DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nicholson et al (US Publication No. 20100277839).
Regarding claim 1, Nicholson discloses a voltage limiter circuit (i.e., such as voltage limiter circuit 110; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) for limiting (i.e., such as limiting voltage via IC limiter 110; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) a voltage applied (i.e., such as positive voltage applied via anode bias terminal 116 and negative voltage applied via cathode bias terminal 126; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) to an electronic structure (i.e., such as electronic structure 130; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]), comprising a first port (i.e., such as first port 161; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) being connectable (i.e., such as 160 is connected to 170 via 161 and 171; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) to a device under test (i.e., such as device under test DUT 170; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]); a second port (i.e., such as second port 171; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) being connectable (i.e., such as 171 is connected to 131 in 130 via 175; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) to the electronic structure (i.e., such as electronic structure 130; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]); a transmission line (i.e., such as transmission line 128; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) connecting (i.e., such as terminal 165 in 110 is connected to terminals 141, 131 in 130 via 128; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) the first port (i.e., such as first port 161; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) and the second port (i.e., such as second port 171; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]); positive voltage limiter circuitry (i.e., such as positive voltage limiter circuitry 112-115; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) configured to limit (i.e., such as IC limiter 110 is configured to limit positive voltage via anode bias terminal 116 and to limit negative voltage via cathode bias terminal 126; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) a positive voltage portion (i.e., such as positive voltage portion Anode Bias 116; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) on the transmission line (i.e., such as transmission line 128; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) to a threshold (i.e., such as threshold in terms of pre-determined frequency and current with respect to the positive region; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]), and negative voltage limiter circuitry (i.e., such as negative voltage limiter circuitry 122-125; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) configured to limit (i.e., such as IC limiter 110 is configured to limit positive voltage via anode bias terminal 116 and to limit negative voltage via cathode bias terminal 126; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) a negative voltage portion (i.e., such as negative voltage portion Cathode Bias 126; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) on the transmission line (i.e., such as transmission line 128; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) to a threshold (i.e., such as threshold in terms of pre-determined frequency and current with respect to the negative region; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]).
Regarding claim 20, Nicholson discloses a measurement instrument (i.e., such as measurement instrument 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]) comprising the voltage limiter circuit (i.e., such as voltage limiter circuit 110; see for example fig. 1, para. [0017]- [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Nicholson teaches the invention set forth above. However, Nicholson does not particularly teach wherein the transmission line comprises a plurality of transmission line sections, wherein neighboring transmission line sections have different impedances.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 3-17 depend on objected claim 2, consequently claims 3-17 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 18, Nicholson teaches the invention set forth above. However, Nicholson does not particularly teach wherein the voltage limiter circuit is established as a monolithic microwave integrated circuit.
Hence claim 18 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 19, Nicholson teaches the invention set forth above. However, Nicholson does not particularly teach a directive circuit, comprising: a plurality of ports, wherein the plurality of ports comprises a DUT port and at least two further ports, wherein the DUT port is connectable to a device under test, wherein the directive circuit is configured to selectively forward signals between the plurality of ports, and wherein the DUT port comprises or is connected to the voltage limiter circuit.
Hence claim 19 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838 /THIENVU V TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838