This is the first office action for the serial number 18/980,457, MODULE SUPPORT ARRANGEMENT, filed on 12/13/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the seat structure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1, line 4, “optionally” is indefinite because it is not clear what the applicant meant by “optionally”.
Claim 5, line 3, “before it is completed” is indefinite because it is not clear what is being completed.
Claim 8, lines 4-5, “preferably selected from the following group” should be changed to ---selected one of the following group--- for clarification.
Claim 9, line 1, “A vehicle seat having a seat frame structure and a module support arrangement” should be changed to ---The motor vehicle seat having a seat frame structure and the module support arrangement--- for clarification.
Claims 2-9 are rejected as depending on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication # 2010/0244504 to Colja et al.
Colja et al. teaches a module support arrangement (figures 1-2) for attachment to a seat structure of motor vehicle seat (20) and for fixing pneumatic components. The arrangement having a module support (24) with a front side and a rear side opposite the front side. The arrangement having at least one further component (36). The arrangement includes air ducts (120). The arrangement includes at least one pressure accumulator (52) in fluidic communication with the air ducts and is integrated on the module support. The at least one pressure accumulator is arranged in the module support with near a pump (56). The pressure accumulator is formed with two parts (52, figure 5), forming an airtight chamber. The at least part of the pressure accumulator is integrated in an air duct (see figures 4-5). The pressure accumulator are integrated in the module support. The at least one further component serves as a cover which closes the part of the pressure accumulator to form the pressure accumulator. The vehicle seat having a seat frame structure (20) and a module support arrangement (24) suspended thereform via a suspension (84).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colja et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2026/0167078 to Blair et al.
Colja et al. teaches the module support and the at least one further component designed as a cover for a part of the pressure accumulator but fails to teach the module support and the at least one further component are connected by high-frequency welding. Blair et al. teaches the ultrasonic/high frequency welding (section 0510). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the high-frequency welding to secure the Colja’s module support and further component as taught by Blair et al. to “forms a seal” (section 0510 in Blair et al.’s invention).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colja et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2011/0285189 to Petzel et al.
Colja et al. teaches the pressure accumulator and the module support but fails to teach the pressure accumulator and the module support are made of same material ,plastic. Petzel et al. teaches the plastic material (section 0015). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure accumulator and the module support with plastic as taught by Petzel et al. to reduce cost in the manufacturing process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fails to teach the limitation “wherein the pressure accumulator has a silencer device which is preferably introduced into the pressure accumulator before it is completed.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent # 7,114,771 to Lofy et al.
US Patent # 12,077,074 to Ikuta et al.
US Patent Application Publication # 2020/0269737 to ABE
US Patent # 7,857,395 to Kikuchi et al.
The cited references above teach the vehicle seat.
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 8/28/26