Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed 7/23/2026 is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Jorgensen et al. (US 2017/0003032).
Regarding claim 1, Jorgensen discloses a method of operating a combustor (Figure 1, 100) for a turbine engine (abstract), the method comprising:
operating a pilot mixer (190 and flow passage 162) and a main mixer (113) of a mixer assembly (150 inclusive of 113) of the combustor during a high power operation (Annotated figure 15) of the turbine engine (Annotated figure 15 shows the pilot fuel flow and main fuel flows during high power operation), wherein operating the pilot mixer and the main mixer includes injecting a fuel (paragraphs 58 and 63) into the combustor with a fuel injector (main 1 stage 220 and pilot injector 190) of the combustor;
injecting a fluid (paragraph 47 describes water) into the combustor with a fluid injector of the combustor (paragraph 47 describes water circuits for injecting water into the combustor) during the high power operation (Annotated figure 15 shows the main water 2 flows during high power operation), the fluid injector being separate from the fuel injector (water is injected through main 2 stage 221, and fuel flows through main 1 stage 220 and pilot injector 190); and
shutting off the fluid during a low power operation (Annotated figure 15) of the turbine engine and during a mid-level power operation (Annotated figure 15) of the turbine engine (Figure 15 shows the main water 2 flow does not during the low power or the lower portion of the mid-level power operation, i.e. the valves etc. are shut off during this period),
wherein a temperature in the combustor increases during the high power operation (temperature in the combustor necessarily increases as the pressure increases as a result of increased air and fuel flow) and the fluid reduces the temperature in the combustor during the high power operation (water has a high specific heat capacity, so it necessarily decreases the temperature of the combustor when it is injected).
Regarding claim 2, Jorgensen discloses wherein operating the pilot mixer includes generating a pilot flame (via igniter described in paragraph 50) with a rich fuel-air mixture (paragraph 77) and operating the main mixer includes generating a main flame with a lean fuel-air mixture (paragraph 77 describes adjusting the ratio of fuel fed to the main fuel injectors and figure 15 shows the Main 2 Fuel Flow as low while the Pilot Fuel Flow is much higher as the Main 2 Fuel Flow starts in the mid phase, i.e. the Main 2 Fuel Flow has a low fuel to air ratio).
Regarding claim 3, Jorgensen discloses further comprising shutting off the main mixer and operating only the pilot mixer during the low power operation of the turbine engine (Annotated figure 15 shows the main 1 fuel flow is shut off during the lower portion of the low power operation and main 2 fuel flow is shut off for the entirety of the low power operation while pilot fuel flow continues in the low power operation).
Regarding claim 4, Jorgensen discloses further comprising controlling a fuel split between the pilot mixer and the main mixer during the high power operation (paragraph 67 describes fuel split at higher loads, i.e. high power operation) while the fluid is injected into the combustor to maintain operating conditions of combustion gases at predetermined operating conditions (paragraph 77 describes adjusting the fuel split to create a uniform or configured combustor exit temperature profile, i.e. a predetermined operating conditions).
Regarding claim 8, Jorgensen discloses further comprising operating the pilot mixer and the main mixer during the mid-level power operation of the turbine engine (Annotated figure 15 shows both pilot and main 2 fuel is flowing into the combustor during mid-level power operation, i.e. both the pilot and main mixers are operating during the mid-level power operation).
Regarding claim 9, Jorgensen discloses further comprising injecting the fluid upstream of the combustor (paragraph 47 describes providing a fuel/water emulsion through fuel cartridge assembly 150, i.e. the fluid (water) is injected into the fuel and then the fuel cartridge, i.e. mixer assembly, upstream of the combustor with respect to the fuel flow).
Regarding claim 10, Jorgensen discloses further comprising injecting the fluid upstream of an annular dome of the combustor (Figure 1 shows the combustor has an annular dome formed at the upstream end of the combustor 110 and paragraph 47 describes providing a fuel/water emulsion through fuel cartridge assembly 150, i.e. the fluid (water) is injected into the fuel and then the fuel cartridge, i.e. mixer assembly, upstream of the combustor with respect to the fuel flow).
Regarding claim 11, Jorgensen discloses further comprising injecting the fluid into the mixer assembly (paragraph 47 describes providing a fuel/water emulsion through fuel cartridge assembly 150, i.e. the fluid (water) is injected into the fuel and then the fuel cartridge, i.e. mixer assembly).
Regarding claim 12, Jorgensen discloses further comprising injecting the fluid into swirler passages of the mixer assembly (paragraph 68 describes injecting the fluid as a fuel/water mixture and paragraph 70 describes injecting that mixture in the radial inflow swirler 140 of mixer assembly 150).
Regarding claim 14, Jorgensen discloses the fluid injector comprising at least one of a spray bar or a manifold for injecting the fluid (paragraph 48 describes injecting the water through a manifold).
Regarding claim 21, Jorgensen discloses further comprising reducing a fuel flow to the pilot mixer during the low power operation (Annotated figure 15 shows the point in the low power operation where the pilot fuel flow to the pilot mixer is reduced).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen et al. (US 2017/0003032)in view of Motter et al. (US 2007/0089425).
Regarding claim 5, Jorgensen in discloses all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except further comprising controlling a compressed air split between the pilot mixer and the main mixer based on the operating conditions of the combustion gases.
Motter teaches further comprising controlling a compressed air split and the main mixer based on the operating conditions of the combustion gases (Figure 5, step 508 describes controller fuel to air ratio based on the NOx emissions and paragraph 31 describes adjusting the concentration distribution of premixed air and fuel, i.e. adjusting the air split).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jorgensen’s invention to include further comprising controlling a compressed air split between the pilot mixer and the main mixer (in the system of Jorgensen in view of Motter, the control of air split described by Motter would be effected in the pilot and main mixers of Jorgensen) based on the operating conditions of the combustion gases in order to automatically adjust for condition changes as suggested and taught by Motter in paragraph 18.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen et al. (US 2017/0003032)in view of Razak (US 2015/0292402).
Regarding claim 6, Jorgensen in discloses all the essential features of the invention as claimed and described above except further comprising determining whether the turbine engine is operating at the high power operation based on operating conditions of compressed air entering the mixer assembly.
Razak teaches further comprising determining whether the turbine engine is operating at the high power operation based on operating conditions of compressed air entering the mixer assembly (paragraph 62 describes determining that the engine is operated in a high thrust mode, i.e. high power mode, when the thrust is greater than a predetermined minimum, and the thrust value is an operating condition of the compressed air entering the mixer assembly).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jorgensen’s invention to include further comprising determining whether the turbine engine is operating at the high power operation based on operating conditions of compressed air entering the mixer assembly in order to operate the engine efficiently while reducing emissions as suggested and taught by Razak in paragraphs 5-7.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen et al. (US 2017/0003032) in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0363556).
Regarding claim 7, Jorgensen discloses all the essential features of the claimed invention except wherein injecting the fluid into the combustor comprises pumping the fluid from a fluid supply into the combustor.
Kim teaches wherein injecting the fluid into the combustor comprises pumping (via pump 51 on line 52) the fluid from a fluid supply (Figure 2, 50) into the combustor (Figure 2 shows the pump is on the line 52 which supplies the water from water supply 40 to the combustor and control valve 49 is operated to control the fluid flow through line 52 and the pump 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jorgensen’s invention to include wherein injecting the fluid into the combustor comprises pumping the fluid from a fluid supply into the combustor in order to control the amount of water provided to the combustor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The prior art of record fails to anticipate and/or render obvious, either alone or in combination, the particular method steps as described in claim 15. Claims dependent thereon inherit the allowable subject matter of the respective base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-10 that the fluid injector is not separate from the fuel injector. As described above, the main 1 stage 220 and pilot 190 are the fuel injector and the fluid injector is the main 2 stage 221. These are separate structures, therefore this argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERYN A MALATEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741