Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 are dependent from independent claim 1 and positively recite the change of the air duct section. However, claim 1 does not positively recite the air duct sections. Claims 1 recites “air ducts and/or air duct section”. Therefore, the examiner is unsure whether or not the air duct sections are part of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kikuchi et al. (7,857,395).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi et al. disclose a module support arrangement for attachment to the seat structure 1 of a motor vehicle seat and for fixing pneumatic components or non-pneumatic components 25, comprising a module support with a front side and a rear side opposite the front side and optionally at least one further component 23/33, wherein i) air ducts 26 and/or ii) air duct sections 22a-22c are integrated into the module support and/or into the at least one further component 23, wherein at least one of the air ducts or air duct sections has, at least locally, a change in the cross-sectional area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. in view of Ikuta et al. (12,077,074).
Regarding claim 2, Ikuta et al. disclose the change 13, 14d (fig. 8) in the cross-sectional area comprises at least a local and/or continuous reduction or widening and/or shape change of the cross-sectional area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ikuta et al. and use the widening area in the invention of Kikuchi et al. for the purpose of providing air in wider area with low effort.
Regarding claim 3, Ikuta et al. disclose the cross-sectional change 13, 14d (fig. 8) is realized by a changed width and/or height and/or cross-sectional geometry of an air duct or air duct section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ikuta et al. and use the widening area in the invention of Kikuchi et al. for the purpose of providing air in wider area with low effort.
Regarding claim 4, Kikuchi et al. disclose in the case of alternative the air duct sections 22a-22c are integrated, preferably recessed, in such a way that each of the air duct sections comprises open long sides, wherein the module support or the at least one further component 23 is used as a cover which closes the open long sides of the air duct sections in such a way that air ducts are thereby created.
Regarding claim 5, Kikuchi et al. disclose the module support has a recess 22d in which the integrated air duct sections are arranged 22a-22c and wherein the at least one further component 23 is inserted into the recess.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. in view of Lofy et al. (7,114,771).
Regarding claim 6, Lofy et al. disclose the module support and/or the at least one further component 34 is an injection-molded part or a part formed by thermoforming (col. 11, lines 5-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lofy et al. and use injection molding process in the invention of Kikuchi et al. because it is simple and inexpensive.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. in view of Bajic et al. (7,425,034).
Regarding claim 7, Bajic et al. disclose a vehicle seat comprising a seat frame 174 structure and a module support arrangement according to claim 1, which is suspended from the seat frame structure via a suspension 170.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Bajic et al. and use suspension to attach the module to the frame in the invention of Kikuchi et al. because it is simple and inexpensive.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636