DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. Claims 1-36 are pending.
Claim Rejections - Nonstatutory Double Patenting
4. Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17-18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,609,256. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 35 is directed to an electrostatic discharge (ESD) pulse generator comprising a first ground element, a charge element, and a second ground element; a power supply electrically connected with the charge element and the second ground element; a current limiting resistor or switch electrically connected in series with the power supply and the charge element; and a switch for electrically connecting the charge element to the second ground element; whereby the charge element is chargeable from the power supply and dischargeable via the switch between the charge element and the second ground element.
Independent claims 1, 17-18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,609,256 each describe a first ground plate, a charge plate, a second ground plate, a power supply, a current limiting resistor, and a switch that are arranged so that the charge plate is chargeable from the power supply and dischargeable via the switch between the charge plate and the second ground plate. Therefore, independent claims 1, 17-18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,609,256 teach claim 35 of the present application.
5. Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 23, and 34-38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,236. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 35 is directed to an electrostatic discharge (ESD) pulse generator comprising a first ground element, a charge element, and a second ground element; a power supply electrically connected with the charge element and the second ground element; a current limiting resistor or switch electrically connected in series with the power supply and the charge element; and a switch for electrically connecting the charge element to the second ground element; whereby the charge element is chargeable from the power supply and dischargeable via the switch between the charge element and the second ground element.
Independent claims 1, 23, and 34-38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,236 each describe a first ground element, a charge element, a second ground element, a power supply, a current limiting resistor, and a switch that are arranged so that the charge element is chargeable from the power supply and dischargeable via the switch between the charge element and the second ground element. Therefore, independent claims 1, 23, and 34-38 of U.S. Patent No. 11,609,256 teach claim 35 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-2, 8, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagitani (US 2011/0273559).
Per claim 1, Yagitani teaches a method for visualization of electromagnetic interference (EMI) and/or transient pulses applied to and/or in a device or system under test including EMI event(s) that may have spectral or transient component(s) that can cause soft or hard failure(s), the method comprising:
obtaining a pose estimation of a pointer (Fig. 2; electromagnetic field sensor 10; ¶61) relative to a device or system under test (Fig. 2; microwave oven 50; ¶62) including a position and orientation of the pointer relative to the device or system under test (A determining unit 31 determines the three-dimensional location and orientation of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 by analyzing video captured by a video camera 20. The video shows the movement of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 around the microwave oven 50 (Figs. 2-3; ¶62, 69, and 96));
collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data at a location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer (To visualize electromagnetic noise, electromagnetic field intensities in the three XYZ directions are detected at various locations (Figs. 2 and 9-10; ¶64-65 and 96-103)); and
superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected (The electromagnetic field data is superimposed at the location of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 in the video so that a spatial distribution of the electromagnetic field can be visualized (Fig. 2 and 9-10; ¶63 and 96-103)).
Per claim 2, Yagitani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the pose estimation of the pointer relative to the device or system under test comprises using computer vision and image processing for determining, predicting, and tracking the position, orientation, and movement of the pointer relative to a device or system under test (The determining unit 31 of the PC 30 determines the position and orientation of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 as it moves around the microwave oven 50 (¶69)).
Per claim 8, Yagitani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes correlating the pose estimation obtained for the pointer when the EMI and/or transient pulse data is collected with the visualization display of the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data overlaid at the location of the device or system under test that corresponds with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected (The electromagnetic field data is superimposed at the location of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 in the video so that a spatial distribution of the electromagnetic field can be visualized (Fig. 2 and 9-10; ¶63 and 96-103)).
Per claim 36, Yagitani teaches a system for visualization of electromagnetic interference (EMI) and/or transient pulses applied to and/or in a device or system under test including EMI event(s) that may have spectral or transient component(s) that can cause soft or hard failure(s), the system configured to be operable for:
obtaining a pose estimation of a pointer (Fig. 2; electromagnetic field sensor 10; ¶61) relative to a device or system under test (Fig. 2; microwave oven 50; ¶62) including a position and orientation of the pointer relative to the device or system under test (A determining unit 31 determines the three-dimensional location and orientation of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 by analyzing video captured by a video camera 20. The video shows the movement of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 around the microwave oven 50 (Figs. 2-3; ¶62, 69, and 96));
collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data at a location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer (To visualize electromagnetic noise, electromagnetic field intensities in the three XYZ directions are detected at various locations (Figs. 2 and 9-10; ¶64-65 and 96-103)); and
superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected (The electromagnetic field data is superimposed at the location of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 in the video so that a spatial distribution of the electromagnetic field can be visualized (Fig. 2 and 9-10; ¶63 and 96-103)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Shusterman et al. (US 7,355,417 – hereinafter “Shusterman”).
Per claim 3, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the pointer comprises a probe; and the method includes: obtaining a pose estimation of the probe relative to the device or system under test to thereby extrapolate a position and orientation of an end of the probe; collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data at a location corresponding or coinciding with the extrapolated position and orientation of the end of the probe; and superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto the visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding or coinciding with the extrapolated position and orientation of the end of the probe at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected.
In contrast, Shusterman teaches a system for obtaining electromagnetic data from a circuit comprising a probe 24 having a sensing end 30(S) and a connecting end 30(C) connected to a robotic assembly 26 (Abstract; Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 5-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 has an end wherein the position and orientation of said end are extrapolated to obtain a pose estimation of the probe. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a probe having a sensing end and an opposing end that is configured to be moved (Shusterman; Abstract; col. 3, lines 5-19).
10. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Motohashi et al. (US 2006/0181287 – hereinafter “Motohashi”).
Per claim 4, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes using the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data for current reconstruction of the device or system under test.
In contrast, Motohashi teaches a method for measuring electromagnetic interference of a noise on a to-be-tested printed circuit board wherein a flow of a radio frequency electric current flowing in the printed circuit board is visualized by means of a noise visualization measurement apparatus (Fig. 17; ¶113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field data is used for current reconstruction of a device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of determining problematic current flow in a device under test (Motohashi; ¶113).
Per claim 5, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the pointer comprises a probe operable for detecting or sensing EMI and/or transient pulse(s); and the method includes: injecting EMI and/or transient pulse(s) into port(s) and/or entry point(s) of the device or system under test; detecting or sensing, via the probe, the EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to the device or system under test; and annotating the visualization display of the device or system under test with recorded EMI residual waveforms from the injected EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to the device or system under test at each location(s) corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the probe at which the probe detected or sensed the EMI and/or transient pulse(s).
In contrast, Motohashi teaches a method for measuring electromagnetic interference of a noise on a to-be-tested printed circuit board wherein a noise-simulating signal is injected to the printed circuit board and a resulting flow of a radio frequency electric current in the printed circuit board is visualized by means of a noise visualization measurement apparatus from data collected by a probe (Fig. 17; ¶113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that an EMI signal is injected into a device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of determining problematic current flow in a device under test resulting from an applied noise-simulating signal (Motohashi; ¶113).
Per claim 6, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes using the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data for susceptibility scanning of the device or system under test.
In contrast, Motohashi teaches a method for measuring electromagnetic interference of a noise on a to-be-tested printed circuit board wherein a noise-simulating signal is injected to the printed circuit board and a resulting flow of a radio frequency electric current in the printed circuit board is detected by scanning the printed circuit board with a probe (Fig. 17; ¶100 and 113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data is used for susceptibility scanning of the device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of determining problematic current flow in a device under test (Motohashi; ¶113).
11. Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Pommerenke (US 2008/0088336).
Per claim 7, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the pointer comprises a probe; and the method includes: injecting EMI and/or transient pulse(s) into the probe; using the probe for susceptibility scanning of the device or system under test to determine whether the device or system under test is susceptible to a failure(s) from the EMI and/or transient pulse(s) injected into the probe at location(s) corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the probe; and using the visualization display of the device or system under test to determine minimum level(s) of EMI and/or transient pulse(s) required to be injected at the location(s) corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the probe in order to cause a failure(s) of the device or system under test.
In contrast, Pommerenke teaches a method for testing the electromagnetic susceptibility of an electronic display unit wherein a probe is configured to apply an EM noise signal to different testing locations of the electronic display unit (¶6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 is a probe configured to inject EMI and/or transient pulse(s) into a device or system under test for susceptibility scanning. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of determining the response of a device under test to an applied noise signal (Pommerenke; ¶6-7).
Per claim 21, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes: applying the EMI and/or transient pulse(s) to the device or system under test at a location that corresponds or coincides with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer; and detecting or sensing, via a probe, the EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to the device or system under test; and whereby the EMI and/or transient pulse(s) detected or sensed by the probe is usable for: isolating and characterizing soft failures of the device or system under test; susceptibility scanning of the device or system under test; and/or current reconstruction scanning of the device or system under test.
In contrast, Pommerenke teaches a method for testing the electromagnetic susceptibility of an electronic display unit wherein a probe is configured to apply an EM noise signal to different testing locations of the electronic display unit. An optical detector is configured to generate an electrical signal in response to light emitted from the electronic display unit. A processing device is operably connected to the optical detector to receive the electrical signal and detect an error in the electronic display unit caused by the EM noise signal using the electrical signal. (¶6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that an EMI and/or transient pulse(s) is applied to the device or system under test at a location that corresponds or coincides with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer and is used for susceptibility scanning of the device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of determining an error in a device under test that to which an EM noise signal is applied (Pommerenke; ¶6-7).
12. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0082717 – hereinafter “Kim”).
Per claim 9, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the device or system under test comprises a manufacturing system or facility; and the method includes: obtaining a pose estimation of the pointer relative to the manufacturing system or facility including a position and orientation of the pointer relative to the manufacturing system or facility; collecting data for EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to and/or occurring inherently or naturally in the manufacturing system or facility at the location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer; and superimposing or overlaying the collected data for the EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to and/or occurring inherently or naturally in the manufacturing system or facility onto a visualization display of the manufacturing system or facility at the location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected.
In contrast, Kim teaches a method for measuring the performance of an electronic device wherein a reference level of an electromagnetic wave is measured by measuring a background noise (¶59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the data is collected for EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to and/or occurring inherently or naturally in a manufacturing system or facility. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of determining a background noise level (Kim; ¶59).
13. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani.
Per claim 10, Yagitani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pointer comprises a paint marker on the device or system under test, and wherein the method includes: capturing, via at least one camera, one or more images of the paint marker on the device or system under test; visually determining, via at least one processor and the one or more images captured by the at least one camera, a location of the paint marker on the device or system under test; collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the paint marker on the device or system under test; and superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding with the visually determined location of the paint marker on the device or system under at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected
(Yagitani states that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 includes paint marks 13X, 13Y, 13Z, 14X, 14Y, 14Z used for determining an orientation of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 (¶77).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the pointer comprises a paint marker and the EMI and/or transient pulse data is collected from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the paint marker on the device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of identifying a position where electromagnetic field intensities are to be measured (Yagitani; ¶76)).
Per claim 11, Yagitani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pointer comprises a paint pen dot manually placed on the device or system under test, and wherein the method includes: capturing, via at least one camera, one or more images of the paint pen dot on the device or system under test; visually determining, via at least one processor and the one or more images captured by the at least one camera, a location of the paint pen dot on the device or system under test; collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the paint pen dot on the device or system under test; and superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding with the visually determined location of the paint pen dot on the device or system under at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected
(Yagitani states that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 includes paint marks 13X, 13Y, 13Z, 14X, 14Y, 14Z used for determining an orientation of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 (¶77).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the pointer comprises a paint pen dot and the EMI and/or transient pulse data is collected from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the paint pen dot on the device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of identifying a position where electromagnetic field intensities are to be measured (Yagitani; ¶76)).
Per claim 12, Yagitani teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pointer comprises a probe including a light emitting diode (LED) at an end of the probe, and wherein the method includes: capturing, via at least one camera, one or more images of the illuminated LED at the end of a probe in contact with or in close proximity to the device or system under test; visually determining, via at least one processor and the one or more images captured by the at least one camera, a location of the illuminated LED relative to the device or system under test; collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the illuminated LED relative to the device or system under test; and superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding with the visually determined location of the illuminated LED relative to the device or system under test at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected.
(Yagitani discloses a configuration of an electromagnetic disturbing wave measuring device comprising a probe 9 having a light emitting element 6. Cameras are configured to detect the light emitting element 6 to determine a three-dimensional location of the probe 9 (¶3-4)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 includes a light emitting diode at an end thereof. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of identifying a position where electromagnetic field intensities are to be measured (Yagitani; ¶3-4)).
14. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Nelsen et al. (US 2014/0184253 – hereinafter “Nelsen”).
Per claim 13, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the pointer comprises an illuminated light emitting diode (LED) from a transient pulse(s) into the device or system under test, and wherein the method includes: capturing, via at least one camera, one or more images of the illuminated light emitting diode (LED) from a transient pulse(s) into the device or system under test; visually determining, via at least one processor and the one or more images captured by the at least one camera, a location of the illuminated LED relative to the device or system under test; collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the illuminated LED relative to the device or system under test; and superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding with the visually determined location of the illuminated LED relative to the device or system under test at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected.
In contrast, Nelsen teaches a tool for detecting an ESD event wherein, when a pulse has been determined to be an ESD event of interest, an alarm condition is indicated by a visual red LED (¶110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 includes a light emitting diode that illuminates from a transient pulse in a device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of identifying an ESD event of interest (Nelsen; ¶110).
15. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Grange et al. (US 2009/0231217 – hereinafter “Grange”).
Per claim 14, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the pointer comprises a probe including one or more barcode(s), gray code(s), and/or QR code(s), and wherein the method includes: capturing, via at least one camera, one or more images of one or more barcode(s), gray code(s), and/or QR code(s) of a probe having an end in contact with or in close proximity to a device or system under test; visually determining, via at least one processor and the one or more images of the one or more barcode(s), gray code(s), and/or QR code(s) captured by the at least one camera, a location of the end of the probe relative to the device or system under test; collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the end of the probe relative to the device or system under test; and superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding with the visually determined location of the end of the probe relative to the device or system under test at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected.
In contrast, Grange teaches a measuring system for a transmitting antenna wherein circular barcodes are arranged on an external surface of a spherical element to enable the system to determine the position/orientation of spherical element using a digital camera (Abstract; ¶10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 includes one or more barcodes. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of using a camera to determine the position/orientation of an object (Grange; ¶10).
16. Claims 15-16 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Armstrong et al. (US 2004/0233461 – hereinafter “Armstrong”).
Per claim 15, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the pointer comprises a probe including a combination of markers; the device or system under test includes a combination of markers; and obtaining a pose estimation of a pointer relative to a device or system under test comprises: mapping or calibrating the combination of markers of the device or system under test to identify the device or system under test; mapping or calibrating the combination of markers of the probe to identify the probe; and using the identifications of the probe and the device or system under test to determine the relative location of the identified probe with the identified device or system under test.
In contrast, Armstrong teaches an apparatus for measuring orientation and distance using self-stick marks that are affixed to desired locations in a scene. The self-stick marks can be used to establish a relationship between measurement planes and a reference plane (¶354).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 includes a combination of markers and the device or system under test includes a combination of markers wherein a mapping or calibrating process is performed. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose establishing a relationship between a measurement region and a reference region (Armstrong; ¶354).
Per claim 16, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the pointer comprises a probe including a combination of markers; the device or system under test includes a combination of markers; and obtaining a pose estimation of a pointer relative to a device or system under test comprises: capturing, via at least one camera, images of the combinations of markers of the probe and the device or system under test; and visually determining, via at least one processor and the images of the combinations of markers of the probe and the device or system under test, a location of an end of the probe relative to the device or system under test.
In contrast, Armstrong teaches an apparatus for measuring orientation and distance using self-stick marks that are affixed to desired locations in a scene. The self-stick marks can be used to establish a relationship between measurement planes and a reference plane (¶354).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 includes a combination of markers and the device or system under test includes a combination of markers wherein an end of the electromagnetic field sensor 10 is located using the markers. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of establishing a relationship between a measurement region and a reference region (Armstrong; ¶354).
Per claim 31, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes: detecting multiple markers and/or identifiers on the device or system under test and on the pointer in real-time; using the detected markers and/or identifies for tracking location and movement of the pointer relative to the device or system under test; and displaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data as a visual overlay on a live video feed of the device or system under test as the pointer moves relative to the device or system under test.
In contrast, Armstrong teaches an apparatus for measuring orientation and distance using self-stick marks that are affixed to desired locations in a scene. The self-stick marks can be used to establish a relationship between measurement planes and a reference plane (¶354).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that multiple markers and/or identifiers on the device or system under test and on the pointer are detected in real-time, and the detected markers and/or identifiers are used for tracking location and movement of the pointer relative to the device or system under test. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of establishing a relationship between a measurement region and a reference region (Armstrong; ¶354).
17. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Armstrong, in further view of Yau (US 2015/0140379).
Per claim 17, Yagitani in view of Armstrong does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein the markers comprise QR codes such that the probe includes a combination of QR codes and the device or system under test includes a combination of QR codes, and wherein the method includes: capturing, via at least one camera, images of the combinations of QR codes of the probe and the device or system under test; and visually determining, via at least one processor and the images of the combinations of QR codes of the probe and the device or system under test, the location of the end of the probe relative to the device or system under test.
In contrast, Yau teaches a method for identifying an orientation of a battery wherein an orientation feature 1080, such as a QR codes, may be read by a computer for orientation identification (¶133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Armstrong such that the markers comprise QR codes. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing an orientation identification feature (Yau; ¶133).
18. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Dunnihoo et al. (US 2016/0209456 – hereinafter “Dunnihoo”).
Per claim 19, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the visualization display is an interactive overlay of collected EMI and/or transient pulse data related to a physical layout of the device or system under test; and the method includes allowing a user to selectively highlight specific areas using the pointer such that nodes, pins, and/or connections of the device or system under test are highlighted in the interactive overlay according to the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data at the specific XYZ coordinates selected by the pointer.
In contrast, Dunnihoo teaches a transient scanning data visualization method wherein a user can highlight specific areas of a visualization with a mouse pointer so that nodes, pins, and connections of a device under test will be highlighted (¶83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the display is an interactive display that allows the user to highlight specific areas. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of enabling a user to view a region of interest (Dunnihoo; ¶83).
19. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Hernandez et al. (US 2013/0325390 – hereinafter “Hernandez”).
Per claim 20, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes applying different test pulse types to the device or system under test at a location that corresponds or coincides with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer, which different test pulse types may be defined by a user and/or by one or more industry standards associated with one or more of component level electrostatic discharge/electrical overstress (ESD/EOS), machine model (MM), charged device model (CDM), human body model (HBM), human metal model (HMM), system level ESD/EOS, electrical fast transient (EFT), lightning/surge pulses, and/or induced and conducted RF fields, voltage dips and dropouts.
In contrast, Hernandez teaches an ESD pulse generator configured to provide an electrical signal that simulates a desired type of electrostatic discharge, such as HBM and HMM signals (¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that different test pulses are applied to the device or system under test at locations that correspond with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of testing a device under various simulated electrostatic discharges (Hernandez; ¶21).
20. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Watkins et al. (US 2018/0067156 – hereinafter “Watkins”).
Per claim 22, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes applying transient pulses, via an electrostatic discharge (ESD) pulse generator, to the device or system under test at a location that corresponds or coincides with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer.
In contrast, Watkins teaches an electrostatic discharge testing system wherein repeatable stress pulses are applied to an integrated circuit device under test and stress levels are monitored using a sensor positioned above the integrated circuit device under test (Abstract; ¶18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that transient pulses are applied, via an electrostatic discharge (ESD) pulse generator, to the device or system under test at a location that corresponds or coincides with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of monitoring the stress level of a device under test to which stress pulses are applied (Watkins; Abstract; ¶18).
21. Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Watkins, in further view Grund (US 2009/0134880).
Per claim 23, Yagitani in view of Watkins does not teach the method of claim 22, wherein the method includes applying transient current pulses having specific pulse shapes and/or in a repeating mode, via the ESD pulse generator, to the device or system under test at the location that corresponds or coincides with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer.
In contrast, Grund teaches a current pulse generator for simulating an electrostatic discharge that delivers current pulses to a component under test with a custom amplitude versus time profile shape (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Watkins such that transient current pulses are applied having specific pulse shapes and/or in a repeating mode, via the ESD pulse generator, to the device or system under test at the location that corresponds or coincides with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of testing a component under test with a variety current pulses (Grund; Abstract).
Per claim 25, Yagitani in view of Watkins does not teach the method of claim 22, wherein the ESD pulse generator includes one or more passive (RLC) elements configured to cause the ESD pulse generator to generate transient current pulses having specific pulse shapes.
In contrast, Grund teaches a current pulse generator for simulating an electrostatic discharge that delivers current pulses to a component under test with a custom amplitude versus time profile shape. Pulse generation is accomplished by discharging an energy storage network comprised of passive components (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Watkins such that the ESD pulse generator includes one or more passive (RLC) elements configured to cause the ESD pulse generator to generate transient current pulses having specific pulse shapes. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of generating pulses by discharging an energy storage network (Grund; Abstract).
22. Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Watkins, in further view Consiglio (US 5,519,327).
Per claim 26, Yagitani in view of Watkins does not teach the method of claim 22, wherein the ESD pulse generator includes: a first ground element routed through a center conductor of a coaxial connector; and a second ground element connected to a shield of the coaxial connector; whereby the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through a coaxial cable when connected with the coaxial connector without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI).
In contrast, Consiglio teaches a pulse circuit comprising a coaxial transmission line 110 having a center conductor 108 connected to a ground through a resistor 116 and a diode 114, and an outer conductor 112 connected to a ground (Fig. 3; col. 5, line 65 – col. 6, line 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Watkins such that the ESD pulse generator includes: a first ground element routed through a center conductor of a coaxial connector; and a second ground element connected to a shield of the coaxial connector; whereby the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through a coaxial cable when connected with the coaxial connector without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI). One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a transmission line pulser discharge circuit (Consiglio; col. 5, line 65 – col. 6, line 37).
Per claim 27, Yagitani in view of Watkins does not teach the method of claim 22, wherein the ESD pulse generator includes: a first ground element routed through a tester port; and a second ground element connected to a shield of the tester port; whereby the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through the tester port without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI).
In contrast, Consiglio teaches a pulse circuit comprising a coaxial transmission line 110 having a center conductor 108 connected to a ground through a resistor 116 and a diode 114, and an outer conductor 112 connected to a ground. The transmission line 110 is electrically connected to a wafer 144 under test (Fig. 3; col. 5, line 65 – col. 6, line 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Watkins such that the the ESD pulse generator includes: a first ground element routed through a tester port; and a second ground element connected to a shield of the tester port; whereby the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through the tester port without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI). One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a transmission line pulser discharge circuit (Consiglio; col. 5, line 65 – col. 6, line 37).
23. Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Watkins, in further view Suda et al. (US 2008/0201099 – hereinafter “Suda”).
Per claim 28, Yagitani in view of Watkins does not teach the method of claim 22, wherein the ESD pulse generator comprises multiple capacitor stacks that are selectively interchangeable for causing the ESD pulse generator to generate differently shaped transient current pulses.
In contrast, Suda teaches a pulse width adjustment circuit comprising delay elements 20 that each include a variable capacity elements 24 (Fig. 5; ¶47-79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Watkins such that the the ESD pulse generator comprises multiple capacitor stacks that are selectively interchangeable for causing the ESD pulse generator to generate differently shaped transient current pulses. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of adjusting a pulse width of a signal (Suda; ¶47-49).
24. Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Watkins, in further view of Motohashi.
Per claim 29, Yagitani in view of Watkins does not teach the method of claim 22, wherein the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through a coaxial cable when connected with a coaxial connector without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI).
In contrast, Motohashi teaches a method for measuring electromagnetic interference of a noise on a to-be-tested printed circuit board wherein a noise-simulating signal is injected to the printed circuit board and a resulting flow of a radio frequency electric current in the printed circuit board is visualized by means of a noise visualization measurement apparatus. A coaxial cable connects a signal generator to the printed circuit board (Fig. 17; ¶113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Watkins such that the the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through a coaxial cable when connected with a coaxial connector without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI). One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of injecting a noise-simulating signal to a device under test (Motohashi; ¶113).
Per claim 30, Yagitani in view of Watkins does not teach the method of claim 22, wherein the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through a tester port without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI).
In contrast, Motohashi teaches a method for measuring electromagnetic interference of a noise on a to-be-tested printed circuit board wherein a noise-simulating signal is injected to the printed circuit board and a resulting flow of a radio frequency electric current in the printed circuit board is visualized by means of a noise visualization measurement apparatus. A coaxial cable connects a signal generator to the printed circuit board (Fig. 17; ¶113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Watkins such that the the ESD pulse generator is configured to be operable for generating a transient current pulse that is routed through a tester port without radiating unwanted electromagnetic interference (EMI). One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of injecting a noise-simulating signal to a device under test (Motohashi; ¶113).
25. Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view Armstrong, in further view of Shusterman.
Per claim 32, Yagitani in view of Armstrong does not teach the method of claim 31, wherein the method includes estimating the 3D pose of the pointer in real-time using the detected markers and/or identifies to thereby extrapolate the position and orientation of an end or tip of the pointer, which corresponds or coincides with the location at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data will be collected.
In contrast, Shusterman teaches a system for obtaining electromagnetic data from a circuit comprising a probe 24 having a sensing end 30(S) and a connecting end 30(C) connected to a robotic assembly 26 (Abstract; Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 5-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani in view of Armstrong such that the electromagnetic field sensor 10 has an end wherein the position and orientation of said end are extrapolated using the detected markers to obtain a pose estimation of the probe. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a probe having a sensing end whose location can be detected (Shusterman; Abstract; col. 3, lines 5-19).
26. Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yagitani in view of Swartz et al. (US 2003/0167139 – hereinafter “Swartz”).
Per claim 34, Yagitani does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein the device or system under test comprises an engine compartment, and the method includes: obtaining a pose estimation of the pointer relative to the engine compartment including a position and orientation of the pointer relative to the engine compartment; collecting data for EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to and/or occurring inherently or naturally in the engine compartment at the location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer; and superimposing or overlaying the collected data for the EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to and/or occurring inherently or naturally in the engine compartment onto a visualization display of the engine compartment at the location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected.
In contrast, Swartz teaches an electromagnetic emission source identification apparatus capable identifying a source of electromagnetic emission, wherein the source may be a combustion engine (¶20 and 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagitani such that the device or system under test comprises an engine compartment and data is collected for EMI and/or transient pulse(s) applied to and/or occurring inherently or naturally in the engine compartment at the location corresponding or coinciding with the pose estimation obtained for the pointer. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of monitoring a source of electromagnetic emission (Swartz; ¶20 and 41).
Claim Objections
27. Claims 31-32 are objected to due to the following informality.
Per claim 31, it appears that the word “identifies” in line 4 should be revised to “identifiers.”
Per claim 32, it appears that the word “identifies” in line 2 should be revised to “identifiers.”
28. Claims 18, 24, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 18, the prior art of record is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the pointer comprises a probe including a polyhedron having multiple sides with QR codes thereon, and wherein the method includes: capturing, via at least one camera, one or more images of the QR codes of the probe; visually determining, via at least one processor and the one or more images of the QR code(s) captured by the at least one camera, a location of an end of the probe relative to the device or system under test; collecting EMI and/or transient pulse data from the device or system under test at a location that corresponds with the visually determined location of the end of the probe relative to the device or system under test; and superimposing or overlaying the collected EMI and/or transient pulse data onto a visualization display of the device or system under test at the location corresponding with the visually determined location of the end of the probe relative to the device or system under test at which the EMI and/or transient pulse data was collected.
Per claim 24, the prior art of record is silent on the method of claim 22, wherein the ESD pulse generator comprises: a first ground element, a charge element, and a second ground element; a power supply electrically connected with the charge element and the second ground element; a current limiting resistor or switch electrically connected in series with the power supply and the charge element; and a switch for electrically connecting the charge element to the second ground element; whereby the charge element is chargeable from the power supply and dischargeable via the switch between the charge element and the second ground element.
Per claim 33, the prior art of record is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes: using a known length of the pointer to resolve the position of an end or tip of the pointer relative to the device or system under test; and/or obtaining two or more measurements of a polyhedron locator on the pointer that includes multiple sides with QR codes as the pointer is manually or automatically rotated over a same position to resolve a flux direction vector in addition to intensity; and/or monitoring the pointer with two oscilloscope channels to log dual vectors per point and provide instantaneous vector resolution at a same time such that the pointer is usable for recording an entire H-field vector (direction and amplitude) at each point.
Claim Remarks
29. Although nonstatutory double patenting rejections are applied to independent claim 35, the subject matter disclosed in this claim is not taught or suggested by the remaining prior art of record.
Conclusion
/JAS A SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852