DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “camera module” in claims 1, 9, and 10 as disclosed in Par. [0005, 0019, 0034, 0036-0039, 0043, 0078-0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant-admitted prior art CN115068230 in view of CN1369127.
Regarding claim 1, CN115068230 discloses a control method for an electric wheelchair, wherein the method is applicable to a controller of a wheelchair control system, the wheelchair control system further comprises a camera module (At least the cameras disclosed) and an energy storage device (At least battery), and the method comprises: receiving a target image from the camera module, wherein the target image is an image of a road condition in front of a wheelchair shot by the camera module (At least image data in the target scene); determining a first execution operation corresponding to a target path (At least establishing the target route from the image data) and a first group of components corresponding to the first execution operation in response to a current path being determined as the target path based on the target image, wherein the first group of components comprises at least one target component (At least controlling the wheelchair to move); determining a first group of energy storage batteries based on the first execution operation and the first group of components, wherein the first group of energy storage batteries comprises at least one energy storage battery in the plurality of energy storage batteries; and controlling the first group of energy storage batteries to supply power to the at least one target component in the first group of components, and controlling the at least one target component in the first group of components to operate based on the first execution operation (At least via controlling the wheelchair to move according to a control instruction).
However, CN115068230 does not expressly disclose that the wheelchair has a plurality of batteries.
Nevertheless, CN1369127 discloses the energy storage device comprises a plurality of energy storage batteries (At least removable battery cells/packs, 2-4/2B-4B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the wheelchair system of CN115068230 to have multiple batteries, as taught by CN1369127, in order to provide longer battery life to a wheelchair while operating multiple components for increased time between charging sessions.
Regarding claim 6, the previous combination of CN115068230/CN1369127 discloses the claimed invention except for the battery level threshold limitations.
Nevertheless, CN1369127 discloses that determining the first group of components corresponding to the first execution operation comprises: obtaining a remaining battery level of the energy storage device, wherein the remaining battery level of the energy storage device comprises a sum of remaining battery levels of the plurality of energy storage batteries; determining at least one first component as the first group of components corresponding to the first execution operation in response to the remaining battery level of the energy storage device being less than a first preset threshold; and determining at least one second component as the first group of components corresponding to the first execution operation in response to the remaining battery level of the energy storage device not being less than the first preset threshold, wherein the at least one second component comprises the at least one first component and at least one third component, the first component is a necessary auxiliary component for executing the first execution operation, and the third component is a non-necessary auxiliary component for executing the first execution operation (At least via sequential discharge of battery packs and connection of the power supply to switches SW11-SW13 between battery cells 2-4, wherein the control mechanism, 6, a lamp, and drive mechanism, 9 are selectively activated by a switch based on a control function for which battery cell to use for control/drive functions, depleting each battery in descending order of their respective charge levels once they reach predetermined charge thresholds - drive mechanism 9 receives a supply of electric power from a plurality of battery units 2, 3, 4 onboard the electrically powered apparatus 1, either individually or in combination as needed, for driving and controlling a load 10 such as an electric motor or actuator).
Regarding claim 7, the previous combination of CN115068230/CN1369127 discloses the claimed invention except for the battery level threshold limitations.
Nevertheless, CN1369127 discloses determining existence of a third energy storage battery in the plurality of energy storage batteries in response to presence of a second energy storage battery that is unable to supply power in the first group of energy storage batteries, wherein a usage status of the third energy storage battery is not-in-use, and a remaining battery level of the third energy storage battery is greater than a second preset threshold, and the second energy storage battery corresponds to a fourth component in the first group of components; controlling the third energy storage battery to supply power to the fourth component in response to presence of the third energy storage battery in the plurality of energy storage batteries; and in response to absence of the third energy storage battery in the plurality of energy storage batteries, determining a fourth energy storage battery in the plurality of energy storage batteries, and controlling the fourth energy storage battery to supply power to the fourth component, wherein a powered device corresponding to the fourth energy storage battery is a non-necessary device of the wheelchair when moving forward in the target path (At least via sequential discharge of battery packs and connection of the power supply to switches SW11-SW13 between battery cells 2-4, wherein the control mechanism, 6, actuators, a lamp, and drive mechanism, 9 are selectively activated by a switch based on a control function for which battery cell to use for control/drive functions, depleting each battery in descending order of their respective charge levels once they reach predetermined charge thresholds - drive mechanism 9 receives a supply of electric power from a plurality of battery units 2, 3, 4 onboard the electrically powered apparatus 1, either individually or in combination as needed, for driving and controlling a load 10 such as an electric motor or actuator).
Even though a fourth battery cell is not expressly disclosed, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the wheelchair system of CN115068230/CN1369127 to have included four battery packs, since CN1369127 discloses three battery packs and mere duplication of essential working parts has been held to be within the routine skill of an ordinary artisan and an additional pack could be leveraged to further split power supply to various other disclosed components to extend the overall battery life of the system while increasing time between charging.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected as reciting substantially the same limitations as those found in claim 1, which has been rejected as discussed supra. Claims 9 and 10 further introduce a processor, memory, communication interface, wireless communication, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program used for electronic data interchange, all of which are disclosed by the primary reference, CN115068230.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected as reciting substantially the same limitations as those found in claims 1, 6, 7, 9, and 10, which have been rejected as discussed supra.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant-admitted prior art CN115068230 in view of CN1369127 in further view of U.S. PG Pub. 2024/0016675 to Olson et al.
Regarding claim 2, the previous combination of CN115068230/CN1369127 discloses the claimed invention except for the predictive consumption limitations.
Nevertheless, Olson discloses determining the first group of energy storage batteries based on the first execution operation and the first group of components comprises determining at least one group of associated components in the first group of components and non-associated components in the first group of components based on the first execution operation, wherein the associated components comprise a plurality of first target components connected by an associated operation, and the non-associated components are target components in the first group of components other than the plurality of first target components; determining a predicted group power consumption corresponding to each group of the at least one group of associated components based on an associated operation corresponding to each group of associated components, wherein the predicted group power consumption corresponding to each group of associated components constitutes a first predicted power consumption corresponding to the at least one group of associated components, and determining a second predicted power consumption corresponding to the non-associated components based on the first execution operation; and determining a first sub-group of energy storage batteries corresponding to the first predicted power consumption, and determining a second sub-group of energy storage batteries corresponding to the second predicted power consumption, wherein the first sub-group of energy storage batteries and the second sub-group of energy storage batteries constitute the first group of energy storage batteries (At least via sub-system monitoring data and output assessments to predict battery life as associated with various components and their draw/system impacts – discussed at least in Par. [0004, 0005, 0061]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHSOITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the system of CN115068230/CN1369127 to have predictive power consumption, as taught by Olson, in order to better estimate battery life to anticipate when charging of batteries will be required and if sufficient battery charge is present for different types of operation.
Claim 11 is rejected as reciting substantially the same limitations as those found in claims 1, 2, 9, and 10, which have been rejected as discussed supra.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 12-14, and 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record, either taken alone or in combination, does not disclose or teach the specific consumption, prediction, and power level functions as recited along with the claims from which they depend and all intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. 6,842,692 to Fehr et al. discloses an electric wheelchair having multiple onboard batteries and image-based navigational route generation capabilities delivering varied power based on differing terrain.
/BRODIE J FOLLMAN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669