DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, claim 2 (and claims 16 and 20) recites a fixed signal carrying member that connects a cryogenic signal carrying member within a first cryogenic chamber to a second signal carrying member in a second cryogenic chamber. No reference numeral is assigned in any figure to a "fixed signal carrying member," to a "cryogenic signal carrying member," or to a "second signal carrying member." Claim 8 recites a horizontal actuator; FIGS. 8 and 9 label a "Horizontal Decoupler 810" but no element is identified as an actuator. The limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to under 37 C.F.R. § 1.71 and MPEP § 608.01 because reference numerals in the written description do not correspond to the numerals shown in the drawings. Applicants are required to reconcile the following, without introducing new matter:
Paragraph [0049] states that the second slab or structured composite of low thermal conductivity insulating material is element 916 and that "Decouplers 910 and 912 can provide vertical and horizontal motion, similar to a slit-valve." FIG. 9, however, labels the decouplers as "Horizontal Decoupler 810" and "Decoupler 812." Elements 910 and 912 do not appear anywhere in FIG. 9. Element 812 is not described anywhere in the written description. Element 914 ("Slab of low microwave loss & low thermal conductivity 914") appears in FIG. 9 but is not mentioned in the written description.
Paragraph [0058] states that "computer 1101 includes processor set 1114 (including processing circuitry 1120 and cache 1121), communication fabric 1111, volatile memory 1112, persistent storage 1113 (including operating system 1122 and block 1145, as identified above), peripheral device set 1114 ...." FIG. 11 labels the processor set as 1110 and the peripheral device set as 1114; the numeral 1114 is therefore used for two different elements. FIG. 11 further labels the code block as "MODULAR CRYOGENIC INTERCONNECT CODE 1180," whereas paragraphs [0058], [0061], and [0064] refer to "block 1145." Element 1145 does not appear in FIG. 11.
Paragraph [0072] refers to "public cloud 1175 and private cloud 1176," whereas FIG. 11 labels these elements 1105 and 1106, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 2, 16, and 20 each recite "a fixed signal carrying member that connects a cryogenic signal carrying member within a first cryogenic chamber to a second signal carrying member in a second cryogenic chamber." These limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Prong (A) of MPEP § 2181(I) is satisfied because "member" is a generic placeholder that is a substitute for "means" and conveys no definite structure. Prong (B) is satisfied because the placeholder is modified by the functional language "signal carrying" and "that connects." Prong (C) is satisfied because the claim recites no structure sufficient to perform the recited function; "fixed" and "cryogenic" are adjectives of position and environment, not of structure. The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification for performing the function of carrying a signal and connecting the two chambers is the superconducting cable or ribbon 708, 808, 908 (¶¶ [0021], [0036], [0047]; FIGS. 7-9), and equivalents thereof.
Claims 8 and 9 each recite "a horizontal actuator." This limitation is likewise interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). "Actuator" is a generic placeholder modified only by the directional adjective "horizontal" and by the functional language of claim 9, "enables electrical isolation of a dilution refrigerator by making or breaking electrical connection." The claim recites no structure that performs that function.
The specification does not disclose corresponding structure. Paragraph [0036] states only that "the superconducting cable or ribbon can further comprise a horizontal actuator" and repeats the function; paragraph [0048] states that "horizontal decoupler 810 can be used to make or break an electrical connection"; and paragraph [0049] states that the decouplers "can provide vertical and horizontal motion, similar to a slit-valve." FIGS. 8 and 9 depict the horizontal decoupler only as an unfilled rectangle bearing a label. A labeled box with no internal structure, accompanied by a restatement of the function and a bare analogy to a slit-valve, is not a disclosure of corresponding structure. See MPEP § 2181(II)(B). The consequences of this failure are set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 112(a) and 112(b) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites "wherein the superconducting cable or ribbon further comprises a horizontal actuator" and claim 9 recites "wherein the horizontal actuator enables electrical isolation of a dilution refrigerator by making or breaking electrical connection between the dilution refrigerator and one or more shared cryogenic interconnect hubs." Claim 8 recites the language directly and claim 9 incorporates it by dependency.
Because these limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as set forth in the Claim Interpretation section above, the written description must disclose the structure that performs the recited function. The supporting disclosure consists of paragraph [0036], paragraph [0048], and paragraph [0049], together with the rectangle labeled "Horizontal Decoupler 810" in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9. Paragraph [0036] restates the function verbatim. Paragraph [0048] states that the horizontal decoupler "can be used to make or break an electrical connection" and that electrical isolation "can be achieved via the horizontal actuator 810 while preserving vacuum isolation," again reciting only function. Paragraph [0049] adds only that the decouplers "can provide vertical and horizontal motion, similar to a slit-valve," without describing any mating surfaces, drive element, motion transmission, feedthrough, contact geometry, or means of retaining vacuum integrity during actuation. A disclosure that states what a component does, without describing what the component is, does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventors had possession of the claimed subject matter at the time the application was filed. This rejection is separate from, and additional to, the indefiniteness rejection of the same limitations set forth below.
Claim 10 recites "wherein the cryogenic connector is insulated by a slab or structured composite of low microwave loss material." Claim 10 recites this language directly. The supporting disclosure is paragraph [0022], which states only that "the cryogenic connector can be insulated by a slab or structured composite of low microwave loss material," and paragraph [0049], which refers to a "second slab or structured composite of low thermal conductivity insulating material 916." FIG. 9 labels an element 914 as a "Slab of low microwave loss & low thermal conductivity," but element 914 is not described anywhere in the written description. The specification identifies no material, no class of materials, no loss tangent, no permittivity, no frequency band, and no threshold by which a material qualifies as "low microwave loss." The written description therefore does not demonstrate possession of the full scope of the genus claimed, which on its face encompasses any material having any degree of microwave loss the drafter chooses to call low.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites "a first cryogenic chamber" and "a second cryogenic chamber." Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, recites "two or more cryogenic chambers." It is unclear whether the first and second cryogenic chambers of claim 2 are two of the two or more cryogenic chambers of claim 1 or are additional chambers. The same defect appears in claim 16 with respect to claim 15 and in claim 20 with respect to claim 17.
Claim 4 recites "vacuum isolation of two or more dilution refrigerators." Claim 3, from which claim 4 depends, recites that "the two or more cryogenic chambers are dilution refrigerators." It is unclear whether the two or more dilution refrigerators of claim 4 are the dilution refrigerators of claim 3 or a further set.
Claim 5 recites "wherein the vacuum isolation is achieved by using at least one of slide-on or snap-on or press-release connectors." Claim 18 recites "wherein the isolating comprises at least one of thermal isolation, vacuum isolation, and electrical isolation." Claim 5 is indefinite because it combines the phrase "at least one of" with the disjunctive "or" repeated between each alternative. It is unclear whether the claim requires one member of the group, requires that each recited connector type be present, or recites three independent alternatives. Claim 18 is indefinite for the converse reason: the phrase "at least one of A, B, and C" is ordinarily construed conjunctively to require all of A, B, and C, yet paragraph [0054] describes these forms of isolation as alternatives. Applicant is advised that use of the phrase "at least one of A, B, or C" is definite and would obviate this rejection as to both claims. See MPEP § 2173.05(h).
Claim 6 recites "thermal isolation of respective refrigerators” lacks proper basis for "respective refrigerators", and it is unclear to what the refrigerators are respective.
Claim 8 recites "a horizontal actuator" and claim 9 recites "wherein the horizontal actuator enables electrical isolation of a dilution refrigerator by making or breaking electrical connection between the dilution refrigerator and one or more shared cryogenic interconnect hubs." Because these limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) and the specification fails to disclose corresponding structure for performing the recited function, as explained in the Claim Interpretation section and in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) above, the metes and bounds of these claims cannot be determined. See MPEP § 2181(II) and § 2185.
Claim 9 is further indefinite because it recites "one or more shared cryogenic interconnect hubs," a structure that appears in no preceding claim. Claim 9 depends from claim 8, which depends from claim 7, which depends from claim 1; claim 1 recites only two or more cryogenic chambers and a cryogenic connector. It is unclear whether the shared cryogenic interconnect hubs are required elements of the claimed system, whether they are the cryogenic connector of claim 1, or whether they are elements of an unclaimed environment.
Claim 10 recites "a slab or structured composite of low microwave loss material" and claim 11 recites "a slab or structured composite of low thermal conductivity material." The terms "low microwave loss" and "low thermal conductivity" are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Paragraph [0022] supplies no numerical threshold, comparison, material, or measurement condition for either term, and the element labeled 914 in FIG. 9 is not described in the written description. See MPEP § 2173.05(b).
Claim 14 recites "wherein operably isolating the two or more cryogenic chambers further enables modular scalability of a cryogenic system." There is insufficient antecedent basis for "operably isolating," as claim 1 recites no isolating. Further, "modular scalability" is not defined by the specification in structural or measurable terms, and it cannot be determined what structure a system must possess, or lack, fall outside the claim.
Claim 15 recites, in its entirety, "A structure, comprising: a cryogenic connector, wherein the connector forms a vacuum tight seal between at least two cryogenic chambers." It is unclear whether the at least two cryogenic chambers are positively recited elements of the claimed structure or are merely the intended environment of use of the cryogenic connector. If the chambers are elements of the structure, the body of the claim does not so recite; if they are not, the claim is directed to a connector alone and the wherein recitation states only an intended capability. The same ambiguity is carried into claim 16. Clarification is required.
Claim 17 recites "one or more shared cryogenic interconnect hubs" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the hubs are shared with or among, and the term "shared" is not defined in the specification in a manner that would allow the boundary between a shared hub and a cryogenic chamber to be determined.
Claim 20 recites "wherein the connector comprises” but claim 17 recites "cryogenic connectors" in the plural; there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the connector."
Claims 18 and 19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 recites "wherein operably isolating the two or more cryogenic chambers further enables modular scalability of a cryogenic system." The recitation is directed entirely to a functional result said to be enabled, and it imposes no structural or operational limitation on the system of claim 1 beyond what claim 1 already requires. A cryogenic connector that forms a vacuum tight seal between two or more cryogenic chambers as required by claim 1 is not narrowed in any respect by the statement that isolating those chambers enables scalability. A claim that merely recites an advantage or intended result flowing from the structure already claimed does not further limit that structure. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 11, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yam et al., "Cryogenic microwave link for quantum local area networks". (see a copy of the NPL in the applicant provided IDS dated 08/19/2026).
In regard to claim 1, Yam teaches a system (microwave quantum local area network) comprising:
two or more cryogenic chambers (dilution cryostats Alice and Bob, and intermediate cold node Eve), modularly connected via a cryogenic connector (two 1.5 m cryogenic link arm segments), wherein the connector forms a vacuum tight seal between the cryogenic chambers (Viton O-ring vacuum seals between the room-temperature pieces of the cryolink, holding a background pressure of about 1 x 10 to the minus 6 mbar) (Sec. I, p. 1, col. 2; Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1; figs. 1, 2a).
In regard to claim 2, Yam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a fixed signal carrying member (three 6 m superconducting NbTi coaxial lines in the mixing chamber tube, held by PEEK holders) that connects a cryogenic signal carrying member within a first cryogenic chamber (the Alice sample stage wiring, joined at an SMA connector) to a second signal carrying member in a second cryogenic chamber (the Bob sample stage wiring, joined at an SMA connector) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 2; Sec. IV.A, p. 9, col. 2; figs. 2a, 3a).
In regard to claim 3, Yam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the two or more cryogenic chambers are dilution refrigerators (Alice and Bob, each a dry dilution refrigerator with a 3He/4He dilution circuit reaching 35 mK and 21 mK respectively at the mixing chamber stage) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, cols. 1-2; fig. 2a).
In regard to claim 6, Yam teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the cryogenic connector enables thermal isolation of respective refrigerators (fiberglass spacers thermally decoupling the link arm radiation shields; PEEK holders thermally decoupling the NbTi cables from the mixing chamber tube, permitting strong local heating at the cryolink center without a drastic impact on the base temperatures of Alice and Bob) (Sec. I, p. 2, col. 1; Sec. II.A, p. 3, cols. 1-2; fig. 2a).
In regard to claim 7, Yam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cryogenic connector further comprises a superconducting cable or ribbon (three 6 m superconducting NbTi coaxial cables) that electrically connects the two or more cryogenic chambers (joining the Alice and Bob experimental setups, with measured attenuation of 1.01 dB per kilometer at 5.65 GHz) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 2; Sec. IV.A, p. 9, col. 2; figs. 1, 2a).
In regard to claim 11, Yam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cryogenic connector is insulated by a slab or structured composite of low thermal conductivity material (fiberglass spacers between link arm radiation shields; PEEK holders supporting the NbTi cables) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, cols. 1-2; fig. 2a).
In regard to claim 12, Yam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cryogenic connector further comprises a cryogenic microwave quantum interconnect (6 m microwave quantum channel in the innermost stage of the link, distributing two-mode squeezed states at 5.65 GHz with squeezing of 2.10 dB and negativity of 0.501) that uses a superconducting cable (the NbTi coaxial lines) to connect the two or more cryogenic chambers (Alice and Bob) (Abstract; Sec. I, p. 1, col. 2; Sec. II.B, p. 6; figs. 1, 3a).
In regard to claim 14, Yam teaches the system of claim 1, wherein operably isolating the two or more cryogenic chambers further enables modular scalability of a cryogenic system (Eve's design allowing connection of additional link arms and extension to a square lattice of four quantum nodes per plaquette, the network being expandable to many quantum nodes without changing or upgrading a central refrigeration plant) (Sec. I, p. 1, col. 2 - p. 2, col. 1; Sec. III, p. 9, col. 1; fig. 1).
In regard to claim 15, Yam teaches a structure, comprising:
a cryogenic connector (1.5 m vacuum-insulated cryogenic link arm segment with layered low-emissivity radiation shields and semi-cylindrical adapter shells), wherein the connector forms a vacuum tight seal between at least two cryogenic chambers (Viton O-ring vacuum seals joining the outer vacuum chambers of Alice, Eve and Bob to the intervening link arms) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1; figs. 1, 2a).
In regard to claim 16, Yam teaches the structure of claim 15, wherein the cryogenic connector comprises a fixed signal carrying member (three 6 m NbTi coaxial lines held by PEEK holders in the mixing chamber tube) that connects a cryogenic signal carrying member within a first cryogenic chamber (Alice sample stage wiring at an SMA connector) to a second signal carrying member in a second cryogenic chamber (Bob sample stage wiring at an SMA connector) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 2; Sec. IV.A, p. 9, col. 2; figs. 2a, 3a).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 2024/0344743 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Jiang teaches a system (integrated cryogenic cooling system) comprising:
two or more cryogenic chambers (first module 200 and second module 250, each having a housing 110 forming an evacuated vacuum chamber 101), modularly connected via a cryogenic connector (housing connector 220 on each of two opposing side faces, comprising a flange, a sealing member 220 and an array of bolts and holes, with a removable panel 135), wherein the connector forms a vacuum tight seal between the cryogenic chambers (sealing member 220, an O-ring groove and O-ring on the right side face of module 200 engaging an O-ring seal on the left side face of module 250, or a knife-edge gasket seal, enabling a vacuum-tight seal between the connected housings) (¶¶ [0014]-[0015], [0022], [0054], [0059], [0065]-[0066]; figs. 6, 7, 10, 11).
Jiang teaches the recited vacuum tight seal under either interpretation addressed in the Claim Interpretation section above: the seal at the junction of the two housings (¶ [0066]), and the sealing off of each module by refitting the removable panel 135 so that its internal volume is separately evacuated (¶¶ [0014], [0066]).
In regard to claim 3, Jiang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the two or more cryogenic chambers are dilution refrigerators (each module carrying a dilution unit having a still 30 and mixing chamber 31, the still stage 107 and mixing chamber stage 109 reaching 0.5-2 K and 5-20 mK in use) (¶¶ [0026], [0054]-[0055], [0065]; figs. 3-5).
In regard to claim 4, Jiang teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the cryogenic connector enables vacuum isolation of two or more dilution refrigerators (removable panel 135 bolted to the left and right side faces to enclose the internal volume, the module then operating in a first configuration as an independent, hermetically sealed and evacuated cryogenic cooling system) (¶¶ [0014], [0058], [0066]; figs. 4, 5, 10).
In regard to claim 6, Jiang teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the cryogenic connector enables thermal isolation of respective refrigerators (extension plate between cold plates 208, 208' removed so the plates are thermally decoupled; stage extension plates configured below 50 W/m K at 20 K so connected stages 307/307', 309/309' reach different operational temperatures; cold stages 308, 308' separated by a gap; weak thermal link 467) (¶¶ [0018], [0068], [0074], [0076]; figs. 12, 15, 16).
In regard to claim 11, Jiang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cryogenic connector is insulated by a slab or structured composite of low thermal conductivity material (stage extension plates constructed partially or wholly of plastic, silicon or stainless steel; stainless steel expandable joint 366) (¶¶ [0018], [0068], [0074]; figs. 12, 15).
In regard to claim 13, Jiang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cryogenic connector operably isolates the two or more cryogenic chambers from each other (removable panel 135 fitted at the side face so each module operates as an independent, hermetically sealed and separately evacuated system, the user being able to separate the modules and configure one or each in that first configuration) (¶¶ [0014], [0058], [0066], [0093]; figs. 4, 10).
In regard to claim 14, Jiang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein operably isolating the two or more cryogenic chambers further enables modular scalability of a cryogenic system (the system being modularised to be scaled up by connecting additional modules incrementally, the front-to-back geometry of the housing connectors enabling an indefinite number of modules to be connected, one- and two-dimensional arrays being envisaged, system 600 comprising modules 610, 620, 630, 640, each module forming a unit cell of an extensible system) (¶¶ [0012], [0015], [0064], [0083], [0093]; fig. 18).
In regard to claim 15, Jiang teaches a structure, comprising:
a cryogenic connector (housing connector 220 comprising a flange surrounding the removable panel, a sealing member 220 and an array of bolts and holes), wherein the connector forms a vacuum tight seal between at least two cryogenic chambers (sealing member 220 enabling a vacuum-tight seal between the connected housings of modules 200 and 250, by an O-ring groove and O-ring or a knife-edge gasket seal) (¶¶ [0015], [0066]; figs. 10, 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yam in view of Jiang.
In regard to claim 4, Yam teaches the system of claim 3 wherein the cryogenic connector joins two dilution refrigerators (link arm segments sealed by Viton O-rings joining dilution cryostats Alice and Bob to cold node Eve) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1; figs. 1, 2a). Yam does not explicitly teach that the cryogenic connector enables vacuum isolation of two or more dilution refrigerators, the cryolink forming a single continuous vacuum space.
However, Jiang teaches that the cryogenic connector enables vacuum isolation of two or more dilution refrigerators (removable panel 135 bolted to the left and right side faces to enclose the internal volume, the module then operating in a first configuration as an independent, hermetically sealed and evacuated cryogenic cooling system) (Jiang, ¶¶ [0014], [0058], [0066]; figs. 4, 5, 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector of Yam to enable vacuum isolation of the joined dilution refrigerators by fitting the removable panel taught by Jiang, in order to allow each module to operate as an independent cryogenic cooling system so that a user may separate the modules and perform different experiments using each (Jiang, ¶ [0014]). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Yam already fits each cryostat with a dedicated interface for the link arm and joins them with removable O-ring sealed pieces (Yam, Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1). See MPEP § 2143(I)(x).
In regard to claim 13, Yam teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the cryogenic connector joins the two or more cryogenic chambers (link arm segments joining Alice, Eve and Bob) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1; figs. 1, 2a). Yam does not explicitly teach that the cryogenic connector operably isolates the two or more cryogenic chambers from each other.
However, Jiang teaches that the cryogenic connector operably isolates the two or more cryogenic chambers from each other (removable panel 135 fitted at the side face so each module operates as an independent, hermetically sealed and separately evacuated system, the user being able to separate the modules and configure one or each in that first configuration) (Jiang, ¶¶ [0014], [0058], [0066], [0093]; figs. 4, 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector of Yam to operably isolate the joined chambers from each other as taught by Jiang, in order to allow each module to operate as an independent cryogenic cooling system so that a user may separate the modules and perform different experiments using each (Jiang, ¶ [0014]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yam in view of Jiang and further in view of Stautner (US 2021/0239257 A1), as best understood in view of the indefiniteness set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above.
In regard to claim 5, the modified Yam in view of Jiang teaches the system of claim 4 wherein the vacuum isolation is achieved by a connector at the interface between the joined chambers (Yam, link arm segments sealed by Viton O-rings; Jiang, housing connector 220 with flange, O-ring sealing member 220, bolts and holes, and removable panel 135) (Yam, Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1; Jiang, ¶¶ [0015], [0066]; figs. 10, 11), but Yam does not explicitly teaches that the vacuum isolation is achieved by using at least one of slide-on or snap-on or press-release connectors.
However, Stautner teaches that vacuum isolation of a cryogenic chamber is achieved using a slide-on connector (bayonet coupling 124, the cylindrical male portion 142 with radial protrusions 144 being slid into female receptor 146 and engaged in L-shaped slots 148, sealed by O-rings 160, with gate valve 126 and gate valve plate 162 actuated by actuator 166 hermetically sealing the cryogenic vessel 104 upon disengagement) (Stautner, ¶¶ [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0039]-[0040], [0044]; figs. 4, 8, 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector of Yam to be a slide-on bayonet coupling as taught by Stautner, in order to reduce or eliminate the ingress of environmental air upon disengagement and thereby reduce the resulting heat load while enhancing the life span and operability of the cryogenic component (Stautner, ¶¶ [0004], [0044]).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yam in view of Urbahn et al. (US 2019/0108933 A1), as best understood in view of the indefiniteness set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above.
In regard to claim 8, Yam teaches the system of claim 7 wherein the connector comprises a superconducting cable or ribbon that electrically connects the two or more cryogenic chambers (three 6 m NbTi coaxial cables terminated at SMA connectors at the Alice and Bob sample stages) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 2; figs. 2a, 3a). Yam does not explicitly teach that the superconducting cable or ribbon further comprises a horizontal actuator, as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
However, Urbahn teaches a superconducting lead assembly comprising an actuator (contactor 40 in sealed vessel 32 held at vacuum, having actuator 42 which when energized raises electrical conductor 44 into contact with terminals 46, 47, and HTS lead 60 whose first end 62 is connected to magnet-side terminal 47 through conductors 70, 71) (Urbahn, ¶¶ [0007], [0026], [0028], [0032]-[0033]; figs. 1, 2).
Applicant is advised that the orientation of the actuating motion does not distinguish the claim. The corresponding structure disclosed for the horizontal actuator is the decoupler that ¶ [0049] describes as providing vertical and horizontal motion, so the disclosed structure is not limited to horizontal displacement. In the alternative, reorientation of a device that otherwise performs the claimed function is not a patentable distinction. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the superconducting cable of Yam to carry the actuated contactor taught by Urbahn, in order to reduce manual operations and avoid opening the cryogenic container, which carries the potential to inadvertently break vacuum (Urbahn, ¶¶ [0009], [0020]-[0021]).
In regard to claim 9, the modified Yam in view of Urbahn teaches the system of claim 8 wherein Urbahn teaches the horizontal actuator enables electrical isolation of a dilution refrigerator by making or breaking electrical connection between the dilution refrigerator and one or more shared cryogenic interconnect hubs (contactor 40 whose terminals are electrically isolated when open and electrically connected when closed, closed at operation 82 to provide an electrical path to winding end 20E and de-energized at operation 92 to reinstate the open circuit, the normally open contactor also breaking the thermal pathway from feedthrough 36) (Urbahn, ¶¶ [0006], [0028]-[0029], [0038]; figs. 2, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Yam so that the actuated contactor makes and breaks the electrical connection between a dilution refrigerator and the cold node, as taught by Urbahn, in order to connect and disconnect in an automated fashion without opening the cryogenic container and with increased safety (Urbahn, ¶¶ [0012]-[0013], [0021]). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Yam builds its link from separable arm segments joined by removable O-ring sealed pieces, with multiple degrees of freedom for in-situ adjustment between Alice, Eve, Bob and the link arms (Yam, Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1). See MPEP § 2143(I)(x).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yam in view of Olivadese et al. (US 2020/0036072 A1), as best understood in view of the indefiniteness of the term "low microwave loss" set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above.
In regard to claim 10, Yam teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the cryogenic connector is insulated by dielectric bodies on the microwave signal path (PEEK holders supporting the NbTi coaxial cables; fiberglass spacers between link arm shields), the cables exhibiting attenuation of 1.01 dB per kilometer at 5.65 GHz (Sec. II.A, p. 3, cols. 1-2; fig. 2a). Yam does not explicitly teach that the insulating body is a slab or structured composite of low microwave loss material.
However, Olivadese teaches a slab or structured composite of low microwave loss material insulating a microwave signal path in a cryogenic environment (sapphire substrates 102, 103 of 0.5-1 mm thickness pressed by compression components 108, 109 against opposite sides of signal conductor lines 106 to form a stripline within a dilution refrigerator of a quantum computing device, retaining a microwave response flat at about -10 dB across 1-10 GHz; alternative materials including magnesium oxide, quartz, silicon and diamond) (Olivadese, ¶¶ [0022], [0025]-[0027], [0029]-[0030]; figs. 1, 2, 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dielectric supports of Yam to be the low microwave loss slab taught by Olivadese, in order to provide more optimal thermalization while retaining state of the art microwave response over a wide range of frequencies and reducing thermal noise (Olivadese, ¶¶ [0023], [0029], [0041]).
Claim(s) 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yam in view of Jiang et al. (US 2024/0344743 A1) and further in view of Doherty et al. (US 2020/0386470 A1).
In regard to claim 17, Yam teaches a method for preparing superconducting quantum computers for servicing, comprising:
modularly connecting two or more dilution refrigerators (dilution cryostats Alice and Bob) to one or more shared cryogenic interconnect hubs (intermediate cold node Eve, a cryostat without a dilution circuit that assists cooling of the two outermost cryolink shields and accepts additional link arms) via cryogenic connectors (two 1.5 m link arm segments sealed by Viton O-rings) (Sec. I, p. 1, col. 2 - p. 2, col. 1; Sec. II.A, p. 3, cols. 1-2; figs. 1, 2a).
Yam does not explicitly teach isolating each dilution refrigerator from the hubs and from each other via the cryogenic connectors, the cryolink forming a single continuous vacuum space, and does not explicitly teach heating and venting a dilution refrigerator in preparation for service.
However, Jiang teaches isolating each dilution refrigerator from the interconnecting structure and from each other via the cryogenic connectors (removable panel 135 fitted at the side face so each module operates as an independent, hermetically sealed and separately evacuated system) (Jiang, ¶¶ [0014], [0066], [0093]; figs. 4, 10).
However, Doherty teaches heating and venting at least one of the connected cryogenic chambers in preparation for service (heaters on thermal mass 26 or on analysis component 16 turned on, vacuum space 46 then vented to atmospheric pressure so housing 38 can be opened and the sample exchanged, the component thereafter re-evacuated and cooled back down) (Doherty, ¶¶ [0030], [0040], [0042]; figs. 1A-1D, 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yam to isolate each dilution refrigerator by fitting the removable panel as taught by Jiang, in order to allow each module to operate as an independent cryogenic cooling system so that a user may separate the modules and perform different experiments using each (Jiang, ¶ [0014]). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Yam already fits each cryostat with a dedicated interface for the link arm and joins them with removable O-ring sealed pieces (Yam, Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 1). See MPEP § 2143(I)(x).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yam to heat and vent the isolated dilution refrigerator as taught by Doherty, in order that the serviced component be warmed up, vented, evacuated and cooled back down without warming the remainder of the system, avoiding the long preparation times of systems sharing one pressurized space (Doherty, ¶¶ [0003], [0030]).
In regard to claim 18, the modified Yam in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 17, wherein Jiang teaches the isolating comprises at least one of thermal isolation, vacuum isolation, and electrical isolation (thermal isolation by stage extension plates below 50 W/m K at 20 K, weak thermal link 467, and the gap between cold stages 308, 308'; vacuum isolation by removable panel 135 hermetically sealing and separately evacuating the module; electrical isolation by separate routing of input lines 381 and output lines 383 in their respective modules) (Jiang, ¶¶ [0014], [0018], [0066], [0074]-[0076]; figs. 10, 12, 15, 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yam to isolate each dilution refrigerator thermally, by vacuum, and electrically as taught by Jiang, in order to allow each module to operate as an independent cryogenic cooling system so that a user may separate the modules and perform different experiments using each (Jiang, ¶ [0014]).
In regard to claim 19, Yam in view of Doherty teaches the method of claim 17, wherein Doherty teaches the heating and venting of the at least one dilution refrigerator does not impact the temperature of the remaining dilution refrigerators (analysis component 16 being warmed up, vented, evacuated and cooled back down without needing to warm up cryogenic fluid source component 14, whose operation, temperature and cooling power do not depend on the state of the analysis component, so that cryogenic fluid remains available for subsequent cooldowns) (Doherty, ¶¶ [0029]-[0030], [0042]; figs. 1A-1D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yam so that heating and venting one dilution refrigerator leaves the others unaffected, as taught by Doherty, in order that the serviced component be warmed and vented without warming the cooling source, thereby facilitating rapid exchange (Doherty, ¶¶ [0003], [0030]).
In regard to claim 20, Yam teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the connector comprises a fixed signal carrying member (three 6 m NbTi coaxial lines held by PEEK holders in the mixing chamber tube) that connects a cryogenic signal carrying member within a first cryogenic chamber (Alice sample stage wiring at an SMA connector) to a second signal carrying member in a second cryogenic chamber (Bob sample stage wiring at an SMA connector) (Sec. II.A, p. 3, col. 2; Sec. IV.A, p. 9, col. 2; figs. 2a, 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yam to isolate and then heat and vent an individual dilution refrigerator carrying that fixed signal member, as taught by Jiang and Doherty respectively, in order that the serviced component be warmed, vented, evacuated and cooled back down without warming the remainder of the system (Jiang, ¶ [0014]; Doherty, ¶ [0030]).
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Shvarts, US 2024/0353904 A1, published October 24, 2024 — plural cryogenic cooling systems 300.1, 300.2 in an array, optionally in different vacuum canisters, with wiring ports 410, 420 coupling signal lines 405 between corresponding stages.
Tomsic et al., US 2016/0380516 A1, published December 29, 2016 — plural cryostats 450 whose superconducting coils 480 are joined by conduction cooling cable 465 through quick connect fittings 469, permitting on-site replacement of a failed coil and cryostat.
Longsworth et al., US 2019/0316813 A1, published October 17, 2019 — servicing system warming a cryostat to ambient for service without breaking vacuum, using heaters 8, 15 and vent valve 32 opening to atmosphere or a gas recovery system.
Marshall, US 8,517,749 B2, issued August 27, 2013 — quick connect and disconnect coupling 10 for vacuum-jacketed cryogenic conduits, with electrical connecting elements 60a, 60b on an HTS tape conductor making and breaking on engagement.
Black et al., US 2013/0231249 A1, published September 5, 2013 — cryogenic cycle pulse tube dilution refrigeration for a superconducting quantum processor, with gas-gap heat switches and a magnetically actuated controllable thermal switch.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763