CTNF 18/980,573 CTNF 98976 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 38 cites “the part of the second housing”. Appropriate correction is required to address lack of antecedent basis. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 5, 9-10, 17-18, 34-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al (US 20240389249; “Wu” hereinafter) . Regarding claim 1 , Wu discloses: an electronic device (fig. 1, ¶[0048]) comprising: a first housing (2, fig. 4) and a second housing (3, fig. 4) ; a hinge module (1, fig. 4) connecting the first housing and the second housing (¶[0119]) ; and a flexible display (4, fig. 4) accommodated in the first housing and the second housing (¶[0120]) , wherein the hinge module comprises: a rotation support bracket (106, fig. 5b-6) including a first rotational motion guide rail (1063, fig. 8) , a first unit (1013) including a first rotational motion slider (10131, fig. 7) configured to rotate with respect to the first rotational motion guide rail about a first rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below, ¶[0136]) , a second unit (1012) configured to rotate about a second rotation axis (1061, fig. 6 which aligns with axis of 10171a, fig. 30, ¶[0133]-[0134], [0201], [0209]) that is parallel to and spaced apart from the first rotation axis (see annotated figs. 29-30 below, “the hinge mechanism 1 provided in this disclosure is used, so that rotation axis centers of the first support arm 1012 and the first swing arm 1013 do not coincide when the first support arm 1012 and the first swing arm 1013 rotate around the base 106”, ¶[0152]) , and a first bracket fixed (1015, fig. 6) to the first housing (¶[0140]) , wherein the first bracket includes a first portion (10152, fig. 9) slidably connected to the first unit (¶[0142]) in a first linear direction (second direction, fig. 10a) , and a second portion (10151, fig. 9) slidably connected to the second unit (¶[0141]) in a second linear direction (first direction, fig. 10a) different from the first linear direction (fig. 10a) , wherein, in case that an angle between the first housing and the second housing changes, the first unit and the first portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other (figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0148]) , and the second unit and the second portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other (figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0148]) , and wherein the first unit is configured to be retracted in an opposite direction to the flexible display with respect to the first portion of the first bracket in a folded state (this limitation is clearly disclosed upon examination of figs. 10a-10c) . PNG media_image1.png 621 976 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 405 879 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the first unit includes at least one recess formed in the first linear direction (see annotated fig. 7 below) , and PNG media_image3.png 523 782 media_image3.png Greyscale wherein the first bracket includes at least one insert (see annotated fig. 9 below) accommodated in the at least one recess and extending in the first linear direction (figs. 6, 10a) . PNG media_image4.png 474 797 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding claim 5 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the first linear direction and the second linear direction form an acute angle with each other (see annotated fig. 10a below) . PNG media_image5.png 522 628 media_image5.png Greyscale Regarding claim 9 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the hinge module comprises: a second rotational motion guide rail (1063, fig. 8) formed in the rotation support bracket, a third unit (1021) including a second rotational motion slider (102101, fig. 5b) configured to rotate with respect to the second rotational motion guide rail about a third rotation axis (figs. 10a-10d) , a fourth unit (1020, fig. 10a) configured to rotate about a fourth rotation axis (axis of 10171b, fig. 30, ¶[0152]) , and a second bracket fixed to the second housing (1019, fig. 6, ¶[0144]) , wherein the second bracket includes a third portion slidably connected to the third unit (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 6, 9-10d) in a third linear direction (fourth direction, fig. 10a) , and a fourth portion slidably connected to the fourth unit in a fourth linear direction (third direction, fig. 10a) different from the third linear direction (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 6, 9-10d) . wherein, in case that an angle between the first housing and the second housing changes, the third unit and the third portion of the second bracket slide relative to each other, and the fourth unit and the fourth portion of the second bracket slide relative to each other (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0148]) , and wherein the third unit is configured to be retracted in an opposite direction to the flexible display with respect to the third portion of the second bracket in the folded state (this limitation is clearly disclosed upon examination of figs. 10a-10c) . Regarding claim 10 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the third rotation axis is positioned symmetrically to the first rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below) , wherein the third unit is provided symmetrically to the first unit (see at least fig. 10c) , wherein the fourth rotation axis is positioned symmetrically to the second rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below) , wherein the fourth unit is provided symmetrically to the second unit (see at least fig. 10c) , wherein the third unit and the third portion of the second bracket are connected to be slidable relative to each other in the third linear direction that is symmetrical to the first linear direction (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0147]-[0148]) , and wherein the fourth unit and the fourth portion of the second bracket are connected to be slidable relative to each other in the fourth linear direction that is symmetrical to the second linear direction (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0147]-[0148]) . PNG media_image6.png 405 879 media_image6.png Greyscale Regarding claim 17 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein an upper surface of the rotation support bracket includes an arc shaped indentation having an open end (see fig. 8 where 1063 and 1064 are disposed) , and wherein the first rotational motion slider slides along the arc shaped indentation allowing the first unit to rotate relative to the rotation support bracket (¶[0136]) . Regarding claim 18 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses: wherein the first unit further comprises a first linear motion slider (10132, fig. 7) connected to the first portion of the first bracket (¶[0143]) and including the at least one recess (see annotated fig. 7 below) . PNG media_image3.png 523 782 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 34 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses: PNG media_image7.png 345 377 media_image7.png Greyscale wherein the second unit and the first bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing decreases, the second unit and the second portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other such that distance increases between the second portion of the first bracket and the second rotation axis (examination of figures 10a-10d teaches this limitation, see also ‘D’ in annotated fig. 10d below, where a displacement of the first bracket is shown) . Regarding claim 35 , Wu discloses: an electronic device (fig. 1, ¶[0048]) comprising: a first housing (2, fig. 4) and a second housing (3, fig. 4) ; a hinge module (1, fig. 4) rotatably connecting the first housing and the second housing (¶[0119]) with respect to each other to change an angle between the first housing and the second housing (figs. 10a-10d) ; and a flexible display (4, fig. 4) accommodated in the first housing and the second housing (¶[0120]) , wherein the hinge module includes: a rotation support bracket (106, fig. 5b-6) including a first rotational motion guide rail (1063, fig. 8) , a first unit (1013) including a first rotational motion slider (10131, fig. 7) configured to rotate with respect to the first rotational motion guide rail about a first rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below, ¶[0136]) , a second unit (1012) configured to rotate about a second rotation axis (1061, fig. 6 which aligns with axis of 10171a, fig. 30, ¶[0133]-[0134], [0201], [0209]) that is parallel to and spaced apart from the first rotation axis (see annotated figs. 29-30 above, “the hinge mechanism 1 provided in this disclosure is used, so that rotation axis centers of the first support arm 1012 and the first swing arm 1013 do not coincide when the first support arm 1012 and the first swing arm 1013 rotate around the base 106”, ¶[0152]) , and a first bracket fixed (1015, fig. 6) to the first housing (¶[0140]) , at least partially disposed between the flexible display and a part of the first housing (201, fig. 4) that is fixed relative to the first bracket (¶[0219]) , the first bracket including a first portion (10152, fig. 9) and a second portion (10151, fig. 9) , wherein the first unit and the first portion of the first bracket are slidably connected relative to each other along a first linear direction relative to the first bracket (second direction, fig. 10a) , and the second unit and the second portion of the first bracket are slidably connected relative to each other along a second linear direction relative to the first bracket (first direction, fig. 10a) different from the first linear direction (fig. 10a) , wherein the first unit, the second unit, and the first bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing changes, the first unit and the first portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other (figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0148]) , and the second unit and the second portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other (figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0148]) , and wherein the first unit and the first bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing decreases (figs. 10a-10d) , the first unit and the first portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other such that distance decreases between the first unit and the part of the first housing (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 4, 10d, ¶[0120], [0219], where 1013 will be closer to surface 2b where 201 is disposed) . Regarding claim 36 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 35, and further discloses: wherein the first unit includes at least one recess (see annotated fig. 7 below) formed along the first linear direction, and wherein the first bracket includes at least one insert (see annotated fig. 7 below) accommodated in the at least one recess and extending along the first linear direction (figs. 6, 10a) . PNG media_image3.png 523 782 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 474 797 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding claim 37 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 35, and further discloses: wherein the first linear direction and the second linear direction form an acute angle with each other (see annotated fig. 10a below) . PNG media_image5.png 522 628 media_image5.png Greyscale Regarding claim 38 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 35, and further discloses: wherein the hinge module includes: a second rotational motion guide rail (1063, fig. 8) formed in the rotation support bracket, a third unit (1021) including a second rotational motion slider (102101, fig. 5b) configured to rotate with respect to the second rotational motion guide rail about a third rotation axis (figs. 10a-10d, and annotated fig. 30 below) , a fourth unit (1020, fig. 10a) configured to rotate about a fourth rotation axis (axis of 10171b, fig. 30, ¶[0152]) , and a second bracket fixed to the second housing (1019, fig. 6, ¶[0144]) , and including a third portion and a fourth portion (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 6, 9-10d) , wherein the third unit and the third portion of the second bracket are slidably connected relative to each other along a third linear direction (fourth direction, fig. 10a) relative to the second bracket (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) , and the fourth unit and the fourth portion of the second bracket are slidably connected relative to each other along a fourth linear direction (third direction, fig. 10a) relative to the second bracket (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) different from the third linear direction (figs. 10a-10d) , wherein the third unit, the fourth unit, and the second bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing changes, the third unit and the third portion of the second bracket slide relative to each other (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) , and the fourth unit and the fourth portion of the second bracket slide relative to each other (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) , and wherein the third unit and the second bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing decreases, the third unit and the third portion of the second bracket slide relative to each other such that distance decreases between the third unit and the part of the second housing (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 4, 10d, ¶[0120], [0219], where 1021 will be closer to surface 3b where 301 is disposed) . Regarding claim 39 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 38, and further discloses: wherein the third rotation axis is positioned symmetrically to the first rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below) , wherein the third unit is provided symmetrically to the first unit (see at least fig. 10c) , wherein the fourth rotation axis is positioned symmetrically to the second rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below) , wherein the fourth unit is provided symmetrically to the second unit (see at least fig. 10c) , PNG media_image6.png 405 879 media_image6.png Greyscale wherein the third linear direction is symmetrical to the first linear direction (fig. 10a) , and wherein the fourth linear direction is symmetrical to the second linear direction (fig. 10a) . Regarding claim 40 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 35, and further discloses: wherein an upper surface of the rotation support bracket includes an arc shaped indentation having an open end (see fig. 8 where 1063 and 1064 are disposed) , and wherein the first rotational motion slider slides along the arc shaped indentation allowing the first unit to rotate relative to the rotation support bracket (¶[0136]) . Regarding claim 41 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 36, and further discloses: PNG media_image3.png 523 782 media_image3.png Greyscale wherein the first unit includes a first linear motion slider (10132, fig. 7), connected to the first portion of the first bracket (¶[0143]) and including the at least one recess (see annotated fig. 7 below) . Regarding claim 42 , Wu discloses: an electronic device (fig. 1, ¶[0048]) comprising: a first housing (2, fig. 4) and a second housing (3, fig. 4) ; a hinge module (1, fig. 4) rotatably connecting the first housing and the second housing (¶[0119]) with respect to each other to change an angle between the first housing and the second housing (figs. 10a-10d) ; and a flexible display (4, fig. 4) accommodated in the first housing and the second housing (¶[0120]) , wherein the hinge module includes: a first shaft (10173, fig. 30) , a rotation support bracket (106, fig. 5b-6) including a first rotational motion guide rail (1063, fig. 8) , a first unit (1013) including a first rotational motion slider (10131, fig. 7) configured to rotate with respect to the first rotational motion guide rail about a first rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below, ¶[0136]) , and a first linear motion slider (10132, fig. 7) , a second unit (1012) configured to rotate about a second rotation axis (1061, fig. 6 which aligns with axis of 10171a, fig. 30, ¶[0133]-[0134], [0201], [0209]) that is parallel to and spaced apart from the first rotation axis (see annotated figs. 29-30 above in page 4, “the hinge mechanism 1 provided in this disclosure is used, so that rotation axis centers of the first support arm 1012 and the first swing arm 1013 do not coincide when the first support arm 1012 and the first swing arm 1013 rotate around the base 106”, ¶[0152]) , and including a second linear motion slider (10121, fig. 5b) , and a first bracket fixed (1015, fig. 6) to the first housing (¶[0140]) , the first bracket including a first portion (10152, fig. 9) and a second portion (10151, fig. 9) , wherein the first linear motion slider of the first unit and the first portion of the first bracket are slidably connected relative to each other along a first linear direction (second direction, fig. 10a) relative to the first bracket (¶[0143]) , and the second linear motion slider of the second unit and the second portion of the first bracket are slidably connected relative to each other (¶[0141]) along a second linear direction (first direction) relative to the first bracket different from the first linear direction (fig. 10a) , and wherein the first unit, the second unit, and the first bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing changes, the first unit and the first portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other (figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0148]) , and the second unit and the second portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other (figs. 10a-10d, ¶[0148]) . Regarding claim 43 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 42, and further discloses: PNG media_image5.png 522 628 media_image5.png Greyscale wherein the first linear direction and the second linear direction form an acute angle with each other (see annotated fig. 10a below) . Regarding claim 44 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 42, and further discloses: wherein the first bracket is at least partially disposed between the flexible display and a part of the first housing (201, fig. 4) that is fixed relative to the first bracket (¶[0219]) , and wherein the first unit and the first bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing decreases (figs. 10a-10d) , the first unit and the first portion of the first bracket slide relative to each other such that distance decreases between the first unit and the part of the first housing (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 4, 10d, ¶[0120], [0219], where 1013 will be closer to surface 2b where 201 is disposed) and there is lateral movement of the first unit and the part of the first housing with respect to each other (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 4, 10a-10d, and ¶[0219], and the positions of 1013) . Regarding claim 45 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 42, and further discloses: wherein the hinge module includes: a second rotational motion guide rail (1063, fig. 8) formed in the rotation support bracket, a third unit (1021) including a second rotational motion slider (102101, fig. 5b) configured to rotate with respect to the second rotational motion guide rail about a third rotation axis (figs. 10a-10d, and annotated fig. 30 below) , a fourth unit (1020, fig. 10a) configured to rotate about a fourth rotation axis (axis of 10171b, fig. 30, ¶[0152]) , and a second bracket fixed to the second housing (1019, fig. 6, ¶[0144]) , including a third portion and a fourth portion (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 6, 9-10d) , wherein the third unit and the third portion of the second bracket are slidably connected relative to each other along a third linear direction (fourth direction, fig. 10a) relative to the second bracket (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) , and the fourth unit and the fourth portion of the second bracket are slidably connected relative to each other along a fourth linear direction (third direction, fig. 10a) relative to the second bracket (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) different from the third linear direction (figs. 10a-10d) , and wherein the third unit, the fourth unit, and the second bracket are configured such that, as the angle between the first housing and the second housing changes, the third unit and the third portion of the second bracket slide relative to each other (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) , and the fourth unit and the fourth portion of the second bracket slide relative to each other (as PNG media_image6.png 405 879 media_image6.png Greyscale disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-10d, ¶[0148]) Regarding claim 46 , Wu discloses the limitations of claim 45, and further discloses: wherein the third rotation axis is positioned symmetrically to the first rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below) , wherein the third unit is provided symmetrically to the first unit (see at least fig. 10c) , wherein the fourth rotation axis is positioned symmetrically to the second rotation axis (see annotated fig. 30 below) , wherein the fourth unit is provided symmetrically to the second unit (see at least fig. 10c) , PNG media_image6.png 405 879 media_image6.png Greyscale wherein the third linear direction is symmetrical to the first linear direction (fig. 10a) , and wherein the fourth linear direction is symmetrical to the second linear direction (fig. 10a) . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is: US 20210181808 A1 Hinge and Mobile Terminal. This invention relates generally to a folding apparatus including a principal axis, a first bracket and a second bracket that are located on two sides of a principal axis along a width direction. A first connecting rod and a second connecting rod are located on two sides of the principal axis along the width direction, and a first swing arm and a second swing arm are located on two sides of the principal axis along the width direction. US 20240206093 A1 Folding Apparatus and Electronic Device. This invention generally relates to a reactor body having a core; and an installation destination object on which the reactor body is mounted; wherein the reactor body has three fixing portions for fixing the reactor body to the installation destination object. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER KRIM whose telephone number is (703)756-1246. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am -4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allen L Parker can be reached at (303) 297-4722. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 2 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 3 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 4 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 5 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 6 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 7 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 8 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 9 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 10 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 11 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 12 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 13 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 14 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/980,573 Page 15 Art Unit: 2841