DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/13/2024 and 3/25/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are replete with errors. The claims should be revised carefully to correct the numerous errors. Examples of some unclear, inexact, or verbose limitations in the claims are:
Due to the run-on structure of the limitation(s) it is unclear what element(s) are being further limited. For example, in claim 1, it is unclear what element is being further limited to have “a first center of area.”
It is unclear what “center of area” means in the context presented.
Claim 1 recites “when installed in an X-Ray laminography system…” It is unclear whether or not the structure of the apparatus is being further limited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Zankowski et al. (US 2020/0346037).
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, Zankowski teaches a collimator for an X-ray inspection system, wherein the collimator is plate-shaped with a bottom and a top that is made of a material that is a good absorber of X-rays, wherein the collimator includes: a collimator aperture, wherein the collimator aperture has an inlet surface on the bottom that has a first center of area and an outlet surface on the top that has a second center of area, wherein the collimator aperture, when installed in an X-ray laminography system, is not struck by a central beam of a cone beam emitted by an X-ray tube of the X-ray laminography system (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zankowski teaches the inlet surface and the outlet surface are each one of a circle or a quadrilateral (for example: Figs. 4C and 8B).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Zankowski teaches a volume of the collimator aperture is a truncated cone or a truncated pyramid whose respective central axis is a collimation axis (For example: Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Zankowski teaches the collimator aperture does not comprise a center of area of the bottom of the collimator, and the second center of area of the outlet surface is located farther out than the first center of area of the inlet surface on the collimator (For example: Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Zankowski teaches the inlet surface of the collimator aperture and the outlet surface of the collimator aperture each extend to an edge of the collimator (For example: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Zankowski teaches the collimator is made of a material with a high average atomic number and a high density ([0027]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Zankowski teaches the collimator includes at least one additional collimator aperture (for example Figs 1-2, 4A).
Regarding claim 11, Zankowski teaches a collimator for an X-ray inspection system, wherein the collimator is plate-shaped with a bottom and a top that is made of a material that is a good absorber of X-rays, wherein the collimator includes: a collimator aperture, wherein the collimator aperture has an inlet surface on the bottom that has a first center of area and an outlet surface on the top that has a second center of area, wherein the first center of area and the second center of area form a collimation axis that forms a collimation angle (γ) not equal to zero (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Ullberg et al. (US 2007/0223653).
Regarding claim 18-19, Ullberg teaches an X-ray laminography system with an X-ray tube (11; [0030]), wherein the X-ray tube has a focus at which X-rays are generated in a form of a cone beam (Fig. 2), with a detector (16) that is struck by a useful beam of the cone beam, and with a collimator (11) arranged between the focus and the detector, wherein a collimator aperture of the collimator is aligned such that only that portion of the X-rays of the cone beam generated at the focus that forms the useful beam is allowed to pass through the collimator aperture, so that a test object to be inspected that can be introduced into the cone beam between the collimator and the detector is only exposed to the X-rays in an inspection area (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Ullberg teaches a normal of a surface of the collimator is parallel to a central beam of the cone beam (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zankowski et al. (US 2020/0346037).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zankowski does not explicitly teach specific thickness and collimation angles. However, absent some degree of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the collimator has a thickness of 0.1 – 5.0 mm and/or an aperture angle of the collimator aperture is between 1° and 40° and/or a collimation angle (γ) is between 10° and 70°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/CAROLYN FIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2884