DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because on page 1, line 1, the first occurrence of “STIX” should be spelled out.
Correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On par 2, line 2, the first occurrence of “STIX” should be spelled out
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, the first occurrence of “STIX” should be spelled out.
In claim 1, line 11, the first occurrence of “RegEx” should be spelled out.
In claim 3, line 1, the first occurrence of “URL” should be spelled out.
In claim 3, line 1, the first occurrence of “PDF” should be spelled out.
In claim 4, line 3, the first occurrence of “HTML” should be spelled out.
In claim 4, line 4, the first occurrence of “CTI” should be spelled out.
In claim 5, line 3, the first occurrence of “HTML” should be spelled out.
In claim 6, line 3, the first occurrence of “SDO” should be spelled out.
In claim 6, line 3, the first occurrence of “SCO” should be spelled out.
In claim 6, line 6, the first occurrence of “IP” should be spelled out.
In claim 6, line 7, the first occurrence of “MAC” should be spelled out.
In claim 6, line 7, the first occurrence of “URL” should be spelled out.
In claim 7, line 3, the first occurrence of “IoC” should be spelled out.
In claim 7, line 3, the first occurrence of “URL” should be spelled out.
In claim 7, line 3, the first occurrence of “IP” should be spelled out.
In claim 7, line 3, the first occurrence of “MITRE ATT&CK” should be spelled out.
In claim 7, line 4, the first occurrence of “ID” should be spelled out.
In claim 7, line 4, the first occurrence of “YARA” should be spelled out.
In claim 7, line 4, the first occurrence of “ASN” should be spelled out.
In claim 9, line 4, the first occurrence of “SRO” should be spelled out.
In claim 11, line 2, the first occurrence of “SRO” should be spelled out.
In claim 11, line 3, the first occurrence of “JSON” should be spelled out.
In claim 12, line 1, the first occurrence of “JSON” should be spelled out.
In claim 14, line 1, the first occurrence of “STIX” should be spelled out.
In claim 14, line 10, the first occurrence of “RegEx” should be spelled out.
In claim 15, line 11, the first occurrence of “SRO” should be spelled out.
In claim 15, line 15, the first occurrence of “JSON” should be spelled out.
In claim 16, line 2, the first occurrence of “HTML” should be spelled out.
In claim 16, line 3, the first occurrence of “CTI” should be spelled out.
In claim 16, line 6, the first occurrence of “SDO” should be spelled out.
In claim 16, line 6, the first occurrence of “SCO” should be spelled out.
In claim 16, line 9, the first occurrence of “IP” should be spelled out.
In claim 16, line 10, the first occurrence of “MAC” should be spelled out.
In claim 16, line 10, the first occurrence of “URL” should be spelled out.
In claim 17, line 1, the first occurrence of “STIX” should be spelled out.
In claim 17, line 19, the first occurrence of “JSON” should be spelled out.
In claim 18, line 1, the first occurrence of “URL” should be spelled out.
In claim 18, line 1, the first occurrence of “PDF” should be spelled out.
In claim 19, line 1, the first occurrence of “JSON” should be spelled out.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 6-10, and 13-16 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because it/they use(s) the term “configured to” with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Regarding Claim 1, “wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 6, “wherein the entity detection component is configured to receive one of plain text from the report parser or segmented output from the section splitter, wherein the entity detection component identifies the SDOs and SCOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies names of Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, and value and sub-type of Indicator objects for SDOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies IP addresses, domain names, hashes, emails, MAC addresses, and URLs for SCOs”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 7, “wherein the entity detection component is in communication with a plurality of LLMs”. There is no corresponding structure disclosed.
Regarding Claim 8, “wherein the entity type identification component is configured to detect entity types such as Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, wherein the entity type identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine a correct entity type between multiple type designations to result in a resolved output”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 9, “wherein the related pairs detection component is configured to receive an entity type identified output from the entity type identification component, wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs), wherein the related pairs detection component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if two entities are related given the entities’ names and types and a text”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 10, “wherein the relationship types identification component, is configured to receive an identified relationship pair from the related pairs detection component”
There is no corresponding structure disclosed.
“wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships types”
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
“wherein the relationship types identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if the relationship type between two entities given the entities’ names and types and a text”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 13, “wherein the Human Verification and Feedback component is configured to receive the output of entity detection component, entity type identification component, and the related pairs detection component, wherein the Human Verification and Feedback component allows users to edit the outputs of entity detection component, entity type identification component, and the related pairs detection component”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 14, “wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 15, “wherein the entity detection component is configured to receive one of the plain text from the report parser or segmented output from the section splitter”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
“wherein the related pairs detection component is configured to receive an entity type identified output from the entity type identification component”.
There is no corresponding structure disclosed.
“wherein the relationship types identification component, is configured to receive an identified relationship pair from the related pairs detection component”.
“wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs), wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships types”.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Regarding Claim 16, “wherein the entity detection component identifies the SDOs and SCOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies names of Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, and value and sub-type of Indicator objects for SDOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies IP addresses, domain names, hashes, emails, MAC addresses, and URLs for SCOs”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
“wherein the entity type identification component is configured to detect entity types such as Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, the descriptions of Course of Action objects, wherein the entity type identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine a correct entity type between the multiple type designations to result in a resolved output”. There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
“wherein the related pairs detection component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) to determine if two entities are related given the entities names and types and a text”.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
“and wherein the relationship types identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) to determine if the relationship type between two entities given the entities names and types and a text”.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
For a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (b). See Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. Verisign. Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d 1293, 1297, 99 USPQ2d 1936, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("[W]hen the disclosed structure is a computer programmed to carry out an algorithm, ‘the disclosed structure is not the general purpose computer, but rather that special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm.’") (quoting WMS Gaming, Inc. v. Int’l Game Tech., 184 F.3d 1339, 1349, 51 USPQ2d 1385, 1391 (Fed. Cir. 1999)).
In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239.
For a computer-implemented means-plus-function claim limitation invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) the Federal Circuit has stated that "a microprocessor can serve as structure for a computer-implemented function only where the claimed function is ‘coextensive’ with a microprocessor itself." EON Corp. IP Holdings LLC v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 785 F.3d 616, 622, citing In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2011). "‘It is only in the rare circumstances where any general-purpose computer without any special programming can perform the function that an algorithm need not be disclosed.’" EON Corp., 785 F.3d at 621, quoting Ergo Licensing, LLC v. CareFusion 303, Inc., 673 F.3d 1361, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 2012). "‘[S]pecial programming’ includes any functionality that is not ‘coextensive’ with a microprocessor or general purpose computer." EON Corp., 785 F.3d at 623 (citations omitted). "Examples of such coextensive functions are ‘receiving’ data, ‘storing’ data, and ‘processing’ data—the only three functions on which the Katz court vacated the district court’s decision and remanded for the district court to determine whether disclosure of a microprocessor was sufficient." Id. at 622. Thus, "[a] microprocessor or general purpose computer lends sufficient structure only to basic functions of a microprocessor. All other computer-implemented functions require disclosure of an algorithm."
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 is indefinite because “wherein the related pairs detection component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if two entities are related given the entities’ names and types and a text” is unclear.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 is indefinite because “wherein the relationship types identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if the relationship type between two entities given the entities’ names and types and a text” is unclear.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 is indefinite because “wherein the relationship types identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) to determine if the relationship type between two entities given the entities names and types and a text” is unclear.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the entity detection component is configured to receive one of plain text from the report parser or segmented output from the section splitter, wherein the entity detection component identifies the SDOs and SCOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies names of Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, and value and sub-type of Indicator objects for SDOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies IP addresses, domain names, hashes, emails, MAC addresses, and URLs for SCOs.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure disclosed for wherein the entity detection component is in communication with a plurality of LLMs.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the entity type identification component is configured to detect entity types such as Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, wherein the entity type identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine a correct entity type between multiple type designations to result in a resolved output.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the related pairs detection component is configured to receive an entity type identified output from the entity type identification component, wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs), wherein the related pairs detection component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if two entities are related given the entities’ names and types and a text.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the relationship types identification component, is configured to receive an identified relationship pair from the related pairs detection component; wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships types; wherein the relationship types identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if the relationship type between two entities given the entities’ names and types and a text.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the Human Verification and Feedback component is configured to receive the output of entity detection component, entity type identification component, and the related pairs detection component, wherein the Human Verification and Feedback component allows users to edit the outputs of entity detection component, entity type identification component, and the related pairs detection component.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the entity detection component is configured to receive one of the plain text from the report parser or segmented output from the section splitter; wherein the related pairs detection component is configured to receive an entity type identified output from the entity type identification component; wherein the relationship types identification component, is configured to receive an identified relationship pair from the related pairs detection component; wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs), wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships types.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no corresponding structure or algorithm disclosed for wherein the entity detection component identifies the SDOs and SCOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies names of Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, and value and sub-type of Indicator objects for SDOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies IP addresses, domain names, hashes, emails, MAC addresses, and URLs for SCOs; wherein the entity type identification component is configured to detect entity types such as Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, the descriptions of Course of Action objects, wherein the entity type identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine a correct entity type between the multiple type designations to result in a resolved output; wherein the related pairs detection component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) to determine if two entities are related given the entities names and types and a text.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding Claims 2-5 and 11-12, Dependent Claims 2-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for inheriting the deficiencies of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Siracusano et al (“Siracusano”, US 20240411994).
Regarding Claim 1, Siracusano teaches a system for STIX report generation from threat intelligence text, comprising:
a main module, comprising report parser (Fig. 10, element 1004, par 192; The main module is the overall architecture 1000.),
a section splitter (par 96),
an entity detection component (par 195),
an entity type identification component (par 184),
a related pairs detection component (par 184),
a relationship types identification component (par 184),
a STIX output generator (par 194),
and a Human Verification and Feedback module (par 86),
and a Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module with a RegEx engine (par 221-222; par 242),
wherein the main module is configured to receive an input (Fig. 10, element 1002, par 192; The main module is the overall architecture 1000.),
wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module (par 117-119; Fig. 10, elements {1000, 1016} par 192-193; The main module is the overall architecture 1000.),
wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output (par 117-119; Fig. 10, elements {1000, 1016} par 192-193; The main module is the overall architecture 1000.).
Regarding Claim 3, Siracusano teaches the system of claim 1.
Siracusano further teaches wherein the input is one of a URL,
a PDF document,
or a text document (par 68).
Regarding Claim 8, Siracusano teaches the system of claim 1.
Siracusano further teaches wherein the entity type identification component is configured to detect entity types such as Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects (par 184),
wherein the entity type identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine a correct entity type between multiple type designations to result in a resolved output (par 117-119; Fig. 10, elements {1000, 1016} par 184; par 192-197; par 220-222).
Regarding Claim 9, Siracusano teaches the system of claim 1.
Siracusano further teaches wherein the related pairs detection component is configured to receive an entity type identified output from the entity type identification component (par 184),
wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs) (par 184),
wherein the related pairs detection component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if two entities are related given the entities’ names and types and a text (par 117-119; Fig. 10, elements {1000, 1016} par 184; par 192-197; par 220-222).
Regarding Claim 10, Siracusano teaches the system of claim 1.
Siracusano further teaches wherein the relationship types identification component, is configured to receive an identified relationship pair from the related pairs detection component (par 184),
wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships types, wherein the relationship types identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine if the relationship type between two entities given the entities’ names and types and a text (par 117-119; Fig. 10, elements {1000, 1016} par 184; par 192-197; par 220-222).
Regarding Claim 11, Siracusano teaches the system of claim 1.
Siracusano further teaches wherein the STIX output generator is configured to receive a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs) (par 184),
wherein the STIX output generator merges the STIX relations matrix to generate a JSON file encompassing entities and their relations in STIX format (par 49; par 184).
Regarding Claim 12, Siracusano teaches the system of claim 11.
Siracusano further teaches wherein the JSON file is the threat analysis output (par 49; par 184).
Regarding Cliam 14, Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siracusano in view of Owhadi Kareshk et al (“Owhadi”, US 20250013909).
Regarding Claim 2, Siracusano teaches the system of claim 1.
Siracusano does not explicitly teach wherein the main module is model agnostic such that it is configured to communicate with a variety of LLM models in parallel.
Owhadi teaches wherein the main module is model agnostic such that it is configured to communicate with a variety of LLM models in parallel (par 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Siracusano with the model-agnostic functionality of Owhadi because it allows for the use of different machine learning models, thereby improving output.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Claims 4-7, 13, and 15-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In interpreting the currently amended claims, in light of the specification, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 4, the closest prior art of record Siracusano et al (US 20240411994) in view of Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235) in further view of DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277) and in even further view of Southgate et al (US 20250007926) does not teach a system for STIX report generation from threat intelligence text, comprising: a main module, comprising report parser, a section splitter, an entity detection component, an entity type identification component, a related pairs detection component, a relationship types identification component, a STIX output generator, and a Human Verification and Feedback module, and a Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module with a RegEx engine, wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output; wherein the report parser is configured to receive the input and convert the input into plain text, wherein the report parser removes all formatting except headings HTML tags from the input, and wherein the report parser converts textual and non-textual content found in CTI reports, tables, and bullet points in the input into plain text.
Regarding Claim 5, the closest prior art of record Siracusano et al (US 20240411994) in view of Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235) in further view of DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277) and in even further view of Southgate et al (US 20250007926) does not teach a system for STIX report generation from threat intelligence text, comprising: a main module, comprising report parser, a section splitter, an entity detection component, an entity type identification component, a related pairs detection component, a relationship types identification component, a STIX output generator, and a Human Verification and Feedback module, and a Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module with a RegEx engine, wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output; wherein the section splitter is configured to receive plain text from the report parser, and wherein the section splitter processes the plain text and segments the plain text into paragraphs using HTML headings to result in a segmented output.
Regarding Claim 6-7, the closest prior art of record Siracusano et al (US 20240411994) in view of Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235) in further view of DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277) and in even further view of Southgate et al (US 20250007926) does not teach a system for STIX report generation from threat intelligence text, comprising: a main module, comprising report parser, a section splitter, an entity detection component, an entity type identification component, a related pairs detection component, a relationship types identification component, a STIX output generator, and a Human Verification and Feedback module, and a Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module with a RegEx engine, wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output; wherein the entity detection component is configured to receive one of plain text from the report parser or segmented output from the section splitter, wherein the entity detection component identifies the SDOs and SCOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies names of Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, and value and sub-type of Indicator objects for SDOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies IP addresses, domain names, hashes, emails, MAC addresses, and URLs for SCOs, and wherein the entity detection component has an identified output.
Regarding Claim 13, the closest prior art of record Siracusano et al (US 20240411994) in view of Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235) in further view of DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277) and in even further view of Southgate et al (US 20250007926) does not teach a system for STIX report generation from threat intelligence text, comprising: a main module, comprising report parser, a section splitter, an entity detection component, an entity type identification component, a related pairs detection component, a relationship types identification component, a STIX output generator, and a Human Verification and Feedback module, and a Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module with a RegEx engine, wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output; wherein the Human Verification and Feedback component is configured to receive the output of entity detection component, entity type identification component, and the related pairs detection component, wherein the Human Verification and Feedback component allows users to edit the outputs of entity detection component, entity type identification component, and the related pairs detection component.
Regarding Claim 15, the closest prior art of record Siracusano et al (US 20240411994) in view of Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235) in further view of DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277) and in even further view of Southgate et al (US 20250007926) does not teach a system for STIX report generation from threat intelligence text, comprising: a main module, comprising report parser, a section splitter, an entity detection component, an entity type identification component, a related pairs detection component, a relationship types identification component, and a STIX output generator, and a Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module with a RegEx engine, wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output; wherein the report parser is configured to receive the input and convert the input into plain text, wherein the section splitter is configured to receive the plain text from the report parser, wherein the entity detection component is configured to receive one of the plain text from the report parser or segmented output from the section splitter, wherein the entity detection component has an identified output, wherein the related pairs detection component is configured to receive an entity type identified output from the entity type identification component, wherein the relationship types identification component, is configured to receive an identified relationship pair from the related pairs detection component, wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs), wherein the related pairs detection component loads a STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships types, wherein the STIX output generator is configured to receive the STIX relations matrix that defines valid pair-wise relationships (SROs), and wherein the STIX output generator merges the STIX relations matrix to generate a JSON file encompassing entities and their relations in STIX format.
Regarding Claim 16, the closest prior art of record Siracusano et al (US 20240411994) in view of Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235) in further view of DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277) and in even further view of Southgate et al (US 20250007926) does not teach a system for STIX report generation from threat intelligence text, comprising: a main module, comprising report parser, a section splitter, an entity detection component, an entity type identification component, a related pairs detection component, a relationship types identification component, and a STIX output generator, and a Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module with a RegEx engine, wherein the main module is configured to receive an input, wherein the main module is in communication with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module, wherein the main module fuses an output from the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to generate a threat analysis output; wherein the report parser removes all formatting except headings HTML tags from the input, wherein the report parser converts textual and non-textual content found in CTI reports, tables, and bullet points in the input into the plain text, wherein the section splitter processes the plain text and segments the plain text into paragraphs using HTML headings to result in the segmented output, wherein the entity detection component identifies the SDOs and SCOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies names of Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, descriptions of Course of Action objects, and value and sub-type of Indicator objects for SDOs, wherein the entity detection component identifies IP addresses, domain names, hashes, emails, MAC addresses, and URLs for SCOs, wherein the entity type identification component is configured to detect entity types such as Attack Pattern, Identity, Location, Malware, Threat Actor, Tool, Vulnerability, the descriptions of Course of Action objects, wherein the entity type identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) module to determine a correct entity type between the multiple type designations to result in a resolved output, wherein the related pairs detection component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) to determine if two entities are related given the entities names and types and a text, and wherein the relationship types identification component communicates with the Fine-tuned Large Language Model (LLM) to determine if the relationship type between two entities given the entities names and types and a text.
Regarding Claims 17-20, the closest prior art of record Siracusano et al (US 20240411994) in view of Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235) in further view of DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277) and in even further view of Southgate et al (US 20250007926) does not teach a method of generating a STIX report from threat intelligence text, the method comprising: receiving an input in a report parser, converting the input into a plain text in the report parser, receiving the plain text from the report parser in a section splitter, segmenting the plain text into a segmented output in the section splitter, receiving one of the plain text from the report parser or the segmented output from the section splitter in an entity detection component, identifying one of the plain text or the segmented output into an identified output in the entity detection component, receiving the identified output from the entity detection component in an entity type identification component, identifying an entity type identified output in the entity type identification component, receiving the entity type identified output in a related pairs detection component, identifying an identified related pair in the related pairs detection component, receiving the identified related pair in a relationship types identification component, loading a STIX relations matrix to a STIX output generator, and merging the STIX relation matrix in the STIX output generator to generate a JSON file.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mulchandani et al (US 20170171235), Abstract - Systems, methods, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on computer storage media, for obtaining, processing, and presenting data related to security events, and for implementing courses of action to protect assets in response to the security events. An event management module identifies malicious activity present on a first network domain and/or a second network domain based on received network domain activity. A threat intelligence module receives data identifying the malicious activity in first data constructs of a predefined data structure. The threat intelligence module obtains additional data related to the identified malicious activity and generates second data constructs that include enriched data regarding the malicious activity. The enriched data includes data describing a campaign in which at least a portion of the malicious activity is involved and one or more courses of action. A course of action module receives the second data constructs and implements a given course of action.
DRIHEM et al (US 20180343277), Abstract - Actively and passively monitoring current network security threats and impact, to evaluate and maintain cyber security includes using an innovative combination of threat feed, impact assessment, client profile, security policy, and vulnerability report to determine impact of malware, evaluate and maintain security policy, decrease vulnerability, and dynamically implement solutions to prevent malware attacks. Constantly re-evaluating the customer's cyber security implementation facilitates dynamic tuning of cyber security implementation.
Southgate et al (US 20250007926), Abstract - Systems and methods of actor attribution utilizing a machine learning (ML) model, such as a large language model (LLM), are provided. The method includes generating a first ML model based on first data associated with a first cybersecurity incident of a plurality of cybersecurity incidents. The method includes training the first ML model based on actor attribution associated with the first cybersecurity incident to generate a second ML model. The method includes receiving second data that is associated with a second cybersecurity incident of the plurality of cybersecurity incidents. The method includes producing, by a processing device for the second ML model using the second data, an attribution of the second cybersecurity incident to an actor.
Polyakov et al (US 20100077481), Abstract - A malware analysis system is described that provides information about malware execution history on a client computer and allows automated back-end analysis for faster creation of identification signatures and removal instructions. The malware analysis system collects threat information on client computers and sends the threat information to a back-end analysis component for automated analysis. The back-end analysis component analyzes the threat information by comparing the threat information to information about known threats. The system builds a signature for identifying the threat family and a mitigation script for neutralizing the threat. The system sends the signature and mitigation data to client computers, which use the information to mitigate the threat. Thus, the malware analysis system detects and mitigates threats more quickly than previous systems by reducing the burden on technicians to manually create environments for reproducing the threats and manually analyze the threat behavior.
/RAQIUL A CHOUDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2444