DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, each of the one or more retention cables is associated with one of the one or more compartments must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Fig. 1 includes two instances of reference number 117, one of which appears to be incorrectly located at the bottom edge of the receptacle.
Fig. 1 includes two instances of reference number 132 on the left-hand side. It appears as though the higher instance of the two should be 133 instead of 132.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 133, 134, and 136.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 currently states “…each of the one or more retention cables is associated with one of the one or more compartments.” This appears to be implying that all of the retention cables are associated with a single compartment, as opposed to “each retention cable being associated with a corresponding compartment” which is what appears to be shown in the figures. Claim 15 similarly states “…at least one retention cable of the one or more retention cables is associated with one of the one or more front compartments.” For purposes of further consideration, the claim is being interpreted as stating “each retention cable being associated with a corresponding (front) compartment”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the one of more portable devices" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greaves (US 2979098) in view of Drake (US 11950667).
Regarding Claim 1
Greaves teaches a receptacle (below Fig. 1 and 2) for retaining one or more portable devices comprising: a supportive structure including: a front face (5) including an upper portion and a lower portion; and one or more compartments (shown at 14, 18, 23, and 26) positioned along the front face; an extension (28’ and 29’) coupled to at least a portion of the upper portion (Col. 2, Ln. 4 – Col. 3, Ln. 23).
Greaves does not teach a connection system including: one or more retention cables coupled with the supportive structure including: a first end portion connected with the supportive structure proximate to at least one of the one or more compartments; and a second end portion including a device fastener.
Drake teaches a receptacle for retaining a portable device (below – Fig. 2) comprising: a supportive structure having a compartment (102); and a connection system including: one or more retention cables (206) coupled with the supportive structure including: a first end portion (214) connected with the supportive structure proximate to at least one of the one or more compartments; and a second end portion including a device fastener (210) (Col. 4, Ln. 40-57; Col. 5, Ln. 7-21; and Col. 7, Ln. 1-4).
Greaves and Drake are analogous inventions in the field of receptacles for retaining one or more portable devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the supportive structure of Greaves with the teachings of the connection system of Drake in order to allow the user to access the portable device while also keeping the device from getting misplaced (Col. 2, Ln. 8-19).
Regarding Claim 2
Greaves in view of Drake (hereinafter “modified Greaves”) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Drake further teaches the one or more retention cables (206) are configured to be elastically extendable or retractable (Col. 7, Ln. 1-4).
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Drake further teaches the connection system includes a retained configuration and an extended configuration; wherein in the retained configuration the one or more retention cables (206) are subjected to minimal external force; wherein in the extended configuration, the one or more retention cables (206) are subjected to a tensile force; and wherein the one or more retention cables are configured to return to the retained configuration when the tensile force is removed.
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Greaves further teaches the extension (28’ and 29’) is formed from a flexible material, the flexible material configured to support the supportive structure.
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Greaves further teaches the extension (28’ and 29’) has a length dimension longer than a supportive structure (5) length dimension; wherein the extension is configured to anchor the supportive structure, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Greaves further teaches the one or more compartments (shown at 14, 18, 23, and 26) are sized to retain at least one portable device.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. It would appear an obvious matter of design choice to one or ordinary skill in the art to have a retention cable being associated with a respective compartment in order to ensure that each portable device is maintained where it is supposed to be. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Drake further teaches the device fastener (210) is configured to be removably coupled with one portable device (104) of one or more portable devices.
Regarding Claim 9
Greaves teaches a system (Fig. 1 and 2) for retaining one or more portable devices comprising: a supportive structure having an upper portion and a lower portion, the supportive structure including: a front face (5) extending between the upper portion and the lower portion; a back face (5) opposed to the front face, the back face extending between the upper portion and the lower portion; and one or more front compartments (shown at 14, 18, 23, and 26) positioned along the front face, and one or more portable devices (not shown) (Col. 2, Ln. 4 – Col. 3, Ln. 23).
Greaves does not teach one or more retention cables extending from the supportive structure including: a first end connected with the supportive structure; and a second end having a device fastener; wherein the device fastener couples the one or more portable devices with the one or more retention cables.
Drake teaches a system for retaining one or more portable devices (Fig. 2) comprising: a supportive structure having a compartment (102); one or more retention cables (206) extending from the supportive structure including: a first end (214) connected with the supportive structure; and a second end having a device fastener (210); and one or more portable devices (104); wherein the device fastener couples the one or more portable devices with the one or more retention cables (Col. 4, Ln. 40-57; Col. 5, Ln. 7-21; and Col. 7, Ln. 1-4).
Greaves and Drake are analogous inventions in the field of receptacles for retaining one or more portable devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the supportive structure of Greaves with the teachings of the retention cable(s) of Drake in order to allow the user to access the portable device while also keeping the device from getting misplaced (Col. 2, Ln. 8-19).
Regarding Claim 10
Greaves in view of Drake (hereinafter “modified Greaves”) teaches all the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. Greaves further teaches an extension (28’ and 29’) coupled to the upper portion.
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as stated above. Greaves further teaches the extension (28’ and 29’) is configured to anchor the supportive structure.
Regarding Claim 12
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. Drake further teaches the one or more retention cables (206) have elastic properties (Col. 7, Ln. 1-4).
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. Drake further teaches the one or more retention cables (206) are configured to extend and retract.
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. Greaves further teaches each of the one or more front compartments (shown at 14, 18, 23, and 26) are sized to retain one portable device.
Regarding Claim 15
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. It would appear an obvious matter of design choice to one or ordinary skill in the art to have a retention cable being associated with a respective front compartment in order to ensure that each portable device is maintained where it is supposed to be. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding Claim 16
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. Greaves further teaches a back compartment (shown at 14, 18, 23, and 26) positioned on the back face. Greaves does not teach the back compartment includes a closure.
Drake teaches a compartment (102) having a closure (108) (Col. 4, Ln. 49-57).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to further modify the supportive structure of modified Greaves with the teachings of the compartment closure of Drake in order to prevent easy access to the compartment by unauthorized individuals (Col. 4, Ln. 49-57).
Regarding Claim 17
Greaves teaches a receptacle (Fig. 1 and 2) for retaining one or more portable devices comprising: a supportive structure formed from a pliant material, the supportive structure including: a front face (5) including one or more front compartments (shown at 14, 18, 23, and 26) positioned along the front face; and a back face (5) opposing the front face including one or more back compartments (shown at 14, 18, 23, and 26) positioned along the back face; an extension (28’ and 29’) coupled to an upper portion of the supportive structure; wherein the extension is configured to support the supportive structure (Col. 2, Ln. 4 – Col. 3, Ln. 23).
Greaves does not teach one or more elastic retention cables extending from the supportive structure, the one or more elastic retention cables including: a first end connected with the supportive structure; and a second end including a device fastener; wherein the device fastener is configured to be coupled with a portable device.
Drake teaches a receptacle for retaining one or more portable devices (Fig. 2) comprising: a supportive structure formed from a pliant material, the supportive structure including: a compartment (102); and one or more elastic retention cables (206) extending from the supportive structure, the one or more elastic retention cables including: a first end (214) connected with the supportive structure; and a second end including a device fastener (210); wherein the device fastener is configured to be coupled with a portable device (104) (Col. 4, Ln. 40-57; Col. 5, Ln. 7-21; and Col. 7, Ln. 1-4).
Greaves and Drake are analogous inventions in the field of receptacles for retaining one or more portable devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the supportive structure of Greaves with the teachings of the retention cable(s) of Drake in order to allow the user to access the portable device while also keeping the device from getting misplaced (Col. 2, Ln. 8-19).
Regarding Claim 18
Greaves in view of Drake (hereinafter “modified Greaves”) teaches all the limitations of claim 17 as stated above. Drake further teaches the one or more elastic retention cables (206) include a retained configuration and an extended configuration; wherein in the retained configuration the one or more elastic retention cables are subjected to minimal external force; wherein in the extended configuration, the one or more elastic retention cables are subjected to a tensile force; and wherein the one or more elastic retention cables are configured to return to the retained configuration when the tensile force is removed.
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 17 as stated above. Greaves further teaches the supportive structure is configured to be associated with an article of furniture; and wherein the extension (28’ and 29’) is configured to anchor the supportive structure to the article of furniture, as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Greaves teaches all the limitations of claim 17 as stated above. Drake further teaches the device fastener (210) is configured to be removably coupled with the portable device (104).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733