and polypropylene taught by Finkelstein into the dental floss of Swanson, as such materials represent known substitutions commonly used in the dental floss devices and their selection does not alter the structure or use of the device.
Conclusion
/SARA N SAMARASEKARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772