DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on December 13, 2024. Claims 1-6 are currently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on December 13, 2024 are acknowledged and are acceptable.
Double Patenting
a. Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent Number 12,207,096. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite the same invention using the same means with little additional change to the claim language.
b. Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent Number 11,943,622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite the same invention using the same means with little additional change to the claim language. Instant method claims 1-3 are met by patent apparatus claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Noble (U.S Publication No. 2016/0255391 A1).
As per claim 1, Noble discloses a method performed by a remote control unit (e.g., figs. 2-8, 10: remote control devices 202), the method comprising:
for each command sent from a remote control unit via a communications module, sending a code unique to and associated with a pairing of the remote control unit to a first device (fig. 3: e.g., processing devices 204-1 that may implement management facility 102 and storage facility 104) controlled by the remote control unit (e.g., para. [0035]: “For example, a user may provide a user input command by way of remote control device 202-1 for processing device 204-1 to change the media content currently being presented to the user (e.g., by changing a channel). In response, remote control device 202-1 may transmit both IR signal 208-1 including an IR token and non-IR-based wireless communication signal 210-1 including the command to processing device 204-1. Management facility 102 may detect that remote control device 202-1 transmitted IR signal 208-1 along with an IR token to processing device 204-1 through, for example, an IR sensor associated with processing device 204-1. Management facility 102 may then confirm that the IR token indicates that remote control device 201-1 is paired with processing device 204-1 and may direct processing device 204-1 to execute the command included in non-IR-based wireless communication signal 210-1.”);
pairing with a second device (e.g., fig. 3: processing device 204-2) in response to the second device receiving the code unique to and associated with a pairing of the remote control unit to the first device (see e.g., para. [0037]-[0040] & [0070]-[0071]), wherein the pairing includes:
receiving a request from the second device to pair with the second device based on the code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to a first device not matching a code previously stored by the second device (see e.g., para. [0037]-[0040]: “Based on the detected IR signal 208-1, management facility 102 may determine that remote control device 202-1 is not paired with processing device 204-2. This may be accomplished in any suitable manner. For example, management facility 102 may detect the IR token included in IR signal 208-1. Management facility 102 may access the pairing profile and determine that the IR token received by processing device 204-2 specifies that remote control device 202-1 is paired with processing device 204-1.”; “In response to the determination that remote control device 202-1 is paired with processing device 204-1, management facility 102 may re-pair remote control device 202-1 with processing device 204-2 in place of processing device 204-1.”; also see para. [0048]-[0049]: “Alternatively, management facility 102 may request confirmation from a user of a remote control device prior to the re-pairing of the remote control device with a second media content processing device…After management facility 102 receives the confirmation from the user, management facility 102 may re-pair the remote control device with the second media content processing device.”; and para. [0070]: “In step 1106, the system determines that the remote control device is not paired with the second media content processing device. As described above, the system may make such a determination by determining that the IR signal received by the second media content processing device includes the IR token that identifies the remote control device as being paired with the first media content processing device.”; Regrading “code previously stored by the second device” — see e.g., fig. 1; para. [0018]-[0019]: “Storage facility 104 may be configured to store user account data 106 representative of any data that may be associated with a user account (e.g., data defining pairings of remote control devices with respective media content processing devices)”; and para. [0031]: “management 102 facility may facilitate setting up a pairing profile (e.g., as part of user account data 106) that includes information regarding which remote control device(s) are paired with each of the plurality of media content processing devices associated with a user account.”);
completing pairing to the second device based on the request (e.g., para. [0040] & [0071]: “In step 1108, the system re-pairs, in response to the determination, the remote control device with the second media content processing device in place of the first media content processing device.”); and
for each command sent from the remote control unit via the communications module, sending a code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to the second device (see e.g., para. [0040]: an updated IR token that is unique to the pairing of remote control device 202-1 with processing device 204-2).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Noble discloses the method further comprising:
receiving from the second device, the code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to the second device (e.g., para. [0040] & [0049]: the processing device 204-2 may send an updated IR token to remote control device 202-1 as part of the re-pairing of the remote control device 202-1 to the processing device 204-2).
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Noble discloses the method further comprising:
generating the code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to the second device (see e.g., para. [0028] & [0040]: “For example, management facility 102 may generate, in any suitable manner, an updated IR token that is unique to the pairing of remote control device 202-1 with processing device 204-2.”); and
sending to the second device, the code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to the second device (e.g., para. [0040]: “Management facility 102 may then provide the updated IR token to remote control device 201-1 in any suitable manner.”).
As per claim 4, Noble discloses a method of changing of a pairing of a remote control unit (e.g., figs. 2-8, 10: remote control devices 202) with a first device (e.g., fig. 3: processing devices 204-1) to a pairing of the remote control unit (202) with a second device (e.g., fig. 3: processing devices 204-2), the method comprising:
the second device causing pairing of the remote control unit with the second device in response to the second device receiving from the remote control unit, for a command sent from a communications module of the remote control unit, a code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to the first device (see e.g., para. [0037]-[0040] & [0070]-[0071]), wherein the pairing of the remote control unit with the second device includes:
the second device sending a request from the second device to pair with the remote control unit based on the code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to the first device not matching a code previously stored by the second device (see e.g., para. [0037]-[0040]: “Based on the detected IR signal 208-1, management facility 102 may determine that remote control device 202-1 is not paired with processing device 204-2. This may be accomplished in any suitable manner. For example, management facility 102 may detect the IR token included in IR signal 208-1. Management facility 102 may access the pairing profile and determine that the IR token received by processing device 204-2 specifies that remote control device 202-1 is paired with processing device 204-1.”; “In response to the determination that remote control device 202-1 is paired with processing device 204-1, management facility 102 may re-pair remote control device 202-1 with processing device 204-2 in place of processing device 204-1.”; also see para. [0048]-[0049]: “Alternatively, management facility 102 may request confirmation from a user of a remote control device prior to the re-pairing of the remote control device with a second media content processing device…After management facility 102 receives the confirmation from the user, management facility 102 may re-pair the remote control device with the second media content processing device.”; and para. [0070]: “In step 1106, the system determines that the remote control device is not paired with the second media content processing device. As described above, the system may make such a determination by determining that the IR signal received by the second media content processing device includes the IR token that identifies the remote control device as being paired with the first media content processing device.”; Regrading “code previously stored by the second device” — see e.g., fig. 1; para. [0018]-[0019]: “Storage facility 104 may be configured to store user account data 106 representative of any data that may be associated with a user account (e.g., data defining pairings of remote control devices with respective media content processing devices)”; and para. [0031]: “management 102 facility may facilitate setting up a pairing profile (e.g., as part of user account data 106) that includes information regarding which remote control device(s) are paired with each of the plurality of media content processing devices associated with a user account.”);
the second device completing pairing with the remote control unit based on the request being sent (e.g., para. [0040] & [0071]: “In step 1108, the system re-pairs, in response to the determination, the remote control device with the second media content processing device in place of the first media content processing device.”); and
for each command sent from the remote control unit via the communications module, the second device receiving a code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit to the second device (see e.g., para. [0040]: an updated IR token that is unique to the pairing of remote control device 202-1 with processing device 204-2).
As per claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and Noble discloses the method further comprising:
the second device sending the code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit with the second device (see e.g., para. [0040] & [0049]: the processing device 204-2 may send an updated IR token to remote control device 202-1 as part of the re-pairing of the remote control device 202-1 to the processing device 204-2).
As per claim 6, claim 4 is incorporated and Noble discloses the method further comprising:
receiving, by the second device, the code unique to and associated with the pairing of the remote control unit with the second device (see e.g., para. [0036]-[0040] & [0048]-[0049]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Tran et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0312074) teaches a method and device for locating and identifying lost or misplaced paired electronic devices.
Sallas et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0021485) teaches methods and systems for pairing two or more devices, such as a remote control and a display device.
/ADNAN AZIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 adnan.aziz@uspo.gov