DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent 12,211,651. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent discloses the limitations of the Instant Application.
In re claim 1, U.S. Patent 12,211,651 discloses a multilayer structure having a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape and including dielectric layers and internal electrode layers that are alternately stacked, the dielectric layers being mainly composed of ceramic, the internal electrode layers being formed so as to be alternately exposed to two edge faces opposite to each other of the multilayer structure (Claim 1); and
cover layers respectively disposed on a top face and a bottom face of the multilayer structure in a first direction in which the dielectric layers and the internal electrode layers are alternately stacked, the cover layers being mainly composed of ceramic (Claim 1),
wherein at least one of a Sn concentration with respect to a main component ceramic in the cover layer is higher than a Sn concentration with respect to a main component ceramic in a capacity section, a side margin section being a section that covers edges, extending toward a corresponding side face of two side faces other than the two edge faces of the multilayer structure, of the internal electrode layers, the capacity section being a section where a set of the internal electrode layers exposed to one of the two edge faces is opposite to another set of the internal electrode layers exposed to the other of the two edge faces (Claim 1),
wherein the main component ceramic of each cover layer has a perovskite structure (Claim 1), and
wherein an atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in each cover layer is 0.005 or greater (Claim 1).
Application 18/980,501
U.S. Patent 12,211,651
Claim 4
Claim 2
Claim 5
Claim 3
Claim 6
Claim 4
Claim 7
Claim 5
Claim 8
Claim 6
Claim 9
Claim 7
2. Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,211,651 in view of Lee et al. (US Publication 2021/0074479).
In re claim 2, U.S Patent No. 12,211,651 discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. U.S. Patent No. 12,211,651 does not disclose a vicinity of an outer periphery of the capacity section is higher than the Sn concentration in a center section of the capacity section.
Lee discloses in a vicinity of an outer periphery of the capacity section (portion of 112, 113 close to 121, 122 – Figure 4EC, ¶37) is higher than the Sn concentration in a center section of the capacity section (region 121 and 122 overlap – Figure 4EC) (¶11, ¶72).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Sn concentration as described by Lee to increase the mechanical strength of the electronic component.
3. Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,211,651 in view of Hashimoto (US Publication 2020/0411248).
In re claim 3, U.S Patent No. 12,211,651 discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. U.S. Patent No. 12,211,651 does not disclose wherein Sn forms a solid solution with the main component ceramic in the capacity section.
Hashimoto discloses wherein Sn forms a solid solution with the main component ceramic in the capacity section (¶57-58, Figure 8, Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Sn oxide that forms a solid solution as described by Hashimoto to provide for enhanced flexural strength (¶58: Hashimoto).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Publication 2021/0074479).
Figure 4 of Lee with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 4EC)
In re claim 1, Lee discloses a ceramic electronic component comprising:
a multilayer structure (110 – Figure 2, ¶26) having a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape (Figure 2) and including dielectric layers (111 – Figure 4, ¶38) and internal electrode layers (121, 122 – Figure 4, ¶26) that are alternately stacked, the dielectric layers being mainly composed of ceramic, the internal electrode layers being formed so as to be alternately exposed to two edge faces opposite to each other of the multilayer structure (Figure 3); and
cover layers (CL – Figure 4EC, ¶52) respectively disposed on a top face and a bottom face of the multilayer structure in a first direction in which the dielectric layers and the internal electrode layers are alternately stacked, the cover layers being mainly composed of ceramic (Figure 2, Figure 3, Abstract),
wherein at least one of a Sn concentration with respect to a main component ceramic in the cover layer (CL – Figure 4EC) is higher than a Sn concentration with respect to a main component ceramic in a capacity section (region 121 and 122 overlap – Figure 4)(¶11, ¶72), a side margin section (MS – Figure 4EC, ¶37) being a section that covers edges (Figure 4EC), extending toward a corresponding side face of two side faces other than the two edge faces of the multilayer structure, of the internal electrode layers (Figure 2, Figure 4EC), the capacity section being a section where a set of the internal electrode layers (121 – Figure 3) exposed to one of the two edge faces is opposite to another set of the internal electrode layers (122 – Figure 3) exposed to the other of the two edge faces (Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4),
wherein the main component ceramic of each cover layer (CL – Figure 4EC) has a perovskite structure (¶54-55), and
wherein an atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in each cover layer is 0.005 or greater (¶86).
In re claim 2, Lee discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. Lee further discloses in a vicinity of an outer periphery of the capacity section (portion of 112, 113 close to 121, 122 – Figure 4EC, ¶37) is higher than the Sn concentration in a center section of the capacity section (region 121 and 122 overlap – Figure 4EC) (¶11, ¶72).
In re claim 4, Lee in view of Hashimoto discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. Lee further discloses wherein the main component ceramic of the capacity section (region 121 and 122 overlap – Figure 3) and the component ceramic of the side margin have perovskite structures (¶55, ¶84, ¶86),
wherein at least one of an atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in each cover layer (CL – Figure 4EC) or an atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in the side margin is higher than an atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in the capacity section by 0.001 or greater (¶86-87).
In re claim 6, Lee discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. Lee further discloses wherein the main component ceramic of the side margin section (MS – Figure 4EC) has a perovskite structure (¶84, ¶86), wherein an atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in the side margin section is 0.01 or greater (¶86-87).
In re claim 7, Lee discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. Lee further discloses wherein a main component ceramic of the capacity section has a perovskite structure, wherein an atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in the capacity section is 0.005 or less (¶96).
In re claim 9, Lee discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. Lee further discloses wherein the main component ceramic of the dielectric layer is barium titanate, wherein a main component metal of the internal electrode layer is nickel (¶55, ¶126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Publication 2021/0074479) in view of Hashimoto (US Publication 2020/0411248).
In re claim 3, Lee discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. Lee does not disclose wherein Sn forms a solid solution with the main component ceramic in the capacity section.
Hashimoto discloses wherein Sn forms a solid solution with the main component ceramic in the capacity section (¶57-58, Figure 8, Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Sn oxide that forms a solid solution as described by Hashimoto to provide for enhanced flexural strength (¶58: Hashimoto).
In re claim 8, Lee discloses the ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, as explained above. Lee does not disclose a Sn concentration with respect to a main component ceramic in an end margin section is higher than the Sn concentration with respect to the main component ceramic in the capacity section, the end margin section being a section where the internal electrode layers exposed to one of the edge faces are opposite to each other with no internal electrode layers exposed to the other of the edge faces interposed therebetween in the multilayer structure.
Hashimoto disclose a Sn concentration with respect to a main component ceramic in an end margin section is higher than the Sn concentration with respect to the main component ceramic in the capacity section, the end margin section being a section where the internal electrode layers exposed to one of the edge faces are opposite to each other with no internal electrode layers exposed to the other of the edge faces interposed therebetween in the multilayer structure (¶55-56, Figure 10) (¶15-16, ¶22, ¶55-56, ¶62).
It would have been obvious toa person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to increase the Sn concentration of the end margin section with respect to the capacity region to achieve a device having improved flexural strength (¶58 – Hashimoto).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) at least one of the atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in each cover layer or the atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in the side margin section is higher than the atomic concentration ratio of Sn to B site elements in the capacity section by 0.001 or greater and 0.1 or less.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US Publication 2024/0177928) [¶75-76]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847