DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 and 12/02/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 9 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US PUB 2023/0229040; herein after “Park”; in related embodiments) in view of Holman et al. (US PUB 2015/0168635; herein after “Holman”). Park and Holman disclose an optical film or (micro-structured, e.g., prisms) light extraction film for a backlight unit that includes a first pattern layer including a plurality of prisms. Therefore, they are analogous art.
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches an optical shifting film (an optical film 100) for a backlight module (a backlight unit 10) having a light source module (a substrate 11 including a light source 11a) (as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, see para. [0054]), the light source module having a light emitting side (12) for the optical shifting film and a plurality of light emitting units (11a) arranged in an array (as shown at least in FIG. 2), the optical shifting film comprising: a substrate (a base film 130) having a first side intersecting a first direction (X-axis direction) and extending along a second direction (Z-axis direction) (as shown at least in FIG. 4, para. [0090] and [0091]); and a plurality of first prisms (a first pattern layer 140) disposed on the substrate, the plurality of first prisms (141) arranged in the first direction (e.g., B direction) and respectively extending along the second direction (e.g., B′ direction) (see para. [0061]), each of the plurality of first prisms having a first major prism face (141d) (as shown at least in FIG. 4 and 10B, where a cross-section of each of the pyramids 141 may be a triangle. According to an embodiment, a barrier rib 141d may be disposed between the pyramids 141, para. [0093], also see para. 0049], [0057] – [0058] and [0061]), wherein an emitted light field generated by at least a portion of the plurality of light emitting units (11a) is shifted in the first direction through at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms (i.e., the line patterns 141a, 141b and 141c can be formed in different patterns other than the pyramids (e.g., the pyramid 141) forming the second pattern layer 140, it is possible to provide an effect of spreading light from left to right. As light spreads from left to right in the second pattern layer 140 (e.g., shifted light field), a viewing angle may be improved and the screen distortion may be prevented, see para. [0092], FIGS. 2-4 and 9-10B.
Park teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of each of the plurality of first prisms having a first major prism face, an emitted light field generated by at least a portion of the plurality of light emitting units is shifted in the first direction through at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms.
However, in a related field of endeavor Holman teaches the array of facetted-prisms is a regular one in this example, but a wider variety of prism compositions may be blended into a more complex array for special applications (para. [0277], FIG. 11B). Full extraction of internal beam 330 from generically tapered light guide pipe (100) or plate (112) while simultaneously changing beam direction can be achieved in cross-sectional view with facetted redirection layer 102 which is composed of a sequential series of left hand and right hand reflective facets (340 and 342) made in layer 322 placed just above lower index layer 320, as shown in the side view of FIG. 11A (para. [0279]).
FIG. 6B traces the corresponding behavior of illustrative input ray 250, which arrives at point 214 with an angle of incidence 3 degrees greater than illustrative ray 206. The internal transmission path of ray 206 from FIG. 6A is shown as dotted for purposes of comparison. Accordingly, ray 250 in exceeding critical angle 212, makes a total internal reflection about surface normal 214 and is redirected towards tilted mirror plane 184 as ray segment 252, reaching it at shifted point 254. Because the tilt of plane 184 in this example is 3 degrees and ray 250 exceeded critical angle 212 by 3 degrees, ray 252 arrives at point 254 with an incidence angle exactly equal to critical angle 212 (para. [0260]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that a right hand facet (a major prism face) of the array of facetted-prisms, and a ray that makes a total internal reflection and is redirected towards a ray segment, reaching it at shifted point (e.g., emitted light field is shifted in the first direction) as taught by Holman, for the purpose of having a ray arrives at point with an incidence angle exactly equal to critical angle, and because of this, makes an efficient total internal reflection with essentially all its original flux remaining in reflected ray segment (i.e., no light transmission into the surrounding medium, illustratively being air).
Regarding claim 5, Park fails to teach a degree of shift of the emitted light field through at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms farther from the first side is less than a degree of shift of the emitted light field through at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms closer to the first side.
However, in a related field of endeavor Holman teaches FIG. 6B traces the corresponding behavior of illustrative input ray 250, which arrives at point 214 with an angle of incidence 3 degrees greater than illustrative ray 206. The internal transmission path of ray 206 from FIG. 6A is shown as dotted for purposes of comparison. Accordingly, ray 250 in exceeding critical angle 212, makes a total internal reflection about surface normal 214 and is redirected towards tilted mirror plane 184 as ray segment 252, reaching it at shifted point 254. Because the tilt of plane 184 in this example is 3 degrees and ray 250 exceeded critical angle 212 by 3 degrees, ray 252 arrives at point 254 with an incidence angle exactly equal to critical angle 212 (para. [0260]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that a ray that makes a total internal reflection and is redirected towards a ray segment, reaching it at shifted point (e.g., a degree of shift of the emitted light field) as taught by Holman, for the purpose of having a ray arrives at point with an incidence angle exactly equal to critical angle, and because of this, makes an efficient total internal reflection with essentially all its original flux remaining in reflected ray segment.
Regarding claim 6, Park according to claim 1 further teaches the first major prism face forms a first major interior angle with the first direction on a virtual cross-section parallel to the first direction and intersecting the second direction (i.e., a cross-section of each of the pyramids 141 may be a triangle (e.g., a first major interior angle) the cross-section of the barrier rib 141d may have a triangular shape. As another example, the cross-section of the barrier rib 141d may have a trapezoidal shape. One surface of the pyramid 141 may be a side surface of the barrier rib 141d and a flat portion may be an upper surface of the barrier rib 141d, para. [0093] and as shown in FIG. 10B); the first major interior angle of at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms farther from the first side is smaller than the first major interior angle of at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms closer to the first side (i.e., as shown FIG. 11D, each of the pyramids may be provided in a pentagonal shape (a double-angled shape) when it is viewed in cross-section, para. [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, according to claim 6 further teaches the first major interior angle or the second major interior angle is greater than 0° and less than or equal to 30° (as shown at least in FIGS. 11A-11D, para. [0094] to [0096]).
Regarding claim 11, Park according to claim 6 further teaches each of the plurality of first prisms has a first minor prism face opposite to the first major prism face; the first minor prism face forms a first minor interior angle with the first direction on the virtual cross-section; the first minor interior angle is less than 90° and greater than the first major interior angle (as shown at least in FIGS. 11A-11D, para. [0094] to [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Park according to claim 1 further teaches the first major prism face has a first length on a virtual cross-section parallel to the first direction and intersecting the second direction; the first length of at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms farther from the first side is smaller than the first length of at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms closer to the first side (as shown at least in FIGS. 11A-11D, para. [0094] to [0096]).
Regarding claim 13, Park according to claim 12 further teaches the plurality of first prisms are disposed with spacing between each other; a width of the spacing for at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms farther from the first side is greater than a width of the spacing for at least a portion of the plurality of first prisms closer to the first side (as shown at least in FIGS. 11A-11D, para. [0094] to [0096]).
Regarding claim 14, Park according to claim 1 further teaches the plurality of light emitting units are arranged to form a second curvature on a virtual cross-section parallel to the first direction and intersecting the second direction; the second curvature is concave away from the optical shifting film (i.e., the pyramids may be designed and changed in various structures such as a curved shape/surface, as shown in FIGS. 11B and 11C, para. [0096]); lights generated from the plurality of light emitting units pass through the optical shifting film to reach a projection surface; the projection surface forms a first cross-section on the virtual cross-section; the first cross-section has a first curvature; the first curvature is greater than the second curvature(as shown at least in FIGS. 11A-11D, para. [0094] to [0096]).
Regarding claim 15, Park according to claim 1 further teaches the backlight module (10) further comprises a brightness enhancement film (i.e., at least one of these components (e.g., the diffusion sheet 17) can be omitted, or one or more other components (e.g., a reflective polarizing sheet (e.g., for brightness enhancement)) can be added in the backlight unit 10, para. [0055]); the optical shifting film (100) is located between the brightness enhancement film (17) and the light source module (11) (as shown at least in FIGS. 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Park according to claim 1 further teaches the backlight module (10) further comprises: a first prism sheet (16) disposed between the optical shifting film (100) and the light source module (11) (i.e., the prism pattern layer may have a triangular prism shape, and one surface of the triangular prism may be disposed to a face the base film, para. [0048]), the first prism sheet having a first prism direction; and a second prism sheet (15) disposed between the optical shifting film (100) and the first prism sheet (16), the second prism sheet having a second prism direction, wherein the first prism direction is perpendicular to the second prism direction (as shown in FIGS. 1-3, where each of the first prism patterns may be formed to extend toward the X-axis direction. Similarly, each of the second prism patterns may be formed to extend toward the Y-axis direction., para. [0049]).
Park teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of the backlight module further comprises: a first prism sheet disposed between the optical shifting film and the light source module.
However, in a related field of endeavor Holman teaches the angle-spreading film sheets 52 and 54 introduced in FIG. 1D may be applied to both the single segment and multi-segment forms of the light distributing engines of FIGS. 2A-2D, as will be shown in FIG. 2E. (para. [0218]). FIG. 2E is a perspective view of FIG. 2D exploded to reveal the individual sections of input engine 60, while adding two orthogonally-aligned angle-spreading sheets 52 and 54 (as in FIG. 1D). Such sheets are applied externally as illustrated just below light distributing optic 9 so as to modify (i.e., widen) the angular extents 90 and 92 of the system's resulting far field output beam in one or both meridians. The unmodified narrower angular extents 70 and 72 are shown dotted as a reference (para. [0219]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that and an angle-spreading film sheet (a first prism sheet) maybe arranged between a light distributing optic layer (a light source module) and another angle-spreading film sheet (an optical shifting film) as taught by Holman, for the purpose of having a ray arrives at point with an incidence angle exactly equal to critical angle, and because of this, makes an efficient total internal reflection with essentially all its original flux remaining in reflected ray segment.
Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 10 and 17-21, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the closest prior art PARK et al. (US PUB 2023/0229040) does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding the plurality of second prisms disposed on the second part, the plurality of second prisms arranged in the first direction and respectively extending along the second direction, each of the plurality of second prisms having a second major prism face, wherein a first emitted light field generated by at least a portion of the plurality of light emitting units closer to the first part is shifted in the first direction through the plurality of first prisms; a second emitted light field generated by at least a portion of the plurality of light emitting units closer to the second part is shifted in the first direction through the plurality of second prisms; the first emitted light field and the second emitted light field are shifted toward opposite directions.
Claims 3-4, 7-8 and 10 depend upon allowable claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art PARK et al. (US PUB 2023/0229040) does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding a display system, comprising: a projection surface; a display module comprising a backlight module, the backlight module having a light source module, the light source module having a light emitting side and a plurality of light emitting units arranged in an array; and a virtual eye area, wherein the display module is disposed corresponding to the projection surface and generates an image light; the image light is reflected by the projection surface to generate an image at least in the virtual eye area.
Claims 18-21 depend upon allowable claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. YANG et al. (US PUB 2020/0208803) teaches “a plurality of first prisms provided in the first light reflection chamber, wherein when the first illuminating units are activated to generate illumination, the illumination is arranged to be reflected and diffracted by the first inclined reflection surface, the first vertical optical surface and the first prisms to produce an uniform line source of light of the backlight illuminating module”, paragraph 0012.
Joo et al. (US PUB 2020/0208803) teaches “A display apparatus includes a display panel and a backlight unit for an embodiment. The display panel includes a plurality of pixels and the backlight unit supplies light to the display panel. The backlight unit includes a light source, which generates the light, and an optical sheet. The optical sheet includes a plurality of prism patterns formed on a surface of the optical sheet facing the display panel. The prism patterns include a plurality of peaks and a plurality of valleys to change the path of the light, and a plurality of diffusion patterns arranged at the peaks and valleys.,” see Abstract.
Kokogawa (US PUB 2004/0109244) teaches “a planar light source unit and a display device, and more particularly, to a planar light source unit and a display device having a light guide plate with an anisotropic diffraction grating, and a downward-pointing prism sheet.”, paragraph 0002.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
September 3, 2026