DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the target conductor loops (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, it is unclear how sensing element is configured for detecting a component of the superposition of the magnetic field.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the superposition" in lines 4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the width” and "the traces" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the conductive traces" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 7, it is unclear what is meant by the phrase “at least one target conductor loops so that the current of the said conductor is enclosed at least twice by the magnetic core”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the width” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 - 14 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6, 8, 10 – 11 and 13 - 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ausserlechner (2014/0266180).
As to claim 1, Ausserlechner discloses sensor systems and methods for residual current detection comprising a sensing element (314a, 314b) ([0038], Fig. 3C) for detecting magnetic field [0006], [0038], a magnetic core (302) ([0036], Fig. 3C) with an opening (308) ([0038], Fig. 3), and a substrate (310) embedding at least two target conductors (304) ([0038], Fig. 3C) wherein the magnetic core (302) is arranged for enclosing the at least two target conductors (304), the sensing element (314a, 314b) being configured for detecting a component of the superposition of the magnetic field generated through the opening by at least two currents carried by the respective target conductor (304) (Fig. 3C, [0004], [0032]), the sensing element (314a, 314b) being mechanically uncoupled from the magnetic core (302) ([0039, fourth sentence]), the sensing element being further configured to provide an output signal indicative of the superposition of the magnetic field (Fig. 3C, [0004], [0017]).
As to claim 2, Ausserlechner discloses that the sensing element (314a, 314b) is at least 0.5 mm away from the magnetic core (302) [0039].
As to claim 3, Ausserlechner discloses that the width-to-thickness ratio of the traces (104, 304) is at least 10, for example at least 100 [0017].
As to claim 6, Ausserlechner discloses that the sensing element (341a, 314b) is provided on a sensor on the substrate (320) comprising the at least two target conductors (304) [0038].
As to claim 8, Ausserlechner discloses that the number of conductors (304) is between 3 and 5 (Fig. 3C).
As to claim 10, Ausserlechner discloses that the sensing element (214a, 214b) is sensitive to a component of the magnetic field in one direction [0031].
As to claim 11, Ausserlechner discloses that the sensing element (314a, 314b) is provided on a sensor substrate (320) comprising at least one planar surface on a side, wherein the magnetic sensing element (314a, 314b) comprises an axis of maximum sensitivity parallel to the plane of the largest surface of the sensor substrate, wherein the opening (308) is provided on the magnetic core (302) such that the magnetic field across the opening is parallel to the axis (x-axis) of maximum sensitivity of the sensing element ([0031], Fig. 3C).
As to claim 13, Ausserlechner discloses that a processing circuit (110) configured to detect fault based on the superposition signal [0004], [0024] and [0033].
As to claim 14, Ausserlechner discloses that the processing circuit (110) is configured to detect fault upon detection of a field surpassing a threshold value [0004] and [0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausserlechner (2014/0266180) in view of Racz et al. (2007/0164727).
As to claim 9, Ausserlechner discloses that the sensing element (314a, 314b) is provided on a planar sensor substrate (320) comprising at least one largest dimension (Fig. 3,). Ausserlechner fails to explicitly disclose that the at least one largest dimension of the sensor substrate is smaller than the width of the opening. Racz et al. (hereinafter Racz) discloses a device for measuring current wherein the at least one largest dimension of the sensor substrate (4) is smaller than the width of the opening (14). ([0023], Fig. 3).
Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Ausserlechner in view of the teachings of Racz wherein the at least one largest dimension of the sensor substrate is smaller than the width of the opening would result in effective screening of an external magnetic field.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausserlechner (2014/0266180) in view of Labbe et al. (2022/0163569).
As to claim 12, Ausserlechner discloses that the sensing element (314a, 314b) is provided on a planar sensor substrate comprising at least one largest surface, wherein the opening (308) is provided on the magnetic core (302) such that the magnetic field across the opening is parallel to the axis (x-axis) of maximum sensitivity of the sensing element ([0031], Fig. 3C). Ausserlechner fails to explicitly disclose that the magnetic sensing element comprises an axis of maximum sensitivity perpendicular to the plane of the largest surface of the sensor substrate. Labbe et al. (hereinafter Labbe) discloses a current transducer with magnetic core on primary conductor bar wherein the magnetic sensing element (8) comprises an axis of maximum sensitivity perpendicular to the plane of the largest surface of the sensor substrate (Fig. 7).
Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Ausserlechner in view of the teachings of Labbe wherein the magnetic sensing element comprises an axis of maximum sensitivity perpendicular to the plane of the largest surface of the sensor substrate would result in effective screening of an external magnetic field.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant s disclosure.
Gallot et al. (12,436,173) is cited for its disclosure of a current sensor system.
SPITZER et al. (2024/0264205) is cited for its disclosure of a current sensor device with an electric conductor and a magnetic sensor being spatially separated from the electric conductor.
Wolf et al. (2022/0214382) is cited for its disclosure of integration of current sensor with bus bar.
Geisler et al. (2018/0059148) is cited for its disclosure of a current sensor including a ferromagnetic core having a central opening for receiving a current conductor.
/REENA AURORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858