DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa et al. (Japanese Patent Publication 2013010441).
Re claim 1, Hasegawa et al. discloses a vehicle lower structure comprising a plurality of rectifying members (see the annotated figure below) disposed on a lower surface of a vehicle body (figure 1 shows the positioning of the device on a lower surface of the vehicle body) behind a rear tire (see paragraph 0038, the device is suggested to be provided for the rear wheel on the rear side), wherein each of the rectifying members has a flat plate shape (the flat plate shape of the rectifying members can be seen from figures 5 and 7), protrudes downward from the lower surface of the vehicle body, and extends in a vehicle front-rear direction (as shown by figure 7); and the rectifying members are spaced apart from each other in a vehicle width direction (as shown in figure 7).
Re claim 2, the rectifying members are composed of a first rectifying member and a second rectifying member; the first rectifying member is disposed inward of a middle in a width direction of the rear tire in the vehicle width direction; and the second rectifying member is disposed outward of the first rectifying member in the vehicle width direction (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 3, the second rectifying member is disposed outward of the middle in the width direction of the rear tire in the vehicle width direction (see the annotated figure above).
Re claim 5, each of the rectifying members includes a front portion including a tilted surface tilted downward from vehicle front toward vehicle rear, and a rear portion including a tilted surface tilted upward from the vehicle front toward the vehicle rear; and
in each of the rectifying members, the tilted surface of the front portion is steeper than the tilted surface of the rear portion (see paragraph 0039 which suggests the heights of the individual rectifying members can be decreased toward a rear side and the explanatory figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (Japanese Patent Publication 2013010441) in view of Mizuno et al. (Japanese Patent Publication 200185672).
Hasegawa et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the first rectifying member having a greater length in the vehicle front-rear direction than the second rectifying member.
Mizuno et al. teaches the use of rectifying members (37 and 38 in figure 6) having different lengths .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a vehicular lower structure, such as that disclosed by Hasegawa et al., to have the first rectifying member have a greater length in the vehicle front-rear direction than the second rectifying member, as taught by Mizuo et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to modify the aerodynamic effect of the device depending on the type of vehicle it is used in.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle aerodynamic devices.
US 9,868,479 (Shinedling) teaches rectifying members with tilts at front and rear ends.
US 2013/0059519 (Tajima et al.) teaches rectifying members of having a complex shape.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
July 16, 2026