DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0163132A1) in view of Maeda et al. (Translation of WO2020246421A1), hereinafter referred to as Jeong and Maeda, respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong discloses a thermal management system in which a heat medium circulates, the thermal management system comprising:
a first radiator (206);
a second radiator (107) that is different from the first radiator (shown in figure 1);
a switching device (shown in figure 5) that switches a flow path of the heat medium (shown in figures 10-16); and
the switching device switches between a first heat medium circuit in which the first radiator and the second radiator are separated to be independent of each other (shown in figures 10-13, wherein the high temperature radiator (107) is cooling the power electronics (212) and the low temperature radiator (206) is cooling the battery (213)), and
a second heat medium circuit that includes a series circuit in which the first radiator and the second radiator are connected in series with each other (shown in figure 16). Jeong fails to disclose a control device that controls the switching device.
Maeda, also drawn to a thermal management device for an electric vehicle, teaches a control device (ECU) that controls the switching device (“The sensor group 31 includes a temperature sensor that detects the temperature of the battery 21 and the PCU system 20. The ECU 30 controls the operations of the first pump 11, the flow path switching valve 40, the flow control valve 15, the second pump 16, and the on-off valve 17 based on various state quantities detected by the sensor group 31. The cooling system 10 is operated in a plurality of operation modes”, wherein the control device controls the switching device to perform a plurality of modes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Jeong with a control device that controls the switching device, as taught by Maeda, the motivation being to continuously monitor the temperature of heat generating components of the system and automatically perform valve switching that maintains a desired level of cooling for said heat generating components thereby mitigating failure or degradation of said components.
Regarding Claim 2, Jeong further discloses a power storage device (213); and
a drive device (212) capable of generating a drive force (101-105, shown in figure 9), wherein
in the first heat medium circuit, the first radiator (206) discharges heat supplied from the power storage device (213) to outside air (the radiator exchanges heat with exterior airflow, “That is, when operating in the evaporator mode, the water cooling type heat exchanger 305 recovers a heat source from the external air through the second radiator 206” ¶175);
the heat medium flowing through the second radiator (107) performs heat exchange with the drive device (212), and in the second heat medium circuit, each of the first radiator and the second radiator discharges the heat supplied from the power storage device to the outside air (shown in figure 16, “the first radiator 107 and the second radiator 206 are coupled in a way that the coolant can flow through the first radiator 107 and the second radiator 206. The PE part 212 is coupled to the first radiator 107, the second radiator 206, and the water cooling type heat exchanger 305 in a way that the coolant can flow therethrough” ¶184).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0163132A1) in view of Maeda et al. (Translation of WO2020246421A1) as applied in Claims 1-2 above and in further view of Matsutani (Translation of JP2022042435A), hereinafter referred to as Matsutani.
Regarding Claim 3, although a modified Jeong teaches the control device (ECU, as previously taught by Maeda in the rejection of Claim 1) forms the second heat medium circuit by controlling the switching device, a modified Jeong fails to teach the second heat medium circuit is formed when the power storage device is externally charged.
Matsutani, also drawn to a thermal management system for an electric vehicle, teaches a second heat medium circuit (shown in figure 3, wherein a first radiator (62) is fluidly connected to a second radiator (42) during external charging) is formed when the power storage device (PCU, 30) is externally charged (“during the external charging, the cooling fluid for cooling the PCU 30 and the battery 32 is cooled by an HV radiator 62 of the HV cooling circuit 28 and the engine radiator 42 of the engine cooling circuit 26 and the cooling fluid efficiently cools the PCU 30 and the battery 32 to inhibit temperature rise”, see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the second heat medium circuit of Jeong being formed when the power storage device is externally charged, as taught by Matsutani, the motivation being “To cool charging related components (a battery and a PCU etc.) efficiently during external charging” (see abstract) in order to reduce degradation or failure of said components due to excessive temperatures.
Regarding Claim 4, a modified Jeong in view of Matsutani further teaches the control device forms the second heat medium circuit (see rejection of Claim 3 above, wherein the second heat medium circuit of Matsutani is formed by fluidly connecting a first radiator (62) and a second radiator (42) during external charging) by controlling the switching device when the power storage device is externally charged through rapid charging (“the distribution switching valve may be connected so that the cooling fluid can be circulated through the first-passage and the second-passage only during rapid charging in which heat generation of cooling-related parts tends to be a problem”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0163132A1) in view of Maeda et al. (Translation of WO2020246421A1) as applied in Claims 1-2 above and in further view of Lin (US PG Pub. 2024/0116326A1), hereinafter referred to as Lin.
Regarding Claim 5, although a modified Jeong teaches the switching device includes a nine-way valve (double six way valve shown in figure 6) and a bypass valve (109) and the control device (ECU, previously taught by Maeda in the rejection of Claim 1) switches between the first heat medium circuit (shown in figures 10 and 13 of Jeong) and the second heat medium circuit (shown in figure 16 of Jeong) by controlling (the controller is taught by Maeda in the rejection of Claim 1) each of the nine-way valve and the bypass valve, Jeong fails to disclose the switching device includes a nine-way valve and a five-way valve.
Lin, also drawn to a thermal management system for an electric vehicle, teaches a switching device includes a nine-way valve (2) and a five-way valve (3); and a control device (“The temperature control of devices such as the battery 92 and the motor 91 is automatically carried out by an electronic control part according to the temperatures of the devices”, ¶31).
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per MPEP 2143-I, a simple substitution of one known element for another, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the simple substitution is related to substituting a twelve way valve and bypass valve with a nine way valve and a five way valve; further the prior art to Lin teaches a nine way valve and a five way valve are known for controlling the fluid distribution within a thermal management system of an electric vehicle. Therefore, since modifying the prior art to Jeong with having a nine way valve and a five way valve for controlling fluid distribution, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the heat exchanger device; and in view of the teachings of the prior art to Lin there will be reasonable expectations of success, it would have been obvious to have modified the invention of Jeong by having a nine way valve and a five way valve to produce the desired fluid distribution.
Alternately, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the fluid distribution of Jeong with a nine way valve and a five way valve as taught by Lin as this is a known and suitable arrangement for distributing fluid in different modes within a cooling system of an electric vehicle. Further, it is a matter of engineering design to arrange fluid distribution in different ways, where the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected result, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Finally, one would have a reasonable expectation of success by changing the arrangement of the fluid distribution to include a nine way valve and a five way valve as Lin teaches this arrangement is a known and suitable arrangement in the art.
Conclusion
/PAUL ALVARE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763