DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyama (JP-3668162-B2).
Regarding claim 1: Koyama discloses an image sensor configured to read a conveyance medium (The conveyance path 83 includes roller pairs 831, 832, and 833, and conveys the document toward the reading window 71. The document is read while passing at a normal speed that matches the reading speed of the image sensor 73 by the platen 834 in contact with the reading window 71B., par. 26); a memory configured to store image data acquired by the image sensor (The control unit 100 temporarily stores the image data read from the image sensor 73 of the document reading unit 6 in the form of a bitmap or the like, and image processing for performing various processes on the image data stored in the image memory 101., par. 40); and a processor configured to generate a plurality of sub-image data by dividing the image data acquired by the image sensor at a dividing position (When the start key 125 is pressed, the image reading unit 6 starts a main scan (S12), and a long document is fed and conveyed through the document conveying unit 8 at the same regular sheet feeding speed as that for a standard document, and is divided. Image reading is performed (S13). The image data read by the image sensor 73 from the reading window 71 (S14) is stored in the image memory 101 of the control unit 100, and then divided according to the conditions set and registered by the image processing unit 102, and image compression is performed. And the like, the pages for each divided section are added and stored in the HDD 103 (S15)., par. 52), wherein the processor is further configured to correct the dividing position when a coordinate of the dividing position is located in a character area (FIG. 9A shows a state in which a long document image is displayed on the display 122 after pre-scanning. The screen 200 has a message area 210 at the top and an image display area 220 for displaying a pre-scanned long document image at the left at the center, and a paper selection area 230 for selecting an output sheet from the left at the bottom. An area 260 including a dividing line adjustment area 240 (dividing line changing means) for adjusting the dividing section of the long image, a registration key 261 (dividing registration means) for confirming and registering the dividing conditions, and the like are arranged. In the paper selection area 230, keys 231, 232, 233, and 234 for selecting a paper tray mounted on the digital copying machine 1 are arranged. In the image P displayed in the image display area 220, the dividing lines a and b when dividing by the size of the maximum sheet in the sheet selection area 230 are initially displayed on the image P. This is because image joints are minimized. In this case, the paper selection key (for example, the A3 key 231) is displayed in reverse video, and the image magnification for output on the paper is displayed in the magnification display setting unit 262 in the area 260. If you want to change to paper, press another paper key, the width-based magnification change according to the paper width is made and displayed on the magnification display setting section 262, and the dividing line at that magnification is displayed on the image P Is done., par. 48).
Regarding claim 2: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Koyama further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to calculate a dividing position correcting amount, and corrects the dividing position based on the dividing position correcting amount (The image data read by the image sensor 73 from the reading window 71 (S14) is stored in the image memory 101 of the control unit 100, and then divided according to the conditions set and registered by the image processing unit 102, and image compression is performed. And the like, the pages for each divided section are added and stored in the HDD 103 (S15)., par. 52).
Regarding claim 6: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Koyama further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to combine two or more sub-image data of the plurality of sub-image data when the two or more sub-image data can be arranged in a predetermined area (The margin setting area 350 is provided because the divided images can be connected later and is effective for grasping the relationship between the sections of the divided portions. The margin margin setting area 350 has a setting display section 351 that can provide an arbitrary margin as an extension of the dividing line in either the left or right direction of the screen of each division section, and a cancel key 352 when no margin is provided. It consists of The margin area set in the setting display unit 351 is displayed on the image P in the image setting area 320 as, for example, a dotted line different from the dividing line. FIG. 9C shows a state in which the adhesive margin area is extended to the right side of the dividing line and has a width of 20 mm. Further, since the area when the image is output is enlarged by providing the margin, the image is reduced accordingly. The reduction ratio is displayed on the magnification display setting unit 362. Conversely, by specifying the reduction ratio with the magnification display setting unit 362, it is also possible to calculate the margin width. When the registration key 361 is pressed according to the message in the message area 310 after the setting of the page number and the glue margin is completed (S9 in FIG. 8 is Y), this setting state is registered and reflected in the subsequent divided output ( S10)., par. 51).
Regarding claim 7: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 2. Koyama further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive a setting by a user regarding the dividing position (The user can check in advance whether the division position is appropriate before dividing and reading a long document, and erases an improperly divided image or wastes paper by making unnecessary copies. can avoid., par. 62).
Regarding claim 8: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Koyama further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to add a margin to the plurality of sub-image data (The margin setting area 350 is provided because the divided images can be connected later and is effective for grasping the relationship between the sections of the divided portions. The margin setting area 350 has a setting display section 351 that can provide an arbitrary margin as an extension of the dividing line in either the left or right direction of the screen of each division section, and a cancel key 352 when no margin is provided. It consists of The margin area set in the setting display unit 351 is displayed on the image P in the image setting area 320 as, for example, a dotted line different from the dividing line. FIG. 9C shows a state in which the adhesive margin area is extended to the right side of the dividing line and has a width of 20 mm. Further, since the area when the image is output is enlarged by providing the margin, the image is reduced accordingly. The reduction ratio is displayed on the magnification display setting unit 362. Conversely, by specifying the reduction ratio with the magnification display setting unit 362, it is also possible to calculate the margin width. When the registration key 361 is pressed according to the message in the message area 310 after the setting of the page number and the glue margin is completed (S9 in FIG. 8 is Y), this setting state is registered and reflected in the subsequent divided output ( S10)., par. 51), and adjust a respective sizes of the plurality of sub-image data (In the paper selection area 230, keys 231, 232, 233, and 234 for selecting a paper tray mounted on the digital copying machine 1 are arranged. In the image P displayed in the image display area 220, the dividing lines a and b when dividing by the size of the maximum sheet in the sheet selection area 230 are initially displayed on the image P. This is because image joints are minimized. In this case, the paper selection key (for example, the A3 key 231) is displayed in reverse video, and the image magnification for output on the paper is displayed in the magnification display setting unit 262 in the area 260. If you want to change to paper, press another paper key, the width-based magnification change according to the paper width is made and displayed on the magnification display setting section 262, and the dividing line at that magnification is displayed on the image P Is done., par. 48).
Regarding claim 9: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Koyama further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to add a page number to the plurality of sub-image data (Also, a page number assigning operation (In this screen, page number assignment is set in the page number setting area (page number assigning means) 340 with respect to the division condition set in the screen 200, and the paste margin setting area (glue allowance forming means) 350 is used to set the paste margin portion., par. 50).
Regarding claim 10: Koyama discloses a receiving circuit configured to receive image data from an image reading apparatus for reading a conveyance medium (The document conveyance device 8 of the image reading unit 6 includes a detection device 845 that detects the attachment of the long document storage unit 84, and the image input control unit 104 receives an instruction signal from the operation unit 6 and a detection result of the detection device 845. Based on this, the image input (reading) operation in the standard document mode or the long document mode (including the pre-scan operation) is controlled., par. 41); a memory configured to store the image data acquired by the image reading apparatus (The image memory 101 can read image data from an external computer (PC) 111 via a printer controller 112. Further, the image data from the document reading unit 6, the image data from the printer controller 112, and the image data from the HDD 103 are sent from the image memory 101 to the laser optical unit and converted into a laser blinking scanning signal, and the image forming unit 2 is output., par. 41); and a processor configured to generate a plurality of sub-image data by dividing the image data acquired by the image reading apparatus at a dividing position (When the start key 125 is pressed, the image reading unit 6 starts a main scan (S12), and a long document is fed and conveyed through the document conveying unit 8 at the same regular sheet feeding speed as that for a standard document, and is divided. Image reading is performed (S13). The image data read by the image sensor 73 from the reading window 71 (S14) is stored in the image memory 101 of the control unit 100, and then divided according to the conditions set and registered by the image processing unit 102, and image compression is performed. And the like, the pages for each divided section are added and stored in the HDD 103 (S15)., par. 52), wherein the processor is further configured to correct the dividing position when a coordinate of the dividing position is located in a character area (FIG. 9A shows a state in which a long document image is displayed on the display 122 after pre-scanning. The screen 200 has a message area 210 at the top and an image display area 220 for displaying a pre-scanned long document image at the left at the center, and a paper selection area 230 for selecting an output sheet from the left at the bottom. An area 260 including a dividing line adjustment area 240 (dividing line changing means) for adjusting the dividing section of the long image, a registration key 261 (dividing registration means) for confirming and registering the dividing conditions, and the like are arranged. In the paper selection area 230, keys 231, 232, 233, and 234 for selecting a paper tray mounted on the digital copying machine 1 are arranged. In the image P displayed in the image display area 220, the dividing lines a and b when dividing by the size of the maximum sheet in the sheet selection area 230 are initially displayed on the image P. This is because image joints are minimized. In this case, the paper selection key (for example, the A3 key 231) is displayed in reverse video, and the image magnification for output on the paper is displayed in the magnification display setting unit 262 in the area 260. If you want to change to paper, press another paper key, the width-based magnification change according to the paper width is made and displayed on the magnification display setting section 262, and the dividing line at that magnification is displayed on the image P Is done., par. 48).
Regarding claim 11: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 10. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 2 are applicable.
Regarding claim 15: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 10. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 6 are applicable.
Regarding claim 16: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 11. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 7 are applicable.
Regarding claim 17: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 10. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 8 are applicable.
Regarding claim 18: Koyama satisfies all the elements of claim 10. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 9 are applicable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
23 September 2026