DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in Applicant’s remarks filed 02/27/2026 with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejections are made in view of newly found prior art, Nomura, et al., US 20240050190 A1 which teaches an oblong shaped marker for attachment to a patient for diagnostic purposes.
Applicant remarks on pages 12-15 that Ishida’s leveling instrument 20 of fig. 5, relied upon for the claimed measurement position indicator being in a corner of the housing, is provided at a middle upper surface of the measuring apparatus 10 and not a corner.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The “middle upper surface” is an edge/corner of the housing of the measuring apparatus 10.
Therefore, the claims stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: correspondence indicator in line 2 of claim 6 and line 2 of claim 10.
For the means-plus-function of “correspondence indicator”, the originally filed specification discloses a mark 324A/324B, also depicted in the figures as double sided arrows in figs. 1-3.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Withdrawn Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Pursuant of Applicant’s amendments, the rejection of claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida, et al., US 6530886 B1 (Disclosed in the IDS filed 12/13/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Ishida teaches an ultrasonic device (see reproduced fig. 5 below. NB: Col. 3, lines 55-58 note that “FIG. 5 represents a modified form of the first embodiment of the measuring apparatus 10. It includes basically the same components and functions as those in the first embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4”. That is, while the rejection makes references to components in figs. 3 and 4 their corresponding sections of the specification, the rejection is relying on the embodiment of fig. 5) comprising:
an ultrasonic sensor (ultrasonic probe 12 of fig. 5 and col. 3, lines 16-18) configured to:
transmit ultrasonic waves into a living body; and receive ultrasonic waves reflected inside the living body (col. 1, lines 65-68 and col. 2, lines 1-4 state that “The ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver are disposed for measuring the subcutaneous fat in an area around 2 cm above the navel of the person along a median line. A shoulder joint of the person is defined as the reference position for measurement. The ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver are formed by one and the same device” and col. 2, lines “when the measurement is performed in an area along the median line 2, there is no such influence of the muscles 3 produced. Then the reliable measurement for the thickness of subcutaneous fat 5 can be achieved with the reflected wave "R2" from a portion indicated by a linea alba 6” meaning ultrasound waves are transmitted into the body and reflected ultrasonic waves are received from the body to perform the measurements); and
a housing (fat measuring apparatus 10 of reproduced fig. 5 above) that includes a window through which the transmitted ultrasonic waves and the received ultrasonic wave pass, wherein the housing is configured to accommodate the ultrasonic sensor therein (As noted above, the ultrasonic probe 12 transmits ultrasonic waves into the body and receives reflected waves from the body. The region of the apparatus 10 where the ultrasonic probe 12 is placed provides an acoustic window for performing the transmission into and reception from the body. For referential purposes only, fig. 4 shows a cross-sectional view of the apparatus 10 comprising an acoustic window through which the ultrasonic probe 12 transmits ultrasonic waves to into the body),
the housing further includes a reference position indicator (col. 3, lines 13-16 state that “The subcutaneous fat measuring apparatus 10 includes a reference position setting device 11 for positioning the apparatus 10 by setting a projection 11a at the reference point or the navel 7 of a person under test”) and a measurement position indicator (col. 3, lines 58-64 state that “the measuring apparatus 10 in FIG. 5 includes an additional component or a leveling instrument 20 that is mounted adjacent the measurement start switch 13 at the middle of upper surface of the apparatus 10. When the leveling instrument 20 indicates a horizontal position, it means that the apparatus 10 is positioned horizontal”),
when the reference position indicator is overlapped on a specific part on a body surface of the living body, the measurement position indicator indicates a measurement part on the body surface of the living body (col. 3, lines 62-67 and col. 4 lines 1-2 state that “When the leveling instrument 20 indicates a horizontal position, it means that the apparatus 10 is positioned horizontal. In other words, the ultrasonic probe 12 becomes vertical to the reference position setting device 11 at the navel 7 of the person so that the probe 12 is properly positioned on the median line 2. Therefore, the person under test can easily perform the measurement of the subcutaneous fat on the median line 2”), and
the measurement position indicator is one of: a part of a boundary between the housing and the living body, when in a state of the housing being in contact with the body surface of the living body and viewing from the housing toward the living body, or a corner of the housing (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 5 above, the leveling instrument 20 is disposed on an edge of the housing of the apparatus 20. This amounts to providing the measurement position indicator as a corner of the housing).
Regarding claim 11, Ishida teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 7, respectively, above.
Ishida in view of the embodiment of Nomura in fig. 13 relied upon above fails to teach wherein the housing further includes a direction instruction section, and when the reference position indicator is overlapped on the specific part on the body surface of the living body, the direction instruction section indicates a direction of the housing.
However, Nomura further teaches an embodiment separate from the embodiment in fig. 13, Nomura further teaches the examination marker 110 (see reproduced fig. 8 below and [0134]), wherein the housing further includes a direction instruction section, and when the reference position indicator is overlapped on the specific part on the body surface of the living body, the direction instruction section indicates a direction of the housing ([0140]-[0141], [0144]-[0145] disclose grid lines 112A and 112B for indicating arrangement direction and scanning direction and [0149]-[0150] indicate direction of scanning based on the grid lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida, as modified by the embodiment in fig. 13 of Nomura, wherein the housing further includes a direction instruction section, and when the reference position indicator is overlapped on the specific part on the body surface of the living body, the direction instruction section indicates a direction of the housing, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 8 of Nomura, to improve the accuracy of the diagnostic imaging exam ([0005], [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 12 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida, et al., US 6530886 B1 (Disclosed in the IDS filed 12/13/2024) in view of Nomura, et al., US 20240050190 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ishida teaches an ultrasonic device (see reproduced fig. 5 below. NB: Col. 3, lines 55-58 note that “FIG. 5 represents a modified form of the first embodiment of the measuring apparatus 10. It includes basically the same components and functions as those in the first embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4”. That is, while the rejection makes references to components in figs. 3 and 4 their corresponding sections of the specification, the rejection is relying on the embodiment of fig. 5) comprising:
an ultrasonic sensor (ultrasonic probe 12 of fig. 5 and col. 3, lines 16-18) configured to:
transmit ultrasonic waves into a living body; and receive ultrasonic waves reflected inside the living body (col. 1, lines 65-68 and col. 2, lines 1-4 state that “The ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver are disposed for measuring the subcutaneous fat in an area around 2 cm above the navel of the person along a median line. A shoulder joint of the person is defined as the reference position for measurement. The ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver are formed by one and the same device” and col. 2, lines “when the measurement is performed in an area along the median line 2, there is no such influence of the muscles 3 produced. Then the reliable measurement for the thickness of subcutaneous fat 5 can be achieved with the reflected wave "R2" from a portion indicated by a linea alba 6” meaning ultrasound waves are transmitted into the body and reflected ultrasonic waves are received from the body to perform the measurements); and
a housing (fat measuring apparatus 10 of reproduced fig. 5 below) that includes a window through which the transmitted ultrasonic waves and the received ultrasonic wave pass, wherein the housing is configured to accommodate the ultrasonic sensor therein (As noted above, the ultrasonic probe 12 transmits ultrasonic waves into the body and receives reflected waves from the body. The region of the apparatus 10 where the ultrasonic probe 12 is placed provides an acoustic window for performing the transmission into and reception from the body. For referential purposes only, fig. 4 shows a cross-sectional view of the apparatus 10 comprising an acoustic window through which the ultrasonic probe 12 transmits ultrasonic waves to into the body),
the housing further includes a reference position indicator (col. 3, lines 13-16 state that “The subcutaneous fat measuring apparatus 10 includes a reference position setting device 11 for positioning the apparatus 10 by setting a projection 11a at the reference point or the navel 7 of a person under test”) and a measurement position indicator (col. 3, lines 58-64 state that “the measuring apparatus 10 in FIG. 5 includes an additional component or a leveling instrument 20 that is mounted adjacent the measurement start switch 13 at the middle of upper surface of the apparatus 10. When the leveling instrument 20 indicates a horizontal position, it means that the apparatus 10 is positioned horizontal”),
when the reference position indicator is overlapped on a specific part on a body surface of the living body, the measurement position indicator indicates a measurement part on the body surface of the living body (col. 3, lines 62-67 and col. 4 lines 1-2 state that “When the leveling instrument 20 indicates a horizontal position, it means that the apparatus 10 is positioned horizontal. In other words, the ultrasonic probe 12 becomes vertical to the reference position setting device 11 at the navel 7 of the person so that the probe 12 is properly positioned on the median line 2. Therefore, the person under test can easily perform the measurement of the subcutaneous fat on the median line 2”),
the reference position indicator is one of a mark indicated on an exterior surface of the housing or is a part of the shape of the housing (the reference position setting device 11, which includes the projection 11A as can be seen in fig. 4 (for referential purposes only), is a part of the rectangular shaped housing of the apparatus 10).
Ishida fails to teach the part of the shape of the housing is a concave curved surface of the housing, and the mark indicated on the exterior surface of the housing is one of a printed mark or an embossing mark.
However, Nomura teaches an examination marker for use in diagnostic imaging using microwaves. The examination marker includes a marker main body to be attached to an examination target, wherein the marker main body is capable of displaying, on the marker main body, an index for use in scanning the examination target marker and is deformable following the shape of the examination target (see abstract), the part of the shape of the housing is a concave curved surface of the housing (see reproduced fig. 13 below and [0213]), and the mark indicated on the exterior surface of the housing is one of a printed mark or an embossing mark ([0218], [0222] disclose that the verification part 134 is printed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida, wherein the part of the shape of the housing is a concave curved surface of the housing, and the mark indicated on the exterior surface of the housing is one of a printed mark or an embossing mark, as taught by Nomura, to improve the accuracy of the diagnostic imaging exam ([0005], [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Ishida in view of Nomura teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ishida further teaches wherein the measurement position indicator is one of: a part of a boundary between the housing and the living body when in a state of the housing being in contact with the body surface of the living body and viewing from the housing toward the living body, or is a corner of the housing (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 5 above, the leveling instrument 20 is disposed on an edge of the housing of the apparatus 20. This amounts to providing the measurement position indicator as a corner of the housing).
Regarding claim 12, Ishida in view of Nomura teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ishida in view of the embodiment of Nomura in fig. 13 relied upon above fails to teach wherein the housing further includes a direction instruction section, and when the reference position indicator is overlapped on the specific part on the body surface of the living body, the direction instruction section indicates a direction of the housing.
However, Nomura further teaches an embodiment separate from the embodiment in fig. 13, Nomura further teaches the examination marker 110 (see reproduced fig. 8 below and [0134]), wherein the housing further includes a direction instruction section, and when the reference position indicator is overlapped on the specific part on the body surface of the living body, the direction instruction section indicates a direction of the housing ([0140]-[0141], [0144]-[0145] disclose grid lines 112A and 112B for indicating arrangement direction and scanning direction and [0149]-[0150] indicate direction of scanning based on the grid lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida, as modified by the embodiment in fig. 13 of Nomura, wherein the housing further includes a direction instruction section, and when the reference position indicator is overlapped on the specific part on the body surface of the living body, the direction instruction section indicates a direction of the housing, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 8 of Nomura, to improve the accuracy of the diagnostic imaging exam ([0005], [0007]).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in view of Nomura, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Olson, E. S., US 20120265054 A1.
Regarding claims 4, Ishida in view of Nomura teaches all the limitations of claims 1 above.
Ishida in view of Nomura fails to teach wherein the housing further includes a plurality of measurement position indicators corresponding to different measurement parts of the living body.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Olson teaches a system 8 of reproduced fig. 1 below, and comprising a catheter 13 ([0027]), used to measure electrophysiology data at a plurality of points along a cardiac surface, and to store the measured data in association with location information for each measurement point at which the electrophysiology data was measured, for example to create a diagnostic data map of the patient's heart 10 ([0023]). [0025] discloses a plurality of localization field generators (e.g., 12, 14, 16, 18, 19, and 22) that generate an electrical or magnetic field, respectively, across the patient's body. These localization field generators, which may be applied to the patient (internally and/or externally) or fixed to an external apparatus, define three generally orthogonal axes, referred to herein as an x-axis, a y-axis, and a z-axis. [0039] then indicates that “For each reference location r, the position information measured with respect to each component of hybrid localization system 8 is associated as a fiducial grouping (A.sub.r, B.sub.r). Preferably, at least two such fiducial groupings (e.g., (A.sub.1, B.sub.1) and (A.sub.2, B.sub.2)) are used to generate a mapping function, denoted f, to the common coordinate frame”, and hence teaching wherein the housing includes a plurality of measurement position indicators corresponding to different measurement parts of the living body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida, as modified by Nomura, wherein the housing (that is the catheter 13 of [0027]) includes a plurality of measurement position indicators corresponding to different measurement parts of the living body, as taught by Olson, as such modification would allow accurate mapping of the fiducial to the region of measurement ([0008]-[0009]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ishida also strives to provide a way of consistently measuring the region of interest to increase the accuracy of the measurements (col. 1, lines 13-34).
Regarding claim 5 Ishida in view of Nomura and Olson teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above.
Ishida in view of Nomura fails to teach wherein the housing further includes a plurality of reference position indicators corresponding to each of the plurality of measurement position indicators.
However, Olson further teaches wherein the housing includes a plurality of reference position indicators corresponding to each of the plurality of measurement position indicators. [0041]-[0042] discloses that the location elements may be localization elements 52 and 56, which are magnetic position sensors, and localization elements 17 and 54 are electrodes for impedance measurements at the relative reference locations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida, as modified by Nomura, wherein the housing (that is the catheter 13 of [0027]) includes a plurality of reference position indicators corresponding to each of the plurality of measurement position indicators, as taught by Olson, as such modification would allow accurate mapping of the fiducial to the region of measurement ([0008]-[0009]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ishida also strives to provide a way of consistently measuring the region of interest to increase the accuracy of the measurements (col. 1, lines 13-34).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in view of Olson, E. S., US 20120265054 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Ishida teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above.
Ishida fails to teach wherein the housing further includes a plurality of measurement position indicators corresponding to different measurement parts of the living body.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Olson teaches a system 8 of reproduced fig. 1 below, and comprising a catheter 13 ([0027]), used to measure electrophysiology data at a plurality of points along a cardiac surface, and to store the measured data in association with location information for each measurement point at which the electrophysiology data was measured, for example to create a diagnostic data map of the patient's heart 10 ([0023]). [0025] discloses a plurality of localization field generators (e.g., 12, 14, 16, 18, 19, and 22) that generate an electrical or magnetic field, respectively, across the patient's body. These localization field generators, which may be applied to the patient (internally and/or externally) or fixed to an external apparatus, define three generally orthogonal axes, referred to herein as an x-axis, a y-axis, and a z-axis. [0039] then indicates that “For each reference location r, the position information measured with respect to each component of hybrid localization system 8 is associated as a fiducial grouping (A.sub.r, B.sub.r). Preferably, at least two such fiducial groupings (e.g., (A.sub.1, B.sub.1) and (A.sub.2, B.sub.2)) are used to generate a mapping function, denoted f, to the common coordinate frame”, and hence teaching wherein the housing includes a plurality of measurement position indicators corresponding to different measurement parts of the living body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida, wherein the housing (that is the catheter 13 of [0027]) includes a plurality of measurement position indicators corresponding to different measurement parts of the living body, as taught by Olson, as such modification would allow accurate mapping of the fiducial to the region of measurement ([0008]-[0009]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ishida also strives to provide a way of consistently measuring the region of interest to increase the accuracy of the measurements (col. 1, lines 13-34).
Regarding claim 9, Ishida in view of Olson teaches all the limitations of claim 8 above.
Ishida fails to teach wherein the housing further includes a plurality of reference position indicators corresponding to each of the plurality of measurement position indicators.
However, Olson further teaches wherein the housing includes a plurality of reference position indicators corresponding to each of the plurality of measurement position indicators. [0041]-[0042] discloses that the location elements may be localization elements 52 and 56, which are magnetic position sensors, and localization elements 17 and 54 are electrodes for impedance measurements at the relative reference locations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida, wherein the housing (that is the catheter 13 of [0027]) includes a plurality of reference position indicators corresponding to each of the plurality of measurement position indicators, as taught by Olson, as such modification would allow accurate mapping of the fiducial to the region of measurement ([0008]-[0009]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ishida also strives to provide a way of consistently measuring the region of interest to increase the accuracy of the measurements (col. 1, lines 13-34).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in view of Nomura and Olson, as applied to claims 5, and further in view of Salahieh, et al., US 20170042614 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Ishida in view of Nomura and Olson teaches all the limitations of claims 5 and 9, respectively above.
Ishida in view of Nomura and Olson fails to teach a correspondence indicator configured to indicate respondence between one of the plurality of reference position indicators and one of the plurality of measurement position indicators.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Salahieh teaches radiopaque patterns that can be used with an expandable membrane structure 34 for the visualization and orientation of the placement of the electrodes 6 onto the tissue as well as the overall shape of the expandable membrane structure 34 [0225]. Figs. 3B and 39A depict the markers 58. [0230] states that “the temperature sensors 90 and electrodes themselves can serve as radiopaque markers which provide an indication of overall shape of the expandable membrane 34”. [0225] states that “the radiopaque markers 58 can be thin lines or “spines” along the longitudinal axis either between the electrodes 6 as shown in FIG. 39A or directly across the center of the electrodes as shown in FIG. 39B or 39C. These spines of radiopaque markers 58 provide an indication of distance between electrodes 6 and overall shape of the balloon 34 against the tissue”, meaning that the markers 58 as shown in fig. 39A in the form of a lines describe an indication of distance between the electrodes 6, which are themselves radiopaque markers that prove an overall shape of the expandable membrane 34 during the measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida as modified by Nomura and Olson with a correspondence indicator configured to indicate respondence between one of the plurality of reference position indicators and one of the plurality of measurement position indicators, as taught by Salahieh, as such modification would enhance the visualization of orientation and placement of the device, that is the expandable membrane structure in this particular case [0225], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ishida also strives to provide a way of consistently measuring the region of interest to increase the accuracy of the measurements (col. 1, lines 13-34).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida in view of Olson, as applied to claim above, and further in view of Salahieh, et al., US 20170042614 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Ishida in view of Nomura and Olson teaches all the limitations of claim 9 above.
Ishida in view of Olson fails to teach a correspondence indicator configured to indicate respondence between one of the plurality of reference position indicators and one of the plurality of measurement position indicators.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Salahieh teaches radiopaque patterns that can be used with an expandable membrane structure 34 for the visualization and orientation of the placement of the electrodes 6 onto the tissue as well as the overall shape of the expandable membrane structure 34 [0225]. Figs. 3B and 39A depict the markers 58. [0230] states that “the temperature sensors 90 and electrodes themselves can serve as radiopaque markers which provide an indication of overall shape of the expandable membrane 34”. [0225] states that “the radiopaque markers 58 can be thin lines or “spines” along the longitudinal axis either between the electrodes 6 as shown in FIG. 39A or directly across the center of the electrodes as shown in FIG. 39B or 39C. These spines of radiopaque markers 58 provide an indication of distance between electrodes 6 and overall shape of the balloon 34 against the tissue”, meaning that the markers 58 as shown in fig. 39A in the form of a lines describe an indication of distance between the electrodes 6, which are themselves radiopaque markers that prove an overall shape of the expandable membrane 34 during the measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ishida as modified by Olson with a correspondence indicator configured to indicate respondence between one of the plurality of reference position indicators and one of the plurality of measurement position indicators, as taught by Salahieh, as such modification would enhance the visualization of orientation and placement of the device, that is the expandable membrane structure in this particular case [0225], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ishida also strives to provide a way of consistently measuring the region of interest to increase the accuracy of the measurements (col. 1, lines 13-34).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAROUK A BRUCE/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797